An open letter to the people of India on the Kashmir issue

it would appear unrelated if you insist in going in circles ,

1) It was India that took the Kashmir issue to the UN SC in 1948, as far as UN is concerned Kashmir is a disputed territory

you should be questioning Lord Mountbatten & Nehru on the need for plebiscite, not me

My dear Maharajah Sahib,

Your Highness's letter, dated the 26th Octobers has been delivered to me by Mr. V.P. Menon. In the special circumstances mentioned by Your Highness, my Government have decided to accept the accession of Kashmir State to the Dominion of India. Consistently with their policy that. in the case of any State where the issue of accession has been the subject of dispute, the question of accession should be decided in accordance with the wishes of the people of the State, it is my Government's wish that, as soon as law and order have been restored in Kashmir and her soil cleared of the invader, the question of the State's accession should be settled by a reference to the people. Meanwhile, in response to your Highness's appeal for military aid, action has been taken today to send troops of the Indian Army to Kashmir to help your own forces to defend your territory and to protect the lives, property and honour of your people.

My Government and I note with satisfaction that your Highness has decided to invite Sheikh Abdullah to form an Interim Government to work with your Prime Minister.

Yours sincerely,

(Sd/-) Mountbatten of Burma

Legal Document No 115--Reply from Lord Mountbatten to Maharajah Sir Hari Singh
dated 27 October 1947

2) It was not be mandatory to rogue India but the countries that sponsored the UN resolutions from 1949 to 1970 don't share India's view.
1)You have been pointed out before, how the promise of plebiscite was conditional, as is evident from the letter itself.

'...as soon as law and order have been restored in Kashmir and her soil cleared of the invader, the question of the State's accession should be settled by a reference to the people'

Why are you being dishonest?

2) The Kashmir resolutions are under Chapter VI, which is non-binding in nature. Chapter VII is binding, though.

....strategically the most important part,Not only it shattered your dream of trade route to Afghanistan and central Asian countries but also gave us the oppurtunity to Give China the Strategic Energy Corridor thereby giving India a real pain the ***..;)...But then again denialism is the favorite Hobby of Indians..:lol:
You mean, it is strategically more important for you to prevent India from directly linking up with CAR - although alternative routes can be used - than securing your source of water?

the intent was mandatory , do you have an issue with that, I only highlighted the mandatory intent, hope that keeps you off the loop

how India views the plebiscite - mandatory or obligatory , is India's choice and India knows what the outcome will be if plebiscite is conducted in Kashmir

You do know that there is no such thing as "mandatory intent".
Also like you have said, it is India's choice and as per our choice, we are conducting elections and we are happy with it.

1)You have been pointed out before, how the promise of plebiscite was conditional, as is evident from the letter itself.

'...as soon as law and order have been restored in Kashmir and her soil cleared of the invader, the question of the State's accession should be settled by a reference to the people'

Why are you being dishonest?

I am aware of it, apart from insisting upon Pakistan, is it possible for India to withdraw its army (invaders) from IOK , and hold a plebiscite under UN administrator ?

You want India to unilaterally withdraw from her legally held land - legality which is recognized even by UN?

What do you think this is all about, a school canteen brawl?

PS: You are now resorting to special pleading

You want India to unilaterally withdraw from her legally held land - legality which is recognized even by UN?

What do you think this is all about, a school canteen brawl?

PS: You are now resorting to special pleading

I said Indian invaders, in your context that's 'legally held land' , Kashmir accession to India is suspicious

You do realize that you are now doubting UN resolutions.

First rule of life: If you find yourself in a hole, stop digging.

Jammu and Kashmir

politics (general)
political development

Along with your votes, give your elected leadership the task of resolving the Kashmir Issue once and for all.

To the People of India,

India’s elections have begun and you are exercising your votes to choose your new political representatives. Whoever you end up electing will be momentously placed to exercise real leadership and take the difficult decisions that are needed to shape a better course for the future of India and for peace in South Asia.

