TV channels given 15 days to stop airing dubbed foreign Turkish and Indian series

Riyad

Bangladesh
Bangladeshi TV artists are currently jobless because of dubbed Turkish serial, Muhteşem Yüzyıl in a local TV channel. Also Indian TV channels Star Plus and Zee TV have special downlink channels only for Bangladesh where they show Indian Hindi shows but with Bangladeshi ads dubbed in Hindi. Indian Bangla TV channels namely Star Jalsha and Zee Bangla are also hugely popular in Bangladesh. For this reason Bangladeshi artists are not getting enough work.

The protest was to stop Indian channels and to stop dubbing foreign (mostly Turkish and Indian) series in local channels.

TV channels given 15 days to stop airing foreign series

Cultural Correspondent | Published: 22:15, Nov 30,2016

3861_110.jpg

TV actors, directors, playwrights and technical crews render the National Anthem of Bangladesh at a rally held at the Central Shaheed Minar on Wednesday. — Snigdha Zaman

Federation of Television Professionals Organisation, an platform of 13 television productions-based professional groups, has given local TV channels 15 days to stop airing Bangla-dubbed serials.

Their other demands include imposing a ban on recruitment of foreign actors/directors/technicians without permission of the government and stopping buying teleplays from agencies.

At a rally held at Central Shaheed Minar on Wednesday, the federation also issued a one-month ultimatum to the government to stop airing local advertisements in foreign down-linked channels and called for reassessment of the existing TV taxation policy by the deadline.

Otherwise, they threatened, they would organise a greater movement involving common people of the country.

Federation of Television Professionals Organisation president Mamunur Rashid announced the demands in presence of over one thousand artistes, directors, playwrights and technical crew.

Syed Hasan Imam, Manumur Rashid, Abul Hayat, ATM Shamsuzzaman, Ataur Rahman, Gazi Rakayat, Tauqir Ahmed, Shahiduzzaman Selim, Azizul Hakim, Zahid Hasan also addressed the rally.

They said it was a matter of their survival and would not rest until all their demands were fulfilled.
The FTPO leaders said that the industry was on the verge of destruction and it would not revive if the demands remained unfulfilled.

They said many Indian directors, actors and technical persons were currently working in Bangladesh arriving here on tourist visa.

This rendered many local artistes jobless, they argued.

Since the local channels were getting increasingly dependent on Bangla-dubbed foreign programmes, demand for local productions decreased, they said, expressing their apprehension.

They blamed the channel’s dependence on add agencies for buying programmes for the falling quality of the local productions.

Two Indian channels — Zee Bangla and Star Jalsha — were airing local advertisements which was harmful for business of local TV industry, they said.

http://www.newagebd.net/article/3861/tv-channels-given-15-days-to-stop-airing-foreign-series-

TV professionals’ grand rally at Central Shaheed Minar

1480516920_7.jpg

photo by
By
01st-Dec-2016 0 Comments

• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • Save
  • Print
Comments
Share your thoughtPost a comment »
Read all (0) »
Sheikh Arif Bulbon :

With the slogan titled ‘to survive with the industry, to save the industry’ a grand rally of television professionals was held from 11:00am to 5:00pm on Wednesday at the Central Shaheed Minar in the city.

This rally was held for the implantation of five-point demands. These are: To stop airing foreign serials and programmes with Bengali dubbing in country’s private satellite channels, programmes must be controlled with relevant authority of the channels without any interference by any client or agency in case of selling or airing any TV programme, the minimum and acceptable rate of AIT to be re-fixed in every aspect of television industry, frequent acting of foreign actors and workers must be stopped in local channels in case of special occasion if there is needed there must have taken government’s permission before working and to be enlisted in relevant orgnaisation and to stop local TV commercials in foreign channels through the down link channels.

The rally began to wreath flowers on the podium of Central Shaheed Minar.
Syed Hasan Imam, ATM Shamsuzzaman, Abul Hayat, Mamunur Rashid, Gazi Rakayet, Salauddin Lavlu, among others, were present on the occasion.

Later in voices of the attended actors the National Anthem was rendered.

