First lot of 40 Arjun mk2 fully operational soon

Bhai,this tank is way better than the T-90M which India operates.The additional ERA blocks which have been fitted on the turret reduces it's vulnerability to incoming tandem warheads to a great extent.In short,it's a beast and will literally devour the so called "3rd generation" mbts of our neighbors for breakfast;)
Yes,only if ARDE can pull its socks up and churn out an world class kinetic energy round for it asap!!The present one has become hopelessly outdated and inadequate for defeating the type of armor that Indian Army is expected to face!!Unless and until that happens,Arjun will remain the mightiest sparring tank......in the way that it can take a lot of hits and literally spit those out but never dishing out any effective blows in return!!

By the time we receive 300 MK2 we will get Armata (hopefully)

I would rather be happier if we could get our hands on something like the Leopard 2A7,it's a proven and matured technology.But Armata will do I hope.

We don't import anymore. We make in India!!! Armata ToT deal is in the best interest of Indian Army. And both India and Russia already in talks.
That is importing too!!This whole tot drama is just that - a big drama and nothing else!!Because no one in the world parts with any technology. They only part with industrial production methodologies & thgis is known as ToT. So, without the former, the latter becomes only licenced-production. Consequently, all this ToT can NEVER be applied for the development or production of any other product.
As for India have to pay exorbitant amounts of money for weapons procurements & the kind ToT that never translates into indigenous product solutions, this has been going on since the 1960s itself with regard to the IAF.If you desire a product that is cheaper to buy then you have to forego this stupid & preposterous option of licenced-production. A Su-30MKI costs only Rs.242 crores if imported from Russia, but costs Rs.358 crores if built in India. Therefore,if you do the math, you will conclude that just for the sake of keeping less than 5,000 workers of HAL engaged in some form of industrial activity, India has had to fork out an extra Rs.35,000+ crores for licence-building 272 Su-30MKIs! What kind of economic/commercial logic is that? And in what way has all this effort helped India with the LCA’s R & D endeavours? You therefore need to rationalize & analyse with a cool head all these inputs, & not blindly believe all the trash & utter baloney that successive Govts of India have force-fed the Indian public about the mythical (not tangible) merits of licenced-production & self-sufficiency in defence production. In other words, a long overdue reality check is direly reqd. Remember, that Rs.35,000 crores could easily have been saved & invested in the Rafale project had the Govt of India decided to import the Su-30MKIs off-the-shelf.Therefore,as evidenced from above,one should always get one’s priorities right,and have a clear vision as to what they really need!!
Regards...........

Weighing at 68 tons the thing is a heavy weight. Hope it performs as per IA's requirements.
One question though, once in would these tanks replace the older T-72s or will add on to the current number?

Bhai,this tank is way better than the T-90M which India operates.The additional ERA blocks which have been fitted on the turret reduces it's vulnerability to incoming tandem warheads to a great extent.In short,it's a beast and will literally devour the so called "3rd generation" mbts of our neighbors for breakfast;)
I hope you are not being a fanboy :)
From the looks, it does not look great. I do not mean ugly or beautiful . What I mean is turret has sharp edges, instead of smoother ones. I think attention has not been given to reduce surface area or RCS, if I can say such for tank.

@Mike_Brando
@Omega007

Is the desi ATGM ready? Last time I heard that the Indian Army was not happy with the Israeli one as it was not effective under 500 meters?

Also does this mean that 40 Tanks have been produced?

@Mike_Brando
@Omega007

Is the desi ATGM ready? Last time I heard that the Indian Army was not happy with the Israeli one as it was not effective under 500 meters?

Also does this mean that 40 Tanks have been produced?

Yes,the CLGM has cleared all the tests.

