15 Jordanian F-16 for sale

Not sure if these aircraft can fire AIM-120. Does Falcon up and/or Falcon star includes this capability? From the pictures on RJAF sites, I reckon they are capable of carrying AIM-7 Sparrow, something not significant to PAF. Any ideas? I think PAF would want to have this capability in addition to perhaps Sniper XR compatibility.
If my memory serves me correctly this problem was also with the previous 13 Ex Jordanian F-16's. These aircraft were the first ones to get the upgrades done in Pakistan, if these 15 are purchased then it would be done locally.

why Jordanian airforce they sold its serviceable aircraft's is there other orders on their hand or intrested in any other type of fighters

you can say like this still better than JF-17 Block III :D
but if I would have made a decision, I would have probably gone for support systems like some new SAAB upgrade on early warning aircraft rather than these 16s. Money much better spent.
There is no need to indulge in useless arguments over capability that has not been inducted. Unlike the fan boys from across the border and some of our boys as well the senior members will always say we dont count our chickens before they are hatched. No one on this forum knows what block 3 JFT is going to be like or at least no one is saying anything . How can you say a plane manufactured in the 80s is going to be better than the plane to be inducted 2_ 3 yrs down the line without knowing what specs it will have?. Please dont spoil threads with non objective posts.
A

If my memory serves me correctly this problem was also with the previous 13 Ex Jordanian F-16's. These aircraft were the first ones to get the upgrades done in Pakistan, if these 15 are purchased then it would be done locally.
I think the recent contract with TAI is for these planes and the ADFs which PAF bought. There have been indication that the US is unhappy over planes being upgraded locally. Whether right or wrong I am happy to be corrected.
why Jordanian airforce they sold its serviceable aircraft's is there other orders on their hand or intrested in any other type of fighters
Being a smaller AF they want fleet commonality for cost efficiency. They had ordered MLUed Block Cand Ds which they are recieving or have received which isthe reason for this sale. Ithink it would be a good sale for us and ideal for our fleet requirements and commonality. Senior politicains statements also suggest PAF is going to buy them and US will not have any objections.
A

I think they can fire AAM120s. They will be upgraded and so the capability will be incorporated if not already there. Interestingly the previous ADFs PAF bought had the capability. These are planes from the same series which RJAF got 28 of from US.in the early 2000s.
A

Given that these aircraft are about 2/3rd down their service life, upgrades will be minimal and confined to essentials. Perhaps PAF will assign them to training of pilots, COIN and Air Defense duties with an aim to relieve pressure and conserve remaining fleet. AIM-120, Sniper XR and DB-110 compatibility would suffice, I think.

I think the eecent contract with TAI is for these planes and the ADFs which PAF bought. There have been indication that the US is unhappy over planes being upgraded locally. Whether right or wrong I am happy to be corrected.
These are two different things.

System / Software upgrade
This can be performed by Pakistan.

MLU and Structural Upgrades
Pakistan wanted this capability but USA refused. First Batch of F-16's were sent to USA for these upgrades and the remaining were sent to Turkey.

Pakistan has already asked for the kits for these upgrades and TAI had acknowledged by already announcing that these aircraft have been purchased by PAF. However Janes had reported that these aircraft would be upgraded by the Jordanian Air Force and then sold. So there is still some confusion to the exact status of these aircraft.

Its really not that complicated.to see PAF psyche if the purchase materialises

This is how PAF sees the RFAJ F-16's.
These 15 F-16 are better than the non-ROSE Mirage III in every sense(more hard points, better avionics,newer generation, etc etc). They are even better than F-7 P.

Replace either Mirage-III or F-7P squadron with these F-16.

These are two different things.

System / Software upgrade
This can be performed by Pakistan.

MLU and Structural Upgrades
Pakistan wanted this capability but USA refused. First Batch of F-16's were sent to USA for these upgrades and the remaining were sent to Turkey.

