Indian Special Forces

C'mon dude C'mon.

Let us congratulate Abingdonboy cuz atleast he didn't delete his pics:enjoy:

hats off to Abingdonboy :mps:

but i have smnthng to discus with u guys as i have got smthng frm this show. May be it is nt the right place but let me put it very briefly i had sm chat with the arty guys who was standing as the instructor near bofors gun and came to know that der is a oil leakage issue with the upgraded 130 mm m46 (to may be 145mm ) and so it's now mainly using for trng in nasik arty school and showcasing in exhibitions , and that folk was also a part of the new home made boforce gun by ofb jabalpur and very much confident abt the result and the initial order from army ( test to successful hoga hi sir aur army ko bhi lena padega )

and i had a gr8 chat with normal infantry soilders frm sikh reg. i asked them abt availability of BPjs n NVGs in their batlns and their ans was( hamare pass sabkuch he sir bpjs, bullet prf patkas, NVGs aur ladai ke time jawan ke surakha ke lie sabkuch pahen na padta he par peace time me ham nahi pakad te kuin ki thoda bhari he )

and most desire thing i asked them to compare INSAS with their AKs and every sngle body had the same ans INSAS is a very good infantry weapons but dont have the punch pwr to kill an enemy like AKs ( insas bahut badhia weapon he sir , accuracy mast he iski lakin ye duman ko ghayal type kar sakta he lekin ak se ek bar goli chute to dusman ko marna hi he)

and it is cnfrmed dat we have 8 launchers and 64 ATGMs in every infantry batlns

as i have alrady said dat it's not a news frm any reliable sources, it is my personal investigation and disc with the jawans present at the field duty

Very nice work my freind! Am hoping to catch some of your great work to come!!

+ @jiki sir, if you could- can you please obscure the identities of any SF operator before posting pics of them here? I have spoken to a cousin of mine who is in the IA (not SF) and he has told me that Indian SF blokes get pretty hacked off if they see pics of Indian SF operators without their faces obscured online. Anecdotally I am told this has caused some serious operational issues aka JK CT ops. It is a simple enough job using Photoshop or even Paint!

Am eagerly awaiting your work mate!!

sure sir i will care 4 it while posting it rather i will ask them to cover up their faces with their head scarf :)

one of the fine thread in PDF
special thanks to Abingdonboy And COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

i have one query here , i didnt saw any picture or video of our SF HAHO/HALO jump... most of the time we are seeing the static line jump.... if anything found please share here ..thanks

one of the fine thread in PDF
special thanks to Abingdonboy And COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

i have one query here , i didnt saw any picture or video of our SF HAHO/HALO jump... most of the time we are seeing the static line jump.... if anything found please share here ..thanks
@baker
Thanks no problem bro.

Sir, just because you don't hear about it or see it doesn't mean it doesn't happen! PARA (SF) (and regular PARA (AIRBORNE) btns) and MARCOs for sure are trained in HAHO/HALO operations and are experts in this regard I am unsure about Garuds but I see no reason why they wouldn't be also.

MARCOs freefall HAHO night jump:

Limca-719807.JPG

What you see are their glowsticks- How they manage to keep with each other in all 3 dimensions of space whilst falling at speeds in excess of 200 kmph

eg of a freefall jump
Marine Commandos carrying out Combat Free Fall from Dornier aircraft landing on INS Viraat.

Watch from 1.11, this vid is purely on PARA (AIRBORNE) and not SF but it gives you an idea of what Indian SFs would be able to do:

At 2.51 they specifically talk about HALO/HAHO ops/training.

Of course there is much material we can't see but these are the few snippets of info I could gather to present to you.

SSG SSG Involvement in Soviet Afghan War
During the Soviet war in Afghanistan, the SSG deployed there, disguised as Afghans and provided support to the Mujahideen fighting the Soviets. Author Aukai Collins, in the book My Jihad, gave the Pakistani infiltrators the title "Black Storks".[6] They appear to have engaged the Soviet Airborne Forces in major battles such as the January 1988 Battle for Hill 3234 in which the Russians lost 6 paratroopers, while the Pakistanis suffered over 200 men killed in total. Another battle reported as having been fought between the Pakistanis and Soviet troops, in Kunar Province in March 1986.

The 1995 attack by Pakistan SSG on siachen was significant as it resulted in 40 casualties for Pakistan troops without any changes in the positions.

