Golmaal 3

my review of knock out....at time of writing this , i did not know that it was copy of english movie phone booth

Knock out delivers the knock out punch !!

Director Mani Shankar does it again !!

Mani had given India's first high-tech film in '16 december' a few years ago.

This time he outdoes that effort by delivering a film that keeps you enthralled for 2 and a half hours.

Using high tech gadgetry and techno-wizardry he manages to keep you on the edge of the seat throughout......

Coming back to ' 16 december ' ,what the film lacked was a core ,an emotional content ,which seemed to be missing among all the high-tech action.......which is why the film didnt do so well at the box office.

This time he gives a film packed with sophisticated gadgets ,but one which does not forget to have a emotional content , a heart........something that every film ,especially a film made for the indian audience needs......

To give the story in short.......

Irfan Khan plays Tony Khosla , a union minister's point man who handles all the money matters for him ,including his swiss bank account ,where the minister has stacked his billions.

One day at a telephone booth he gets a call from an unknown assassin ( Sanjay Dutt )that he has a super-accurate gun pointed at him from long distance........and bullets are fired to prove it.

He is asked to confess his own ,and the ministers secrets to the public on the spot........on pain of death ,of being shot at long distance......

But before that he is asked to sing ,and dance in front of the assembled public to raise a few laughs.....

As secrets come tumbling out ,so does the temperature rise ,as also does the entertainment.......

Irfan Khan gives a terrific performance as a crooked guy whose world is turned upside down in a moment.......held hostage by someone whom he cant even see.

The real fun is to watch the movie in the theater ,as it is interesting to watch the audience reaction as each twist unfolds.

People watching the movie on DVD are likely to complain that the movie was not as good as expected.

But dont tell me I didnt warn you.........

my review of dabangg

If you want to see rajnikant type mara-mari and corny dialogues like '' Chhedi singh , mai tum-mhey goli maar maar ke ,maar maar ke, itne chhed kar doonga ke confuse ho jaaogey ke saans kaha se ley ,aur paadey kaha sey !! '' ,then this is the film for you.

Another dialogue ( by a constable to a band which refuses to play at salman's wedding because of lack of pay )-- '' agar band nahi bajaaogey to chulbulji dono legs ke beech mey itna maarengey ,itna maarengey ,ki na bajne ke kaam aaogey ,na bajaaney ke ''

Then again salman to his step-dad-- '' humney zindagi mey bohot dukh sahey hai , peheley pitaji ke jaane ka , phir aapke aaney ka ,aur ab aap bhi chale jaayengey to hum to mental hee ho jaayengey .''

The only thing I liked amidst all the dhishum-dhishum was sonakshi sinha ,who looks sexy even without exposing much ,except some backless or low back cut blouses.

On the other hand ,it was heart warming to see the classes arrive in full force for a movie obviously meant for the masses.........the tickets ,even at 400 rupees for the 10 pm show ,were sold house full at PVR multiplex .........this MAN ,salMAN ,is obviously a STAR ,with a capital S........he can certainly draw in the crowds...........

Salman's entry caused seetis and talis reserved for superstars of yesteryear......taalis even from the mini-skirted babes !!

Of course ,as the movie wore on ,the taalis were more sarcastic in tone.......

So its a movie primarily directed at the masses......who will decide the fate of the film.

If salman manages to make a success of a film as stupid as this.....and he well may.....he will have established himself as the modern day gareebon kaa amitabh ( as mithun was called ) ,or the gareebon ka mithun ( as govinda was called ).........

Mercifully , he removes his shirt only in the end ,as his muscles expand tearing apart the shirt........the greatest seetis came at this point........

Mercifully for me , it was also time to leave........

my review of inception

According to macmillan english dictionary inception means '' beginning of something '' , but here the word is used to mean something like the rhyming word conception .

Just like conception means planting of seed in womans womb ,here inception is taken to mean planting of an idea in someone's brain .........and the idea is planted by going into his dreams.......by dreaming together.

