How PAF Should Counter the SU-30 MKI

Call it my American bias, but I would rate advance F-15s higher than Su-30s....

lol what? :lol:

Yeah Sukhoi 30 MK, you never heard of that, cos you are an illiterate troll with a low self esteem, spend some time reading, and maybe you will be able to learn enough to graduate idiot.

Oh I thought you were talking about radar range, since you mentioned Su-30 as being a "mini AWACS" before you wrote the range....

Also, Soviet pilots weren't that good either. Their tactics were very rigid. Soviets didn't perform well when faced with highly-trained fighter pilots such as Pakistanis and Israelis.

BTW, Iraqis were trained by Soviets themselves...lol...

That was a misunderstanding...

Go learn manners you thirdworlder from a sh!thole pathetic nation.

If you say Soviet pilots were not good , you are biased . Give them some respect , for they have achieved milestone in air and space technologies when you and me were not even born.

Secondly , as i already said , US had much smarter weapons . US created its hardware keeping Soviets in sight ( not IRAQIs) . So , IRAQIs were already outgunned and outperformed. If the dogfight had been between US pilot in f-16 and Soviet pilot in Mig-29 , things would have been much different.

Thirdly , can you explain me which battle the Soviets were face to face with Pakistani or Isralie pilots ? Now dont tell me about 6-day war (Arab -israel) and Afghanistan (1979-1989).

Swirl of Controversy: Cope India and Red Flag 2008 Exercises

Starting in 2004 the joint Cope India exercise began over South Asia (after an absence of nearly 40 years) pitting F-15C of the USAF against a mix of older and newer Indian Air Force (IAF): Mirage 2000, MiG-21, MiG-27, SU-30Mk (not MKi) and Jaguar aircraft.

However this is where everyones expectations ceased?

By every available account: the IAF soundly defeated American F-15Cs over and over and over.

[Above] Note drop-tanks fitted to USAF F-15C and IAF Mirage 2000s.

American officials credited Indian pilots with being:

"very proficient in [their] aircraft and smart on tactics. That combination was tough for us to overcome,"

"The adversaries are better than we thought," Col. Mike Snodgrass added.” And in the case of the Indian Air Force both their training and some of their equipment was better than we anticipated."

"The Indians flew a number of different fighters, including the French-made Mirage 2000 and the Russian-made MiG-27 and MiG-29, but the two most formidable IAF aircraft proved to be the MIG-21 Bison, an upgraded version of the Russian-made baseline MiG-21, and the Su-30MK Flanker, also made in Russia."

When questioned on the capabilities of IAF pilots, Col Greg Newbech, USAF Team Leader made the following remarks:

“What we’ve seen in the last two weeks is the IAF can stand toe-to-toe with best AF in the world.”

“I pity the pilot who has to face the IAF and chances the day to underestimate him; because he won’t be going home.”

“The greatest compliment we heard from an IAF pilot – You American pilots are just like us, simply down to earth people.”

When word of the Cope India 2004 results reached Washington DC, it caused an uproar. Some western military observers quickly attempted to dismiss or reframe the results, claiming that USAF did not bring its true ‘go-to-war-gear’ to these exercises.

True, American USAF F-15C’s typically were outnumbered 3-to-1. However most of these explanations have dubious merit:

1.) AIM-120 AMRAAM missile and AESA radars would have made little difference in BVR - as new jamming technologies (like DFRM) degrade or negate most of these (radio EM-spectrum) AIM-120 class capabilities - regardless. In one sense: active-homing (fire-and-forget) BVR class weapons have become increasingly ‘easier’ to elude - using DRFM-class deception techniques. Indeed this might be what effectively occurs during 'Red Flag' 2008, (so keep reading.)

2.) It is unclear which R-27 missile round was employed by the IAF in 2004: IR-homing (R-27T), semi-active radar homing (R-27R) or active radar homing (R-27AE). Had the latest fire-and-forget class been allowed, the IAF would have simply used their R-77 similar to the American AIM-120 round. R-77 also has an IR-homing version - so again - another “wash?”

3.) Russian Flanker was designed to counter and defeat F-14, F-15, F-16, F-18. Its no surprise experienced Indian aircrews might prevail.

4.) Indians only used the Su-30 "MK" not their Su-30 "MKi." Reportedly IAF Flankers simply used their larger radar and longer range weapons to fire on the F-15C before USAF fighters could fire back.

5.) Lastly the American military always fight its wars over hostile airspace: so USAF-to-IAF numbers/odds/environment is 150% applicable?