In this regard, there are two clear paths ahead, each with very different outcomes. Your newly elected representatives (those in power and those in opposition) could collectively resolve to take a bold and visionary break from the past and could work together to pursue a serious political and diplomatic effort to resolve the Kashmir issue. Alternatively, they could relinquish their collective leadership responsibilities and choose to follow the same old default policy approach that has allowed the Kashmir issue to fester for more than six decades now, placing the region on the dangerous trajectory that it is currently heading towards. Ultimately, the direction that the next elected leadership of India will take vis-à-vis the Kashmir issue largely depends on all of you — the people of India — and on how effectively you can influence and support your political leaders to do what is both possible and necessary for peace.

Not an isolated issue

We urge you to recognise that the Kashmir issue is not a peripheral or isolated one. You must understand and become seized of this important matter. In the past we made many attempts to reach out to you personally and apprise you of the Kashmir issue and the grim situation on the ground, but all these efforts were thwarted by the use of brute force and hooliganism, and on many occasions we were manhandled. The Kashmir issue continues to destroy life and obliterate the rights and aspirations of our people in Kashmir who desire only to live free, peaceful and dignified lives. The continuation of this tragic conflict is also a direct threat to your interests and well-being as a people. In one way or another, this tragic conflict directly affects all the other issues that are currently being discussed and debated in the election season in India. You have a direct stake in seeing that a just and lasting resolution of the Kashmir issue is reached. The conflict is not only a threat to millions of Kashmiris, it is a serious hazard for the one billion-plus population of India and for the population of the entire region. There is no better time than now to press your representatives to exercise their leadership to resolve the Kashmir issue.

A peaceful solution to the Kashmir issue would unleash immense prosperity and economic benefits for India and for the entire South Asia Region. Unfortunately, rather than pursuing a political solution in Kashmir, successive governments in New Delhi have continued to waste your taxes and precious economic resources to pursue a militaristic policy on Kashmir. At huge economic and human cost, this approach represents a failed policy. It has only ended up deepening the conflict. Today, it should be a matter of great concern to all of you that India ranks 136 in the UN Human Development Index (HDI), but has distinguished itself as the world’s largest importer of arms by a huge margin. While India’s economic growth has slowed in the last few years, arms imports have increased by a phenomenal 111 per cent in the past five years. This is draining your economy, while filling the coffers of other countries that are benefiting as arms exporters.

Indeed, the Kashmir conflict is a direct threat to your prosperity. With more than 800 million people in India still living on less than $2 (Rs. 120) a day, surely the estimated $37-47 billion a year that goes as military expenditure (which is 2 to 2.5 per cent of GDP) could be put to much better use towards initiatives to lift more and more people out of poverty. If the Kashmir issue is resolved, not only would this costly arms race come to an end, it would open up the multipliers of economic cooperation and trade. Certainly, ensuring lasting peace and stability is the greatest foundation for your future prosperity, economic growth and development.

You must ask your leaders why after so many decades, military approaches have failed to resolve the Kashmir issue. Today, this conflict is a direct threat to the security and stability of the entire region. It is the main driver of militarisation and regional instability, and there is every possibility that the situation could escalate and worsen in the coming years. If the Government of India continues to avoid a political solution to the conflict, if it insists on the continuation of the same unjust and hegemonic approaches, it will spell disaster for the region. This beaten path has already proved to be a policy failure long back. Delaying a political solution has made the situation more insecure and unstable, and the conflict has only become more dangerous with time.

quote_left_1832862a.png
Today, Kashmir stands as a potential nuclear flashpoint which could consume the lives of millions of people in an instant.
quote_right_1832863a.png

Engaging in a costly nuclear and conventional arms race with Pakistan and continuing to pursue militaristic approaches in Kashmir will only add to these dangers. You must ask your leaders whether these approaches are truly serving your interests. Allowing a dangerous political conflict like Kashmir to fester is no way to ensure the security of the Indian people, nor can it be a path to a stable future for the region. The Kashmir issue continues to keep all the parties bogged down in a state of perpetual hostility and distrust. In this way, conflict has become the biggest security threat to the region.

Not only is the continuation of the Kashmir issue a direct threat to your economic prosperity and security, we believe that you have a real moral stake in not letting your government continue to pursue what is a failed and unjust policy towards Kashmir. Kashmiris have legitimate rights and aspirations. Attempting to suppress the emotions and aspirations of millions of people by force is no way to address a political conflict. Widespread human rights abuses have taken place and grave injustices have been carried out against our people. Crushing the democratic right to protest and express political dissent, restricting free speech, persecuting entire sections of the population, foisting black laws and continuing to keep hundreds of thousands of military forces deployed for decades on end in Kashmir – surely this represents both a moral and political failure. There has to be an end to all of this.

