What do you believe was the true extent of the rape? And who was more involved, the PA or razakars?
I love your posts. I have been reading up abt this '71 debacle for quite a bit and I have been asking Bengali friends and reading books about the role of secularists, Hindus and communists in propagating hatred between the Muslims of both wings of Pakistan.Because in Pakistani textbooks there is a great deal of blame laid on the Hindu professors in East Pakistan and I want know if the blame is historically accurate or not. How much truth and how much fiction do you believe is in that charge about Hindu professors and teachers brainwashing Muslims in East Pakistan?
@ One thing you have to realize that Bengal came under British subjugation just after the Battle of Pallassy in 1757 and since than Calcatta (Bengal) was the capital city of British India till 1911. So, the Bengalise specially the Hindus were politically were much more matured than other people of India specially the Punjab and NWFP. As because, these areas came under British subjugation much later (1846), by this time the people of Eastern Region became more fast and westernize.
@ Once suddenly, in early thirties Jinnah gave his famous "Two Nation Theory ", it was quickly accepted by the Bengali Muslims and thus Pakistan was created. This was not at all accepted by the Bengali Babu's(Hindus). However, the low caste Hindus of East Bengal supported the cause of Pakistan and during that period all reserve 5 seats of Tafshery Federation (an Hindu low caste Political Party) joined in favour of Pakistan. But after the creation of Pakistan soon majority of them fled to India. During the partition near about 50 lacs of Hindus migrated to India. Some 23 lacs of Behares including other non-Bengalise came from India. Near about 25 to 30 lacs of Bengali Muslims came from West Bengal, Assam & Tripura.
@ Now, answer to your question regarding the role of Hindu Teachers, wait a bit, let me think ? First, let me tell you a story which I heard from my father and grand father. My grand father was a minor pass (Class-V) and he was a "Munshi" means he used to lead the "Jumma" prayer. He used to work with one 'Marwari" and was a cashier there. He used to do Congress Party. My father used to read in class nine and do the student politics of Muslim Leaque and busy in "Nara-i-Takbir, Allah Ho Akbar, Pakistan Zindabad, Larke Lenge Pakistan". My father used to wear a simple Pajama and shirt and every day goes to school with some books in one hand. During those days before partition (1946), in our Thana, the Dargo Babu, was a Hindu, Post Master was a Hindu, School Master was Hindu, Station Master was Hindu and the civil administration was also Hindu and so on. The local Zaminders were also Hindu. One day, my father was going to school at around 9 PM. On the way one respectable person named Shotish Babu was seating in a chair and gossiping with others. Then suddenly by seeing my father he called him and said, " ei khoka tumar nam ki ? " My father replied quickly, " Ji agge, Mohd Abdul Latif. "Na na tumar nam Sri Mohd Abdul Latif ", " Ki nam tumar, je agge Sri ----". " Tumi kothai puro ? Ji ei high school le, class ninee ". Then he ordered my father to go to meet the office clerk and amend the name pre-fixing Sri. In the next morning, the master called Sri Mofd Abdul Latif, my father replied, "agge hajir sir ". Once, my father was narrating that before the election date of 1946, as he was involved in Muslim student politics he was forcefully transferred to another school. On the election day inside the election both there were two tables. One at the centre where a big ballot box was placed written in English & Bengali. " Shommilitu Hindu Musalmander jonno" means "For joint Hindu Muslim " and at the corner table another small ballot box was placed and written on it, " shudhu mattro musalmander jonno" means "Only for Muslims".
After the election result most of the Hindus fled away and it was difficult to run the administration.
@ Even after Hindus, migrated to India still many teachers remained and they played a vital in political motivation. In those day most of educated Hindus used to do Communist Party and Congress Party. Once Pakistan was created the members of Muslim Leaque were too busy to celebrate the achievement of Pakistan but bulk of the Hindus both from East & West Bengal were indulged in conspiracy which members of ML never realize. In 1949, "Muslim Awami Leaque" was created. Soon majority of Hindus specially the members of Communist Party and Congress joined Awami Leaque and delete the name "Muslim" and it renamed as "Awami Leaque".
@ Another problem was many MP's of Muslim Leaque came to East Bengal but they did not had own constituency in East Bengal so, soon they were rooted out from politics. Now, the Awami Leaquer in one hand used to get lot of money from India and at the same the elite Business Class (22 rich family of Pakistan) used to give huge amount of money to Awami Leaque including Sk Mujib with the hope of ethnic protection. Sk Mujib himself was a CEO of one Insurance Company of some Haroon(one of the rich family). Sk Mujib used to seat in that Insurance Company and do politics. The same building/office Awami Leaque is still holding and it is the head office of Awami Leaque.
@ " Bhai oshwakt tu brainwash sab ka ho gia tha ! Kia Pakistan ke logo ka brain wash nahi howa tha ? Pakistan tu suraf Kashmir ka pagal tha ? Pakistan ki har tagat Kashmir ke lia kharach kia gia tha, magar hakikat me kia mila ????"