Convener of Federation of Television Professionals Organisation (FTPO) Mamunur Rashid gave welcome speech. In his speech Mamunur Rashid said, “Earlier we did not have unity among us. But today’s presence proved that we can be untied. Nobody can divide us. Everybody should come into common platform with our demands.”

Attending all the TV professionals gathered the Shaheed Minar and urged the government to implement their demands.

Gazi Rakayet presented the theme paper. He said, “We pay tribute to the language martyrs because for their sacrifice we could save our mother language. Today we have proved that we can become united. In a word, we can say that from now the TV channels will run according to what the FTPO wants. Our movement is not against the government or agency. We want to step forward with a specific rules and regulations. We say to the TV channels that you should not only do business but also to love this industry.”

Professionals of 13 organisations gathered in the rally. During break of speech Chanchal Chowdhury, Milon, Chitralekha Guha, Apurba, Fazlur Rahman Babu, Mosharraf Karim and Shamima Tusty rendered songs and performed dnaces in the rally.

http://thedailynewnation.com/news/115702/tv-professionals-grand-rally-at-central-shaheed-minar.html

even in india i do not see DD channals...
should i join the protest...

If bengalis watched... top gear, the 100, quantico, breaking bad, walking dead, game of thrones etc. I would be impressed. But the shit they watch makes no sense, has no logic behind it and no wonder why majority of em says dumb things that boils my blood.

Sultan suleman is a garbage serial . I don't know even the turks watch it . bd tv serials are more crappy . I wish I could watch k deama or japanese series like oshin .

I thought people from Bengal & Bangladesh are well known writers, what happened to that ?

The only think which you guys can do better and you all are failing there as well.

Banning the foreign series won't help, but providing incentives and less tax on domestic shows & channels might just give the domestic actors some lifeline.

I thought people from Bengal & Bangladesh are well known writers, what happened to that ?

The only think which you guys can do better and you all are failing there as well.

Banning the foreign series won't help, but providing incentives and less tax on domestic shows & channels might just give the domestic actors some lifeline.

Bangladesh media can't survive in competition because the market is extremely niche. Any competition is good for any media but not for Bangladeshi media because they are not used to it and Bangladeshi culture is not very diverse and colorful like those of Indian Punjabi , Guajarati, Rajashthani culture. Our culture is subtle version of Indian Bengali culture with a bit Islamic touch. People like to watch more of colorful Punjabi / Rajasthani lifestyles with grand sets and costumes which is not practical in Bangladesh's perspective.

Bangladesh used to produce very good literature based TV series back in 90's but now not a single drama (natok) is worth watching. Same Sh^t again and again. People are watching Indian channels because there is virtually absolutely nothing to see in Bangladeshi channels. Only news and ads. Every single channel is news channel. Even general entertainment channel is 90% news, 10% other programs. Absolutely garbage.

A dubbed Turkish serial in a new channel gave fresh air to audience. Many local artists are jobless due to this one serial. They are protesting to ban it and to stop airing Bangladeshi ads in Indian Hindi and Bangla channels because local channels are losing revenue.

Bangladesh used to produce very good literature based TV series back in 90's but now not a single drama (natok) is worth watching. Same Sh^t again and again. People are watching Indian channels because there is virtually absolutely nothing to see in Bangladeshi channels. Only news and ads. Every single channel is news channel. Even general entertainment chance is 90% new, 10% other programs. Absolutely garbage.

A dubbed Turkish serial in a new channel gave fresh air to audience. Many local artists are jobless due to this one serial. They are protesting to ban it and to stop airing Bangladeshi ads in Indian Hindi and Bangla channels because local channels are losing revenue.
I think BD the foreign channels you are seeing are formed in JV, so if you ban them the domestic investors might loose their money as well. I think there is need of out of box thinking from domestic channels, learn something from India & Turkey and make fusion of both. :lol:

But if you ban foreign TVs, then your local investor will also loose money plus the audience will be left with nothing but news channels, and believe me Moms watching news channel is very horrific thing. They'll ask you pathetic questions till you die. :agree:

so basically BD industry can not compete them so better ban them ?
Yes Chachaji, the same thing Pakistan did with India Bollywood movies. :whistle:

Seriuosly man, i like it so much and people sounds so smart when they talk about cars that don`t run in the country or about dragons and zombies. Not to mention all that hot $e* scenes from GOT, that whole family could sit together and watch. So impressive. So much fun.
But nooh all they want to watch illogical, stupid. out of the world family relationship dramas

The problem is right there. People are attracted to star plus like drama . I guess you understand What I am trying to say. To the ignorant mass Dabang > Swadesh

so basically BD industry can not compete them so better ban them ?