Please put yourselves in the shoes of our people and try to see the conflict through their eyes. Talk to any common Kashmiri and he or she can share with you the direct pain, injustice and indignity that people continue to suffer as a result of the conflict. Surely, you have a direct moral stake in ensuring that your government takes the higher road on Kashmir towards peace. Kashmir is a human issue and it requires a political solution.

Path of statesmanship

For the sake of our children, we urgently need to resolve this dispute. Instead of a festering quagmire, we should hand over to our youth a chance to shape a peaceful, hopeful and prosperous future — for all parties concerned — for the people of Jammu and Kashmir, India, and Pakistan. We believe that every party must put forward serious efforts to resolve the conflict. For peace, many barriers and obstacles will have to be overcome. Furthermore, any lasting solution must be a just one, and that necessarily means recognising and upholding the Kashmiri people’s aspirations and right to self-determination. In this regard, we are seeking only what is due to the people of Jammu and Kashmir as a matter of legal, moral, and historical right. The solution will have to be acceptable to all parties – India, Pakistan and the people of Jammu and Kashmir.

For long, we have hoped that India’s leaders would tread precisely this type of an approach — the path of statesmanship. We expected that your Prime Ministers would take bold decisions that would go against conventional thinking to break the status quo and resolve the Kashmir issue.

quote_left_1832862a.png
At various moments, both Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee and Prime Minister Manmohan Singh gave us some reason to believe that an honourable and lasting solution could be achieved.
quote_right_1832863a.png

It was Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee who went to Lahore and declared from the base of Minar-e-Pakistan: “It is my dream and wish to resolve the Kashmir issue.” It was also Mr. Vajpayee who spoke of holding unconditional talks under the ambit of Insaniyat and vowed that India "shall not traverse solely on the beaten track of the past.” He proclaimed that India’s leadership would act as “bold and innovative designers of a future architecture of peace and prosperity for the entire South Asian region." Similarly, on many occasions, in 2004 and again in 2006 from Amritsar, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh talked quite boldly about engaging in an irreversible process of dialogue to reach a political solution on Kashmir.

Period of uncertainty

Unfortunately, these visions could not materialise and the attempts were not sustained. For the people of Jammu and Kashmir, the first decade and a half of this century has only been one of continued uncertainty, human misery, unfulfilled promises, false hopes and failed efforts to resolve the Kashmir issue. Failure has bred cynicism and destroyed hope in Kashmir. The good intentions of your Prime Ministers aside, we regret that the peace initiatives proved to be too fragile and the process too vulnerable. Ultimately, these attempts were reversible. They failed to yield visible results and no progress was achieved towards addressing the underlying realities of the Kashmir issue. As a result, many in Kashmir have concluded that the Government of India is not sincere and has no desire to resolve the Kashmir issue. Today, many people are questioning whether the political path of dialogue and negotiation is the best way to seek their rights and ensure justice.

The Kashmir issue is where it has always been – unresolved and causing great harm, suffering and cost to all. Today, all of us continue to be held hostage to the past. In this regard, we must accept the fact that domestic politics in India has played a disabling role. It has held back leadership and statesmanship in India.

quote_left_1832862a.png
Whenever parties find themselves out of power and in opposition they have tended to take hardline approaches on Kashmir. When ruling governments face domestic opposition, they become unable or unwilling to do what is necessary for peace.
quote_right_1832863a.png

Worse still, sitting governments even take hardline actions themselves that worsen the situation.

Observing all this, Kashmiris have now realised that it is not at all possible to expect any sitting Prime Minister in India (irrespective of the party they come from) to pursue peace on their own. Individual political will and personal determination have not been enough to move the process forward. Therefore, in order to resolve the Kashmir issue, your elected Prime Ministers need the consistent support of the opposition parties and they also need active support from all of you – the people of India.

Therefore, as citizens of India you have a vital role to play for peace in the region. Ultimately, visionary leadership and statesmanship in India will be enabled by your public wisdom and from your active support for peace. Whoever you vote for and whoever ends up forming the next government or sitting in the opposition, you must hold them accountable on the Kashmir issue. You must convince your elected leaders that the time has come to develop a peace process on Kashmir that is immune to domestic politics and power tussles.

