Why is India scared of Arab?

peagle

United Kingdom
India has a larger economy then Pakistan, therefore bigger budgets and larger amounts of currency to deal with.

Currency in South Asia is enumerated in Lakhs, Crores, Arabs and Kharabs.

Pakistan follows the normal process to numerate it's currency, so 100,000 is 1 Lakh, then the next incremental increase is a Crore, then Arab and a Kharab.

But in India, with greater amounts of currency to deal with, they are still stuck at Crores.
They never use the term Arabs, you only hear Crores in any amounts. 1000 Crores would be 10 Arab, and 10,000 Crores would be 100 Arabs.
But they only use Crores, no matter how large the figure.
Why?

The rest of the world uses appropriate denominational terms, going from a million to billion and Trillion, it makes sense.

Why doesn’t India use the term Arab?
Is there a psychological reason behind it?

@Mangus Ortus Novem @SIPRA @Indus Pakistan @Areesh @313ghazi @Sainthood 101 @Pak Nationalist
I thought maybe you guys can shed some light on this matter, I'm really confused.

India has a larger economy then Pakistan, therefore bigger budgets and larger amounts of currency to deal with.

Currency in South Asia is enumerated in Lakhs, Crores, Arabs and Kharabs.

Pakistan follows the normal process to numerate it's currency, so 100,000 is 1 Lakh, then the next incremental increase is a Crore, then Arab and a Kharab.

But in India, with greater amounts of currency to deal with, they are still stuck at Crores.
They never use the term Arabs, you only hear Crores in any amounts. 1000 Crores would be 10 Arab, and 10,000 Crores would be 100 Arabs.
But they only use Crores, no matter how large the figure.
Why?

The rest of the world uses appropriate denominational terms, going from a million to billion and Trillion, it makes sense.

Why doesn’t India use the term Arab?
Is there a psychological reason behind it?

@Mangus Ortus Novem @SIPRA @Indus Pakistan @Areesh @313ghazi @Sainthood 101 @Pak Nationalist
I thought maybe you guys can shed some light on this matter, I'm really confused.

Your point is interesting. But, I don't have an answer to your question. Never thought about it.

Same reason worldwide people use millions and billions but not trillions. Tradition.

The first economy to reach a Trillion was America in 1969, you can't use a term that is not in use, if it's not in use, then it cannot be classified as a tradition.
Similarly, first Lakh then Crore was used where appropriate, lakh did not continue because of tradition.

Everyone uses the appropriate terms, Pakistan also uses Crore then Arab because it is appropriate.

The appropriate denomination terms have nothing to do with tradition. India uses billions then trillions, so the excuse that it is tradition does not make sense.

I'm sure there is a reason, and I am certain it is probably a silly reason.

O Yaar Meray,

The reason is rather simple.

It is called Indianness!

The good Indians like the sound of crorz... and then obviously the numbers are larger... while using Urb or Khurb... would compress the numbers...

It has to do with sounding 'grand'...

Frankly, there were some in GoP who did use this crorz business... trying to sound grand...but it didn't get any traction... hence, our politicoz and MarasiMedia uses Urb and Khurb... which makes eminent sense.

We must admit that the Indianness is beyond our rational capabilities to comprehend... @SIPRA

Mangus

I thought perhaps the thousands years of Islamic rule may have traumatised the Indian psyche.
By using the term Arab, it constantly reminds them of Arab/Islamic servitude.
Just a thought lol

@SIPRA @313ghazi
could this be the reason?

I thought perhaps the thousands years of Islamic rule may have traumatised the Indian psyche.
Just a thought lol

Could be. Elite Hindus never liked the influence of Arabic or Persian on local spoken languages. That is why, they created this so called "Hindi" language, by forced and artificial replacement of Arabic/Persian words, with Sanskrit words. This process is still continuing, and has rather accelerated during this current Modi regime.

South Asian Person 1: I just won 10 Arabs, gonna spend them on hookers and coke.

Person 2 : WTF

South Asian Person 1: I just won 10 Arabs, gonna spend them on hookers and coke.

Person 2 : WTF

10 Arabs on hookers and coke?
That's 1000 Crores, that's around 100 million dollars.

You must have some expensive hookers in India :rofl:
It's a bit strange that the only thing you could think about is hookers and coke, not good dude, not good.

People do use trillion though, people will say 1.2 trillion, they won't say 1200 billion.

To answer @peagle I've no idea.
It's pretty rare to use trillion mainly because such numbers have shock and awe value in headlines but in day-day use who uses them?

The first economy to reach a Trillion was America in 1969, you can't use a term that is not in use, if it's not in use, then it cannot be classified as a tradition.
Similarly, first Lakh then Crore was used where appropriate, lakh did not continue because of tradition.

Everyone uses the appropriate terms, Pakistan also uses Crore then Arab because it is appropriate.

The appropriate denomination terms have nothing to do with tradition. India uses billions then trillions, so the excuse that it is tradition does not make sense.

I'm sure there is a reason, and I am certain it is probably a silly reason.

Just a thought lol

@SIPRA @313ghazi
could this be the reason?
Interesting. The use of lakhs and crores in Pakistan perhaps then is indicative of the thousands of years of Indian rule over that region and they cherish and remember fondly such times.

It's pretty rare to use trillion mainly because such numbers have shock and awe value in headlines but in day-day use who uses them?

Interesting. The use of lakhs and crores in Pakistan perhaps then is indicative of the thousands of years of Indian rule over that region and they cherish and remember fondly such times.

People who don't have a phobia of numbers it seems...

I was not aware of Arabs and Kharabs. Opened this thread with the impression that the discussion was about India being afraid of middle eastern countries :laugh:

Perhaps the reason why Indians don't use Arabs and Kharabs is because most people are not aware of it. I do find figures like '1 lakh crore' etc. difficult to process. Perhaps India may move to western number system to align with the rest of the world in future.

Interesting information :cheers:

I was not aware of Arabs and Kharabs. Opened this thread with the impression that the discussion was India being afraid of middle eastern countries :laugh:

Perhaps the reason why Indians don't use Arabs and Kharabs is because most people are not aware of it. I do find figures like '1 lakh crore' etc. difficult to process. Perhaps India may move to western number system to align with the rest of the world in future.

Interesting information :cheers:

:laugh: I thought the same thing when I first saw this thread.

I agree, life would be a bit easier if they switched to western numbers, but then at the same time much of modern maths finds it's home in this part of the world. Why get rid of tradition? I don't think it hinders anything.

the real question is why dont india and pakistan use regular numbers like the rest of humanity?

WTF is a crore ?lakh? and now arab kharab???

whats wrong with thousand,million,billion,trillion?

extremely simple, and easy to understand by everyone. i doubt many people out of south east asia would know off the top of their head what a crore or lakh is without looking it up...