Eight killed in suspected sectarian shooting in Kurram

''inna lillahi wa innâ ilay-hi raji'oon"

"Truly! To Allah we belong and truly, to Him we shall return.""

Sitaron se age jahan aur bhi hai.Abhi ishq ke Imtehan aur bhi hai.Iqbal

Their were no peace problem before taliban intervention because Shia are in majority their. Problem were start when taliban had come from Afghanistan to support sunni tribes against Shia.They had encircled the Parachinar and cut off road connection from other Pakistan. Shia are using Afghanistan route to come even in Pakistan for last many years.

awaeen dhakay se sab kuch taliban se tou na jori ja meri jaan !! shia sunni taliban ki waja se wajood mein na ayay... or na hi dono taraf ke log itnay masoom hain ke taliban se pehle unhay apnay differences ka pata hi nahi tha... or baray jese piyar mohabat ke geet gatay hon...

baki ofcourse teri baat thek hai tactical level pe jo kuch bhi ho raha hai aaj kal...

God know future of Pakistan, no body will appreciate this secretarial violence, y dont ppl understand that we cant afford this nonsence.

dont worry about the future of PAKistan, we started from scratch, we can lose everything and start all over again !

Their were no peace problem before taliban intervention because Shia are in majority their. Problem were start when taliban had come from Afghanistan to support sunni tribes against Shia.They had encircled the Parachinar and cut off road connection from other Pakistan. Shia are using Afghanistan route to come even in Pakistan for last many years.

About 15 years ago, there was someone I knew who is from Hangu, he was a retired Army Hawaldaar and did guard duty in a Mosque near where I lived. Since he was a gunner too so he used to meet up with my father after his retirement. He happened to be from Shia school of faith. (but Army men dont make a big deal out of it because we fight and die together ) one day he came over to our home telling me about the attack by the Taliban (during Nawaz Sherif's 2nd government) he termed the attack as a massacre saying that the attackers didn’t even spare women and children.

It was a shocking news for me because there was no such report on the state run PTV or any newspaper (the media was not liberated during the nawaz Sherifs’ democratic government yet). He went on saying that there was no help from the police or the army, therefore he was collecting money from people he knew so that the villiage could buy weapons to defend themselves from the Taliban attacks who had declared them as heretics and given permission to rape their women and kill their children as a great service to Islam.

I had to politely refuse his request and served him tea and saw him off but since that day when I started to learn more about the plight of the people of Parachinar/ Hangu and what I found was very disturbing. If one says that these people have suffered the brutalities of the Deobandi Taliban that scale at the level of Israeli oppression of the Palestinians in Gaza then it wont be too far from truth. The place is virtually under siege for years and has been used by the aspiring Sipah Sahabah and Laskher Jhagvi terrorists as a boot camp to kill those people to hone their skills to later use in the rest of Pakistan and Afghanistan.

Blaming the Wahabi/ deobandi ideology of Taliban & its sister outfits is useless because now the same outfits are spilling the blood of the innocent sunni Muslims in Pakistan, well actually they are not even bothering to see who they kill. The blame lies with our security forces and the government which has failed to provide protection to its own citizens. So you see those people under siege have to travel in conveys under so called protection of the state but still die at the hands of the terrorists (like this incident) and if the government sends in food supplies then they are burnt and their drivers (whether shia or sunni) are mercilessly executed.

Seeing is believing or knowing someone personally who has suffered all this would make it believable but sadly majority of our population is unaware and dismisses it as an isolated incident and concentrates on other issues.

Incidents like these where religious and sectarian minorities are not protected from the fanatics just makes our case for Kashmir and our condemnation of Israeli and Indian forces very weak and hollow.

Like many good members of this forum (Indian & Pakistanis) I am glad that we condemn this terrorism and mourn for the victims as a fellow human being not on the bases of faith or nationality.

