Electricity bills: GHQ seeks 50pc rebate for officers

Thank you nawaz sharif country ki aesi tasi karney ki.

More capacity payment to come
everyone will suffer while nawaz and family enjoy in london.View attachment 812306

Lol...Mate thank IMF for the increased capacity payment.....it's their condition which results in increased tariffs and hence more revenue....... Besides, compare the numbers in light of devaluation of rupee that has occurred in past 4 years.....

Mate thank IMF for the increased capacity payment
Lol did IMF force previous govt to sign long term deathly electricity generation contracts? Now that you are forced to pay for their mistakes, you are blaming IMF? 😁
E33CD7CD-6B20-4BA3-8EA7-E94DFA24A870.jpeg
B1A370E2-27E0-4CCA-83F6-50A1A8DB2BED.png
C86D1DC3-7467-4E20-9274-3A46A2311F94.jpeg

Besides, compare the numbers in light of devaluation of rupee that has occurred in past 4 years.....
Devaluation is a consequence of artificial overvalution in the past. When previous govt had artificially overvalued the rupee for 4 long years, did you complain then that it would lead to massive real devaluation and thus high inflation in future? Nope, you were taking a free ride until you got hit with reality
9AE0BE7B-D410-403A-9A81-BCE7405CB7B1.jpeg
5CCDFC0C-DBBC-47F2-AB88-A508E84B6E68.jpeg

After getting free club memberships, cheap food, facilities, free accommodation, schooling etc now they will also get 50℅ off on electricity? And why the F should a common poor Pakistani take all the burden? Maybe all these ppl want the poor to finally pickup a gun and burn this system to the ground.

And don't forget Navy's posh golf course in Islamabad.... on encroached land of a national park.

So our establishment take Lion's share of the budget, interfere in all political and administrative matters, put their retired officers on all key civilian positions, demand rebate, encroach land, run businesses, make movies......surely , one of it's kind in the world....well Done!

As non-stop raise in electricity tariff is hitting consumers across the board, General Headquarters (GQH) through Ministry of Defence (MoD) has approached National Electric Power Regulatory Authority (NEPRA) for 50 per cent rebate to Commissioned Officers on electricity bills, well informed sources in NEPRA told Business Recorder.

This request was despatched by the GHQ, Quarter Master General Branch, Director Works and Chief Engineer (DG&CE) Army.

The communication says that the rebate on electricity charges for Army Officers was fixed by the GoP @ 25% in 1985. The rebate was revised @ 50% on electricity units consumed vide SRO No. (1)/96. However, other charges/ taxes, as notified from time to time, are required to be paid in full by the Officers in as per rates mentioned in schedule of electricity tariff for ex-Wapda Companies effective from August 13, 2002. Revision of rates for WAPDA (now Distribution Companies-DISCOS) was issued in a letter No. 2290-2315/GMCS/Tariffs/T-150 (Vol-lx) on August 20, 2002.

According to DG&CE, Military Engineering Services (MES) continued the practice of giving rebate @ 50% on energy charges in the light of notifications. However, Discos, later on, amended the rates in the name of variable and other charges, i.e., variable charges, sale rates of electricity per Kwh, which covers the unit price. Other charges include additional cost to cover taxes/ surcharges such as financial cost surcharge, fuel price adjustment, Electricity Duty, Neelum Jhelum Surcharge, Tariff Rationalization Surcharges and GST.

“MES is giving refund @ 50% to be calculated on the basis of energy charges instead of variable unit charges. This has curtailed the electricity bills rebate to around 3.5% instead of 50% to Army officers,” said Director DG&CE in his communication with Nepra.

In view of above, a case for amendment was initiated with MOD, which has asked to get views/ comments of NEPRA and Power Division as required in terms of Rule 18(4) of this Rule of Business 1973.

Nepra says taxation through power bills not its domain

Last year, Ministry of Defence had drafted a summary for the Cabinet titled “NFC- 50 per cent rebate to commissioned officers on electricity bills” and sent to Finance Ministry for comments.

Ministry of Finance, while commenting on the proposal said that proposed draft summary for the Cabinet has been examined in Finance Division (MF wing) and argued that since the matters concerning electricity bills fall under the purview of Power Division, Defence Ministry should approach Power Division or Nepra for guidance as required in terms of Rule 18 (4) of the Rule of Business, 1973. However, instead of getting the requisite guidance, only an old reference of December 2, 2008 from Nepra was added which does not serve the purpose as there is no elaboration.

