why pak cannot launch their own sattelite

I agree with many Indian friends that reason for our lack of progress in space exploration is not money. The true reason is that we have not taken the right initiatives to foster a culture of sciences and technology research in our country. We never put in place the academic infrastructure required to train our students in the areas relevant to sciences and technologies. Due to lack of industry in relevant areas, our best talent goes to study management related subjects while it is the technological innovation that is the true driver of fast growth of any country's economy. Good management can continue to take the right decisions for most industries to keep them profitable but managers simply cannot invent anything and innovation has to be done by scientists and researchers and we simply do not have many trained people in this area. Our problem in staying behind in sciences and technology has nothing to do with lack of money, it has everything to do with complacent inaction and not taking the right steps to introduce STEM education in high schools, building enough universities with a research culture and fostering an environment where research related industries flourish.

Pakistani students have already launched cubesats. Accordig to Samr Mubarak recent interview. Earth observation satellites are under development in Pakistan. more over he said that launching sats are not a problem but more economical options are available thats why Pakistan is launching its sats from other countries.

wht do u mean by minimising the cost if we just launch 3 or 5 sats on our own we will not only get customers but money also which means benefit for pakistan in the long term and short term
It costs millions to launch a satellite in space. This does not include the cost of the satellite. In case of failed launch Pakistan would have to pay the entire cost and even more in case crash occurs in some other territory.

Here is actual figure of damages when a French launch failed.
The Explosion of the Ariane 5

On June 4, 1996 an unmanned Ariane 5 rocket launched by the European Space Agency exploded just forty seconds after its lift-off from Kourou, French Guiana.
ariane.jpg
The rocket was on its first voyage, after a decade of development costing $7 billion. The destroyed rocket and its cargo were valued at $500 million.

https://ima.umn.edu/~arnold/disasters/ariane.html

Here are some of the accidents that took place
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_spaceflight-related_accidents_and_incidents

brothers,

if our friends help us in launching satellite cheaply then why we want to spent more money for our own satellite launch vehicle..

many countries in world use SLV's of other sources for launching their satellites .

It is all about priorities. The focus was on weapons systems for a long time, however, the SLV program has been restarted and we should be able to see some results before 2020.
does pakistan make her own satellites?

brothers,

if our friends help us in launching satellite cheaply then why we want to spent more money for our own satellite launch vehicle..

many countries in world use SLV's of other sources for launching their satellites .
Because we can acquire that technology and that would earn us money!
Even those friends help us keeping there profit margin. Why not earn some money rather then spending foreign exchange on it, no matter how cheap, specially when we can acquire the technology as well.
Also, a SLV will have some unstated military advantages as well. :-)

Because we can acquire that technology and that would earn us money!
Even those friends help us keeping there profit margin. Why not earn some money rather then spending foreign exchange on it, no matter how cheap, specially when we can acquire the technology as well.
Also, a SLV will have some unstated military advantages as well. :-)

brother,

i think instead of spending money in SLV's, we need to invest in New Ideas, and world will attract towards us, like Dubai a Desert, but people of 186 countries migrated to that city, which is the biggest migration in the world's history.

We need to invest more in infrastructure, railways, Airlines, Airport, City Development, creation and new cities with new ideas.

Rapid bus transport system is really good idea, and i think in Karachi that will be more successful, as compere to other cities.

brother,

i think instead of spending money in SLV's, we need to invest in New Ideas, and world will attract towards us, like Dubai a Desert, but people of 186 countries migrated to that city, which is the biggest migration in the world's history.

We need to invest more in infrastructure, railways, Airlines, Airport, City Development, creation and new cities with new ideas.

Rapid bus transport system is really good idea, and i think in Karachi that will be more successful, as compere to other cities.
Investing in space research and exploration is a new idea with good business prospect as well. The things you mentioned are sure important but NON of these generate money, in fact, they all need money to be build. We need to work on technology, RnD to earn those resources that can then be, in your words:

invest more in infrastructure, railways, Airlines, Airport, City Development, creation and new cities with new ideas.

Rocket Science is not just one subject. There are too many allied fields whose input is required in designing, developing & successfully putting satellites in orbit.