May Allah protect the innocent and punish the culprits driven by hatred and bigotry.

awaeen dhakay se sab kuch taliban se tou na jori ja meri jaan !! shia sunni taliban ki waja se wajood mein na ayay... or na hi dono taraf ke log itnay masoom hain ke taliban se pehle unhay apnay differences ka pata hi nahi tha... or baray jese piyar mohabat ke geet gatay hon...

baki ofcourse teri baat thek hai tactical level pe jo kuch bhi ho raha hai aaj kal...

yeh awein nahin hai, I am talking about this with my experiences of meeting with some displaced people of Parachinar.Two years ago i have send 5000 cash to widow and children of One Martyr through online Banking, but it took three month to collect because Bank have no cash delivery in the mean time.
This person was martyr and his body has been fired by fanatic mob.Hundred of Children has been died because of food& medicine shortage .
I can't paste here the pictures that yazidi taliban did in this area. Faith differences and clash was not serious before taliban arrival in this area.

yeh awein nahin hai, I am talking about this with my experiences of meeting with some displaced people of Parachinar.Two years ago i have send 5000 cash to widow and children of One Martyr through online Banking, but it took three month to collect because Bank have no cash delivery in the mean time.
This person was martyr and his body has been fired by fanatic mob.Hundred of Children has been died because of food& medicine shortage .
I can't paste here the pictures that yazidi taliban did in this area. Faith differences and clash was not serious before taliban arrival in this area.

Im not talking about situation right now. both have militant groups, but were at peace since 1984.and I have seen Talat's programs on it as well which clearly shows that Shia who were allowed to make homes in parachinar were now being forced to leave and faced persecution. its quite simple had the shias been in better position the other would have been facing persecution... thier peace broke because of Musharraf policy, you shouldnot twist this fact.
moreover taliban is a general term. its easily used everywhere just because it has some bad connotation nowadays...

nonetheless its sad to know, I heard they reached peace agreement recently..but i think it didnt last...

Terrorism from Afghanistan needs to be countered. The Shias and Sunnis lived there for hundreds of years. The war is Afghanistan is between Christians Nato, Christian dominated US and UN and Talibaan muslims. Why they will want to waste their weapons on killing fellow muslims, it is the Afghan agents under Indian and US support that are doing terrorism in Pakistan.

Im not talking about situation right now. both have militant groups, but were at peace since 1984.and I have seen Talat's programs on it as well which clearly shows that Shia who were allowed to make homes in parachinar were now being forced to leave and faced persecution. its quite simple had the shias been in better position the other would have been facing persecution... thier peace broke because of Musharraf policy, you shouldnot twist this fact.
moreover taliban is a general term. its easily used everywhere just because it has some bad connotation nowadays...

. I agree with you
the other more sinister use is to imply that all Deobandis and wahabis are terrorists and shias and Beralvis are innocent just to incite sectarian hatred
we have seen recent outbursts by the Beralvis that cant be attributed to someone who claims to be a devotee of the Muslim saints who preached the message of love.

reference Sawat, the criminal gangs also started using the name of taliban and they harassed people and committed petty crimes as well as robberies and murder but they lost the appetite for this claim when Pakistan army bullets started taking them out.

. I agree with you
the other more sinister use is to imply that all Deobandis and wahabis are terrorists and shias and Beralvis are innocent just to incite sectarian hatred
we have seen recent outbursts by the Beralvis that cant be attributed to someone who claims to be a devotee of the Muslim saints who preached the message of love.

reference Sawat, the criminal gangs also started using the name of taliban and they harassed people and committed petty crimes as well as robberies and murder but they lost the appetite for this claim when Pakistan army bullets started taking them out.

exactly we are quick to label just to be on the safer side of the argument...instead of understanding the whole picture.

Terrorism from Afghanistan needs to be countered. The Shias and Sunnis lived there for hundreds of years. The war is Afghanistan is between Christians Nato, Christian dominated US and UN and Talibaan muslims. Why they will want to waste their weapons on killing fellow muslims, it is the Afghan agents under Indian and US support that are doing terrorism in Pakistan.