The entire region is waiting for India to come forward for peace. There is already a broad political consensus in Jammu and Kashmir and in Pakistan that the Kashmir issue must be amicably resolved. Similarly, you must ask your leaders to develop a political consensus to resolve the issue. Let finding a solution to the Kashmir issue become a goal of all the parties to it.

In this direction, it is our sincere hope that you will raise your voices. You must press the elected leadership to rise above domestic politics and work towards India’s strategic and moral interests. Through your resounding support for safeguarding India’s interests in peace, prosperity and security and through your vocal support for justice, you can make a real impact.

quote_left_1832862a.png
We hope that after the current election, those who are elected to power and those who are in opposition will all act in greater unison to move forward towards resolving the Kashmir issue.
quote_right_1832863a.png

There must be a serious, result-oriented and time-bound process of dialogue between the leadership of India and Pakistan, and of Jammu and Kashmir.

Let this process start sooner rather than later. Over an intensive period of one year, let all of the parties engage actively with one another. Let each party seriously consider whether they can find partners to end this conflict once and for all. We must all try our best and exhaust the possibilities to seek a peaceful solution. Perhaps together we will be able to find some way to take a historic step forward towards a real peace process.

We remain ready and willing to contribute positively and constructively towards this achievement.

Sincerely,

Mirwaiz Umar Farooq

Chairman, All Parties Hurriyat Conference
An open letter to the people of India on the Kashmir issue - The Hindu
@Aeronaut @Oscar @mafiya @Chak Bamu @tarrar @Areesh @A.Rafay @Neptune @Rashid Mahmood @jarves @janon @nair @OrionHunter @kaykay @Yzd Khalifa @WebMaster @Munir @Secur @Azlan Haider @Jungibaaz and others
Kashmiri Pandits – the Victims of Denial

By Mahesh Kaul

April 2010

A lot of hue and cry was raised by the J&K government by creating the so called Apex Committee to oversee the return and rehabilitation of the Kashmiri Hindus to their original habitat Kashmir. The atmosphere was ripe with the speculation of permutations and combinations that may emerge to send the Kashmiri Hindus back to Kashmir without realizing that the Kashmir which they had left to highlight the incompetence and impotence of the Indian political class and the Indian state to protect the rights of the minority in all respects in the Muslim majority state of J&K is today in the hard grip of the forces representing the fascist and Talibanised culture. And above all the politics of exclusion is the cardinal principle of the political establishment in the state in terms of the minority rights which has trampled the Indian nationalism in every sphere.

Two decades have passed as far as the forced exodus and ethnic cleansing of the Kashmiri Pandits is concerned but it is unfortunately shocking that this genocide has been trivialized by not correctly interpreting the fall out of this national shame. The Internal displacement of the Kashmiri Hindus has been trivialized by the Indian state in terms of economics. Without analyzing the real mindset and the contours of the ethnic cleansing inflicted on the community, the Central government is treating the community as the victims of the natural calamities like flood, earthquake, etc. It is a problem that has vast religious, political and social dimensions that make it a case fit for national shame . It is sad on the part of media and political establishment of the Indian nation that secularism and democracy has been compromised in the J&K state for bailing out the majority community of the valley who could not protect the social structure of the valley as a whole. 1984 riots and the Godhra episode in 2002 have been accepted by the political parties across spectrum as the shameful fate of secular India. But the ethnic cleansing and genocide of the Kashmiri Hindus has not been accepted by the Indian state as the failure of the Indian secularism in J&K.

Commissions were constituted to look into the factors and forces that led the nation to the disgrace during 1984 and 2002 riots but none of that ilk has ever been constituted in J&K to look into the events and factors that forced the minority community of the Kashmiri Pandits to live as refugees in their own state and own country. Indian Policy makers and hence the Indian state is still in the state of denial and refusing the expulsion of the Kashmiri Pandits as a national shame . Moreover, it is in a state of denial to accept the religious, social and political fault lines in the state that have reduced the minorities as perpetual hostages to the majority to squeeze as much benefits as it can in the name of pseudo secularism and so called myth ‘ Kashmiriyat. ’

The bonhomie which the political class is enjoying with the vested interests in J&K and the fringe elements in the community are trying to create a myth called ‘Kashmiriyat’-It is a misnomer and more or less the political counterpart of the pseudo-secularism propagated by the left-liberal intellectual discourse in the Indian polity.