Loenardo goes into other people's dreams and finds out their secrets .......but is hired this time for .........inception.......what else..........to plant into the brain of the heir to an energy conglomerate the idea that he must divide it instead of strengthening it after his father's death ,in order for its rivals to survive........the hirers are the rivals ,but of course.........

But does inception work ?

Leonardo is near perfect for the job as he knows the answer to this very question .........though only he knows that he knows........because he's tried inception on somebody very near and dear to him.........and it worked.......

..........And for this very reason he's not really perfect ........for trying inception led to disastrous effects .........not only on his life ,but also on his mind..........and now those very effects threaten to upset and unsettle his dreams ..........i mean not only when he is actually dreaming as part of his job of sharing dreams with other people , but also his real life dream of getting back to his land to be with his mother-less children..........

confusing ??........well ,so is the movie.........confusing and complex both......

but what a movie........

and as the plot gets more intricate ,and the characters begin to dream ,and dream in those dreams ,so does the action hot up..........

as all the laws of physics ,and those of gravity too .......go for a toss ,we get to see breathtaking special effects that light up the screen...........

.........and fast-paced action sequences that make you miss your heart beats.......

director nolan has pulled of a triumph that outclasses other special effects movies of the year like avtar and 2012 ,which look so so shallow in front of this incredibly cerebral thriller............

the ending ,of course is deliberately vague.........to keep discussions rolling ,and tongues wagging long after you have walked out of the big screen theater.........

........yeah ,thats where you need to see it .........on the big screen ,with digital sound and all that........shame on those who want to see it on the small screen.........

my bet is that it will win some oscars.........

..........or i will eat my words........

my review of aisha

Actually I wasn't planning to see the movie , but then I saw this review where this movie was compared to peepli live .........the writer was whining about how aisha lives in a different world where no dirt or beggars are seen on the street ,how unrealistic it is , blah blah blah............and how the real world is shown in peepli etc.........

Then I decided to see the movie for one reason --- We go to movies to escape from reality , not to encounter it .........I mean ,what is the point in seeing movies if the same dreariness of real life is shown in them , the same poverty ,injustice .........we go to indulge in our dreams ( which are never going to turn to reality ) ,like marrying beautiful women or rich men ( depending on the gender you belong to --sorry for being presemptous ,but here I am taking the liberty of thinking that all women want rich men )..........thats why the old movies many a times showed rich people marrying poor people breaching the gareebi--amiri ki deewar and all that ........they allowed the poor to indulge in such dreams for three hours..........

Coming to the movie , it shows Sonam kapoor as a scatterbrained rich girl who is forever into matchmaking ,but without ever achieving any results........

Who cares anyway.........life powered by money is good ,there are lots of parties ,vacations to attend ,polo matches to watch and cheer, shopping malls to visit and run expensive bills , handsome hunks are around to escort you .........above all ,time to play around with.........

Her fave project is to fix the marriage of a small town cousin of hers to some rich guy ........here too she fails ,and a small complication develops as the girl ,after other guys have rejected her for precisely her small-townness , falls for the guy sonam is angling for..........oh poor little sonam

No problems however ,sonams father proclaims that this guy will also reject the girl on the same grounds of smalltownness.........and so he does !!!

Who cares anyway , sonam gets to wear fancy clothes , act like a fashion model ,play beach-volleyball in skimpy clothes .........and we get to watch all that........

One nice point though .......the parents are non-interfering in the whole movie........a welcome change from other movies where where fighting against the ladki-ladke ke maa-**** ka opposition about the marriage takes up half the time ........i was tired and sick of this ( seen too much of it in real life again )...........

rest of the movie is all okay.......

my review of antardwand

How would you feel if one day you wake up from a daze to be told that the decked up girl you have never even heard of before ,but sitting on the bed in front of you, is your newly married wife ...........

............and on refusal to sleep with her , are taunted about your ' impotency ',and are drugged and forced to **** her practically at gunpoint.......

