Why can't everyone access Lahore's libraries?

Because we're becoming brain dead, brother. Public parks, civic life really took a bad hit during the past two decades and there seems to be no will to improve that aspect.

I am sorry I didn't get your point. In what ways do these educated people ruin the libraries?

Books stolen or never returned. Pages ripped out. Self-appointed censors destroying certain books and material. Pressure for "pre-selection" of certain types material. This list goes on, but you get the idea.

Finally, someone made a video about this. There are hardly any libraries in our tier 1 cities and the ones that do exist are difficult to access. Why doesn't anyone talk about this? Libraries offer free education and entertainment to the masses. It doesn't matter what your economic status is, you can come in and have free access to books that can inform and transform you. As gateways to knowledge and culture, libraries play a fundamental role in society. The resources and services they offer create opportunities for learning, literacy and education, and help shape the new ideas and perspectives that are central to a creative and innovative society. So I will ask again, why the hell don't people talk about this, especially the educated ones?

@ghazi52 @araz @The Eagle @The Accountant @That Guy @Irfan Baloch @PanzerKiel @AgNoStiC MuSliM @Imran Khan @PAKISTANFOREVER @waz @Windjammer @WinterFangs @KaiserX @niaz @farok84 @AZADPAKISTAN2009 @MastanKhan @krash @FOOLS_NIGHTMARE @Bilal Khan (Quwa) @Cookie Monster @Bratva @Foxtrot Alpha @Rafael @Rafi @Trango Towers @TNT @Indus Pakistan @Falcon26 @Norwegian @LeGenD @Iltutmish @notorious_eagle @Akh1112 @mingle @AZADPAKISTAN2009 @Horus @Ark_Angel @SQ8 @Goenitz @messiach @TaimiKhan @SecularNationalist @farok84 @Blacklight @Meengla @Ahmet Pasha @White and Green with M/S @Dalit @ARMalik @Sainthood 101 @Zibago @Jango @untitled @Reichsmarschall @Bleek @Dual Wielder @Smoke @RescueRanger @Trango Towers @Asimzranger @FuturePAF @Imad.Khan @forcetrip @baqai @blain2 @khail007 @N.Siddiqui @kingQamaR @Wergeland @PakAlp @Khan2727 @Great Janjua @VCheng

Finally, someone made a video about this. There are hardly any libraries in our tier 1 cities and the ones that do exist are difficult to access. Why doesn't anyone talk about this? Libraries offer free education and entertainment to the masses. It doesn't matter what your economic status is, you can come in and have free access to books that can inform and transform you. As gateways to knowledge and culture, libraries play a fundamental role in society. The resources and services they offer create opportunities for learning, literacy and education, and help shape the new ideas and perspectives that are central to a creative and innovative society. So I will ask again, why the hell don't people talk about this, especially the educated ones?

@ghazi52 @araz @The Eagle @The Accountant @That Guy @Irfan Baloch @PanzerKiel @AgNoStiC MuSliM @Imran Khan @PAKISTANFOREVER @waz @Windjammer @WinterFangs @KaiserX @niaz @farok84 @AZADPAKISTAN2009 @MastanKhan @krash @FOOLS_NIGHTMARE @Bilal Khan (Quwa) @Cookie Monster @Bratva @Foxtrot Alpha @Rafael @Rafi @Trango Towers @TNT @Indus Pakistan @Falcon26 @Norwegian @LeGenD @Iltutmish @notorious_eagle @Akh1112 @mingle @AZADPAKISTAN2009 @Horus @Ark_Angel @SQ8 @Goenitz @messiach @TaimiKhan @SecularNationalist @farok84 @Blacklight @Meengla @Ahmet Pasha @White and Green with M/S @Dalit @ARMalik @Sainthood 101 @Zibago @Jango @untitled @Reichsmarschall @Bleek @Dual Wielder @Smoke @RescueRanger @Trango Towers @Asimzranger @FuturePAF @Imad.Khan @forcetrip @baqai @blain2 @khail007 @N.Siddiqui @kingQamaR @Wergeland @PakAlp @Khan2727 @Great Janjua @VCheng
Bhi waah Kia baat hai VOA ki. Itna zabardast topic. Aur aakhr main jatay jatay Apna hi mulk ka aik sponsored fagot refuge ki advertisement .. bhai waah. Kia baat hai ..Kamal hai. creativity.

We still have mental slavery and our establishment and elites still have colonial mindset .
On another note , our downfall started when ottoman empire refused to accept printing press when that technology got mainstream.
I think , its more have to do with Britain rule and the effect it had left in the mind of people who lived there otherwise look at countries that didn't have British problem and you see the value of education and reading is a lot different

Strongly disagree with that, educated people were highly valued in the British colonies, especially in the British Raj. Muhammad Ali Jinnah is the finest example of this.

Books stolen or never returned. Pages ripped out. Self-appointed censors destroying certain books and material. Pressure for "pre-selection" of certain types material. This list goes on, but you get the idea.
What is stopping them from digitizing all of these "precious books"? They can keep the public away from the original version of these "precious books" and they can produce copies of these precious books and give people access to these copies. If they are worried about books not being returned then they can easily register an FIR, the thief can be easily caught as PTA can track everyone who has a phone number. If they don't want to do this then they can simply stop the borrowing of books altogether.

Ain't nobody got da time or money or energy fer dat! Far easier to ban and restrict entry and memberships. Pakistani Methodology 101. :D

Strongly disagree with that, educated people were highly valued in the British colonies, especially in the British Raj. Muhammad Ali Jinnah is the finest example of this.
not exactly , they usually divided the country in two part a small highly valued group of educated people , valued but small and then the majority of people that they tried to keep as ignorant as possible.

Ain't nobody got da time or money or energy fer dat! Far easier to ban and restrict entry and memberships. Pakistani Methodology 101. :D
Sh*t like this makes me wish that Pakistan turns into an ultra-neoliberal society, just handover everything to the private sector.

Very sorrow affair of Education in Pakistan. People don't want to realize.
Adopt short way for approaching any situation.

Same reason why can't ordinary people access golf clubs, swimming pools or any other social clubs...you must belong to forces to have those rights.

Sh*t like this makes me wish that Pakistan turns into an ultra-neoliberal society, just handover everything to the private sector.

Those who control the present state of affairs simply cannot allow any change to occur that would bypass them. And this applies not just to libraries, but just about everything, as we can clearly see from the present state of affairs generally.

Your statement is true for the present situation but in the future private sector will become many times stronger and eventually the government will surrender to the private sector. It won't happen anytime soon but I truly believe that it will happen in the future.

not exactly , they usually divided the country in two part a small highly valued group of educated people , valued but small and then the majority of people that they tried to keep as ignorant as possible.
They did divide people but there were many excellent educational institutes across South Asia so getting an education wasn't as difficult as you might think. All the prominent figures involved in struggle for independence were highly educated and many of them came from a humble background.