2011 cricket World Cup moving out of India: Reports

Hyde

SENIOR MODERATOR
2011 cricket World Cup moving out of India: Reports​

Melbourne: After fears of a mass pull-out of international cricketers from the Indian Premier League (IPL) due to terror threats, there are reports of contingency plans to shift the next year’s World Cup from the Indian subcontinent to Australia and New Zealand.

Reacting to reported contigency, revealed by New Zealand Cricket chief executive Justin Vaughan Sunday, International Cricket Council (ICC) executive Haroon Lorgat said they will do everything to keep the World Cup in India.

Vaughan has indicated that there were plans to move the World Cup from India to Australia or New Zealand if the security situation deteriorated.

‘You cannot move the timing of the tournament, in March-April, so really there’s only Australia, New Zealand and South Africa who could host it,’ Vaughan was quoted as saying in The Australian.

‘By tightening the security measures around the teams, we somehow have to make it safe. Otherwise the sport will struggle to survive if we cannot find a solution.’

Lorgat insisted world cricket would not let the sport be derailed by terrorism, as has happened in Pakistan.

‘The World Cup is the big piece of work that we have to deliver and we intend to do so,’ Lorgat said.

‘The whole issue of security is dynamic, but we will assess it very carefully and implement whatever measures are necessary to ensure safety and security. I do not share the same concerns for India as Pakistan.’

There is a heightened security concerns in the cricketing world following terrorist threats from Al Qaeda that warned players against taking part in the IPL, the hockey World Cup and the Commonwealth Games. Indian cricket officials have, however, ruled out transferring the IPL to South Africa like last year.

Australian security expert Reg Dickason delivered his report to various player unions late last week and it is understood the report says the terrorist threats are real.

Head of the Federation of International Cricketers Associations (FICA), Tim May, Sunday said players were unsure about playing in the IPL after the security report, adding the Twenty20 tournament has a number of significant security challenges.

Source: ICC 2011 cricket World Cup moving out of India: Reports

Australian players will send safety demands to IPL

The Australian Cricketers' Association will help formulate a list of security demands for IPL organisers following a meeting attended by the majority of Australian cricketers due to play in next month's tournament. Paul Marsh, the ACA's chief executive, said the players want to be involved in the event, but there are safety fears following a threat from the 313 Brigade, Al-Qaeda's operational arm in Pakistan.

"The independent report has identified some serious concerns with aspects of the current security process," Marsh said after the meeting in Sydney. "Specifically these concerns relate to the reported direct threat against the event and the status and implementation of the IPL's security plan.

"The process from here is for all players associated to meet with their player groups and for all of us to feed back the concerns raised from these meetings to the IPL. This will be coordinated through our peak body the Federation of International Cricketers' Associations. From here we will await a response from the IPL."

Heath Mills, the New Zealand Players' Association chief, also outlined the security concerns at a press conference in Christchurch. "There have been threats against cities in India, and clearly a direct threat against the event," Mills said. "A combination of those and our lack of confidence in security management plans have led us to having to ask some questions of the IPL and see whether they can alleviate those concerns.

"It's one thing to have a security management plan, it's a much different thing to see it delivered and delivered well. It's quite complex when you consider the IPL is played across 12 cities, 12 police jurisdictions throughout India. There are some real concerns around that aspect."

So far the IPL has rejected dealing with players' associations, a move which forced unions from Australia, England, New Zealand and South Africa to commission their own safety report on the situation in India. Reg Dickason, who has worked as a security advisor for the England and Australia teams, delivered his findings to the associations at the weekend and Marsh outlined the details to most of the 22 Australian players signed up for the tournament.

Source: Australian players will send safety demands to IPL | Cricket News | Indian Premier League 2010 | Cricinfo.com

Australian players clash at meeting​

Lalit Modi has insisted that the IPL will not be moved out of India, despite security concerns raised in an independent report commissioned by the players' unions in England, Australia and South Africa that led to talk of shifting the event to another country.

"We are going to have the tournament in India. I can't see any reason why we should move it at this point in time. The media is reacting to every fringe group saying security is a problem," Modi told BBC Sport in reaction to the concerns.

The Australian reported the security discussions caused a split between high profile freelance players and Ricky Ponting when the situation was outlined at an Australian Cricketers' Association meeting in Sydney on Tuesday. The paper said Shane Warne, Matthew Hayden and Adam Gilchrist, who have supported each IPL tournament, clashed with Ricky Ponting over the way forward.

Cricket Australia-contracted players want to follow the ACA's advice while Warne and Hayden, a Cricket Australia board member, have said they want to go. If players pull out of the tournament they could be banned from future IPL editions, a decision which would cost some of them millions of dollars.