Best link author could locate on Cope India:
WHAT

Subsequent Cope India exercises in 2005, 2006 had little to no information coming out. Judging from the hubris displayed by the USAF in 2008 – the silence from the USAF during the 2005 and 2006 Gwalior exercises – was apparently - deafening...

- Now - jump to the 2008 Nellis AFB ‘Red Flag’ exercises hosted by the USAF -

This time the Indian Air Force bring their new Su-30 MKi.

64th and 65th Aggressor squadrons at Nellis AFB, Nev.

Colonel Terrence Fornof, Director of the Requirements and Testing office (USAF Warfare Center, Nellis AFB), was providing a briefing to a number of retired US generals, [video has in the past appeared, been removed, and reappeared on the Internet]:

Listen to a pod-cast audio regarding the same presentation (even MORE interesting) * note: pod-cast w/Fight editor appears to have been pulled. The thrust of this interview was that Nellis instructors in the F-15 were able to catch the F-22 in a turn:
PodOmatic | Best Free Podcasts

According to the Colonels own hand positions then a properly flown Su-30 can (also) catch an F-22 in a turn. So what - actually - is the USAF trying to say?

The US Colonels remarks caused an international flap in India.

Did some in the USAF have something to prove?

Indian Su-30MKi landing at Nellis AFB, Nev. in 2008

Problem is Colonel Fornof comments produced more questions than answers:

a.) Indian MiG-21IBis (I-Bis) "Bison" are equipped with Russian-made Kopyo radars, not Israeli “F-16” radars.

b.) That Su-30MKIs "lost in 1-v-1" DACT at Mountain Home AFB, there was apparently no such training done at Mountain.

c.) FOD concerns are not unusual for any air force operating halfway around the world. The Flanker has simply immense loiter and combat persistence ability – so take-off (fighter scramble) intervals are not (as) critical for Flanker - as for shorter range aircraft.

d.) MKi use Lyulka AL-31 turbofans, not Tumansky as was stated.

Indian Air Force MiG-21IBis (I-Bis). The paradigm(s) after 1982 Bekaa Valley and 1991 Gulf War - appear to have been misguided?

Indian MiG-21-IBis with R-77 "Adder" missile round. The R-77 is the equivalent to the American AIM-120.

So what conclusions, if any, can be drawn?
The paradigms established/embraced after Bekaa Valley ‘Turkey Shoot’ in 1982 and the results of the 1991 Gulf War appear to have been misguided by 2004 - due to Indian MiG-21IBis (I-Bis).
There is no substitute for flight hours and training. Proper training allows aircrews (of any air force) to extract the maximum performance out of their aircraft.
A similar post-stall counter-tactic was used by Nellis (F-15) instructors against less-experienced aircrews in both F-22 and Su-30. So by definition: a properly flown Su-30 can (also) catch an F-22 in a turn?
Remarking on F-22 needing ‘more missiles’ - is consistent with F-22 having only two IR missiles, historical air-to-air missiles hit probabilities and Raptors lack of helmet sighting. Su-30 brings helmet-sighting, nearly twice the number of missile rounds and a huge fuel reserves - at much (much) lower costs - to the fight.
His remarks on the inability of USAF instructor aircraft to employ their AIM-120 AMRAAM round - is interesting. Whether it was jamming, snooping, heads-up defensive flying, or other tactical issues, his comments are (duly) noted.
Remarks on the Indian MiG-21 are revealing. During the Bekaa Valley (Lebanon) air battles of June 1982, Israeli F-15 and F-16 radars had no trouble seeing (and downing scores of) Mig-21s. So DRFM-class jammers even on a MiG-21 - may have pushed BVR off the table - for any radio-spectrum AIM-120 equipped fighter - even Raptor?
Colonel Fornof was referring to this video (F-22 and Su-30 side-by-side):

Looking at the video, an astute observer noting airspeed, afterburner usage, altitude-loss, energy-recovery and aircraft attitude during/between maneuvers: can see that both F-22 and Flanker evenly matched regardless of Colonel Fornof statements or hand position(s).

Below is the complete Flanker demo. Watch the superb energy recovery [at payback 2:10] followed by a simply impossible maneuver of Su-30 at playback 2:13:

The Raptor does perform some of the maneuvers at lower speeds, however keep in mind the Flanker is much larger than Raptor, and F-22 lacks the pilot helmet-sighting of the Sukhoi.

New video [below] showing that - in fact the F-22 Raptor is in big trouble.