Pakistan has already asked for the kits for these upgrades and TAI had acknowledged by already announcing that these aircraft have been purchased by PAF. However Janes had reported that these aircraft would be upgraded by the Jordanian Air Force and then sold. So there is still some confusion to the exact status of these aircraft.
Interesting!! And thanks for the informative post. A quick question . How will RJAF upgrade planes when they lack the infrastructure to do so( there has been no varifiable evidence of such capability existing with them)? Are they going to enter a separate contract with TAI for them.
Secondly are these planes not part of the first tranche of planes given to RJAF in the 2000s and as such if so these have already been MLUed prior to sale in the US. This is supported by the original word document suggesting they have had MLU. Tap 3, falcon and FALCON upstar upgrades done. I am only asking as I remain confused regarding your answer and need to marry it with the information available. So reponse would be greatly appreciated .
A

Given that these aircraft are about 2/3rd down their service life, upgrades will be minimal and confined to essentials. Perhaps PAF will assign them to training of pilots, COIN and Air Defense duties with an aim to relieve pressure and conserve remaining fleet. AIM-120, Sniper XR and DB-110 compatibility would suffice, I think.
These aircraft are Air Defence Fighters specialized for air supremacy. The upgrades would be similar to what the other PAF aircraft have gone through.

The service life distribution for the global F-16 fleet shows the service life ranging from 1 to 30 years. Surprisingly enough 5 active airframes have a service life of 30 years, making them the oldest F-16s still in service. The average service life of the active F-16 fleet is 17.2 years.

For the active fleet, three major groups can be distinguished. The majority of the airframes have a service life of between 10 and 25 years. These obviously include the F-16A/B aircraft delivered to the USAF and the European Participating Air Forces (EPAF) nations - Belgium, the Netherlands, Norway and Denmark. It als includes the first Foreign Military Sales programs for Israel, Egypt and Turkey. These aircraft were block 1/5/10/15 aircraft and many of these aircraft underwent service life extension or were upgraded. Service Life Extension programs included Falcon Up, Falcon Star and some others. Upgrade programs included the F-16 ADF (Air Defense Fighter) and F-16 OCU (Operational Capabilities Upgrade) for the USAF, and F-16 MLU (Mid-Life Update) for the European aircraft.

The reason why we don't see the attrition rate increasing for older aircraft is that F-16 aircraft are thoroughly monitored and air forces will retire F-16 airframes before they reach their end-of-service-life. Also, many of the older airframes have been through at least one upgrade program or Service Life Extension Program (SLEP), such as the Midl-Life Update (MLU), Operation Capabilities Upgrade (OCU) or Falcon-Up. These programs bring the airframes back to "as new" condition, further explaining the lack of "upward slope" in the bathtub curve.

Two operational F-16 models were actially converted from older airframes. The first is the F-16 block 15 ADF (Air Defense Fighter), a variant specifically designed for the USAF to take over the interception role from the ageing F-106 and F-102 aircraft, traditionally assigned to the Fighter Intercept Squadrons of the Air National Guard. The F-16 ADFwas capable of firing the AIM-7 Sparrow and was the first F-16 to be equiped with an advanced IFF system. All ADF airframes were converted from existing block 15 aircraft.

The second operational converted model is the F-16 block 20 MLU. This Mid-Life Upgrade was designed to significantly increase the operational capabilities of the older block 1-5-10-15 aircraft still in service with the four original European customers (Belgium, Denmark, The Netherland and Norway). It introduced many C/D capabilities into the A/B models, including a new Modular Mission Computer, upgraded radar, advanced stores management, etc. Most MLU aircraft are by definition upgrades of existing A/B aircraft. The majority of MLUs were upgraded from block 15 and block 15OCUairframes, with a small portion upgraded from block 1, 5 and 10.

Its really not that complicated.to see PAF psyche if the purchase materialises

This is how PAF sees the RFAJ F-16's.
These 15 F-16 are better than the non-ROSE Mirage III in every sense(more hard points, better avionics,newer generation, etc etc). They are even better than F-7 P.

Replace either Mirage-III or F-7P squadron with these F-16.
Agreed. The buy makes a lot of sense in many ways as I have elaborated earlier.AlthoughI think the Ps will go sooner than the M3/5S AS the later have specialized roles which they will continue to be used for. The Ps on the other hand have had it and need to be put to pasture soon.
A

Munn mien Bhai Bhai baghal mien chaku Rampuri:lol:

Daman-Pe-Koi-Cheent-Na-Khanjar-Pe-Koi-Daagh-Tum-Qatal-Karo-Ho-Ke-Karamat-Karo-Ho-Poetry.jpg

Jiyen ya mare
Hum toh bhaii hai
Aur bhaii rahenge

@araz

I think this will be the last purchase of f-16 by Pakistan as we will have 100 jets target and our relationship with US congress is not going well.
After this, we will be focusing on jf-17 and other new platforms...

This is all Unless US agrees to give those aided 8 f-16 or similar offer.