The report, written by the England team's security advisor Reg Dickason, said there was a credible threat to the tournament from terrorist groups, raising questions over player safety apart from talk of a boycott by international cricketers. The Australian Cricketers' Association has decided to formulate a list of security demands for IPL organisers, following a meeting attended by most Australian players slated to play in the tournament.

"The process from here is for all players associated to meet with their player groups and for all of us to feed back the concerns raised from these meetings to the IPL," Paul Marsh, the ACA's chief executive said. "This will be coordinated through our peak body the Federation of International Cricketers' Associations. From here we will await a response from the IPL."

Heath Mills, the New Zealand Players' Association chief, also outlined security concerns. "It's one thing to have a security management plan, it's a much different thing to see it delivered and delivered well. It's quite complex when you consider the IPL is played across 12 cities, 12 police jurisdictions throughout India. There are some real concerns around that aspect," Mills said.

Modi, however, underplayed their concerns. "Nobody in the world can safeguard the safety of the players in any tournament. All we have to do is ensure we are putting on the best security," Modi said. "Safety is paramount to us and we are working with the national and state governments to ensure we have good security in place.

"At the end of the day we have to ensure the safety plans we put in place and the way we conduct them are absolutely top-notch."

Modi also said that he was not overly concerned by the possibility of overseas players withdrawing from the event. "The heavens aren't going to fall if that happens. This is an Indian tournament; we have the key Indian players and only a few international players."

"We have no worries at all. You have to understand that the market for us is India. "The tournament is a huge success - we have a huge credibility, we have the top 200 players in the world. It's not only dependent on foreign players, although they are part of it, Modi said.

Source: IPL not moving out of India, Modi insists | Cricket News | Indian Premier League 2010 | Cricinfo.com

hope it works and maybe in the 4-5 years time period conditions in pak improve to jointly host the worldcup in SA

Players concerned about IPL security - Smith

Graeme Smith, the South Africa captain, has said his country's ongoing tour of India is not an indicator that the players who are scheduled to feature in the IPL in March are comfortable with security arrangements for the tournament.

Smith returned to South Africa after the second Test in Kolkata because of a finger injury and missed the three-ODI series, which began in Jaipur amid a reported terrorist threat in the city. "The guys were nervous before the game but we need to trust the process we have always used with CSA and the South African Cricketers' Association (SACA)," Smith told Supersport. "We would prefer to play in a more peaceful environment but that's the nature of the world we live in at the moment.

"Players remain concerned about the security issues for IPL. This is a big event with lots of different players, stadia, hotels and travel arrangements. The help and assistance we get for this event from our players association will be very important to us. Everyone is monitoring the situation very closely at the moment."

Tony Irish, the SACA chief executive, said, "The Jaipur threat was investigated by CSA's security consultants, Nicholls Steyn and Associates. We will rely on their advice as to its legitimacy, what level of risk it presents to the team and what security measures are necessary."

He also agreed that the IPL represented a very different set of circumstances to a national tour where security was more easily controlled. "The IPL is an Indian domestic tournament and the players go there as individuals playing for eight different franchise teams," Irish said. "The boards of the different countries can't really be expected to review the security plans so it falls to the players associations in each country to do this for players. We take that responsibility very seriously. I can't think of anything more important than player safety and we won't compromise in any way on that."

Meanwhile, the Australian Cricketers' Association said it would help formulate a list of security demands following a meeting attended by the majority of Australian cricketers due to play in next month's tournament.

Security fears regarding the upcoming IPL have intensified after the 313 Brigade, Al-Qaeda's operational arm in Pakistan, issued a warning to "the international community" not to send its representatives to major sports events being staged in India.

Tim May, the chief executive of FICA, warned of a spate of player withdrawals from the tournament due to security concerns, and the England team's security adviser Reg Dickason said the threat from the 313 Brigade was credible and that security could not be guaranteed in India.

Source: Players concerned about IPL security - Graeme Smith | South Africa Cricket News | Cricinfo.com

England players urged to miss IPL

Security assessment says 'credible' threat to IPL - reports

A report commissioned by the players' unions in England, Australia and South Africa and written by the England team's security adviser Reg Dickason has said that the recent threat from the 313 Brigade, Al-Qaeda's operational arm in Pakistan, is credible and that security cannot be guaranteed in India, according to newspaper reports in England and Australia. The assessment has apparently already been passed on to the players' unions and the cricketers concerned have been informed of its contents.

