For Paf: How To Invest The $270 Million Saved From The F16 Purchase

W the people in PAF should not be risk averse invest in JF-17 and J-10 by making it equal to or even better than other combat aircraft in service they have the engineers and now they have the money this is a challenge to show Pakistan and China can do!

Let us even out that number to $300 million even. This is a good sum of money for the paf to invest into its future procurement program.

The first 50 million dollars need to put as down payment for a LEASE of 1 sqdrn of J10C aircraft----if you can get them with lesser down payment---well and good---.

The second 100 million dollars needs to be spent for a physical upgrade of the JF17 to the future BLK4 standards.

The BLK4 aircraft should have a physical upgrade like the Gripen NG----wheels moved outwards towards the wings---providing more space on the fuselage for fuel storage---the modular fuselage upgraded for a larger powerful engine---the wings given a slightly larger covered area---basically making this aircraft around 15 - 20 % larger with a load carrying capacity of around 7500 lbs---9 to 11 hard points.

With this design paf would kill two birds with one stone.

It would still build the BLK 2/3---because this aircraft has its own unique utility----the supposed BLK 4---the larger aircraft will fill in the hole of the missing F16's and take it to the next step upwards---.

My supposed BLK 4 project would be completed in about a year / year and a half time and in two years looking at production.

The rest of the 100-150 million dollars would be down payment for an electronic package available from either Vixen or Aselsan or the chinese for the purchase of a potent electronic warfare system for an X number of aircraft.

Once the first sqdrn of the BLK 4 is available and integrated---the paf may chose to return the leased J10C's if it wants to----.

Thery can then look forward to building about a 150-200 my BLK4 type JF17's and keep up with the BLK3 production as well if there are any buyers for that aircraft

We also need to keep in mind that the BLK 4 would also be coming with a 2 seater aircraft.

With a larger aircraft in service---the paf then can focus on the J31 type of aircraft.

The main reason I am taling about my BLK 4 design is that the if we got the F16's---we won't start to get them for another 2-3 years----and same with any other aircraft from an outside vendor.

We can have our own BLK 4 in that time period---and a sqdrn of Leased J10C's would give us the needed cover for the time being.
Can the JF-17 block 1 be converted into block 4

If it flies by 2023----it will go into production after another 3-5 years. First they will meet their own needs then others.

Maybe the U S will do the same as it did with Israel---offered them the F16 at such a price that hey shut down the Levi program----. The U S may make such a deal with Turkey for the F35---pakistan would be doomed again.

Pakistanis don't understand that part either---they are looking for shiny new toys elsewhere---when they already have their's gift wrapped on their door steps.
As for the Turkish folks, their first aircraft industry was established in 30s in Kayseri. They also exported some planes to Tito's Yugoslavia. In late 40's it was shut down due to the US pressure. After Cypress invasion, as usual, the US embargo was imposed which still continues to some form due to the Greek influence. So, they have learnt their lessons. If the imperial reflexes aren't totally lost, I don't think it's the case as they are rediscovering their love and respect for the glorious Ottoman past, these defense projects will go on at any cost inshaAllah. Yes, the USA is powerful, but Allah-u Azimushhan is the MOST POWERFUL...

As the money is in hands now so how about joining some JV say with Turkey or China.

$270 millions are peanuts, even JFT cost us 500 millions initially 2 decades ago..

As the money is in hands now so how about joining some JV say with Turkey or China.
Merhum Turkish President Suleyman Demirel used to say that in Siyaset alternatives can't be exhausted. I think it's also true for geopolitics and geostrategies..

Turkey is buying JSF off the shelf, producing something like F-22 is way beyond their league and capabilities. Heck even Russians have gone hush-hush after ending up with a stealthish Sukhoi offshoot (PAK-FA).
"A journey of a thousand miles starts with a single step" - a Chinese proverb
"The world belongs to the dissatisfied" - a Turkish proverb

The surest path to the failure is never to give a try. Turkish folks can't just stay at home and die - it's not in their DNA. I think the Paks are in the best postion to appreciate this..

