Major Sam

STAFF
ISLAMABAD:
As India continues to seethe with anger over the August 6 ambush on the Line of Control (LoC), Pakistan has started examining several options, including scaling down its diplomatic staff in New Delhi and shifting troops from its border with Afghanistan to the eastern frontier, The Express Tribune has learnt.

This coincides with a message by Indian army chief General Bikram Singh to his troops to be “aggressive when it comes to dealing with the Pakistani forces” and comes five days after protesters tried to storm Pakistan’s diplomatic mission in New Delhi.

“In view of serious threats to its diplomatic missions in India, Pakistan can withdraw some of its diplomatic staff,” a senior foreign ministry official told The Express Tribune.
Coincidently, India’s main opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) also demanded on Sunday that Islamabad pull out its high commissioner in New Delhi.

salman-khurshid.jpg

The two nations – which have fought three wars since their inception in 1947 – have been embroiled in a verbal duel since the August 6 cross-Line of Control raid that India blamed on Pakistan Army troops.

“Yes, we are thinking on these lines … a major chunk of the diplomatic staff in India could be withdrawn as the Indian government, despite repeated requisitions, did not arrange a foolproof security for our diplomatic missions there,” another foreign ministry official added. “Our High Commission in Delhi has reported suspicious movement of mobsters in the surrounding of offices and residences of our diplomatic staff in India.”

However, the official added that the final decision would be taken by the Cabinet Committee on Defence, the country’s highest forum on national security issues.

Military officials, meanwhile, reacted strongly to ‘unprovoked firing’ by Indian troops on Pakistani check posts in the Sialkot sector. “Pakistan Army will give a befitting response in case of further ceasefire violations,” a senior military official told The Express Tribune. He added that the army could ask the government to withdraw some troops from the border along Afghanistan and redeploy them to the eastern frontiers.

“The military brass has finalised this recommendation in internal meetings. And it would be presented in the DCC meeting,” the military official said. He requested anonymity because he was not authorised to speak to the media.

senior-military-official.jpg

A spokesperson for the Prime Minister House confirmed to The Express Tribune that Nawaz Sharif will be convening the DCC meeting to discuss the latest internal and external security threats. Though no actual date has been fixed, the meeting is likely to be held within a week, the spokesperson said.

“The meeting will discuss the country’s internal and external security situation, particularly tension on eastern borders and regional security scenario,” said the spokesperson when asked about the agenda of the meeting. It will be the first meeting of the DCC since the PML-N government took charge after the May 11 elections.

A senior official said the prime minister has already received a foreign ministry recommendation that it scale down diplomatic staff in India following Wednesday’s abortive attempt by mobsters to storm Pakistan’s High Commission.

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and his Indian counterpart are scheduled to meet on the sidelines of the United Nations General Assembly in New York next month. However, calls for postponing the meeting are growing shriller in New Delhi.

Indian opposition leader Rajnath Singh said on Sunday that his country’s patience was running out and demanded that not only India stop all dialogue with Pakistan but also send back Pakistan’s envoy in New Delhi, and recall Indian high commissioner from Islamabad.

Foreign Minister Salman Khurshid evaded a direct reply to a question on whether the New York rendezvous would materialise. The Pakistan government should own up the responsibility for the attacks on Indian soldiers and the firing on LoC in violation of the 2003 ceasefire.

He ruled out India’s directly approaching Pakistani army chief to ease tensions. “The responsibility must rest with the (their) government. Our meeting point is the civilian elected government of Pakistan, not the Pakistan Army or any other agency,” he told India’s CNN-IBN television in an interview.

Referring to Nawaz’s statement where he tried to deescalate the situation, Khurshid said there was no indication of acceptance of responsibility for the attack. “One element is that the regret about what has happened, which has certainly been mentioned. But, there is no indication of acceptance of responsibility,” he added.

“We have said that we expect responsibility. That hasn’t happened, one. Two, the other concern of what we have been expecting: culpability for what happened in Mumbai. There is no indication of that. And, finally, the statement doesn’t take into account, the outreach and the extra mile that India has periodically gone to overcome great difficulties posed,” Khurshid said.

Earlier this week, a bevy of strategic experts, including former military chiefs and top bureaucrats, asked the Indian government to stop talks with Pakistan till the country demonstrated some meaningful steps on combating terrorism.

In an unusual step, these experts, who are purportedly not affiliated to any political organisation, issued a press release which said: “The government would be well advised not to rush into a dialogue with Pakistan on the assumption that the new prime minister of Pakistan, Nawaz Sharif, is ostensibly committed to improving ties with India.”

Published in The Express Tribune, August 12th, 2013.

Amid LoC firing, Pakistan threatens to cut mission staff

ISLAMABAD/NEW DELHI: In the midst of continuous ceasefire violations along the LoC in the last one week, it was Pakistan which summoned India's deputy high commissioner on Monday to register protest. Islamabad blamed the BSF for "continuous ceasefire violations" over the past couple of days.

"Indian deputy high commissioner Gopal Baglay was called to raise concern over ceasefire violation which resulted in loss of a civilian life in Rawalkot," Pakistan's foreign office said in a statement.

