India begging again-After making Rs 3,000-cr Statue of Unity, India seeks aid for vaccine price hike

Okay boss, so what are the new and up-to-date numbers?

Poverty:

https://worldpoverty.io/

(63 million in extreme poverty - about 4.6% of total population and will be under 3% in few years time). Of course if you want to use different definition of poverty, then we have to apply to all other countries too.

Sanitation:

http://www.indiawaterportal.org/articles/swachh-bharat-mission-its-all-about-numbers

As per the government estimates, sanitation coverage in rural India has increased from 38.7 percent on October 2, 2014, to over 94.01 percent on September 26, 2018. Over 4.73 lakh villages and more than 472 districts have been declared ODF. A large-scale survey by the World Bank on the usage of toilets pegs it at above 90 percent.

As per a report by the United Nations, SBM has played a key role in reducing under-five mortality rates by four points in just a year. Close to 200,000 children under the age of five in India, who would have otherwise lost their lives to treatable diseases like diarrhoea, have been saved in two years, says the report. Access to safe drinking water and insisting on hand washing, food safety, and the use of toilets to stop open defecation are all factors that have lowered diarrhoeal deaths, as per the report.

So 90% of 94% would be...around 85% a cpl months back were ODF. So 15% open defecation prevalence still, thats about 200 million people....a big decrease.

More UNESCO and WHO official reports will be coming out soon, so let us see how much is validated from their end.

As the article talks about, many challenges still remain, its not just about getting ODF status but a sustained investment and follow up....but this stuff is even being talked about now is a big leap on the subject (and now politicians have to compete on the issue...esp delivery of solutions).

But this so far was pretty unthinkable just few years back....10 years of the previous UPA administration and they only got a few increment % improvement on it. But of course they didnt really want to bring the issue front and centre (and thus they stayed as part of the problem than the solution)....especially when it comes to things like Red Fort Speeches, sustained hiring of merit based experts (like Mr. P. Iyer) and bureaucracy priority, use of social media etc. For at least that, credit has to be given to Modi (as much as one may dislike him on other things).

@anant_s @Joe Shearer @MilSpec @AUSTERLITZ @django @Tanveer666

Poverty:

https://worldpoverty.io/

(63 million in extreme poverty - about 4.6% of total population and will be under 3% in few years time). Of course if you want to use different definition of poverty, then we have to apply to all other countries too.
Mate, no other metric..I'm talking about below poverty line and here is data from the site you used as a reference
kWmgrNk.png

India is right there among the reddest countries along with central African countries ...

Yah by total number of poor....63 million is still lot of people after all.

If you change the filters, you can get other colour options (% map etc)

New Delhi, Nov 17: This will certainly add fuel to the ongoing debate over the Statue of Unity, the 182 metre-high iron statue of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel in Gujarat, which was inaugurated on his birth anniversary by Prime Minister Narendra Modi recently.

According to a report in The Telegraph, an upcoming price hike is likely to raise India's budget for a key vaccine by less than Rs 100 crore and the government has been forced to seek help of an international donor. And this has happened just after the country became home to the world's tallest statue made out of funds estimated at Rs 3,000 crore.

The report cited public health experts saying the situation spoke volumes about India's less than impressive budget allocation for healthcare.

It also said the health ministry is trying to avoid a possible stock-out of the injectable poliovirus vaccine (IPV) when there is a global shortage and a decision has been taken by Sanofi, maker of the vaccine and the only IPV supplier to India, to revise the prices.

"A stock-out would mean the government would be forced to temporarily stop immunising infants with IPV, a vaccine critical to maintaining India's polio-free status and introduced in the public immunisation programme in 2015," The Telegraph report said.

It was said the price of the vaccine for India was set to rise from 0.75 euro (Rs 61) to 1.81 euros (Rs 147) per dose in 2019 and to 2.18 euros (Rs 177) per dose from 2020 to 2022, according to the Unicef.

The report added that the health ministry has approached international organisation Gavi which supports immunisation in poor countries to help maintain IPV supplies to India.

https://in.news.yahoo.com/making-rs-3-000-cr-093027649.html?soc_src=social-sh&soc_trk=fb

But, but, but India is richer than poor Australia, India is also safer for women and kids than Australia, Sweden, this news is all fake, why are people telling lies about a great, beautiful country like India?

This thread is dedicated to you my friend, so funny reading all the comments and seeing the Rapeistanis compeltley loose their $hit trying to justify a ugly statue of a nobody.

Yeah, I know, Indians will always be beggars and cheats and rapist, building a $700 million statue while 800 million people live on less than $1.50 a day and preaching how rich and safe and wonderful India is, just does not cut it.

no toilets in the country people using rail tracks as toilets and they spend money on statue of a bald guy no one knows off. But hey anil living in his shanty in mumbai is happy of this statue, supa powa india

Yeah, its a disgrace and yet they beg for more money for the important things like public health and then claim India does not need foreign aid, fucking bunch of disgusting people.

So statue was more important than vaccinating your children?

@Sully3 and @Jackdaws Keep it civil!
Of course not. Health is more important. Tag me when the vaccination stops.

Every dept has a fixed budget.. if mid way price of some commodity is increased the dept will always try to get the price decreased . What's wrong in that ?
By the way negotiation was for 100 cr.
You think Pakistanis posting here know anything about how budgets work?

Lol. I know that $700 million might really help you lot. Sour grapes.

Of course not. Health is more important. Tag me when the vaccination stops.

You think Pakistanis posting here know anything about how budgets work?

Lol. I know that $700 million might really help you lot. Sour grapes.

I don't need $700 million I am happy with my poor life in Australia.

Yep thats the total world poverty. Gotta click on India.
Look you ____ what you are looking is extreme poverty, like hellish level of poverty. By your provided link Pakistan extreme poverty is 2.1% (42 Lac) right fkin now, not ten years from now or whatever. And unlike you it's not in Crore's. What I have been stating is poverty line which is 1.9 $ per day. And you lot have about 300 million under that line.

In any case at-least our fking priorities are right. Just yesterday, our PM was talking in Malaysia about doing something about the living conditions of people on the footpath.

The only thing your PM does is turn chootiya's into bakhts and bakhts into chootiya's. You start to do something, you don't say to people that make tea from the gas coming out of shitholes. Priorities man, priorities, and you had the fkin democracy for 71 years. 71 years ffs.....