England are currently headed to Bangladesh for a full series after contesting a short two-match Twenty20 series against Pakistan in the UAE. The England players signed up for the IPL are Kevin Pietersen, Paul Collingwood, Eoin Morgan, Owais Shah, Ravi Bapora, Dimitri Mascarenhas, and Graham Napier. Collingwood, England's Twenty20 captain, and Pietersen are expected to join the IPL only on March 24 but the rest are due to play the entire tournament.

"I am aware of the reported security risks and am in constant communication with Delhi Daredevils," said Collingwood, who till then had not seen the report. "I will make a decision once I have had a chance to review all the available information and talk to the relevant people."

A report in the Sydney Morning Herald said no final decision had been taken yet by the Australian Cricketers' Association on what advice to give the country's large contingent of players who have signed up with the IPL. ''We're not in a position to talk about it right now,'' Paul Marsh, the ACA's chief executive, told the paper. ''I've just received it and I'm working my way through it.''

Security fears regarding the IPL intensified after a string of statements warning countries not to send its representatives to major sports events being staged in India, including the IPL. Tim May, the chief executive of FICA, the international players' union, has warned of a spate of player withdrawals from the IPL due to security concerns over playing in India.

May's statements came on a day the Jaipur police said they had received intelligence inputs of a terrorist threat relating to the one-day international in the city between India and South Africa on Sunday. This followed other reported threats targeting the Commonwealth Games and the Hockey World Cup, both due to be hosted in India this year. Earlier, the Shiv Sena, a right-wing regional political party, had claimed it would not allow Australian cricketers to participate in the competition as a protest against attacks on Indian students in Australia.

Source: England players urged to miss IPL - report | Cricket News | Indian Premier League 2010 | Cricinfo.com

Australia and New Zealand on standby for World Cup

Australia and New Zealand are believed to be part of a contingency plan to shift the 2011 World Cup out of the subcontinent due to security threats. Justin Vaughan, the New Zealand Cricket (NZC) chief executive, admitted to such a move, but was hopeful that the tournament would go ahead as planned. He also said that New Zealand would tour India as scheduled at the end of the year.

"You cannot move the timing of the tournament [the World Cup], in March-April, so really there's only Australia-New Zealand and South Africa who could host it," Vaughan told Stuff.co.nz. "Obviously, players need to be safe, but we cannot run away when a threat is made. By tightening the security measures around the teams we somehow have to make it safe otherwise the sport will struggle to survive if we cannot find a solution.

"We've got to find a way to make this work because Asia is the heartbeat of cricket in the present day."

Vaughan said that assessing security for the India tour would also be critical. "India is so important and you cannot envisage a scenario when you cannot tour India - it's not worth thinking about," he said. "The host's security plans are vital. I'd go anywhere in the world if there was the right security plan. I'd go to Iraq, if the right security was in place."

However, Haroon Lorgat, the ICC chief executive, assured that major cricket nations would work in unison to ensure the World Cup did not fall prey to terrorism. "The World Cup is the big piece of work that we have to deliver - and we intend to do so," Lorgat told the Guardian. "The whole issue of security is dynamic, but we will assess it very carefully and implement whatever measures are necessary to ensure safety and security. I do not share the same concerns for India as Pakistan.

"We have established a quality network of security managers at each of the full member boards and through that we can develop a far better co-ordinated approach to safety and security."

Security fears regarding the upcoming IPL have intensified after the 313 Brigade, Al-Qaeda's operational arm in Pakistan, issued a warning to "the international community" not to send its representatives to major sports events being staged in India.

While Tim May, the chief executive of FICA, the international players' union, has warned of a spate of player withdrawals from the tournament due to security concerns, England team's security adviser Reg Dickason said the threat from the 313 Brigade was credible and that security could not be guaranteed in India.

Other reported threats targeting the Commonwealth Games and the Hockey World Cup, both due to be hosted in India this year, have worsened the situation. Earlier, the Shiv Sena, a right-wing regional political party, had claimed it would not allow Australian cricketers to participate in the competition as a protest against attacks on Indian students in Australia.

The 2011 World Cup is scheduled to be played in India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh from February 19-April 2 after Pakistan was ruled out as a co-host following a terrorist attack on touring Sri Lankan players in Lahore in March last year.

Source: Australia and New Zealand on standby for 2011 World Cup | Cricket News | ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 | Cricinfo.com

Warne 'thinking twice' about IPL participation

Shane Warne has raised concerns about playing in the IPL this year and believes the organisers may need to think about moving it again after a terror threat against sporting events in India. Last year's event was relocated to South Africa and Warne said it was something that should be considered again this season.

