Zardari targets a barrage of abuse at the Military.

Everyday another nail hits PPP's coffin, seems zardari is in a hurry to seal it.

Zardari cautions military establishment for 'stepping out of domain'

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) Co-Chairman and former president Asif Ali Zardari on Tuesday gave a hard-hitting speech, where he lashed out at the military establishment for overstepping its domain.

The former president said army chiefs come and go every three years but the political leadership was here to stay. “We know the country better and we know how to run its affairs," he stressed.

Speaking at an oath-taking ceremony for party bearers belonging to Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Fata, Zardari warned the establishment to refrain from character assassination of political parties. "If you do not stop, I will come out with a list of accused generals since Pakistan's creation."

Zardari went on to say he did not want to weaken the country’s institutions, but "they [establishment] should also not try to create hurdles for politicians."

"This is our country, our army and we want to stand shoulder-to-shoulder with them."

He suggested that the establishment separate itself from politics and not interfere in matters out of its domain.

Turning towards the government, Zardari said PPP was a staunch supporter of democracy, which was why his party backed the PML-N government to complete its tenure.

“Had we joined Captain [Imran Khan] during his street protest and resigned from the Parliament, elections would have been inevitable.”

Zardari said he had supported the government because he did not want them to “later complain they had not been given their due time at the helm.”

"Others might be in a hurry, I am not. I can wait for the sake of democracy," said Zardari.

Talking about his political achievements, Zardari said he had given the country the 18th Constitutional Amendment, which he said was a milestone in the country’s democratic evolution.

Referring to former military dictator Pervez Musharraf, Zardari said: "I know the dangers that face Pakistan, Musharraf does not. Had he known, he would not say the things he did."

"I spent five years in jail during the time Musharraf was ruling, but the 'commando' is afraid to spend even three months in prison," said Zardari.

The PPP co-chairman said if his party took to the streets, not just Sindh, the entire country's roads will be blocked. "The whole country from Karachi to Khyber will come to a standstill and will remain so till I order otherwise."

Nisar condemns Zardari's remarks against army
Federal Interior Minister Chaudhary Nisar Ali Khan termed Zardari's remarks as inappropriate and needless.

"It is obvious that Mr Zardari is targeting a sensitive national institution to veil his own wrongdoings," said Nisar.

The minister said it was unfortunate that these comments from the former president came at a time when Pakistan's soldiers were sacrificing their lives in the country's war against terrorism. Nisar said no national institution was responsible for PPP's diminishing popularity, adding that the party's own dismal governance had led to its downfall.

"Zardari sahab can say whatever he wants but every Pakistani respects and loves Pakistan Army."

Zardari cautions military establishment for 'stepping out of domain' - Pakistan - DAWN.COM

Basically, he wants the investigation to stop from going any further.

So essentially what this means is that Zardari is so shameless that he's admitting he knows of corruption but will keep it hidden until the Army threatens his interests.

He has no credibility, and no General's corruption can be as much as that of Mr.10%.
But this does not acquit Generals from their corruption. It is high time for military to take action against their corrupt elements so they could go after Zardari and likes. If military continued to protect her black sheeps, this muk muka (NROs) will go on for eons. What happened to the three Generals implicated in NLC case?

Hope too see this escalate wondering what will zardari pull out

Molvis are dreaming of taking over Sindhi politics and drag it back to the old JI or JUI days ie the present PTI right wingers let me tel you molvi Sahab or sahiba It's not going to happen ... Sindh rejects religious fundos ,jihadis , molvies & right wing lunies of all kinds .. I m afraid your dream may never come true
Think what ever you want but PPP and MQM mafias days are over now they would be taken to task and eliminated in most brutal and ruthless manner just like TTP.

But this does not acquit Generals from their corruption. It is high time for military to take action against their corrupt elements so they could go after Zardari and likes. If military continued to protect her black sheeps, this muk muka (NROs) will go on for eons. What happened to the three Generals implicated in NLC case?
Please bother to point out few of them

Criticizing civil servants and an institution (Armed Forces) does not make you any LESS of a 'muhibb-e-wattan', however, an institution criticizing elected representatives and the system is tantamount to treason.

Pakistani's in general have strange take on justice.... they're easy to manipulate, easy to agitate and always in a state of paranoia, guessing where their own loyalties lie.

Zardari, Sharif, Altaf Bhai et al are all turds, however, ELECTED TURDS, they, along with the parliament are supreme commanders of Pakistan's fate, not the Armed Forces.

In a perfect country, former and present chiefs of ISPR would've been hung by their balls for their treacherous remarks.

That will play into Zardaris whiny victimization narrative. This is where an independent and autonomous FIA would have been ideal, since the military and LEA could hand over all intelligence and evidence in the PPP corruption to the agency and let it investigate and prosecute corrupt PPP politicians (and Army generals if necessary).

