Pakistan 6th Census -March 15 to May 25, 2017 l News, Update & Discussion

damn

PM’s disqualification delays census results
July 30, 2017

ISLAMABAD - The disqualification of former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has delayed results of the much-awaited 6th population census, which was expected to be announced on July 31 after getting approval from the Council of Common Interests (CCI).

“The provisional results of the 6th population census are ready, which will be presented before the CCI for approval before making it public, “said Habib Ullah Khan, a spokesperson for the Pakistan Bureau of Statistics (PBS) while talking to The Nation on Saturday.

He said that the CCI was scheduled to meet on July 31 to approve the provisional census results. But the meeting has been postponed for an indefinite time after the disqualification of the former prime minister.

He said that it was essential to get approval from the CCI as the census contains the data of the provincial governments. The CCI is a constitutional body, which resolves the disputes of power sharing between the federation and provinces.

Khan said that the final results of the 6th population census would be completed by April or May next year, as according to the census plan. He informed that census conducted in entire Pakistan.

Another official of the PBS said that they had conducted the census in a transparent manner with the help of the army. The international observers had shown satisfaction over the credibility and transparency of the exercise, he said.

The delay in census results could hold-up the Election Commission of Pakistan’s plan for delimitation of national and provincial assembly constituencies on the basis of the new population count.

The chief election commissioner had already noted that they will not be in a position to start work on fresh delimitations before obtaining the final census data.

In a recent meeting with Chief Statistician Asif Bajwa, the chief election commissioner said it had now become impossible for the ECP to conduct elections on fresh delimitations, as the commission needed around seven months to carry out the process.

The census was carried out after a gap of 19 years at a cost of Rs18.5 billion. The result of the ongoing census will be used for delimitation of constituencies, a division of fiscal resources and allocation of civil service quotas among the four federating units.

The government had conducted the census in two phases. In the first phase, the census was carried out in 63 districts from March 15 to April 15. In the second phase, the exercise covered 88 districts from April 25 to May 25.

According to reports, the government conducted its first census in 1951, the second in 1961, the third in 1972, the fourth census in 1981 and the fifth census was conducted in March 1998. According to the Constitution, it is mandatory to conduct census after every 10 years.

IMRAN ALI KUNDI

http://nation.com.pk/national/30-Jul-2017/pm-s-disqualification-delays-census-results

Why an indefinite delay? If anything, they should be released right away. The next election must take place under the new lines.

Indefinite time? Hopefully as soon as new (permanent till election) PM takes over?

If its postponed, was much policy and economic decision going to be based on the census results? That would be an issue.

Till next CCI meeting is held. Not sure when, maybe in couple of months when Shahbaz Sharif is elected PM. Could be before as well under interim PM Khakan Abbasi.

Assalam o alaikum
apki post mere ko behad passand i.......
Information share krny k wasty shukriya.......
Allah Pak jj apko jaza E Khair Atta frmyn
Ellahi Aamin.....

At last a rational comment on the Census results.

Census 2017
no-img-fb.jpg

The release of provisional census data by the Ministry of Statistics confirms population trends that many had been expecting. Pakistan’s total population, excluding Azad Kashmir and Gilgit-Baltistan, stands at 207.774 million. Compared with the 1998 census, there has been a 57 percent increase in our population in the last 19 years. The population increase confirms the sheer scale of governance and service delivery challenges that policymakers must deal with. The population growth rate remains around 2.4 percent, suggesting that whatever family planning programmes have been undertaken by the state have turned out to be ineffectual. One alarming fact to have emerged is a growing gender gap. There are almost five million more men in Pakistan than women. With everything else being equal, women generally have a longer life expectancy than men. It would be important to see what age groups this gender gap is most pronounced in before declaring a cause for concern – but one may point to the preference for male children as a possible source for this alongwith the lack of women’s access to healthcare. Punjab is still the province with the largest population – at around 110 million. Sindh is second with almost 48 million while Balochistan and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa are home to 12 million and 30.5 million respectively. These numbers will be important for the next NFC Award and provincial distribution of resources.

It is always in the fine print of a census that the more interesting details lay. The preliminary release has thrown up some other rather confusing figures. While the country is rapidly becoming more urban, with over 36 percent of the population now residing in urban areas as compared to 32.5 percent in 1998, the urbanisation figures for Punjab have the potential to lead to questions. Either the conventional wisdom that Punjab is the most urbanised province is wrong or there is something that has gone wrong in the methodology used to differentiate between urban and rural areas in the census. The census reports that Sindh is 52 percent urbanised compared to 37 percent urban area in Punjab. Conjoined with the declaration that Islamabad’s urban population has decreased from 67 percent to almost 50 percent since the last census, the problem is more likely to have been one of how areas have been designated into rural and urban categories. Similarly, while it is positive to see that the number of transgender people in the country has finally been counted, at just over 10,000 the number seems extremely deflated. It is easy to ignore marginalised populations in census processes – especially in the case of a group that has not been included before.