And how would you feel if your father is confronted during his morning tea ,by a procession bringing along with it ,a girl 3 months pregnant , whom he has never seen before ,and is told that unborn child in the girls womb is his grandchild........

Thats exactly the situation a handsome and bright young man ( a would be IAS officer )finds himself in this movie which is situated in .........where else.........bihar.......

It is about the custom of pakdau shadi , in which if your daughter is not good enough to get a suitable groom , the groom is kidnapped and beaten and forced to marry her in a hooch-drunk stupor.......

And if you feel that its all a nightmare ,you can pinch yourself and find yourself in reality.....

Its a movie that certainly should have been made ,given the awesome reality of the topic........

And happily ,the director has done justice to the topic ,as he has made a movie on a real topic look very very real......

The ending is insipid though , and is the only ' bollywood ' touch in the film.

That should not take the credit away from the performances of akhilendra mishra ( father of the girl and kidnapper ) , and swati sen ( the bride ) ,who put heart and soul in making the film eminently watchable.......

The director keeps the film's twists and turns churning with skill ,and fails only at the end ,as if he does not know how such a sordid tale can be completed.......

Its not regular bollywood fare however ,and is only for the art-movie lovers

And for them , its a must see...........

my review of rajneeti

This film is a ruthless political mahabharat set on a grand stage---the politics of north india ,the heartland of the planets largest democracy.

There is a kunti ( i did not catch the name of the actress ) ,who gives birth to karan (ajay devgan ) ,begotten from suryadev ( naseeruddin shah )........

..........and true enough , the karan grows up as a sutputra ( son of a mercedes driver ,to suit the modern era) ,to take the side of duryodhan ( manoj bajpai), in his battle against yudhisthir ( arjun rampal ) and his arch rival through the ages ,arjun ( played with aplomb by ranbir kapoor ),who are helped by krishna ( nana patekar ).....and there is even a draupadi ( katrina kaif ) ,who gets tossed between brothers.

the lesson for the modern era--politics is dirty ,and not even can the good people let their hands remain unclean in the process.......

the lesson from the mahabharat---victory in a brutal war can be won only on a pile of dead bodies.........

nobody is really a good person here---neither yudhistir ,nor arjun.........

the show is undoubtedly stolen by Ranbir Kapoor ,who plays a suave behind-the-scenes political operator with a cold-hearted bent ( shades of michael corleone from godfather ) to perfection .

nana gives a restrained performance ,arjun rampal is handsome ( who said he does not look good ? ) ,katrina .........in the end she acts more like sonia gandhi in sari and foreign accent ......but ajay devgan is not at his best.

the characters may be in the mold of the mahabharat ( they are not really named arjun kunti etc in the movie ,they are just playing their roles ) ,but some fighting scenes are copied from the godfather .

sadly ,women's position has not changed from ancient times--they are just pawns in political games.........and the men ,even the best ,love their politics more than their women ........but they all look good ,especially katrina ......she looks oh-so-divine......so does ranbirs phoren wife......

verdict-----satisfying....

once upon a time in mumbai---my review

Finally saw the movie in a jam packed house.....jam packed even at such a late date....... its a DAMN GOOD MOVIE

I saw it because so many people around me were praising it ,and could not resist the pressure to see it from them.

Its a movie in which action has been mixed with some doses of emotion ,a combination that has delivered past success in bollywood.

Ajay Devgan certainly well suited for the role of Haji mastan ( called sultan mirza in the movie ),the good-hearted smuggler ( the word DON is reserved for dawood ),who loves bombay like his sweetheart.........but still has the space in his heart to accomodate his real life sweetheart ,to the extent of marrying her when he learns that she has a heart problem ,something that he is reluctant to do earlier.

Emraan Haashmi plays his role of the invincible dawood confidently ,and certainly looks like him in many scenes ,especially when he puts on goggles......and when he smokes....... .Like many people ,I too dont like him ,but his air of supreme confidence and crooked looks and acting see him through.