Bangladeshi films have been given protection of 45 years so far. No film from SAARC country can be shown in cinema halls, no dubbed Indian film can be shown in TV, no dubbed Pakistani film on TV.

At this age of satellite and esp. internet revolution Bangladeshi TV channels and film industry is having tremendous pressure. Bangladesh doesn't have a vibrant culture. Films which are good in quality focus on poverty stricken rural people. People get bored of seeing same type of art film. Bangladeshi commercial films are totally unwatchable Bhojpuri type films.

TV is even crappier. Only news. no entertainment at all. Two or three dramas are shown but with extremely low contents. No wonder why our women folk watch Indian channels.

After Sultan Suleiman Deepto TV will broadcast another dubbed Turkish drama , Kashem Sultan.

This one.

Magnificent_Century_Kosem_Muhtesem_Yuzyil_Kosem.jpg
Hey my parents love this drama we get it in urdu on Urdu 1 channel :D
I feel like like its trying to jump on bandwagon of Muhtesim Yuzil(Mera Sultan) success but it lacks the same umph factor

Btw why cant BD revive its own drama industry?
I mean Pakistani industry was almost dead in 2006 it took real hard work to put it back on the right track and now we are seeing top notch dramas with excelent scripts grace tv screens and some even touch controversial issues

I think BD the foreign channels you are seeing are formed in JV, so if you ban them the domestic investors might loose their money as well. I think there is need of out of box thinking from domestic channels, learn something from India & Turkey and make fusion of both. :lol:

But if you ban foreign TVs, then your local investor will also loose money plus the audience will be left with nothing but news channels, and believe me Moms watching news channel is very horrific thing. They'll ask you pathetic questions till you die. :agree:

Yes Chachaji, the same thing Pakistan did with India Bollywood movies. :whistle:
The ban on Bollywood movies is self imposed by the cinemas there isnt any govt pressure :D

Though I'm sympathetic to their situation but their demands are quite baffling... Particularly these two:
* Ban on ads of BD products on foreign channels
* Ban on dubbed foreign contents

Now why would the BD companies allow the commercials of foreign products by giving up the opportunity of airing their own commercials on those channels? Even in India, they have their own localized versions of foreign televisions with commercials of Indian products.... BD companies want to do the same here...

You want a ban on dubbed foreign contents, so you want further ingress of foreign languages? Now where is your love for the mother tongue? Remember the doremon saga? What if an Indian channel starts airing Hindi-dubbed version of Sultan Suleiman?

And I disagree that Bangladeshi channels are not capable of making good contents. Not a television buff but I remember a popular TV series called 'Housefull' used to be aired in 2009/10 on Ntv (I though watched it on dvd)... It was a nice youth based comedy-drama with a realistic script, depicting the typical Bangladeshi urban middle class... I guess other popular Bangladeshi tv series are of similar type, primarily based on the youth... However, sadly this type of tv shows don't sell much, simply because they don't have the type of market...

The prime audience for television are the middle-aged housewives who are mostly attracted to melodramatic tv soaps where women with flashy jewelry and dresses live in large palaces... something the Indian channels are quite efficient to portray...

What the Bangladeshi channels need is to chalk out a clear and prudent strategy to attract the audience. Perhaps, they are beaten by the huge budget of Indian channels... Further, there is a huge disparity between the downlink fees of Bangladeshi and Indian channels in each other's territories (something like 3 lacs vs 3 crores), leading to an uneven competition...

Instead of these ridiculous demands, the channel owners should actually ask the government to raise the downlink fees of foreign channels so much so that it can create a level playing field for them...