Before the Kufar or Christians as you say came to Afghanistan, the true warriors of Islam(your beloved taliban) killed people left right center and that included the shias. Dont forget that the TTP has always helped Afghanistan's taliban, they are busy burning fuel trucks in pakistan, they send men to afghanistan, suicide bomebers etc. This is not the first time the taliban are killing shias, and it wont be the last time.

I hail directly from the agency's north. Many hours, deliberations were undertaken to secure the peace agreement between the fighting sides. The group that claimed a similar attack ''Sattar'' group is unheard of. I dont know whose orders they are taking.

sectarianist violence has been going on for many many years there....however, since the peace agreement is signed it is obligation of all tribes (as per the local culture) to RESPECT the agreement. The terrorists like in other areas aim to disturb the peace because they thrive through divisions and tit-for-tat murder.

it will not be accepted by the people of Kurram, who I know for fact are tired of fighting and the damage it does to local economy. Kurram is not like many of the other agencies. It has water, it has resources -- miscreants have never really been able to prevail there without a strong resistance.

this is an act from outsiders who want to disturb an otherwise beautiful and serene region

this thread will be likely to be shut down and/or cleaned up if this un-necessary mud-slinging continues. Cool down and post sensibly.

The Kurram Agency and specially Hangu is the Pakistani version of Gaza

the Shias there constantly hunted and murdered and the valid targets include women and children as well

Imran Khan and jamaat Islami always say that the terrorism started in Pakistan because of our part in American War on Terror and American presence
but ask these people, they are being murdered for decades even before this word "war on terror" was coined.

the lure of bedding with 72 virgins is so tempting that the glorious Sipah Sahabah and Lashker Jhagvi wont even spare children and women
for a change of taste they have started killing the main stream Sunnis specially the Beralvis just to give the feeling to rest of us how these people of Hangu have been suffering for decades. the Parachinar/ hangu are constantly surrounded and under siege by the fanatic tribes hell bent on eliminating the Shias who they consider as kafirs.

Imran Khan and Jammat Islami wont mind if these terrorist only continue to kill these people once Pakistan army stops operation against them.

The shias travel in conveys sometimes “escorted” by police and Army but that doesn’t stop Jihadis of Islam from killing 5 to 15 of them and sending them to hell and adding more virgins in their bank once they will be eventually “martyred” by Pakistan Army.

it used to be a lot worse.....if the region survived 2006, which was hell (i lived through it) then it cannot ever be compared to Gaza. Of course the saddest reality was the closure of the Thall-Parachinar road which basically strangulated the region and the people there --as food and medical supplies were going low

PIA stopped fokker flights there though as is always the case in Pakistan --there is a way to capitalise on such things (even misery). Private companies do regular flights now in chartered aircrafts.

the sectarian groups have a lot of blood on their hands.....even belonging to the Turri ''clan'' myself, I will be honest and say that some of ''our people'' dont have their hands clean either. Some belonging to Sunni tribes were driven out forcefully and had to re-locate. Whoever you ask thinks they are righteous and ''entitled''

but again, 2006 was when shyte hit the fan. Things are better now, at least my own assesment. Everything is relative. The calms are usually tense calms, anything can cause a chain reaction. That is why you'll BARELY even see aerial firings during weddings in many parts of Kurram --especially Parachinar. When gunshots go off, rumours spread about who is firing and why they are firing.

as I would say for all of Pakistan, Kurram is paradise on earth. It is some of the asshole-element who ruin it for everyone. Kurramwals are simple people who just want to send their kids to school and just want to live a normal life. Doesnt matter which tribe you are Turri or Bangash or Mangal etc.

after i recovered from some injuries in 2006, some UK-based friends and relatives visited and we did a documentary on Parachinar which was screened by local NGO and activist groups (like FIDA). Actually, I just helped with some of the filming and getting permission to film --99% credit goes to them.

it would help to those who know little about this side of Pakistan