Indian News Report of2008 Red Flag:

The Sukhoi is going to be with us for quite awhile, and by any measure, is (and will be) a nightmare for USAF/USN brass, planners and aircrews alike. Flanker has loiter and combat persistence ability - that has no western equivalent.

Train how you fight and fight how you train, train and train.

The question may be who fights over friendly airspace and who fights of hostile airspace?

We count no less than 12 hard points on this MKi: four on each wing, one on each engine nacelle, and two on the aircrafts centerline. Even without external drop tanks, Flanker endurance and combat radius remains unequaled in the world.

Multi-sensor Advanced-Flanker with pilots of equal skill - should be more (more) than a match for F-22.

When or if the Lockheed-Martin F-22 Raptor participates in a future Cope India exercise at Gwalior India, whatever the results, they are certain to be quite the revelation - even if we never officially hear about them.

Conversely, we firmly conclude that procuring additional F-22s for the USAF will not resolve anything of this. One can purchase between three (3) and seven (7) Advanced Flanker for the cost of a single (1) F-22. To put it another way: if four (4) F-22 Raptors fly against twelve (12) to twenty-eight (28) Advanced Flankers - none (none) of the F-22s can survive this engagement. F-22 is simply far (far) too expensive for a real world.

India has placed a fresh order for forty (40) more Sukhois with Russia.

Your thoughts?

Yeah Sukhoi 30 MK, you never heard of that, cos you are an illiterate troll with a low self esteem, spend some time reading, and maybe you will be able to learn enough to graduate idiot.

I honestly don't give a sh!t about russian hardware in any third-world sh!thole's citizens hands. So call me idiot, or whatever your mom told you to call Americans.

Anyways, your poor pilots got their a$$es kicked and this must be enough for you to get a hint about "self-esteem" of Americans via-via-vis indians...:lol:

They Americans run these "Joint Excercises to gain knowledge of limitations of Russian planes"
and intentionally underperform

See the problem with your calculations is that

a) JF17 thunders will be carrying a lethal BVR that will lock onto the double decker bus with wings called sukhoi and the second thing is that we have no Upper Limit on Production of JF17 Thunders.

b) You assume that the Missile carrying capabilities will not increase with Block 2

c) Another Assumption you do make is that you assume , that the double decker Bus , Sukhoi fighters can match the agility of J10B

d) we already have chinese AWACs that work with JF17 and J10B

Movies can't be wrong

Here is Hypothetical Comparison

36 Pakistani J10B + 200 JF17 Thunders vs 150 Sukhoi
80 Pakistani F16 C/D vs 125 Rafale
100 JF17 Thunder vs 60 Mirage 2000

F7 & Mirage 400 vs Mig 29

PS : Pakistan also has very Agile platform F7 , which in Military Excercises have given F15 run for Money I imagine 200 of these fighters will certainly give the Sukhoi some real pain in the *** to lock them down specially in dog fights

In the End .... does not matters how many Missiles Sukhoi carries , it can be brougt to ground with a Missile fired even from F7 or Mirage or even Shoulder held platfom but I love the circus tricks it does .. what that trick it down standing up on its tail like a puppy , yeah .. do that infront of Chinese Missiles it may be a problem

PS: Just because a Sukhoi has extra 1-2 Missiles does not means that it will hit its target
every time because unlike the practice drones , all Pakistan Airforce planes have counter
messure and Missile Evasive planning enabled

1. You will never remain just defenders . Once there has been a strike from IAF , PAF will retaliate. PAF will face the same ground attack and Anti-aircraft missiles like IAF .

2. Both PAF and IAF have BVR capabilities so leave it to actual battle.

3. If you see the history , its filled with Russian technological achievements . Right from Sputnik to MIR (first international space station) to Missiles . Presently , the ISS( international space station ) and US is dependent on Russian rockets to reach outerspace and load/unload the cargo and people there .

4. Americans retired their SHUTTLES and started using Russian rockets for a reason.

5 . Russian technologies are used by China , Iran , North Korea and many other nations . Would like to mention that US never wants a direct war with any of these .

6. Russian Anti-aircraft SAMs are battle tested and scored many hits on US aircraft (if they are in able hands).

Well , as a spectator , you have also enjoyed Cobra manuavare of Su-30 MKI , but you cant accept it here because of your national sentiments ( quite understood).

They Americans run these "Joint Excercises to gain knowledge of limitations of Russian planes"
and intentionally underperform

well....might be a case ......but do you think that others would show all their cards to americans ?