First and most important, give me 1 Million $ ..
rest you can buy anything you want :D

:lol: Agree

@MastanKhan has written very a nice article but in case of PAF, we know answer is always ayf sola
300million is a big amount
But when you take same money in defence sector it's nothing no much how much you try to wiggle yes but option is
Get few used f16s can upgrade them uncle Sam + turkey
And invest in thunder programme
Buying totally new platform is a foolish idea many problem
India has to much big numerical superiority and hi Tech birds
Cheap way to counter f16 and thunder and when you have a good economy which can sustain and support new systems and you have enough edge to cover the gap than you can take your time with any kind of bird you see
Best example china

F16 deal will be done. Pakistan will get F16. But, Pakistani people and govt need to change its begging habit. Roughly over 200 billion dollars of Pakistan money sitting swiss and foreign banks. Imagine the wealth of Nawaz, his one account hold over 32 million pounds, yesterday a govt official in Baluchistan caught hiding 63 crore cash in his house .....imagine the corruption. Pak govt official steal 100 percent govt development funds......

Presuming the US is still kicking in $430 million for the deal, it will have do so in the current budget cycle, or Pakistan will have to wait for the next budget cycle and hope Congress is in a more charitable mood.

I have no insider information. But I think that the US will find a way to supply and fund the F-16's. It has too much at stake, too much to lose.

What exactly is US losing by denying Pakistan F-16s? Congress doesn't think its losing anything by saying no to the deal. Wonder why they think that...

How about we do not give the air force the money and give it to our R n D people to make super sonic cruise missiles and submarine launched ballistic missiles or just buy them off someone I have no issues with either... just to state it plainly, whatever you give the PAF they will screw it up somehow or squander it...
They squandered the F 16s, they squandered sales of the Jf 17 and I think you can enlighten me with many more examples... We can do without a very strong air force because well, just dealing with the S400 will need a barrage of cruise missiles which are precise and very quick along with the whole shabang to take out that system... I do not agree with the premise that we need to continue throwing money into a flaming cauldron which just turns everything to crap.
Maybe order some J 31 and tell the air force to make do with the JF 17 till then... We can always get something from China if things go real bad...

There needs to be a win win solution over here---there needs to be an oversight committee extremely knowledgeable in these matter wearing civilian uniforms.

J31 is not the answer without a proper heavy 4th gen + strike aircraft to compliment it.

Can the JF-17 block 1 be converted into block 4

If you go by my suggestion---the BLK 4 would be the big brother of the other 3 blocks---so no it won't be---.

But the utility of the BLK 1, 2 & 3 sized JF17 does not go away. It has its own strenghts---and it can compliment its position with a stronger partner.

$270 millions are peanuts, even JFT cost us 500 millions initially 2 decades ago..

That was to start from scratch and build a totally new platform----. Now that you have an existing aircraft---there is no reason for the modifications to be in that amount.

You already know what it can do---a 100 million dollars top end should be sufficient to do that modification---.

If you go by my suggestion---the BLK 4 would be the big brother of the other 3 blocks---so no it won't be---.

But the utility of the BLK 1, 2 & 3 sized JF17 does not go away. It has its own strenghts---and it can compliment its position with a stronger partner.
MK bhai can we build such a fighter without the collaboration of the Chinese or would we need significant input from them, I mean new airframe might be beyond us etc. The good thing about the JF 17 is we can update block 1 to block3

My understanding is that the 18 was part of that package that were offered to pakistan earlier last year and the paf refused.

This guy Sohail Aman has major issues---he is a very tactless man---he has no strategy and no game plan---.

He is the one who screwed up the F16 purchase---basically he threatened the U S last year----. You never threaten the U S----it does not pay back.

As for the defence minister---i don't know what he meant---he might have just meant that there are pakistani pilots training with the chinese---I do not know

PAF pilots are trained to fly any aircraft that flies in the PLAAF. Reason being PAF has provided very productive strategy & doctrine improvements.

It is just like the mirage 2k with an aesa radar---a single engine.

-

But more agile, longer range, and a lower RCS.