India's Long-Range Cruise Missile Test In August, Says DRDO

Why would IA be interested in subsonic missile when they already have one of the fastest cruise missile in the world. Also i am telling you from the design point also. There will be a land based version but the missile is basically designed for aircraft launch just like scalp or delilah which have land version but is mainly designed to be used as an air-launched missile.
Although if its cheap it would hurt to have this missile in IA and i mean cheaper than scalp and close to delilah.

maybe Brahmos is finest missile of India,but still it lacks range.now,you can't have both range and speed for cruise missile.because then it'll make them insanely heavy.thats why Nirbhay is being build.I think DRDO will built this missile for all three armed forces.see,USA also use them in all three armed forces.

Indians INDENGIOUS weapons capability is growing at CRAZY levels. ITS almost alarming

You know who is getting alarmed? Bangladesh.... They are discussing about having their own ICBM. I don't know how to break them the bad news that it will take much more than a hand rubbing and a sticky underwear to build an ICBM :P

now that we have got Nerpa..we should religiously follow our SLBM program..there were news some time back that DRDO developing new Agni-6 missile capable of launching from both ground and submarine with a range of over 6000 km.

Hope DRDO would annonce the maden test sometime in near future..

What Nerpa/Chakra has to do with SLBM???? Nerpa is not SSBN, It is SSK(N).

Or I am wrong????

yup ur right..
when india bought the charlie class sub india and russia had a secrect contract. india can do research on it but not use it in war and russia will help if it faced any problem.. ins arihant is similiar to it.

ins chakra is same thing, same contract except india can use it in war, because india is paying 900 mill. but this time the submarine is advanced and a ssk. so india will be making nxt gen of subs immediately after arihant.

The Hindu : Opinion / Op-Ed : Is the Navy's newest sub worth the price?

maybe Brahmos is finest missile of India,but still it lacks range.now,you can't have both range and speed for cruise missile.
Yes thats true but there are missiles with both range and speed. Russia is expert in this, they have missiles with ranges upto 3000km and speed of Mach 3 and they even have air launched version of those missiles but they can be used by Bombers only.

Have you seen Perseus ?? Its very light and has a speed of mach 3. The airframe also matters. Brahmos airframe design is different, it was mostly meant for anti-ship purposes.

One more thing is that drdo is calling a 1000km range missile as long range. You can achieve a range of 600 km and (i quote 600km because right thats the maximum range of supersonic missile, although test happened during the end of USSR and by now the technology must have progressed to a level where a range of 1000km can be achieved) still have the size of Brahmos although it would require new design and of course different materials because in that case the missile will be travelling at such a high speed for longer duration thereby heating up the airframe and internal components.

I think DRDO will built this missile for all three armed forces
Of course DRDO will make it for all the three services although it might not be purchased as IA hasn't shown much interest but if it has a pretty good loitering time and considerably lesser cost than its counterpart then its good for anybody, then IA might try some of these missiles but right now they have shown no interest.

USA also use them in all three armed forces.
Yeah thats what IA is saying. US has been using Tomahawk since early 1980s. Missile technology changes very fastly, and now that generation of subsonic cruise missile is over. Alot of countries have purchased Russian supersonic Klub cruise missile and now people are working on hypersonic cruise missiles, the era for subsonic cruise missiles are over. There's no point in developing a missile with the technology of 80s, its 2012 now.

Correct it can't launch SLBMs. It can launch Klub class with 300 km range for India. For Russia it's range is greater
Yeah but it can launch nuclear warhead using cruise missiles if its not mentioned in the list of not to do list.

Yeah thats true but according to some people Arihant weapon and deep sea trials are put on hold until Nerpa gets into service so that it can provide escort to Arihant during these trials as everyone will wanna find about it. If Nerpa will be deployed there no other submarine will try to reach closer to Arihant (Its just some people are saying on the net but it makes some sense).

Well , Nirbhay is important coz it can be used to carry out conventional Strikes deep into enemy territory , a role similar to the one performed by TomaHawk
The reason for developing the Nirbhay was that Brahmos had relatively smaller range
So it can be used to take out enemy airbases , Power Plants , refineries from a long distance Hence unlike the Brahmos , it doesnot require to be deployed on the frontline

Interesting to note the launch vehicle is a TATA 12x12, in the past this job would no doubt have been done by a 12x12 TATRA (just like for Bhramos). Good to see Indian defence companies moving forward on multiple fronts!

Unlike tomahawk we need a stealth low cost cruise missile that will be effective as well as mass produced.

All the best to DRDO. This is the year of DRDO. Next Nirbhay and then PDV. :D

Dhanurvidya main Bharat se adhik apkeshakrit aney waley samay main bhi nahi hoga. yahi prateet hota hai is vridhhi se. yeh Missiles ek baan ke samaan hi samjhi jayein.

You know who is getting alarmed? Bangladesh.... They are discussing about having their own ICBM. I don't know how to break them the bad news that it will take much more than a hand rubbing and a sticky underwear to build an ICBM :P

With the test of Agni-V and addition of nuclear submarines, Bangladesh is facing serious threat from India. :lol:

Kinetic details of agni and nirbhay?

Well even no body ask
DTK = Dhat Teri Ki