I honestly don't give a sh!t about russian hardware in any third-world sh!thole's citizens hands. So call me idiot, or whatever your mom told you to call Americans.

Anyways, your poor pilots got their a$$es kicked and this must be enough for you to get a hint about "self-esteem" of Americans via-via-vis indians...:lol:

Your recent posts doesnot presents a gentlemen personality . Initially you were giving some readable inputs , but down the line their quality have deteriorated.

Well :-

1. Adding additional hardwares never means lack of confidence.

Sure. Its a cat and mouse game, one side acquires a piece of hardware and the other acquires a deterrent to counter it.

2. Strike packages would be sent depending on resources in hand . Not to mention that IAF would be fully aware of the readiness of PAF and what to expect .

Both sides would be fully aware of each others intentions considering how extensive the radar network is for both the foes. IAF shot itself in the foot the day it went to order the Phalcon AWACS, it robbed a massive advantage the IAF had over the PAF.

3. Numerical superiority is not a match -winner but it does affects the psyche.

Looking at the numbers and the constraints, it does not appear that numerical superiority exist. IAF has to cover her flanks, and than perform 3 roles to implement her strategy. That itself robs her off her numerical superiority. PAF needs 350 4th Generation Aircrafts to effectively tame an IAF onslaught. It appears that they are heading exactly over there.

It was Su30MK, you idiot, seriously? Is USA full of people like you who can't read?

Why are you lying friend? A simple Google search will reveal your duplicity.

"The IAF would be participating in the exercise with eight SU-30 MK-I aircraft, two IL-78 air to air refuellers and one IL-76 transport aircraft. The contingent would comprise 156 personnel below officers rank and 91 officers (inclusive of 10 members of ‘Garud’ IAF Special Force team). The contingent is being led by Gp Capt D Chaudhury and Exercise Coordinator would be Gp Capt Ajay Rathore."

Press Information Bureau English Releases

If not this, a picture is worth a thousand words. These are SU30MKI's.

File:SU-30 MKI Idaho.jpg - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Your recent posts doesnot presents a gentlemen personality . Initially you were giving some readable inputs , but down the line their quality have deteriorated.

It is because your fellow Indian brethren stuck to their rigid attitude and failed to listen to reason and argument. They started attacking @Teeta personally instead of his/her arguments, this is why it evoked a furious response from Teeta. So instead of pointing fingers, have a look at the posts of your fellow Indian brethren. They are still under the spell that SU30MKI is God's Gift to Aviation and the greatest fighter aircraft ever built. A dose of reality hurts their ego and that is when the start posting jingoistic remarks and personally attacking other posters.

Sure. Its a cat and mouse game, one side acquires a piece of hardware and the other acquires a deterrent to counter it.

Both sides would be fully aware of each others intentions considering how extensive the radar network is for both the foes. IAF shot itself in the foot the day it went to order the Phalcon AWACS, it robbed a massive advantage the IAF had over the PAF.

Looking at the numbers and the constraints, it does not appear that numerical superiority exist. IAF has to cover her flanks, and than perform 3 roles to implement her strategy. That itself robs her off her numerical superiority. PAF needs 350 4th Generation Aircrafts to effectively tame an IAF onslaught. It appears that they are heading exactly over there.

Why are you lying friend? A simple Google search will reveal your duplicity.

"The IAF would be participating in the exercise with eight SU-30 MK-I aircraft, two IL-78 air to air refuellers and one IL-76 transport aircraft. The contingent would comprise 156 personnel below officers rank and 91 officers (inclusive of 10 members of ‘Garud’ IAF Special Force team). The contingent is being led by Gp Capt D Chaudhury and Exercise Coordinator would be Gp Capt Ajay Rathore."

Press Information Bureau English Releases

If not this, a picture is worth a thousand words. These are SU30MKI's.

File:SU-30 MKI Idaho.jpg - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

It is because your fellow Indian brethren stuck to their rigid attitude and failed to listen to reason and argument. They started attacking @Teeta personally instead of his/her arguments, this is why it evoked a furious response from Teeta. So instead of pointing fingers, have a look at the posts of your fellow Indian brethren. They are still under the spell that SU30MKI is God's Gift to Aviation and the greatest fighter aircraft ever built. A dose of reality hurts their ego and that is when the start posting jingoistic remarks and personally attacking other posters.

care to explain how exactli :hitwall:well if its not angoor khatte hain:azn::rofl:

The BARS Radar of SU30MKI was itself the most potent weapon in the arsenal of the IAF. It allowed the IAF to look deep into Pakistan's airspace without PAF even knowing. F16's only had capable radars in the form of APG-66 but they were quite primitive compared to the PESA radar of SU30MKI. PAF did have ground based radars but they are static and more vulnerable to SEAD strikes compared to a manoeuvrable aerial platform like an AWAC.