We must also remember that the census was made into an unnecessarily complicated task. Some of it due to genuine security concerns, but mostly because of political wrangling. The Pakistan Bureau of Statistics did not receive the required funds in time and continued to remain confused about whether it would go ahead or not. That said, the results will allow for planning to be grounded in a statistical understanding of Pakistani society. However, it is important to ensure that the results have been tabulated correctly. Any issues in methodology that need to be clarified should be before the final results are announced. In the months to come, far more detailed information will be released about the population breakdown and give us a better idea of whether there has been any improvement in literacy rates, infant mortality and other vital metrics. For now, as a macro picture of the country, we have a better – if not ideal – picture of how Pakistan has changed and expanded over the last two decades.

https://www.thenews.com.pk/print/226257-Census-2017

Pakistan’s population has reached 207.7 million, said Pakistan Bureau of Statistics in a census summary published .

21032438_479963355697459_5584919891004996513_n.jpg

21077415_479963439030784_8732851366960855728_n.jpg

At last, sixth census to see light of the day on March 15

infomosm-1.jpg

• Rs6bn to be allocated to army out of Rs18.5bn; Army to ensure transparency, maintenance of order

The civil and military officials on Sunday announced to jointly conduct the country’s sixth population census starting from March 15 which would be completed by May 25 in two phases.

The announcement was made here at a joint press conference addressed by State Minister for Information and Broadcasting Maryam Aurangzeb, Inter-Services Public Relations (ISPR) Director General Asif Ghafoor and Chief Census Commissioner Asif Bajwa.

The fifth population census was conducted in 1998 and the sixth census is being held after 19 years. “The first phase would start from March 15 and would conclude by April 15, followed by a 10-day break to facilitate the movement of logistics for the second phase which will start from April 25 to May 25,” Maryam said.

She said that Rs18.5 billion had been released for the census out of which six billion rupees would be allocated to the army. “Rs 6.5 billion have been allocated for transportation while another six billion rupees have been allotted to the civilian budget,” she said, adding that total civilian staff taking part in the census equals 118,918 persons and are all government servants serving in various departments.

The state minister said that those individuals who would found providing misleading and incorrect data to the census officials would have to pay Rs 50,000 fine and six months imprisonment. She said that dual nationals who are present in Pakistan at the time of the census will be included in the census. “Form 2-A of the census will count transgender individuals for the first time,” she told a questioner.

She said that the government was also set to undertake a mass communication and awareness campaign on a national level and the citizens who wish to report any discrepancies are encouraged to call a helpline 0800-57574. She said there was complete consensus among members of the Council of Common Interests (CCI) for holding census and all the arrangements had been made in an elaborate manner to make the process fair and transparent.

She said the percentage ratio of urban and rural areas would be issued soon after the census. Maj Gen Asif Ghafoor said it was decided that transparency of census would be ensured with assistance of the army and over 0.2 million soldiers would be provided for making the census transparent.

He warned against negative propaganda against census process, saying those feeding wrong date would be dealt strictly. He made it clear that the army was all ready to perform its job. “One soldier would accompany one enumerator in each housing block. Around 8,00 master trainers have been trained to render training to enumerators,” he added.

He said that the Pakistan Army would provide full security to the census process and it would also ensure law and order situation in the area. “Every single citizen is responsible for security and every citizen is a soldier in Radd-ul-Fassad operation,” he said. He said that the census would be conducted with the assistance of over 200,000 troops in approximately 168,000 blocks.

“There are approximately 168,000 blocks, and there will be a soldier accompanying every civilian enumerator on that level,” he said. “The soldiers would accompany their civilian peers and once the data is provided, the soldier ─ who will have a link to the National Database and Registration Authority (NADRA) ─ will be able to get verification of the data immediately,” he added.

He said that the army has created a support plan for the census according to which the military has three tasks. “Army would ensure that the census is smooth, transparent and that security and law and order are maintained,” he added. The army will make security arrangements for the retrieval of filled forms, he added.

“With help from the Pakistan Bureau of Statistics, master trainers in various cities have trained more trainers under them at the division level, so “each soldier is well-trained to undertake this task,” Ghafoor said. He said the provincial results of the census will be published after May 25.