Pakistan went ahead and called upon India to uphold the ceasefire. "Pakistan also urges the need for abiding by and strengthening existing military mechanisms to ensure that such violations do not recur. Pakistan is committed to a constructive, sustained and result-oriented process of engagement with India and believes that serious efforts need to be made in maintaining a positive atmosphere and avoid negative propaganda," it said.

According to foreign office and military sources, Pakistan is considering scaling down its diplomatic staff in New Delhi as well as shifting of troops from the western border to eastern frontier.

"A major chunk of the diplomatic staff in India could be withdrawn as the Indian government, despite repeated requisitions, did not arrange a foolproof security for our diplomatic missions," a foreign ministry official told local media. "Our high commission in Delhi has reported suspicious movement of mobsters in the vicinity of the offices and residences of our diplomatic staff in India."

Military sources said the army could ask the government to withdraw some troops from the western front and deploy them on the eastern front. Pakistan PM Nawaz Sharif is expected to convene a meeting of the Defence Committee of the Cabinet, the country's highest forum on national security, to discuss the latest scenario. The PM's aides have confirmed Sharif had already received a foreign ministry recommendation to scale down diplomatic staff in India.

The neighbours have been caught in a verbal duel besides intermittent exchange of fire on the borders since the August 6 killing of five Indian soldiers.

Pakistan has also asked New Delhi to tighten security at Pakistan International Airlines offices in Mumbai and New Delhi. This was in response to a threat issued by the Shiv Sena that it won't allow PIA offices to function from both these places.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/Amid-LoC-firing-Pakistan-threatens-to-cut-mission-staff/articleshow/21788609.cms

1st violation by indian jets
2nd violation by drone
3rd cease fire violation at the same place of cease fire violation and attacked on PA army check post.

I think we should be ready for any misadventure by india.

@Xeric @Leader @Aeronaut @Imran Khan @Secur @Slav Defence @Rescue Ranger @mafiya @Talon @Oscar @
@Hyperion @Pak-one @Zarvan @Glitcher @Devil Soul @Fracker
@Alpha1 @RazPaK @orangzab

Unlock your armouries, wipe your rusty AKs and 9mm's clean, buy boxes of ammo, we leave for hunting with our boys in Khaki. We fight with them, we collect blood, we donate organs, we organize the food supply, the civil defense, we round up Ex-Army men and arrange the ambush training, thats how we fight the enemy, we only win if we fight as a nation.

It has been foretold Indian army would attack Pakistani Kashmir from Upper jhelum. ( there is a river named river Tawi which is above jalalpur jaata, from there Indian army will cross and attack Pakistan)

Elections are coming...... :coffee: , so escalating things & bshing Pakistan will help them bag extra votes, i am not a warmonger, but we must not underestimate these developments, Pak should move extra troop, cutt back its diplomatic staff & put the reserves on stand by call....

Unlock your armouries, wipe your rusty AKs and 9mm's clean, buy boxes of ammo, we leave for hunting with our boys in Khaki, we fight with them, we collect blood, we donate organs, thats how we fight the enemy, we only win if we fight as a nation.

You have no idea how anal the PA boys are regarding this. Every piece of equipment is oiled up and treated like a child. Even equipment 30 years old looks spanking new, a testament to the professionalism of our boys.

It has been foretold Indian army would attack Pakistani Kashmir from Upper jhelum

Given the narrow choice of axis of advancement, this is a good possibility. Expect the Indians to launch a punitive strike, they cannot build up an invading party this quickly. They need days to prepare for something like that, the sad part about punitive strikes are there is no end to it.

because of Indian Non-Sense Pakistan's military now have complete authority and justification to move forces from the W < E borders... also woh kya hota hey bakwaas haan SUSPEND so called Chain of Command give all RIGHTS to Advance Defence to give on SPOT response if any kind of movement by Enemy forces on the border. *** mazak bana rakha hey apnay internal politics ke bakwaasyaat kay chakar may dunya ko ***** banatay rahtay hain ye Indian political dramaybaz... listen non-sense from last 10 years... without any concrete evidence always put blame on Pakistan... mujhe tu lagta hey ye bikram Singh nay apni pedaish ka b zemedar SSG aur ISI ko tehra dena hey kuch dino may!

It has been foretold Indian army would attack Pakistani Kashmir from Upper jhelum. ( there is a river named river Tuvi near Jallal pur jatta, from there Indian army will cross and attack Pakistan)

What makes them think that they wont be replied in kind , mate ?

It has been foretold Indian army would attack Pakistani Kashmir from Upper jhelum. ( there is a river named river Tuvi near Jallal pur jatta, from there Indian army will cross and attack Pakistan)
its Jalal Pur Jattan, althou i am not Jaat, but my forefathers belong to the same city, we still have a family Hawali in Jalal Pur Jattan. Pakistan Army started moving in Jalal Pur Jattan like in nineties and now they got a small cantt as well and their is a route connecting Jalal Pur Jattan all the way to Gujrat which is covered by trees ;) & one cant see the sky , i think this route was especially made for army convey movements.... forgot the name....

We are waiting for them to come.

"Kafir ho to shamsheer pey karta hai bharoosa
Momin ho to bey taigh bhi larta hai sipahi..."

why you think they will attack from that side?