Can Pakistan be the next Silicon Valley?

According to Srilanka they can also claim next silicon valley and so may be bangladesh.If pakistan is seriously in a race of silicon valley they have to take steps against non state actors who are really damaging image of pakistan
Good point, so does Philipines, so does Indonesia , Kenya...everyone wants to be the next Silicon Valley. If wishing was enough..

Even Bangalore + Tidel Park + Cyberbad etc... combined are not equal to Silicon valley (though they are approaching it with each year over time). Having a single one that size is going to be even longer.

It is a long term process to develop the true scale of Silicon Valley....we need much more demand from all quarters of a massive economy with lots of wealth, spare capacities, margins for high niche RnD.

But yes people that dont know about what it takes can just easily use the word for their fantasies :D.

Can Pakistan ever become a nuclear weapons state?

Indian experts/scientists/politicians: A big NO! It is impossible for Pakistan to ever become a nuclear weapons state or to ever possess nuclear weapons regardless of how much help they may have had.

Can Pakistan become the next silicon valley? Maybe or maybe not. Us Pakistanis can achieve whatever we want to provided we focus in on it and work towards that goal. Either way it is not for an indian to comment or pass judgement on us. It's not your prerogative to do so. Pakistanis are so completely different to indians in every possible way that you and the members or your race can never ever pass accurate judgement on us which was proved in May 1998 with Pakistan's nuke tests.

Lol.Even North Korea can build a nuke even though they had much less outside help than Pakistan

There are plenty of Pakistanis or Pakistan-origin ex-pats who have combined many many years of experience in engineering and ICT, they can certainly come together to make Pakistan a hub of startups and technology companies.

Pakistan government should also look into offering subsidy for tech startups much like developed countries offer subsidies to their farming sectors , otherwise our products won't be competitive

Silicon Valley is only in California and no other country , even the very developed ones like Germany , Sweden etc have not been able to replicate Silicon Valley

Indians as usual are making snide remarks in this thread , however there is no equal of silicon valley in india also , banglore is just a large offshore town , where american companies go to setup low cost operations

Lol.Even North Korea can build a nuke even though they had much less outside help than Pakistan

Didn't realize North Korea has over 100 nuclear weapons. How can an indian know whether Pakistan had more help than North Korea or not? india has never ever had any sort of outside help for their nuclear weapons program. india never ever buys any advanced weapons systems or technologies from any other country. india has never ever even bought fighter jets, submarines or tanks from other countries. That's because india is a pioneer of nuclear technology and all major scientific breakthroughs and inventions. india was responsible for the manhatten project. Known locally as the Mumbai project. india itself makes the best fighter jets, tanks, ships and submarines all by themselves with 0 foreign help or equipment. Even better than america or Russia.

Pakistani want to go straight to mars without first shooting a rocket into space...baby steps needed not a giant leap.

Agreed about taking small steps. But no to going to mars. As Pakistanis our first priority is giving a 1st class living standard to each and everyone of ALL of our citizens. If we can achieve the same living standards of our citizens to that of Turkey and the Gulf Arab states than that we'll be one of our biggest achievements ever. That's our focus. The ultimate goal of CPEC.

living standard doesnt just happen there are a lots of condition for that. First and foremost is education. Pakistani education system needs a total revamp specially in public schools we are still teaching 60s books, unless a kid is naturally talented the best he can become when he gets out of public education is become a clerk.

There are plenty of Pakistanis or Pakistan-origin ex-pats who have combined many many years of experience in engineering and ICT, they can certainly come together to make Pakistan a hub of startups and technology companies.

Pakistan government should also look into offering subsidy for tech startups much like developed countries offer subsidies to their farming sectors , otherwise our products won't be competitive

Silicon Valley is only in California and no other country , even the very developed ones like Germany , Sweden etc have not been able to replicate Silicon Valley

Indians as usual are making snide remarks in this thread , however there is no equal of silicon valley in india also , banglore is just a large offshore town , where american companies go to setup low cost operations
The recent study done says that Bangalore is the second-largest IT cluster on the planet after Silicon Valley and by 2020 with 2 million direct IT jobs, 6 million indirect jobs and Rs 4 lakh crore exports at 40 percent of India's exports, and will be the single-largest IT cluster on the planet.So as far as number of jobs are concerned it will beat california by 5 years from now.

Lol maaz machi khanay walay bhi IT ka shoq rakhtay hain.....billi ko khawab may chicharay nazar atay hain

living standard doesnt just happen there are a lots of condition for that. First and foremost is education. Pakistani education system needs a total revamp specially in public schools we are still teaching 60s books, unless a kid is naturally talented the best he can become when he gets out of public education is become a clerk.

I agree somewhat with you but I believe in somehow creating jobs for everyone in Pakistan and making sure everyone pays taxes. If we can do that and also provide the very best in health and medical care, education and opportunities for ALL our citizens then that would go a long way in resolving a large proportion of our problems. A lot of people in Pakistan are starting to think along these lines. We must first aim to have the living standard of Iran, than Turkey and finally the Gulf Arab nations. I believe CPEC will be the start of this.

Silicon valley is not about IT alone. It is about Electronics also. Pakistan may not be at the level of Silicon valley but in IT Pakistan is making gradual strides. We should also consider having IC fabrication plants here, something we lack.

The answer to this question is NO.

On its own, Pakistan cannot become the next silicon valley or anything remotely close to it.

Don't under sell yourself. Pakistan has as much potential as it aims to be. If India a developing economy can create IT hubs like Bangalore etc, how difficult is it for Pakistan?

That's what Indians were also saying about Pakistan's nuclear weapons program.

Your enemy will say all kinds of things about your capability. You just have brush it aside and move on. I have worked for one IT company in US whose founders were from Pakistan. I worked with mostly students from Pakistan who were finishing their masters and I saw lot of potential for these new recruits to contribute back to Pakistan.