Finance Division also requested Ministry of Defence, to get specific input/ recommendations from Power Division/Tri Services and again repeated specific input/ recommendations from Power Division/ Tri-Services (not only GHQ) through self-contained note, highlighting background of the case and circumstances leading to reduced rebate benefits as required in terms of Rules 18(4) of the Rule.

Electricity prices have been increased by about 60 per cent by the incumbent government and it is preparing for another increase in base tariff up to Rs 0.95 per unit for consumers to be effective from February 1, 2022. The subsidy rationalization plan will massively hit the middle-income group consumers who use 200-400 units monthly.

They were getting 50% discount on electricity charges and now are seeking same discount on variable include additional cost to cover taxes/ surcharges such as financial cost surcharge, fuel price adjustment, Electricity Duty, Neelum Jhelum Surcharge, Tariff Rationalization Surcharges and GST.
If this is true then not acceptable at all, but isnt it strange that a patwari raising issues about subsidies and corruption, have you got any shame left besharam patwari sahab. Nani420 ka manjan kahien aur baicho.

Lol did IMF force previous govt to sign long term deathly electricity generation contracts? Now that you are forced to pay for their mistakes, you are blaming IMF? 😁
View attachment 812429View attachment 812430View attachment 812431

Devaluation is a consequence of artificial overvalution in the past. When previous govt had artificially overvalued the rupee for 4 long years, did you complain then that it would lead to massive real devaluation and thus high inflation in future? Nope, you were taking a free ride until you got hit with reality View attachment 812433View attachment 812434

Why is this government keeping PKR heavily undervalued?? REER is 98-99 but actual value is almost double then that.

It may have benefit some exporters but it hurts masses badly as they have to suffer with high inflation and reduced purchasing power.
True in short term. Long-term, undervalued rupee makes Pakistani exports attractive in global market. More exports mean less govt borrowing and thus stable rupee value without artificial overvalued exchange

Bad idea...we are not in a position to give rebate to any one on any thing.
Wt the govt should do is give rebate n concession on the solar n other renewables, equipment import n manufacturing. So as to encourage people to seek cheap ulternative solutions in large numbers. As thats the way to go

After getting free club memberships,
No. You have to pay
cheap food,
No, again officers pay for their food.

facilities,
Which ones
free accommodation,
Pretty much every job gives you a housing allowance.
schooling etc now they will also get 50℅ off on electricity? And why the F should a common poor Pakistani take all the burden? Maybe all these ppl want the poor to finally pickup a gun and burn this system to the ground.

This is a technical dispute which being misrepresented by the typical Pakistan haters online and here.
Government pays for military salaries. And the they also pay pay for electricity production. The Government makes or loses no money at all, whether they pay 5% or 50%.
It’s money moving from one pocket to another. It’s a technical accounting issue.
Like an employer giving employees special vouchers to go buy stuff at its stores . They are not losing any money.

Nothing wrong per se in giving army officials in giving subsidised power as long as it properly accounted for as part of the defense budget. Only thing is such subsidies shouldn't be hidden.

Regards

No. You have to pay

No, again officers pay for their food.

Which ones

Pretty much every job gives you a housing allowance.

This is a technical dispute which being misrepresented by the typical Pakistan haters online and here.
Government pays for military salaries. And the they also pay pay for electricity production. The Government makes or loses no money at all, whether they pay 5% or 50%.
It’s money moving from one pocket to another. It’s a technical accounting issue.
Like an employer giving employees special vouchers to go buy stuff at its stores . They are not losing any money.

Club memberships are free, food is subsidized in clubs, go chk prices. No mostly govt jobs there are 50 houses for 500 employs. And if it doznt make difference then make energy free for civilians as well. You cant fool the ppl, we all have connections and relatives and we see the difference.

Club memberships are free,
No its not. Membership fees are taken from their salaries.
food is subsidized in clubs, go chk prices.
No its not. Country Club food is cheaper than Restaurants due to economies of scale and volume and the fact that most of it is sold at slightly above cost rather than to make a big profit.. And officers clubs are basically country clubs. Islamabad Club prices are about 2/3rd for a meal compared to a similar restaurant, Lahore Gymkhana is about half. Both are fully provate.
No mostly govt jobs there are 50 houses for 500 employs.
No, if anything they have better than forces personnel.
And if it doznt make difference then make energy free for civilians as well.
Are you kidding me? Most departments offer much greater benefits than that, including free electricuty units, petrol (upti 300 litres a month for some jobs) plus multiple types of "allowances".
You cant fool the ppl, we all have connections and relatives and we see the difference
No need to fool anyone and frankly your posts here seem to suggest absolutely zero knowledge about service conditions.