These were the minds of reforms Imran Khan should have used his Dharna for, instead of a commission over a few seats.

Independent and autonomous FIA / NAB, a wishful dream :D.

Nawaz Sharif must be cursing his luck with the selection of his Army Chiefs, he waited 5 years as friendly opposition for his turn and when the the turn came, he selected a thorough professional as COAS , and I don't see this chief getting any extension by the way "Ap 3 sal k liay ay hain, hum hamesha yahan rahy gay" (You have been selected for 3 years only and we will always be here) were the words that came out of Zardari's mouth, and this Chief truly went with "Pakistan First" notion and his actions have caused much butt hurt to many people ranging from terrorists leaders to gangster leaders of political parties. Zardari's message was more threatening and meant for Nawaz.

He has threatened shutting down Pakistan from FATA to Karachi, a hollow claim? Or may be he has this much support and ability.

And in my personal view (no matter how much I dislike him) Zardari's statement is way different from Altaf's statement, if you have watched it and heard what he said you will realise how a fraudster clever politician carefully chooses the words to threaten and how a bhatta khor does it. So I won't expect resolutions against him based on his statement. Further considering he is the same person under whose government Pakistan issued large number of visas freely to citizens of one country, he is the same guy who suggested DG ISI's visit to India soon after 26/11, same person whose interior minister tried to bring ISI under civilian control, his tenure is credited with memo gate scandal. And he kept Kayani under influence for 6 years. Even if he is bluffing Military needs to be careful in their response.

May be some "Mumtaz Qadri" can do the job. Bhutto mary na mary kum uz kum Zardari to mar jy ga. :D

Please bother to point out few of them
Who you think I am? Your personal assistance? If you do not know about the Generals I was referring to, you are one hell of an ignorant. Just google Pakistan Army + Generals + corruption and enough links will pop up to wake you up (hopefully) from your slumber.

i heard some news were aired, by some groups, just bcz to malign army top brass... anyway if thats true, plz elaborate further
Read this book for whatever it is. Even if half of what she's written is true, then it's an eye opener.

upload_2015-6-17_10-17-28.jpeg

Ayesha Siddiqa shows how the military has gradually gained control of Pakistan's political, social, and economic resources. This power has transformed Pakistani society, where the armed forces have become an independent class.

According to her, the military is entrenched in the corporate sector and controls the country's largest companies and large tracts of real estate. So Pakistan's companies and its main assets are in the hands of a tiny minority of senior army officials. Siddiqa examines this military economy and the consequences of merging the military and corporate sectors.

Does democracy have a future in the new Pakistan? Will the generals ever withdraw to the barracks. The book, Military Inc. analyzes the internal and external dynamics of this gradual power-building and the impact that it is having on Pakistan's political and economic development.

Pakistan Army's business empire which is controlled by the highest echelons of the military, both serving as well as retired is worth more than $15 billion, more than the trade between Pakistan and China!!

Interesting read but one must separate the wheat from the chaff.

While demonizing Zardari over this statement is understandable, one must not forget that he commands majority in a big province which also houses financial capital of the country. Millions have voted for his party. Politicians may very well be retards, but they are elected retards and command confidence of large no. of people. Military establishment should be careful in its response to Zardari.

Who you think I am? Your personal assistance? If you do not know about the Generals I was referring to, you are one hell of an ignorant. Just google Pakistan Army + Generals + corruption and enough links will pop up to wake you up (hopefully) from your slumber.
Really bother to post if you have some I hate Musharraf but even he had hardly corruption allegations on him it was his being USA puppet policy which led to his downfall as for a case which came in Kiyani time that is under investigation and Kiyani own brothers who are also former Army guys are on ECL.

بھائ تم ایسے مولویوں کو خود الله تعالئ سیکھا سمجھا نہیں سکتا۔ میری کیا اوقات اور مجال۔ مگن رہو اپنے خیال میں۔

Criticizing civil servants and an institution (Armed Forces) does not make you any LESS of a 'muhibb-e-wattan', however, an institution criticizing elected representatives and the system is tantamount to treason.

Pakistani's in general have strange take on justice.... they're easy to manipulate, easy to agitate and always in a state of paranoia, guessing where their own loyalties lie.

Zardari, Sharif, Altaf Bhai et al are all turds, however, ELECTED TURDS, they, along with the parliament are supreme commanders of Pakistan's fate, not the Armed Forces.

In a perfect country, former and present chiefs of ISPR would've been hung by their balls for their treacherous remarks.
In a perfect country, Zardari and company along with Altaf and Co would have been hung by their balls before present and current DG ISPR would have been hung.