In addition to the design of the rocket body, you need to devise a propulsion system for each stage of the rocket. For achieving sufficient height & speed you would probably need liquid fuels, guidance & course correction system etc. and finally the satellite itself. It is no guarantee that you will succeed first time.

Pakistan already has a pool of scientists who are engaged in missile development for military use. Therefore given time & resources; theoretically Pakistan can develop an indigenous launch vehicle. However, as Hon Stephen Cohen has posted; it is far cheaper & more economic to design your own satellite and pay for its launch.

Closest comparison to developing your own launch vehicle versus paying someone else such as the Chinese to launch the satellite, is similar to buying an airline ticket to go from Lahore to Dubai or anywhere else versus setting up private airline to meet your international travel needs

$14-milion is peanuts. Indian DRDO (Defence Research & Development Organisation) employs about 7,000 scientists & 12,000 technical staff and has annual budget of $1.5-billion. Pakistan need not spend as much, but to have state of the art rocket science establishment; the country would probably need to spend at least $500-million each year.

Because decision makers are totally unaware of the effectiveness of this technology. Most of the people sitting in decision making seats think that an atomic bomb is an answer to all the problems, and many thinks that as far as our military is powerful, we are alive. But that is totally one sided thinking.
Steps should be taken , while minute details in mind, from top to bottom.
Space program is just another important thread in the fabric of any country, and so is for Pakistan. We are lacking many things.
Panama leaks or dusry jhagron se tawajjah hatay tu koi or baat ho na.....Pakistan ka khuda ki hafiz.

guys
can anybody tell me that why pakistan supraco could not launch sattelite on their own
just see our neighbor they have reached mars at a such low cost and have launch their own shuttle in just 14 million that too less we can also spend that much amount of money
so wht is hindering our process our r&d scientist are just enjoying or what has happened, why we just keep taking help from china just see india they did developed missile for launching sattelite in just 15-20 years
i want all pakistani to share their thoughts
@Windjammer @Horus

Because India has VISION. Their people their Govt their space organization had courage and will to make and send. SPARCO established before DRDO do you know that ? SPARCO budget was once higher than DRDO ....

Here is subha begerat atay hain chai pe kar samoosay kha kar uske tankhwa laykar ghar chalay jatay hain aur phir in begeratoon ko nikaalnay kiliye golden Handshake dena pharta hey bhai jaan chooro kise aur ko anay do.. what you expect from a country where IT minister once going to ban GOOGLE.COM just to counter **** web sites andaza lagao yaar!

Investing in space research and exploration is a new idea with good business prospect as well. The things you mentioned are sure important but NON of these generate money, in fact, they all need money to be build. We need to work on technology, RnD to earn those resources that can then be, in your words:

i agree with you, brother we not have that much resources , which will give us space to compete in Aerospace field with other developed countries.

secondly RND is very important in all the fields, like in Army we not yet develop a single weapon which is based on our Idea, we are manufacturing Tanks, because all the Armies have Tanks, but we forgot that German bring tanks, as their new idea of Warfare .
We are start building Frigates, submarine, and Airplanes, because other have same too, where are the new Idea, a very small mine can easily destroy submarine, and Frigate, a small missile can easily destroy a Aeroplane, no doubt these are important , but new idea's are very very important.

@django
I did not know that filing close to 200 patents annually is known as drivel. No wonder pakistani higher education is doing wonders!Oh and btw,How many patents are filed by equivalent pakistani establishments?
Listen Mr Mishra we reverse engineer reliable weapons unlike you guys who try to develop so called indigenous designs which end up as complete and utter junk btw your weapons are hardly indigenous as your establishment likes to project them.

My dear @django
What exactly is your background again? Do you really know anything about aerospace research?I dont understand what you mean by "indigenous".As far as the percentage of indigenous content by technology is concerned,Unlike pakistan, we have a pretty stringent agency known as CAG that constantly whips DRDO.All the figures are not only made public but also hotly debated in indian parliament. When was the last time,pakistani equivalent of CAG ever published a report on PA's spendings or a report on the performance of pakistani research establishments?Or when was the last time it was even debated in pakistani parliament?