Mother tongue first

That is a misconception even Karunanidhi had and tried having compulsory tamil only education till 5th grade and he lost bigtime. Tamilians see English for progress and Tamil as part of their culture. Hindi was seen as neither a language contributing to their progress nor part of their culture.

Maalai vaNakkam,

Arre yaara I was talking in context of Hindi only, English to waise hi hum logon ne British se cheen li hai! Tamils should and must preserve Tamil, it is their right and they've done just that. Baki to sab politics aur maya hai.

Same thing happens to us ! Some of our teachers usually start a lecture in English, switch to an Urdu-English combo in between & by the time we're almost done - We've just heard the last 15 minutes in Urdu, Punjabi & English - All rolled into one ! :omghaha:

Yup...these English medium schools aren't all that fully English...except a few 'parlay darjay kay' schools which are pretty high on the 'fashion-o-meter'...the rest usually have English books, and lecture in a mix of Urdu and English!

Same thing happens to us ! Some of our teachers usually start a lecture in English, switch to an Urdu-English combo in between & by the time we're almost done - We've just heard the last 15 minutes in Urdu, Punjabi & English - All rolled into one ! :omghaha:

ahahahahaa..... same here, many teachers do that.... :omghaha:

sometimes teachers try to make an impression in English, firs 2 lectures in English and then Urdu...

What India teaches (say!) all the subjects in Tamil in Tamil Nadu or something similar in some other State upto a certain level ? :what:

in andhra pradesh we have 2 mediums telugu medium and english medium..in telugu medium all the subjects except hindi and english are taught in telugu.in english medium all the subjects other than languages are taught in english..so people here tend to speak minmum of 3 languages.more so in south india..this will be inculcated in students from their childhood onwards.once they're out of school they have to carry on only in english

What India teaches (say!) all the subjects in Tamil in Tamil Nadu or something similar in some other State upto a certain level ? :what:

In govt schools in TN, you have a choice of either having english medium or tamil medium. In private schools, it is mostly English medium of education with Tamil or Hindi or French or some other language as language of choice.

India is not the qibla for all Pakistanis... may be for a certain sect.

Pakistan.. shall not only continue in English but also introduce Arabic from first class.

copied a part from an article, bohat gehri baat ki gai he,

"A language is much more than a medium of communication. A language carries with it teachings, idioms and wisdom which are passed on from generation to generation. When we deprive children of a mother tongue, we rob them the wisdom that is only accessible through knowing a language at a mother tongue level and cannot be translated or explained in another language without compromising the meaning
@SHAMK9

copied a part from an article, bohat gehri baat ki gai he,

"A language is much more than a medium of communication. A language carries with it teachings, idioms and wisdom which are passed on from generation to generation. When we deprive children of a mother tongue, we rob them the wisdom that is only accessible through knowing a language at a mother tongue level and cannot be translated or explained in another language without compromising the meaning

Agreed:agree:

یوه ژبه هیڅ کله بس نده :agree:

India is not the qibla for all Pakistanis... may be for a certain sect.

Pakistan.. shall not only continue in English but also introduce Arabic from first class.

But if they've got something good going on - I for one feel no shame in applauding them for it & asking myself whether something similar could work for us !

Yup...these English medium schools aren't all that fully English...except a few 'parlay darjay kay' schools which are pretty high on the 'fashion-o-meter'...the rest usually have English books, and lecture in a mix of Urdu and English!

Your hate for Pakistan.. knows no limits!

But if they've got something good going on - I for one feel no shame in applauding them for it & asking myself whether something similar could work for us !

How many languages are extant in Pakistan? My favorite Pashto phrase- yawa zhaba heskla bus nada- seems apt :agree:

There is no applauding, when they recently started copying Pakistan.

Pre 9-11 bharat was 1000 inferior than Pakistan.

Our elders were studying English literature in 60's when 90% of Indians had never seen a trouser.

Americans were teaching in Pakistani schools as late as 90's.

3 of my teachers were native English speakers, incl. my music teacher.

Do i need to show you comparison with Indian from 10 years ago?

Our elders were studying English literature in 60's when 90% of Indians had never seen a trouser.

Why does it matter if 90% Indians did not know trouser ?
It is this stupid irrelevant idea of superiority that makes your country as backward as it is today.

@Armstrong woh saheen kehe raha hai, 60s me hame angreji nahi aati thi mujhe toh aaj tak angreji nahi aati thi! :cry:

But, after having read that rather enlightened post I find myself suddenly blessed with a rather surprising proficiency in the Good Queen's language. 9/11 did wonders for us, after all the broken columns of the WTC were used to build the first IITs and English medium schools in our deprived dhoti adorned country. :enjoy:

So, you mean a person should only wear trousers instead of Pyjama or dhoti while studying English.:omghaha: India's literacy rate or English proficiency has always been better than Pakistan.