A Take On Communal Violence In India

The Naxalites / Maoists are hardcore communist guerrillas. Which type of Muslim should approach them ? The newer Tableeghi type or the older socialist / poet / writer / director / intellectual type ?
No Muslim can gain anything by associating with Naxalites, they're a reaction to the caste-based violence and encroachment of Dalit/tribal lands by UC landlords. They solve no problem and their organisation triggered the likes of Ranbir Sena and related caste based militia in Bihar. In short, their struggle is futile in the long term. This is no means to say what they are fighting for is worthless.

I think WW2 style cellars should be a feature in all minorities houses in India. Maal jaye tou jaye jaan tou bacch jaye gi.
Jews were 0.8% percent and Muslims are 14%, it's not that easy to do another holocaust here.

Here's a thought for you. I know you'll accuse me of being ill informed. Why weren't Sikhs targeted to mob attacks in Punjab in 1984? Why in Delhi? Because they form the majority there. They were easy targets in Delhi.

Doosri baat, if you keep brushing everything away by saying it'll take time and effort tou kya faida hoping for anything? You may not see the effects of your efforts but your children or younger siblings might. Imagine, if Muslims all over India had woken up after the Gujarat massacre or the Nellie massacres and consolidated themselves, they wouldn't have been so marginalized now.

Teesre baat, it's better to go down fighting than like a sitting duck. Imbibe the idea of resistance in yourself. Arm yourself, arm your women. Get rid of this defeatist attitude. Vietnamese rag tag militias would never have been able to destroy the world's largest military if they had adopted such a defeatist attitude.

I am no one to guide you because I don't know your situation. But do something for your self and your community. You guys are not weak. You are 200 million. These BJP people are bullies trying to kill your spirit like they have done to the Dalits for 1000s of years. Had the baniyas been so powerful, Pakistan and Bangladesh would never have been formed
Important part highlighted.

They don't have to make 'alliances' with Mamata or with Stalin, or with Left leaders. They just have to behave like normal citizens, like everybody else. That is the point that neither the Sanghi nor the green chaddi gets.
No, there's some threats and problems for Muslims in UP. Let's not play a centrist in every situation.

No Muslim can gain anything by associating with Naxalites, they're a reaction to the caste-based violence and encroachment of Dalit/tribal lands by UC landlords. They solve no problem and their organisation triggered the likes of Ranbir Sena and related caste based militia in Bihar. In short, their struggle is futile in the long term. This is no means to say what they are fighting for is worthless.

Jews were 0.8% percent and Muslims are 14%, it's not that easy to do another holocaust here.

Important part highlighted.

No, there's some threats and problems for Muslims in UP. Let's not play a centrist in every situation.

Dear sir, I'm NOT talking about UP. I'm talking about the hypothetical case that all of them land up in West Bengal, in Tamil Nadu or in Kerala.

Yeah, even if the future is, ironically, regressive, jumping over six prior decades of progressive activism. :coffee:
One point that I would make here is that the "activism" you're talking about was elitist in it's very essence, it never put it's boot on the ground to educate and better the lives of Muslims.
If Muslims did not wore Burqa before, it's because of lack of burqa culture stretching back centuries not because of some random lyricist's songs, mind you polygamy was much more prevalent that it's now.

Dear sir, I'm NOT talking about UP. I'm talking about the hypothetical case that all of them land up in West Bengal, in Tamil Nadu or in Kerala.
Pardon my ignorance.

Who is going to welcome them in Tamil Nadu?

No Muslim can gain anything by associating with Naxalites, they're a reaction to the caste-based violence and encroachment of Dalit/tribal lands by UC landlords. They solve no problem and their organisation triggered the likes of Ranbir Sena and related caste based militia in Bihar.

Dalit and tribal lands as well as ( I believe ) landless peasants in Naxalbari originally.

In short, their struggle is futile in the long term. This is no means to say what they are fighting for is worthless.

I have posted a few times that just like the Columbian Leftist guerrillas, the FARC group, had dialogue with the mainly Right government, the same way the Naxalites should initiate dialogue with the Supreme Court.

One point that I would make here is that the "activism" you're talking about was elitist in it's very essence, it never put it's boot on the ground to educate and better the lives of Muslims. If Muslims did not wore Burqa before, it's because of lack of burqa culture stretching back centuries not because of some random lyricist's songs

But those lyricists, writers, film technicians and theater people ( like IPTA ) did contribute to keeping the momentum of things like not wearing the burqa.

Oh the burqa existed in previous decades ( I have seen a photo on the net of a woman in the Afghan-style shuttle-cock burqa standing in a voting line somewhere in the North ) but it wasn't as widespread as now.

mind you polygamy was much more prevalent that it's now.

Agreed.

But those lyricists, writers, film technicians and theater people ( like IPTA ) did contribute to keeping the momentum of things like not wearing the burqa.

Oh the burqa existed in previous decades ( I have seen a photo on the net of a woman in the Afghan-style shuttle-cock burqa standing in a voting line somewhere in the North ) but it wasn't as widespread as now.
This article argues that Burqa was a middle class phenomenon; neither the elites used it nor the rural folks.
I hypothesize that what the religious organisations did was the equalisation of the religious knowledge of middle and rural and poor class, making a point for poor class that they can claim equal status with the middle class by observing purdah and hence being equal with them in religious piety.
In that context, those artists did not did much as they never wielded any influence on the poor class who was in the transformation phase.