Good stuff , but India needs to put a hell of a lot of efforts to bring its SF's to International Standards or as a Regional force with its counter parts , SSG/Chinese SF and Russians.

These guys have been fighting counterinsurgency since last 20 years . US ,France and special forces of other countries come to India for learning Jungal warfare and counter-insurgency and you say thay have yet to achieve international standard . Get your facts right . If these pics are pinning you down then move to other threads . Dont say that Indian SF are any less than Pakistani or chinese SF.

yahh i m cursng myself evryde for this f@#$$ng lol!!! :suicide2: but not an issue i am right nw in the city where these guys had came from army southern comnd HQ pune :cool: n now in evry wkend i will roam arnd the rqurd places in the city and try to provide u guys with some nice pic from army comnd and most probably of SU30s (as pune airport itself in lohegaon) and most impt thing is dat my tickets are already booked for AERO india 13 so wt for sm nice pics of garuds and raffy :devil: :devil:

i am doing all this despite having a bloddy f##kng soft eng job so you guys must give credit to me ;)

Being in software industry ....how did you get the time to do all this stuff ??.....btw 100 % credit given .

@jiki have you managed to capture and PARA (SF) pics yet?

Hi guys..long time..Hope you all are doing good.

I had a chance of watching the Garud documentary once again and those guys have some good equipment.I just hope the INSAS gets replaced soon and most of themn have NVGs.

I started searching about SF stuff in 2006 and back then there was little or no info available..back then our SF were not so well equipped and GARUDs were really like a regular infantry unit.

Its "unbelivable" to see how much more potent the SF units have become now.Thanks to all those who took the decision and 26/11 really acted like a "catalyst".I now feel that we really have a solid base now for launching some serious SF operations anywhere in South Asia.We just need to have a SOCOM with a special budget and the babus need to take the decisions.Theres no point wasting money and sweat if we cannot make our enemy bleed.

Moreover i believe a few units need some changes IMHO like...

The Para Commandos--The regular Para need to be kept like they are and they are doing their job really well of being a airborne infantry unit.The SF in my opinion should be renamed and among them we can have a special unit always ready for operation deep inside enemy territory in P--O--K.another specialised unit can be for China infact more than 1 and the rest can be put up for anti terror ops.

Marine Commandos--i dont know much about them but they are doing their job pretty well in anti piracy operations.So a few units can be kept for piracy..the others should be sent in Kashmir and N-E and among them a special unit should be raised should there be any Maldives type situation again in South Asian.This unit should be specialed and their ops be based out of India.

GARUDS-they need to come out of their primary mission of saving AF bases and for a elite unit for all kinds of mission should the Army and Navy need them.They should be really ready for all kinds of missions.

NSG--Is doing good..very well equipped these days.Needs to reduce its strength and for a elite group.They need to keep not more than 500 specialists for any situation in India..having 10,000 commandos is really asking for too much from the Army.The more the commandos you have the lesser the resources.so keep a select elite group which is very well equipped and yeah...train the local polic to your standard..SWAT and Force India are doing a prety good job.

Special Group--i dont know anything about them but if they are really doing what is told of them them they are doing a good job.

SFF--i dont know what the fck are they upto..no pics..no news except the parachute incident..they are not supposed to be soooooooo secretive afterall.

SOCOM-hire the best in the business from PARA,MARCOS and GARUDS...I have been told that 60% recruitment including the General will be from PARA SF..25% from marcos and 15% from GAruds..if the NSG and SFF are not a part.Anyways its not a very reliable source but whatever they do get the Command operational.We have a solid base to kick some azz in the region.

And i dare say we have the most-skilled,experienced and well equipped operators in the region who can can anybodys azz in the region.

I am open to debates from your side..where you guys think i am wrong and other guys can add more info.

And yeah excuse me if my reply is late..i am a bit busy these days and if i dont reply open a RIP thread lol ........

....Anyways Have a kickazz year..cheers :cheers:

Does anyone know if IA troops carry any combat/utility knife and of what type/which unit produces them. I googled for pictures but couldn't find any.

Nope..there is no standard knife.

Gurkhas carry Khukhri..Nagas carry their own version and the rest carry the commando knife which is not standard and different patterns can be seen in different units and yeah most soldiers use the INSAS bayonet knife...I have no idea about the SF.