Ertugrul and Pakistanis Identity Crisis

Since Turkey evolved to a secular, liberal country I think this will prime Pakistani's to evolve on the path Turks did.

One can hope....but it depends on what reason its being watched for.

I don't think its for some secularism+liberal+modernist ideology (implanted esoterically in the Seljuk) at all.

Would a TV series about Ataturk receive similar acclaim and mass viewership in Pakistan? That would actually be an interesting litmus test of this to see.

It's not at all an identity crisis.

ERTUGUL has elements that attract the youth. I shows what Pakistani culture is suffering from.

1. In every house there are elements that are spoilers. Be it men or women.
2. Treachery that we can identify with in the family, in the local government and in the national government
3. Basic spiritual enlightenment like ibn Arabi even helping the enemies of muslims and the Kyi tribe seeking greater good later on.
4 none of the above is provide by our totally corrupt political pr religious class.

So its identifying ourselves with the story line

Stupid and irrelevant threads like these should be banned. The poster has a habit of making anti Turkish posts because his Uncle died due to Turkish drone strikes in Syria but it shouldn't mean PDF has to suffer like him.
He takes every shape :rofl:

One can hope....but it depends on what reason its being watched for.

I don't think its for some secularism+liberal+modernist ideology (implanted esoterically in the Seljuk) at all.

Would a TV series about Ataturk receive similar acclaim and mass viewership in Pakistan? That would actually be an interesting litmus test of this to see.

forget about it.

they are just watching it for gori chamri tharak while politicians are selling the value bit.

No, not at all. Pakistani's masturbate over Ertugrul because of it's Islamic undertones. They certainly would not recieve Ataturk in a positive way. Indeed they would be disgusted. But. But the thing is Ertugrul places Pakistani's on the Turkish trajectory. Which today has evolved to secularism. So if Erugrul infatutated Pakistani's walk around in Istanbul today they will be forced to see the evoloution of Ertugrul's people. Contrast this with walking in Riyad or Jeddah.

Better they be Turkified then Arabified or Gangufied ....

But the thing is Ertugrul places Pakistani's on the Turkish trajectory. Which today has evolved to secularism.

That's a lot of years of trajectory (nearly a millenia if you think about it) and different (upstream) times and lot of specific things/experiences happening to the Turks by their location and other factors etc etc.

You sure you want to wait that long? Or you think it will be compressed somehow for Pakistan (and then that needs lot more than a TV show tbh). But I do get where you are coming from, your hope is coming from right place.

But as Vader put it "The emperor does not share your optimistic appraisal of the situation"

BTW @Indus Pakistan ole buddy, you might find this thread (ignoring the garbage littered around as much you can) right up your alley to read.....it hits some notes on lot of the hypotheticals and history modelling and my theory (on human/cultural/national downstream existence now) and some of the stuff we discussed bit earlier about Japan etc etc (exchange range I have with naofumi roughly post 81 to 99):

https://defence.pk/pdf/threads/babu...m-as-an-advantage.666597/page-6#post-12333641

You sure you want to wait that long?
When I said trajectory it does not mean the speed will be same. To begin with I would place Pakistan 2020 at where Turkey was 1880. So 120 odd years of trajectory and with modern technology/informatiom age/easy travel that 120 years could be shrunk to 50 years. About two generations. The real problem is Iran. If we did not have the hidious clerical rule in Iran and instead Shah of Iran type of rule as existed before 1979 that country would be a landbridge to Turkey.

Turkish border is about 1,200 miles from Pakistan. About same as Bangladesh from Pakistan. If things had gone differantly since 1979 we could have had six lane motorways connecting both countries with each country being with days driving time. This would have boosted economic and cultural exchange hastening the evolutionery process. Westernization is a bastard word in Pakistan primarily because it is rooted in anti-colonial eaction to the trauma of being conquered people. However Turkification would begin to gnaw away in Pakistan allowing westernization through the back door because Turkification today is just westernisation with a anatolian flavour. But because the product is packed as Turkish it can make inroads into Pakistan. Ertugrul etc prime Pakistani;s subtly for all things Turkish ~ which as explianed is just westernization with a red crescent star fluttering over it.

mm5Tjy8.jpg

Aik turkish drama kya pasand agaya log to pagal ho gaye.. identity crisis flan timkan.. koi aqal ko hath maro angrezi dramay dekhnay walon ko bhi koi identity crisis hai kya? Jahil qoum..

Why can't people like it and support it for the content , acting , and History ? I liked Game of Thrones so what does that make my identity ? Westrosi ? Fcuk em all ..