The fraction of the Kashmiri Hindus(Pandits) perhaps a few thousand or even less who are living a life of second class citizens in Kashmir have been threatened to abdicate so that the process of Islamisation of the Kashmir Valley is complete. It speaks volumes about the social, political and religious ground realities in Kashmir. For the last twenty years this fractional chunk of the Kashmiri Pandits had tried hard to hold on to their ancestral properties in the valley by compromising their social, political and religious rights but now they have decided to call a spade a spade as they have been threatened by the majority community to leave otherwise they will be eliminated in no time. This is the state of secularism in Kashmir.

The policy makers are busy at the centre to use the Kashmiri Pandits as cannon fodder to give legitimacy to the myth called ‘Kashmiriyat’ and to implement the hidden solution to Kashmir problem under the garb of ‘quite diplomacy’ and ‘unique solution’ they are ready to bail out the majority community of the human rights violation which they have committed by the expulsion of the Kashmiri Pandits from the valley. Indian state has given ideological concessions in Kashmir and now after complete expulsion of the Kashmiri Pandits it is all set to give the territorial concessions as far as the J&K is concerned to secessionists . It is the first step by the Indian political establishment of India and the political state to demolish the Northern frontiers of the Indian nation by diluting Indian territorial integrity in J&K ,the frontline state in the Himalayan region-without realizing its implications on India in terms of balkanization.

Indian state should pay heed to the ground realities and persecution of the minorities in Kashmir by reading between the lines the open letter from the Kashmiri Pandit Sangarsh Samiti (KPSS), Srinagar representing the fraction of Kashmiri Pandits living in adverse conditions . It reads” On 15 th November ,2009 two of our members went to Bhairav Ghat, Chattabal, Srinagar to take some pictures of the temple ruins so that the fate could be settled with the concerned authorities . But the members of the majority community who had encroached the temple land abstained them from taking pictures and used unparliamentary language against the Kashmiri Pandits and religious places . They started the slogans like”Jis tarah hamne tumhare mandiroon ko jalaya hai vaise hi tum logon ko jalayenge,aur kisi ko pata bi nahi chalega”The way we have burnt your temples in the same way we will burn you and no one will know about you. ”Yehan sirf Isalm chalega”Only Islam will prevail here. ”India ko lagta hai ki tum logon ko vapas layega, jo bi aaye ga mara jayega, hum log phir se gun uthayenge”. India thinks that they can bring Kashmiri Pandits back to valley, whosoever will come will die, we will again raise arms against you. The mob there even man handled the members of KPSS and they had to leave the place . Even they could not file an FIR against the mob due to the life threat given by these hooligans belonging to a particular community. ”

This open letter addressed to the Prime Minister, Chief Minister and the Separatist leadership should wake the Indian state from the slumber of denial and rise to the occasion to safeguard the minorities in the state.

The concluding part of this open letter should put the political establishment to shame in India as they have given open ground to the anti India elements in Kashmir. It further reads”KPSS requests the state and the Central Administration to re -think about their proposal to bring back the Kashmiri Pandits to the valley instead prepare to register the fresh lot of migrants who will leave the valley in the coming days if the situation is not taken care of in due course of time. KPSS also appeals to the International Community to take the matter seriously and ensure that all necessary steps are taken to safeguard the Kashmiri Pandits in the Valley. ”

Indian state has failed Kashmiri Pandits to bail out the Islamic fascism in the Kashmir Valley.

*(Writer is a PhD scholar at the Centre for Hospitality and Tourism Management (CHTM), University of Jammu).

if you are under 18, you need PG

Did India abide with that rule in the case of the princely state of Hyderabad ?
Our land our rules. If you have the capability try to take it. Oh wait, guess you did try. :D

RIVER WATER????????????

I thought the Kashmir river's path doesn't go through rest of India. I thought Kashmir's rivers are confined to Tibet, J&K and Pakistan. Am I factually wrong? Why are Pakistanis accusing Indians of depriving them of river water?