"The threats of the past 24 hours have certainly got me thinking twice and is of deep concern to athletes across several sports," Warne told the Herald Sun. "If the threats are proven to be real, then organisers of the IPL may look at moving the tournament.

"We moved it last year at short notice, so it can be done. There is no way organisers will risk the safety of players and officials."

Warne will wait for advice from security expert Reg Dickerson before deciding whether to head to India for the tournament, which begins on March 12. The threat specified the Hockey World Cup, the IPL and the Commonwealth Games in Delhi, where players will be staying in the relative safety of an athletes' village, unlike the IPL players.

"We'll be staying in hotels and travelling on buses and as we saw with the Sri Lankan team in Lahore, it can be dangerous," Warne said. The paper also reported that Australia's high-profile players were considering hiring their own security staff for the tournament.

Source: Shane Warne 'thinking twice' about IPL participation after terror threat | Cricket News | Indian Premier League 2010 | Cricinfo.com

Players' lobby warns of withdrawals from IPL

Tim May, the chief executive of FICA, the international players' union, has warned of a spate of player withdrawals from the IPL due to security concerns over playing in India. He said he had received calls from several players expressing doubt over their participation in the tournament but was yet to arrive at a definitive assessment of the security arrangements in place.

"There is an extremely high level of concern from a number of players from a number of countries about the IPL and security," May told BBC Sport. "I think you'll find that some players are more risk averse than others and will probably stay at home."

May's statements came on a day the Jaipur police said they had received intelligence inputs of a terrorist threat relating to the one-day international in the city between India and South Africa on Sunday. "We have received an input. We are on full alert," BL Soni, the inspector-general of police, was quoted as saying on IBNlive.com. "We are making adequate security arrangements especially after the Pune blast. Everyone who comes to watch the match will be frisked. There is no need to worry."

This followed reported terrorist threats targeting the Commonwealth Games and the Hockey World Cup, both due to be hosted in India this year. Earlier, the Shiv Sena, a right-wing regional political party, had claimed it would not allow Australian cricketers to participate in the competition as a protest against attacks on Indian students in Australia.

May referred to these threats. "We had previously been advised by security experts that a high-profile event such as the IPL, leading up to the Commonwealth Games, may represent a significant target for terrorism," he said. "It's obviously concerning, though not necessarily surprising, to hear about those specific threats.

"It's up to the individual players whether they go to the IPL. All we can gauge an opinion on is the number of concerned calls we have received in the last few weeks. Let's just say those calls are increasing by the day."

May said he was awaiting an independent security report over the arrangements made for the IPL. "Until that review is complete I'm not in a position to answer whether the security arrangements are adequate to cover the risks and I haven't seen any plans.A lot will ride on players' decisions after the delivery of this independent security report."

Adding to the confusion was an about-turn, within the day, by Shane Warne, the Rajasthan Royals captain. He was initially quoted as saying he had "second thoughts" over playing in the IPL. "The threats have certainly got me thinking twice and are of deep concern to athletes across a number of sports," Warne said. Later on Thursday, he wrote on his Twitter feed he was happy to tour India "now that the threats have been removed".

Source: Players' lobby warns of withdrawals from IPL | Cricket News | Indian Premier League 2010 | Cricinfo.com

Cricket: IPL staying in India, says Modi

London: The Indian Premier League will not move out of India despite security fears raised by the players’ associations of England, Australia and South Africa, insisted IPL commissioner Lalit Modi. “We are going to have the tournament in India. I can’t see any reason why we should move it at this point in time,” Modi told BBC Sport. Australian players have not yet committed their participation in the IPL III until they are given details of the assurances made to them.

‘Players wary of security’

Johannesburg: Security apprehension about the IPL is proving infectious with South Africa captain Graeme Smith saying his compatriots have developed cold feet about travelling to India. “Players remain concerned about IPL’s security issues,” said Smith. “Everyone is monitoring the situation very closely,” he said. Smith said the South African team was apprehensive on the eve of the first ODI because of a reported terror threat. “The guys were nervous but we need to trust the process we have always used,” Smith said. “We would prefer to play in a peaceful environment but that’s the nature of the world we live in,” he added.

No need to panic: Ganguly

Kolkata: The fears of a mass pull-out from the IPL by England and Australian cricketers have been followed by doubts over the possibility of the 2011 World Cup being shifted out of India. But Sourav Ganguly said on Tuesday there was no need to panic. “Players’ security has never been under threat in India. I believe the 2011 World Cup in the subcontinent will be a great success,” Ganguly said. “Have you ever seen cricketers facing any trouble while touring India in the past? Players are safe here.”