Weighing at 68 tons the thing is a heavy weight. Hope it performs as per IA's requirements.
Well,2 tons can shaved off if the counter mine frail is not equipped.But still,at 66 tons, it's quite heavy due to the addition of ERA and greater amount of hardened steel along with other heavy alloys into its armor cavities.
One question though, once in would these tanks replace the older T-72s or will add on to the current number?
Well,so far their projected numbers are just too small to be able to replace the T 72M1s from IA armored corps,whose number runs in excess 2000 units!!

We don't import anymore. We make in India!!! Armata ToT deal is in the best interest of Indian Army. And both India and Russia already in talks.

They didnt give armor or the barrel for the T90, what are they going to give for Armata? They even had a problem when India tried to put a AC in the tank at first. Screw that.

Only one we know of who entered a proposal for the FRCV are the TATAs. I doubt the Russians will even enter the competitions.

RUEzRCL.gif

WNkVAhM.gif

I think India won't order more than 400-500 arjuns( mk1+mk2). Reason is that IMO they are not transportable by trains and also their area of operation is limited due to their weight. But no doubt they are beasts in the plain and favourable areas.

T-90s and T-72s( 3500+ tanks combined) will remain backbone of tank fleet of Indian army for near future.

One more query, can anybody tell that what was the time required to build these 40 tanks?

I think India won't order more than 400-500 arjuns( mk1+mk2). Reason is that IMO they are not transportable by trains and also their area of operation is limited due to their weight. But no doubt they are beasts in the plain and favourable areas.

T-90s and T-72s( 3500+ tanks combined) will remain backbone of tank fleet of Indian army for near future.

India may or may not order more than 400-500 Arjuns. However, that will not be due to the reasons mentioned:

1. They are fully transportable by rail, on specialized rolling stock which I assure you are adequate in number.

2. Anywhere the T-90 is motorable, the Arjun is operable. The reverse is not necessarily true. The weight comes into effect when talking about old, weak culverts/bridges which were not designed for ~70 tons, not for ground. The primary parameter for measuring suitability of ground for tanks is Ground Pressure, which is lower for the Arjun in comparison to the T-90.

But anyways, the number 40 is odd. 45 tanks make up an operational tank battalion/armored regiment; and 62 is the complete complement of tanks in an armored regiment, inclusive of 17 held as reserves. For the MKII, the number was reduced to 59 a regiment, thus the 118 instead of 124.

This would suggest 40 tanks have already been manufactured (the Avadi Plant has a production capability of 50 Arjuns a year), while the rest 5 (+14) are still being built, or a few tanks are to be held by DRDO for testing(?) or Army training command(?)

India may or may not order more than 400-500 Arjuns. However, that will not be due to the reasons mentioned:

1. They are fully transportable by rail, on specialized rolling stock which I assure you are adequate in number.

2. Anywhere the T-90 is motorable, the Arjun is operable. The reverse is not necessarily true. The weight comes into effect when talking about old, weak culverts/bridges which were not designed for ~70 tons, not for ground. The primary parameter for measuring suitability of ground for tanks is Ground Pressure, which is lower for the Arjun in comparison to the T-90.

But anyways, the number 40 is odd. 45 tanks make up an operational tank battalion/armored regiment; and 62 is the complete complement of tanks in an armored regiment, inclusive of 17 held as reserves. For the MKII, the number was reduced to 59 a regiment, thus the 118 instead of 124.

This would suggest 40 tanks have already been manufactured (the Avadi Plant has a production capability of 50 Arjuns a year), while the rest 5 (+14) are still being built, or a few tanks are to be held by DRDO for testing(?) or Army training command(?)

Some really nice info,thanks for sharing pal.By the way,do you in any way,happen to be a fan of the Halo series?? :)

At one point of time, I most certainly was. Hell, I have the entire Halo novel set. But as it is with life, you get busy, and stuff just fades away from you. I haven't been in touch with the game/novels for a year now.

Same story here as well!!Too bad that Microsoft decided to shift the whole line of games to XBox,never enjoyed playing games other than flight combat sims in consoles!!