Wow,am almost crying:rolleyes:

There is no solution to kashmir as we know it will join pakistan the day it gets independence(which is impossible)just because pakistan is muslim majority country.

Plus the water flowing through kashmir is valuable for us.

If kashmiris are so suffocated here,they are free to cross over to Azad Kashmir but not a mm of land is negotiable.
They can live in our kashmir or go join Azad Kashmir.We wont negotiate an inch.We paid too much,First thing is to get our economy up and keep a war chest of 10 years war besides our normal economy.Then we go on offensive.

After 1947 document was signd by kadhmiri maharaja, its indian land, it belongs to us. Because we never got any land either from Pakistan for the Hindu and Sikh refugees from 1947, or even the Pakistani minorities that escape to India today.

On topic: I thought these Kashmiri's wanted to jihad against india . Looks like now they down to begging lol.
kyonki Aukaad mein aa gaye woh,Unarmed pandits ko terrorise kar ke bhagane mein apni mardangi dikha diya na, Indian army broke their morale lol.Real life experience se bhol raha hoon,When they get a tough opponet whos willing to fight more , they become indians and docile otherwise they keep shouting.
This proverb says it all "Laaton ke bhoot baaton se nahin manti".

Indians don't understand, we want IoK liberated because these are our brothers. Water issue is non existant. 80-20 indus treaty already favor Pakistan and kashmir rivers belong to us. I have seen Indian dams build in IoK, these are small run of the river dams with not much potential to generate electricity. One dam of 4500MW in Gilget can generate more electricity then all IoK combined dams. Pakistan Kashmir potential hydropower is close to 50.000MW while IoK barely 3.000MW.

Most of sites for big dams ended up in Gilget area which is already in our control. IoK is just a headache for Indians, hindus are not allowed to settle there, Bharat is not allowed to use Kashmiri rivers water. Few thousand MW electricity generated is all India have benefited from it. But in return wasted unknown amount of resources just in hatered of muslims. After 71 war Bharat forces Pakistan to get nukes, which have put millions of lives in South Asia in danger.

So as we all know and any neutral will also say the same, most important part of Kashmir is already under Pakistan control. Not only it has given us border with China but also denied India acess to Central Asia.

Indians don't understand, we want IoK liberared because these are our brothers. Water issue is non existant. 80-20 indus treaty already favor Pakistan and kashmir rivers belong to us. I have seen Indian dams build in IoK, these are small run of the river dams with not much potential to generate electricity. One dam of 4500MW in Gilget can generate more electricity then all IoK combined dams. Pakistan Kashmir potential hydropower is close to 50.000MW while IoK barely 3.000MW.

Most of sites for big dams ended up in Gilget area which is already in our control. IoK is just a headache for Indians, hindus are not allowed to settle there, Bharat is not allowed to use Kashmiri rivers water. Few thousand MW electricity generated is all India have benefited from it. But in return wasted unknown amount of resources just in hatered of muslims.

So as we all know and any neutral will also say the same, most important part of Kashmir is already under Pakistan control. Not only it has given us border with China but also denied India acess to Central Asia.

If you like and love the Kashmiris so much , we will be happy to arrange travel certificates for one time permanent travel to Pakistan for any and all Kashmiris. :coffee::coffee::coffee:
They will be 100% liberated in Pakistan.:enjoy::enjoy::enjoy:
Pakistanis don't understand , we want Azad Kashmir liberated because it is our land.

I read what he has to say.One thing I noticed from the tone, he doesn't identify himself as an Indian himself and addresses the people of India in second person narrative.

Anyways, why are we discussing this?Kashmir is an integral part of India, period.

Its a insult for pure Kashmiri to be associated with India. Nothing personal just a fact.

If you like and love the Kashmiris so much , we will be happy to arrange travel certificates for one time permanent travel to Pakistan for any and all Kashmiris. :coffee::coffee::coffee:
They will be 100% liberated in Pakistan.:enjoy::enjoy::enjoy:
Pakistanis don't understand , we want Azad Kashmir liberated because it is our land.

As i said most importan part of Kashmir is already under Pakistan and free. The strugle in IoK was purely based on our love for Kashmiri brothers under occupation. We will never forget them, India soon will have to let IoK go. It belongs to land of pure.