Briefly Cricket

All Australians will play in IPL, says Modi

Indian Premier League [ Images ] commissioner Lalit Modi [ Images ] sought to assuage fears of a players' boycott of the third edition of the Twenty20 [ Images ] tournament, to be held in India from March 12, by saying that he has spoken to all foreign parties concerned and reassured them on their security-related concerns.

"I spoke to a couple of the [Australian] boys yesterday about it. I think they will all take part," Modi told Australian Associated Press (AAP) on Tuesday.

"The tournament will go on. They are very comfortable with it. Not all players have said they don't want to come; some have had concerns and we have taken care of their concerns. There is nothing to be concerned about," he added.

Modi also pointed to the Kookaburras' presence in India for the World Cup hockey [ Images ] tournament as a proof that the country is safe for sports stars.

His response came after reports that some of Australia's [ Images ] cricketers are threatening to boycott the IPL if their security demands for the Twenty20 tournament are not met.

Players groups from around the world are hastily putting together a list of concerns for the Federation for International Cricketers' Association (FICA) to be given to the IPL organisers.

The security situation worsened in India this month with a direct threat from an Al-Qaeda [ Images ] affiliated terrorist group to the IPL, Hockey World Cup and Commonwealth Games [ Images ].

Australian Cricketers' Association (ACA) boss Paul Marsh said his players' participation in the tournament is no certainty following a crisis meeting with the players and managers in Sydney [ Images ] on Tuesday.

"I think it is very difficult to say at the moment," he said.

"There are some issues that have been raised; if the IPL can satisfy those issues then potentially the players will be in a position to go," he added.

Marsh said the players wouldn't be blindly lured by the riches of the IPL, which begins on March 12.

"All the money in the world is not going to help you if you are not around to spend it," he said.

Marsh said widely-respected consultant Reg Dickason's security report had exposed serious shortcomings in the IPL's plans but he refused to go into detail about the problem areas.

IPL bosses have refused in the past to acknowledge FICA but Marsh is confident that the backroom dealings could assist in them coming to an agreement.

All Australians will play in IPL, says Modi: Rediff Sports

No problems with security, says Srinivasan

With doubts looming over the 2010 World Cup in the subcontinent, the BCCI has ultimately decided to put its foot down to clear the confusion. On Tuesday, BCCI secretary N Srinivasan made it clear that India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh are jointly hosting next year’s World Cup as per schedule. “As far as we (the organisers) are concerned, the World Cup is going nowhere. We are putting in great efforts to make the event a success and we see no reason why we won’t be hosting it,” Srinivasan told The Indian Express.

New Zealand Cricket chief executive Justin Vaughan reportedly said that his country along with Australia was on stand-by to host next year’s World Cup if the security situation in the subcontinent deteriorated. Asked about this, Srinivasan said: “Why should we react to his comment? The World Cup is an ICC event and we have the governing body’s support.

Ads by Google Buy Air India Tickets Fly To India At Low Fares On Air India Flights. Book Now & Save!MakeMyTrip.Com/Air-IWeight Loss Surgery India Discount India Weight Loss Surgery Get India Weight Loss Surgery Now!MedicalTourismCo.ComMoney transfer to India Citi Online Remit's faster, easier, has top forex rates. Sign-up free!citi.com/india/money

“It’s pretty clear India is a safe place to play cricket. Australia and Sri Lanka toured here a few months back and now the South African team is playing Tests and ODIs. There was never any problem. If international matches can go on smoothly, then what’s the problem with IPL?” Srinivasan argued.

Meanwhile, the BCCI got the support of ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat. “The World Cup is a big piece of work to deliver and we intend to do so. The whole issue of security is dynamic, but we will assess it very carefully and implement whatever measures are necessary to ensure safety and security. I do not share the same concerns for India as Pakistan,” Lorgat was quoted as saying by The News.

No problems with security, says Srinivasan

aag lag gayi hai beta jee............ ab bujhana asaan nahi ho ga :rofl:

we were facing similar situations before back in 2006 that ultimately turned into another drama after S/L cricket attack. If one slight incident took place in india where even the players are safe but only the terrorist attack takes place near their hotel or straight attack on them

Forget IPL or WC

aag lag gayi hai beta jee............ ab bujhana asaan nahi ho ga :rofl:

we were facing similar situations before back in 2006 that ultimately turned into another drama after S/L cricket attack. If one slight incident took place in india where even the players are safe but only the terrorist attack takes place near their hotel or straight attack on them

Forget IPL or WC

Pehle se hi kyun khush ho rahe ho?

Ek saal baad dekhte hain... kaun roh raha hai aur kaun has raha hai.