The relationship between kangana and devgan is beautifully built and kangana looks good as the actress turned gangsters moll.

Prachi Desai looks lovely .

Randeep Hooda is well positioned as the lean and handsome cop who has the unenviable job to choose the lesser of the two evils........and as teller of the tale he regrets to tell.......as he has made the wrong choice........

The music and songs are not just truely hummable ,but also sentimental ,and perfect for the situations.

The ' innocent 'era of the seventies is well created ,with bell bottommed trousers ,and old hundred rupee notes shown .........also seventies hairstyles........and above all ,when the goons were relatively reasonable people who did not interfere in each others territories...........and smuggling meant gold , not drugs........and pakistan was as foreign to muslims as to hindus.

I particularly liked the way emraan hashmi's betrayal of mumbai is juxtaposed with devgan's love for it ,and devgans attempt to keep its streets safe for its citizens.

At the end of it all ,I really wished that a man as gallant ,and above all ,as large-hearted as sultan mirza had been really alive to save my city......

Devil

'' The devil takes care of his own ''.......evidently not......

At least not in this movie ,where the devil plays the role of god ,bringing to justice some evil doers ........

........But it is the devil's way of delivering justice , after all ........and the devil's way is a dirty death........

A group of people gets trapped in a elevator in a high-rise .

Mysteriously ,one by one they begin to get killed ,as police watch helplessly on their screens via a camera in the elevator .

As the identities of all who are trapped become clear ,it's clear all of them are evil , in one way or the other.......

But those watching on the screen are haunted by their own past........

The devil has evidently chosen his characters with care.......

Only confession of ones sins can give hope........

........For confession can bring out the god in those who have been wronged......

.....And only god can forgive.........

Manoj Night Shyamalan has delivered a uncomplicated thriller that is not too heavy on the senses ,or the intellect , but keeps you interested throughout.

Verdict--watchable.

The movie is bullcrap i wanna my money back, i'm not joking i really get headeque after watching it.

watch only at ur own risk.:tdown::tdown::tdown:

What a waste of time.. I am gonna kill the guy who recommended this..

Its a blot on the name GOLMAAL..

my review of knock out....at time of writing this , i did not know that it was copy of english movie phone booth

Knock out delivers the knock out punch !!

Director Mani Shankar does it again !!

Mani had given India's first high-tech film in '16 december' a few years ago.

This time he outdoes that effort by delivering a film that keeps you enthralled for 2 and a half hours.

Using high tech gadgetry and techno-wizardry he manages to keep you on the edge of the seat throughout......

Coming back to ' 16 december ' ,what the film lacked was a core ,an emotional content ,which seemed to be missing among all the high-tech action.......which is why the film didnt do so well at the box office.

This time he gives a film packed with sophisticated gadgets ,but one which does not forget to have a emotional content , a heart........something that every film ,especially a film made for the indian audience needs......

To give the story in short.......

Irfan Khan plays Tony Khosla , a union minister's point man who handles all the money matters for him ,including his swiss bank account ,where the minister has stacked his billions.

One day at a telephone booth he gets a call from an unknown assassin ( Sanjay Dutt )that he has a super-accurate gun pointed at him from long distance........and bullets are fired to prove it.

He is asked to confess his own ,and the ministers secrets to the public on the spot........on pain of death ,of being shot at long distance......

But before that he is asked to sing ,and dance in front of the assembled public to raise a few laughs.....

As secrets come tumbling out ,so does the temperature rise ,as also does the entertainment.......

Irfan Khan gives a terrific performance as a crooked guy whose world is turned upside down in a moment.......held hostage by someone whom he cant even see.

The real fun is to watch the movie in the theater ,as it is interesting to watch the audience reaction as each twist unfolds.

People watching the movie on DVD are likely to complain that the movie was not as good as expected.

But dont tell me I didnt warn you.........

knock out was the copy of phone booth:disagree::disagree: