Bhakts Going Crazy Blocking Bangladeshi Appliances: Make-in-India Not Working

Like I said, You would have begged India for oxygen had it been the case. You might yet face it, just wait and watch.

We waited, still waiting also.....oh wait it never happened to us since we don't claim to be a superpower and go against China.

We know our boundaries you guys don't
Lol. Ofcourse Walton is next Samsung. We'll see about that in the coming decade.

And by the way Samsung doesn't have a plant in Bangladesh. It is coming with one this year in partnership with fair electronics.

Also, Walton can put up plant in India and manufacture like all the Korean, Chinese and Japanese companies do. Lungis don't get special treatment.

Go to Amazon India, and look for TV's, there'll be atleast 70 brands all manufactured in India. If you can compete with them you are free to do so. Don't be cry babies about imports. We do what is good for us. Lungis sentiments are not part of that equation.

TV Brands

Ours is not a puny market like lungi land.

It's not a puny market cause there's billions of you duh

Like I said, You would have begged India for oxygen had it been the case. You might yet face it, just wait and watch.

Indians did what they normally do, shutoff Oxygen export to Bangladesh during Covid.

With friends (mittron) like these - who needs enemies?

Selfish bhakt idiots.

Bangladesh immediately ramped up our own sources and met local demand. We had contingency plans, unlike India.

And by the way Samsung doesn't have a plant in Bangladesh. It is coming with one this year in partnership with fair electronics.

Says some-dum-guy....already operational last year. :lol:

In Bharat - a small factory like this is inaugurated by the 56" man-chester PM himself.

"Desh Agey Barh Raha hai"

In Bangladesh, factories like these are a dime a dozen. PM never went, Chhota mota minister did.

maxresdefault.jpg

Other than TV's they will also assemble cellphones (including luxury models Like two Note 20 models) As well as 100,000 aircons. Two fifths of the local market for aircons is now supplied by local manufacturers. Bangladesh as a country is self-sufficient is supplying compressors for local refrigerator and aircon manufacturing. Aircon manufacturing started with 30% local value addition, but will go up gradually to 80% within two years...as additional machinery arrives.

Bangladesh-made Samsung products will be exported eventually - while Indian made Samsung products are for Indian local consumption and made by low quality local OEMs like DIXON. Their quality is appropriate for Indian local market only and unsuitable for export.

Bangladesh begins manufacturing Samsung ACs
Tribune Report
  • Published at 12:18 am January 28th, 2021
Samsung AC factory visit Palak Fair Electronics

ICT State Minister Zunaid Ahmed Palak inspects the new Samsung AC manufacturing factory premise with top Fair Electronics officials at Shibpur in Narsingdi on Wednesday, January 27, 2020

'We are inaugurating this latest Samsung air conditioner manufacturing plant to fulfill our customer demand within their affordability'.

After smart TVs, South Korean home appliance and electronics giant Samsung is all set to produce air conditioners (ACs), with the launching of their new production plant at Shibpur in Narsingdi on Wednesday.

ICT state minister Zunaid Ahmed Palak inaugurated the plant, which is owned by Fair Electronics, Samsung's sole authorised manufacturer of mobile phones and consumer electronics products in Bangladesh, said a press release.

As a result of local production, the domestic AC units will have a 30 per cent value addition, thus their retail prices are expected to drop 25-30 per cent, Fair Electronics officials told the media.

"The new Samsung factory will bring confidence of foreign investors especially hi-tech companies which will enhance our employment opportunities. We hope they will contribute in our export in near future," said Palak.

“We are inaugurating this latest Samsung air conditioner manufacturing plant to fulfill our customer demand within their affordability. This factory will generate employment and will bring foreign currency by exporting locally-produced ACs and other consumer electronics," said Ruhul Alam Al Mahbub, chairman of Fair Group.

He also said that at least 100,000 units of ACs were expected to be churned out of the new plant in the next five years.
Lee Jang-Keun, the Korean ambassador to Bangladesh, senior Fair Electronics officials and others were also present.

According to a market research report published last year by LankaBangla Investment, approximately 25 local and foreign companies are marketing different types of air conditioners in Bangladesh.

The market size stood at Tk. 6,500 crore last year, with local companies contributing two-fifths of the market.

Home grown motherboards to make Samsung Cellphones "Made in Bangladesh"

Recently, Fair Group exported Samsung mobile sets and refrigerators to the United Arab Emirates for the first time on a small scale

made-in-bd-samsung-infograph.jpg

Two years ago, Samsung mobile sets sold in Bangladesh were manufactured in China, Vietnam, or South Korea. But now Bangladesh is not only making mobile sets of the South Korean electronics brand but also exporting them.

The company, Fair Group, that made the export possible is going to take the business one step farther by beginning production of motherboards to make mobile phones even cheaper.

Until now, motherboards have been imported for the phones produced at the factory of Fair Group in Narsingdi's Shibpur. A plant set up at a cost of around Tk60 crore in the factory premises will soon start operation to manufacture mobile phone motherboards.

In a recent interview with The Business Standard, Ruhul Alam Al Mahbub, chairman of the Group, said the whole plant was ready.

"We have taken preparations to launch mobile phones made with motherboards manufactured in the plant from mid-January," he said.

The machinery for making motherboards of refrigerators and television sets has also been installed at the plant. Apart from mobile sets, these two Samsung products will be manufactured with locally-made motherboards, bringing down production costs and prices in the local market.

The company has also finalised a plan to build a plant to manufacture Samsung washing machines.
Alam said locally-made Samsung washing machines would be available in the country this year.

Fair Group, the sole distributor of another South Korean automobile giant Hyundai Motors, is also going to set up a Hyundai passenger car assembling plant in Bangladesh. It will be built at the hi-tech park in Kaliakair.

Export of Bangladesh-made Samsung products

Recently, Fair Group exported Samsung mobile sets and refrigerators to the United Arab Emirates for the first time on a small scale.

Mobile devices, including Galaxy Note 20 Ultra and 5G flagship sets like Note 20, are now being made at the Shibpur factory.

"Some Samsung handsets were exported to Dubai on a trial basis. We got good response from there," Alam said.

The company also received positive feedback from Dubai on exported Samsung refrigerators.

Samsung products assembled at the Fair Group's plant were previously allowed to be marketed in Bangladesh only. Now the company's production capacity has increased and an approval has been given for exporting its products.

Fair Group sees great potential in export

Alam said India's seven sister states, in addition to the neighboring Nepal, Bhutan, and Sri Lanka could be a big market for Samsung products manufactured in Bangladesh.

Large-scale exports are possible if Bangladesh gets duty-free access to those markets for electronic goods under bilateral trade deals like the South Asian Free Trade Area (SAFTA) agreement.

Fair Group is holding discussions with the Ministry of Commerce to get its products on the list of duty-free export items.

"Vietnam exports Samsung products worth $55-$60 billion every year. If the environment of doing business can be made easier in Bangladesh, it will be possible to export Samsung products worth this amount," Alam said.

He is also optimistic about Samsung's direct investment in Bangladesh.

The company chairman said Samsung representatives had already discussed the matter with Fair Group. He thinks Bangladesh should have a long-term tax policy to attract foreign investment.

"When we set up the mobile manufacturing plant, there was no VAT on handsets. A year later as we started production, suddenly 15% VAT was imposed."

After a lot of negotiations with the ministries concerned, VAT was reduced to 5%. If tax and VAT are imposed this way, global brands will feel discouraged to invest in Bangladesh, Alam said.

Foreign investors should be provided with favourable policy support and infrastructure facilities, he said, adding that only cheap manpower was not enough to attract foreign investment.

Meanwhile, Fair Group is increasing its investment to meet the rising demand for Samsung products in and outside the country.

It has become the fastest growing business organisation in Bangladesh within 12 years of its inception by following the principles of "Fair Business Practices." In 2014, it became the national distributor of Samsung mobile phones.

In 2018, Samsung's Complete Knock Down mobile sets manufactured in the Shibpur plant were launched in the market. Before that, Samsung refrigerators came to the market. Fair Group started the production of television sets and air conditioners last year.

At present, three crore mobile sets are sold in the country annually. Of these, one crore are smartphones.
According to Fair Group, the annual demand for smartphones in the country will increase to two crore units in the next five years due to the widespread expansion of mobile internet, an increase in consumer income and growth in literacy.

The company wants to become strong in this sector with more investment in smartphone production.
It plans to bring Samsung no-frost refrigerators and TVs to the number one position in Bangladesh in the next three years. Manufacturing refrigerator parts is part of the plan.

Mohammed Mesbah Uddin, chief marketing officer of Fair Group, said more than 3,000 people were working at Fair Group.

Of them, 1,800 are employed in the factory. The rest work in offices, warehouses, and in sales.
Most of the people employed in the factory are highly skilled engineers, Mesbah said. "The motherboard plant, which is to be launched soon, will employ about 50 high skilled engineers," he added.

According to a market research report published last year by LankaBangla Investment, approximately 25 local and foreign companies are marketing different types of air conditioners in Bangladesh.

The (Bangladesh) market size (for air conditioners) stood at Tk. 6,500 crore last year, with local companies contributing two-fifths of the market.

According to accurate data from IBEF, which is the latest and most authoritative data valid as of April 2021 (Indian Consumer Durables Industry Report),

https://www.ibef.org/industry/indian-consumer-market.aspx

India's air conditioner market is worth Rs. 12,568 crore (US$ 2.56 billion),

How does a country and economy that is eight times that of Bangladesh, have an air conditioner (HVAC) Industry only twice (or three times) as large? Which I'm sure includes air conditioner for vehicles and office Central HVAC too? :omghaha:

Can you say kanjoosi - boys and girls?

According to accurate data from IBEF, which is the latest and most authoritative data valid as of April 2021 (Indian Consumer Durables Industry Report),

https://www.ibef.org/industry/indian-consumer-market.aspx

India's air conditioner market is worth Rs. 12,568 crore (US$ 2.56 billion),

How does a country and economy that is eight times that of Bangladesh, have an air conditioner (HVAC) Industry only twice (or three times) as large? Which I'm sure includes air conditioner for vehicles and office Central HVAC too? :omghaha:

Can you say kanjoosi - boys and girls?
Billi, you keep taking wrong inferences from statistics. You really need to check your IQ.

The continually growing market is currently stands at USD 1.38 Billion as of 2017.
  • Television: USD 414.22 Million
  • Refrigerators: USD 549.11 Million
  • Air Conditioner: USD 164.57 Million
  • Home Appliances: USD 251.41 Million
What times is $2.56 billion to 164.57 million? How come you can't even read your own postings?
Says some-dum-guy....already operational last year. :lol:

In Bharat - a small factory like this is inaugurated by the 56" man-chester PM himself.

"Desh Agey Barh Raha hai"

In Bangladesh, factories like these are a dime a dozen. PM never went, Chhota mota minister did.

maxresdefault.jpg

Other than TV's they will also assemble cellphones (including luxury models Like two Note 20 models) As well as 100,000 aircons. Two fifths of the local market for aircons is now supplied by local manufacturers. Bangladesh as a country is self-sufficient is supplying compressors for local refrigerator and aircon manufacturing. Aircon manufacturing started with 30% local value addition, but will go up gradually to 80% within two years...as additional machinery arrives.

Bangladesh-made Samsung products will be exported eventually - while Indian made Samsung products are for Indian local consumption and made by low quality local OEMs like DIXON. Their quality is appropriate for Indian local market only and unsuitable for export.

Bangladesh begins manufacturing Samsung ACs
Tribune Report
  • Published at 12:18 am January 28th, 2021
Samsung AC factory visit Palak Fair Electronics

ICT State Minister Zunaid Ahmed Palak inspects the new Samsung AC manufacturing factory premise with top Fair Electronics officials at Shibpur in Narsingdi on Wednesday, January 27, 2020

'We are inaugurating this latest Samsung air conditioner manufacturing plant to fulfill our customer demand within their affordability'.

After smart TVs, South Korean home appliance and electronics giant Samsung is all set to produce air conditioners (ACs), with the launching of their new production plant at Shibpur in Narsingdi on Wednesday.

ICT state minister Zunaid Ahmed Palak inaugurated the plant, which is owned by Fair Electronics, Samsung's sole authorised manufacturer of mobile phones and consumer electronics products in Bangladesh, said a press release.

As a result of local production, the domestic AC units will have a 30 per cent value addition, thus their retail prices are expected to drop 25-30 per cent, Fair Electronics officials told the media.

"The new Samsung factory will bring confidence of foreign investors especially hi-tech companies which will enhance our employment opportunities. We hope they will contribute in our export in near future," said Palak.

“We are inaugurating this latest Samsung air conditioner manufacturing plant to fulfill our customer demand within their affordability. This factory will generate employment and will bring foreign currency by exporting locally-produced ACs and other consumer electronics," said Ruhul Alam Al Mahbub, chairman of Fair Group.

He also said that at least 100,000 units of ACs were expected to be churned out of the new plant in the next five years.
Lee Jang-Keun, the Korean ambassador to Bangladesh, senior Fair Electronics officials and others were also present.

The market size stood at Tk. 6,500 crore last year, with local companies contributing two-fifths of the market.
Launch was in January of this year. You lungis have talked as if Walton has already won. Wait a few years and let's see.

Samsung Inaugurates World’s Largest Mobile Factory in India; Honourable Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi Flags-off ‘Make for the World’

Noida-Plant-Picture.jpg

120 million mobiles are to be manufactured here. For a 100000 AC production factory (lol), not even a minister will attend billi.

I dislike Indians as much as the next Pakistani but if you read the posts of Bangladeshis on here you would think BD are already a first world country with people from US, UK and Australia lining up trying to move there for a better life.

Fake Newj.

Indian bhakts going crazy to block Bangladeshi home appliances: Make-in-India not working I guess...? Sad.

Take a look - Andh Bhakts crying hoarse to boycott Bangladeshi washing machines and Aircons. :lol:

Look at the crowded, and unclean manually assembled Aircons in the first video above and looks at Walton's manufacturing modern process below, where even the screws are made using automated QC controlled process.

Sad to see Indian manufacturers will not invest to compete in quality with a supposedly "peechey chal raha hai" (backward) country.

And look at this - Walton is one of the top compressor manufacturers in the world, came up with new 2nd Gen compressors recently. Bangladesh is the eighth largest compressor-producing country in Asia and 15th in the world. The country’s only compressor manufacturing industry Walton has the annual production capacity of about 4 million compressors. Walton plans to increase production capacity to 10 million by 2025.

I guess "Atmanirbhar" (self-sufficient) is in hype only....
Average consumers care about cost and quality so i am not surprised. Even most indian are over jealous of china at the end they are just good at everything.

Its good to see Bangladesh taking baby steps but still its very low and has long way to go. I will say for Bangladesh target market should be USA or Europe not third world country like India.

no chinese third rate goods accepted in india .

India makes about US$50 Billion every year from Bangladesh, by tourism, medical tourism, illegal remittance from Indian nationals working in Bangladesh and legally and illegally exported products to Bangladesh. This one-sided income by India is unsustainable situation and cannot continue as it has for more than two/three decades.
Any source for this? From where did this $50billion figure pop up?
On the contrary, BD gains the highest remittances from India.

Whether amount of exported items from Bangladesh to India are nominal now does not matter, Bangladeshi exports are way more competitive than Indian items made in India itself.
Ok.
If Indians are okay with consuming Chinese products, there cannot be any problems consuming Bangladesh product. Let the open markets decide. Whether Bangladesh products are exported via OEM name or by Bangladesh brandnames.
Sure. Till now, Bangladeshi products haven't been able to capture our domestic market.
I mean Walton may not be there now but sure in the future
How can you predict the future so confidently?
By the way your kind is the one who shouts at MUH HUH INDIA SUPWAPOWA not us , focus on dealing with China and your people not dying from Covid before you even think at poking at us.
There are plenty of people on either sides who are delusional.
And you are talking as if Corona didn't touch BD😐.
Those are mostly cellphones assembled with Chinese parts, and cannot pass muster in any country with "certificate of origin" clauses, like the ones Indians use to block imports to its own markets.

Indian electronic products exported mostly to 3rd world unregulated markets like those in Africa where certificates don't matter - or officials can be bribed to circumvent rules.

Bangladesh has also started this export to 3rd world markets like in Africa, and their products will invariably be cheaper, to boot.

Bangladeshi companies like Walton already export to advanced regulated markets like EU and US - where certificate of origin, GKAS and ISO certification standards are rigid requirements. Dhokeybaaj Bhakt Banyas don't bother with those certification requirements and are just happy pushing garbage low quality products to Africa markets.
I honestly have no idea about 'certificate of origin' and what all you are talking about but you seem to have an irritating complaining attitude throughout your posts. Words like 'Dokeybaaj Bhakt Baniyas' thrown in between makes you even less trustworthy.

I think you are looking at Garments washing machines and bottling plants which are specialized things used in Industry and hundred times more expensive than consumer machines.
Aren't you bragging how BD needs nothing from India and that all Indian made stuff is low quality?

We are talking about consumer market items here. No one in their right mind would buy an Indian washing machine for their home. At least not a good one, which does not sell by dint of price alone.

Everyone knows Bangladeshi local product is higher quality than Indian product, especially refrigerators. Which also is supplied to OEM brands sold in India. Ditto with TV's.

What is the market share of IFB washing machines in India? That product was based on Bosch technology and basically fell flat on its face because Indian consumers were too kanjoos to buy them.
Good for you super-rich Bangladeshis🤷‍♂️. Western countries should really keep an eye on the Bangladeshi market since apparently Bangladeshis are rich people who splash money for fun on their national product 'Walton Washing Machines'.

You'll be in good company, many lakhs of your compatriots are already illegally working in Dhaka, from line manager to "C" level folks.
No thanks🙂.

Tell me one thing, why are some of you so childish? Even your top international cricketers look so childish when they do 'Naagin dance' and what not (Mushfiq immediately comes to mind). Recently, Shakib (who is a great cricketer btw) kicked the stumps on the non-striker end like how gully players do after losing the match. And then this post about Walton Washing Machines somehow making BD some sort of a superpower.

No offense to the sane Bangladeshis on this forum.