PAF since the 1980's had been trying to acquire an AWAC from the West but the request was constantly turned down in fear that it will affect the equilibrium. After the IAF signed the deal to acquire the Phalcons, PAF was able to make her case infront of the West and purchase Erieye from Swedan with American acquiescence. The introduction of AWACs changes the balance of power in favour of PAF because it allows the PAF to see every Indian asset in the air either flying high or low from stand off ranges. PAF does not has to upgrade each and every one of her fighters with an AESA or PESA radar. All she needs to do is data link them through the AWACS which gives these fighters a comprehensive view of the battlefield.

It is because of this, the biggest advantage of the SU30MKI has been robbed off it. Now the JF17 or even an F7PG can see the SU30MKI at the same time the SU30MKI will detect the opposing aircraft. In the past, the SU30MKI could paint the opposing aircraft and fire a salvo of BVR missiles even before the opposing side would be aware of SU30MKI's presence. Now, its going to be an even level playing field. So please tell me, angoor kaisay khatain hain ;)

IMO he was trying to say that because of India's decision to go with phalcon awacs they went/forced to buy their awacs from swedan to nutralize the effect!! Period!

The BARS Radar of SU30MKI was itself the most potent weapon in the arsenal of the IAF. It allowed the IAF to look deep into Pakistan's airspace without PAF even knowing. F16's only had capable radars in the form of APG-66 but they were quite primitive compared to the PESA radar of SU30MKI. PAF did have ground based radars but they are static and more vulnerable to SEAD strikes compared to a manoeuvrable aerial platform like an AWAC.

PAF since the 1980's had been trying to acquire an AWAC from the West but the request was constantly turned down in fear that it will affect the equilibrium. After the IAF signed the deal to acquire the Phalcons, PAF was able to make her case infront of the West and purchase Erieye from Swedan with American acquiescence. The introduction of AWACs changes the balance of power in favour of PAF because it allows the PAF to see every Indian asset in the air either flying high or low from stand off ranges. PAF does not has to upgrade each and every one of her fighters with an AESA or PESA radar. All she needs to do is data link them through the AWACS which gives these fighters a comprehensive view of the battlefield.

It is because of this, the biggest advantage of the SU30MKI has been robbed off it. Now the JF17 or even an F7PG can see the SU30MKI at the same time the SU30MKI will detect the opposing aircraft. In the past, the SU30MKI could paint the opposing aircraft and fire a salvo of BVR missiles even before the opposing side would be aware of SU30MKI's presence. Now, its going to be an even level playing field. So please tell me, angoor kaisay khatain hain ;)

sorri to brust your bubble its not that easy sir ...do you know why ? well to start with Phalcon can jam almost entire so called air born radars or say can make them malfunction now dont ask me how as im not very technical person u could take darkies advice on that or some other + SU30 MKI will not come like as happned in 65 or 71 now ab hum inspector jara dooje kism ke hain ;)

baki aap chahen to nazar andaz ker den per bhai ji maybe youve heared of a thing called constant upgradetion :D

IMO he was trying to say that because of India's decision to go with phalcon awacs they went/forced to buy their awacs from swedan to nutralize the effect!! Period!
lolzzz what a joke fir to agar defence planners aise sochte to aaj hum shayad teer aur talwaron se lar rahe hote koi behter hathyaar leta hi nahi ye soch ke ki mera dushman uske liye usske jaisa le lega aur fir larai me mujhe nuksan hoga :cheesy::hitwall:
per sirji usse kya faraq parta hai we still have more and better platforms agaionst there awacs and wepon platforms as they call it + to add the massive amount of power behind the Ewarfare techs avilable with IAF over PAF courtsey Israeli's and french :sniper:

No force can hold it's addition of force multiplier just because of the fear that the opposition also might
acquire it, in our case we had to think about not only Pakistan but China also.and this awac of your's will be extremely vulnerable due it's lack of strategic depth, iaf awac could operate deep inside Indian territory and still maintain battle space management due to it's bigger radar range..in offensive role where awac coverage would be limited or non existent iaf mki radar advantage is still useful.