On an uninvited point of information - ALL Hindus in West Bengal eat fish and meat (except that freakish micro-minority who are vegetarians).

Biggest conspiracy theory of the year, between lost votes in last election as there was a rumour in rural bengal that if they come to power people have to eat veg. BJP has to do heavy campaign to negate.

I strongly disagree with this viewpoint. I believe that food habits are cited as a justification for the hate that exists within Hindu society.

@masterchief_mirza and I have had some discussions on this and the hate, he can perhaps better explain (okay I am being lazy here)

In most places, Muslims in India are found in urban areas. It is only in Bengal and Assam where they form the rural basis of population as well.

Culture is always evolving. Fashion is always evolving. Stop living in the past and embrace the future.
Thank you for the tag young sir. I hold to my previous theories that much of the specific hatred that seems to fuel the fires of bhaktism has historical origins, which manifest as a unique form of PTSD. It's intermixed with true delusional thought patterns.

I'm no psychology expert though, just my best guess.

Whatever.

Whenever the urge creeps on you to appropriate our Muslims or be their spokesmen

Remember Asauddin Owaisi's advice to your Maulvis and your PM.

You have caught on to it too eh? :D

He doesn't know the proper reason. According to ayurveda there are three types of foods

1. Satvik (Food of the Brahmins) Fruits from upper part of tree, milk and milk by products come under this this type of food is good for scholars as it won't create anxiety or tension in body.

2. Rajasik( Food of the warriors) Intoxicating drinks , nerve stimulating drinks come under this .

3. Tamasik( Food of the lower castes) Meat, food of underground( tubers, onion , garlic),hard drinks these foods bring negative character in humans.

Actually gujjus and also lot of orthodox brahmins (I can vouch for my family) traditionally eschew onion/garlic and even brinjal too on certain days (my great grandmom followed this rule from her family apparently....it did not really permeate in ours though).

Basically in addition to what you describe there is some jain influence in there being lot of layers and seeds in certain plants.

In fact there is a popular story within our family regarding my great grandpa finally relenting his extreme satvik following (he was purohit for profession) in later years of his life....and asking "to hell with it, please order me a full nice masala dosai (onions, garlic and all)".

Yeh Hindu Muslim bhai bhai ke jaal se nikal ao.
So is that how you guys treat your minority brothers- No one in India says that everything is great or bad for the Muslims/Minorities- Yes it is what it is- Cowards run away- fight for your right as an Indian not as a Muslim or Hindu- Get into business, get into education etc-Grass is never greener on the other side- at least you know the devil that they are dealing with- A known devil better than an unknown one.

Firstly, who is that guy and how is he important to you as an Indian?
Thats exactly the issue here-An Indian needs to fight for his/her right, the correct way.

Still dowry. Marriage should happen on equal terms not because of some ridiculous payment.
People have stopped evolving to the time- Thats the problem.
With proper education that will change.

No problem with that. Waqt waqt ki baat hai. When I shifted to Madras/Chennai in 1981, no decent female would dress in anything but a sari (early 20s onwards) or a half-sari, a pavade. If you land up in Channai now, as I did after about a decade or so, you will be stunned: EVERYBODY is in a salwar-kameez (maamis excepted; they're too old to change).
Todays Maamis too have had a makeover from what I remember.

Who is going to welcome them in Tamil Nadu?

hypothetical
/ˌhʌɪpəˈθɛtɪk(ə)l/
adjective
  1. based on or serving as a hypothesis.
    "let us take a hypothetical case"
noun
  1. a hypothetical proposition or statement.
    "officials refuse to discuss military policy except in coy hypotheticals"

Biggest conspiracy theory of the year, between lost votes in last election as there was a rumour in rural bengal that if they come to power people have to eat veg. BJP has to do heavy campaign to negate.

Did they succeed?
:no:

So is that how you guys treat your minority brothers- No one in India says that everything is great or bad for the Muslims/Minorities- Yes it is what it is- Cowards run away- fight for your right as an Indian not as a Muslim or Hindu- Get into business, get into education etc-Grass is never greener on the other side- at least you know the devil that they are dealing with- A known devil better than an unknown one.

Thats exactly the issue here-An Indian needs to fight for his/her right, the correct way.

People have stopped evolving to the time- Thats the problem.
With proper education that will change.

Todays Maamis too have had a makeover from what I remember.

WHAT were you doing, eyeing Maamis so closely? @Hachiman, look at this little deleted asterisk.

The Naxalites / Maoists are hardcore communist guerrillas. Which type of Muslim should approach them ? The newer Tableeghi type or the older socialist / poet / writer / director / intellectual type ?

And it might be heartening for you to know that there are Muslims among the Naxalites, especially in Karnataka and Kerala states.

That is a very good alliance, it should progress further.

Indian Muslims need to make coalitions with other minorities, and even seek Chinese, BD and Pakistan help if necessary.