Regular reports will be issued at the provincial, district and national levels, the information minister said at the briefing, with a summary of demographics as well as a visual representation published before the final results are released. “Take the soldier who comes to your door for the census as a thank you from the Army for your devotion, and please cooperate with him,” he concluded.

http://www.pakistantoday.com.pk/2017/03/13/at-last-sixth-census-to-see-light-of-the-day-on-march-15/
Thank God its happening

whats the minority count in Pakistan i have heard that Hindu council of Pakistan said that Hindus alone now constitute 4% of Pakistan population that is roughly some 8.5 millions which has almost doubled then 1998 census.

Hindus in Pakistan grows more then the majority Muslims in %. our minorities badly need to do some family planning.

whats the minority count in Pakistan i have heard that Hindu council of Pakistan said that Hindus alone now constitute 4% of Pakistan population that is roughly some 8.5 millions which has almost doubled then 1998 census.

Hindus in Pakistan grows more then the majority Muslims in %. our minorities badly need to do some family planning.
Let them breed pakistan needs some diversity.

These are fake figures. Anyone can say anything.

Official figures would tell us actual numbers. I doubt hindus are 4% of Pak population. All minorities combined might be 3-4%....not hindus or christians alone

When will the the complete census result be out? What a joke. It’s been 2 years and still nothing.

Let them breed pakistan needs some diversity.

Lol what kind of chutiya logic is this?

Pakistan has enough diversity. We are Sindhis, Punjabi’s, Balochis, Pashtuns...we speak hundreds of different languages. We have multitude of cuisines and dresses.

Or bc kya karain? Stop repeating dumb internet liberal tweets. You make a joke outa yourself

Official figures would tell us actual numbers. I doubt hindus are 4% of Pak population. All minorities combined might be 3-4%....not hindus or christians alone

When will the the complete census result be out? What a joke. It’s been 2 years and still nothing.

Pakistan has enough diversity. We are Sindhis, Punjabi’s, Balochis, Pashtuns...we speak hundreds of different languages. We have multitude of cuisines and dresses.

Or bc kya karain? Stop repeating dumb internet liberal tweets. You make a joke outa yourself

I think Hindu council is right as they have more info about community and minorities numbers was mis quoted in all census of Pakistan including 1998, hopefully its not in 2018 census we would have around 10% minorities in Pakistan if not more considering their presence every where in Pakistan.

you want to kill all minorities like India?

I think Hindu council is right as they have more info about community and minorities numbers was mis quoted in all census of Pakistan including 1998, hopefully its not in 2018 census we would have around 10% minorities in Pakistan if not more considering their presence every where in Pakistan.

you want to kill all minorities like India?

Pakistan census, election commission rolls, and independent demographic studies have ALL indicated the similar figures. “Hindu council” have no way of measuring demographic figures of their community. They just randomly make up numbers just like others.

Minorities are around 3 to 3.5% of our total population. Sorry, your mythical bullshit of 10% won’t fly...no matter how much you want it. Anyone who has ever lived in Pakistan knowns minorities are very rare (2-3%), no way near 10% :lol: I have lived in countries with 10% minorities....unlike you, I know the level of visibility 10% minority population brings. Pakistan is not that country.

Minorities are treated respectfully in Pakistan. We aren’t a shithole like india. Having said that, it doesn’t mean we make up fictional numbers just to please the internet and tell others “oh look we are diverse. We have minorities. Please accept us”

How utterly idiot and unintelligent you have to be? It’s PDF, not your children’s fairytale forum. Stop embarrassing yourself and grow up. :disagree:

All we are known for is killing minorities and kidnapping hindu girls and making them muslims, pakistan gives a bad image of islam.

Pakistan is one of the most diverse country in the whole planet......
Ethnically speaking yes but not religious wise.

All we are known for is killing minorities and kidnapping hindu girls and making them muslims, pakistan gives a bad image of islam

You are either an indian or even worse, a typical burger Pakistani liberal secularist who hates his own self and wants validation of the outside world. In either case, you are utterly irrelevant, downright ignorant, and needs psychological help :lol:

We regurgitating the same old enemy propaganda.

We treat minorities better than most countries, especially in S. Asia.

Ethnically speaking yes but not religious wise.

And why do we have to be “religiously diverse”?? :woot:

Should we bring in Myanmar Buddhists among us and Christians from Africa just so we can become “diverse” and mentally colonised slaves of West can get Western validation on “diversity”?? What kind of incel cuckold you have to be to even think like that?

@lastofthepatriots @DESERT FIGHTER check kro bhai logs. These libturd burgers now have problem bc Pakistan isn’t “religiously diverse” enough :omghaha:

Pakistan is an Islamic Republic and is 96-97% Muslim. This is Allah’s blessing, and alotttttt of countries in the world would die to be in this situation. Thank God and value our religious unity in ethnic diversity.