Whatever

https://defence.pk/pdf/threads/imf-...nominal-9-04-2019.612798/page-9#post-11359336

Let me ask you.

Do you think its something genetic in Bangladeshis?

or are West Bengalis also afflcited?

All 250 million Bengalis?

Please elaborate.

I'm genuinely curious.

@Avicenna

No I do not see it as something "genetic". TN had by far the worst poverty metrics (worse than Bihar) of the big states in India till the early 80s or so (from independence)....from the negative inertia it inherited during the british raj, combined with the lag period it took for Kamaraj social development (from the 50s and 60s) to kick in cohort wise and gain momentum etc.

If anyone makes any "genetic" argument about BD now, then they would similarly have to do so for TN back then, and then be totally crushed on what has since transpired. Actually West Bengal was similarly one of the leaders back then economically (as bad as the socialist nightmare was doing)....and now its doing lot worse after the same time and opportunity etc transpired since for both....again the genetic argument does not hold.

Basically TN benefited from the 91 reforms given it had 2 parties at each other throats (given they had a legitimate successor complex, given they were one party earlier) to deliver on the ground and get votes....i.e large competition everywhere, large number of swing votes...whereas West Bengal remained under the commie yoke of stagnancy (and the positive inertia it had from british raj only could carry it so far)....and everyone shifted to TMC more recently (given enough long term displeasure with the commies finally surfaced) as the new "godmother" of "stability" that you Bongs seem to love....with thugs on the ground as needed to enforce it.

So it has much more to do with how much (and the intensity/inertia) your society chooses to invest in good quality education + institutions (both as resilient to politics/propaganda/groupthink echo chambers as possible), so that it captures enough talent that can push themselves to higher tier of opportunity and wealth. That has to be balanced with the access to basic education for the larger masses too. Then you need a competitive general atmosphere on top of that to flourish.

This is the key thing that falls apart in the argument for BD (and region more generally) when people want to point to "political stability" as the be all end all when it comes to comparing BD with Japan, East Asian Tiger history, China...and say Vietnam today. They had their share of political stability....but much more important was the dedication to education and broad acceptance of merit and competition in that field (Even though the larger systems may have been socialist back then in the time period).

How the cultural norms and such play in this (deepset education priority and development) is a nuanced complex thing I really have not much idea on (given the tremendously low base of development numbers right now and thus little standout/resolution on offer to make correlations)....but its not genetic...especially within a genetic similar region to begin with. You get out, what you put in....and BD has much to prove out there physically and indisputably, rather than in this forum and the echo chamber taking shape more broadly in BD society on just exporting 1 kind of thing and "beating" the earlier oppressor on something (no matter how irrelevant the number may be in grand scheme of things, given the pitiful level of it to begin with for both.... and the fact developing countries are often dubious on such numbers to begin with both on purpose and unavoidable issues).

@Skull and Bones @Chhatrapati @Gibbs

@Valar. If you can, I would love to read your story and gillay shikway ......... depending on that it doesn't lead to any problems for you.

Joko Widodo and his grandson do Maghrib prayer

56645032_1146661625522685_5395343908714577920_n.jpg

https://defence.pk/pdf/threads/imf-...nominal-9-04-2019.612798/page-9#post-11359336

@Avicenna

No I do not see it as something "genetic". TN had by far the worst poverty metrics (worse than Bihar) of the big states in India till the early 80s or so (from independence)....from the negative inertia it inherited during the british raj, combined with the lag period it took for Kamaraj social development (from the 50s and 60s) to kick in cohort wise and gain momentum etc.

If anyone makes any "genetic" argument about BD now, then they would similarly have to do so for TN back then, and then be totally crushed on what has since transpired. Actually West Bengal was similarly one of the leaders back then economically (as bad as the socialist nightmare was doing)....and now its doing lot worse after the same time and opportunity etc transpired since for both....again the genetic argument does not hold.

Basically TN benefited from the 91 reforms given it had 2 parties at each other throats (given they had a legitimate successor complex, given they were one party earlier) to deliver on the ground and get votes....i.e large competition everywhere, large number of swing votes...whereas West Bengal remained under the commie yoke of stagnancy (and the positive inertia it had from british raj only could carry it so far)....and everyone shifted to TMC more recently (given enough long term displeasure with the commies finally surfaced) as the new "godmother" of "stability" that you Bongs seem to love....with thugs on the ground as needed to enforce it.

So it has much more to do with how much (and the intensity/inertia) your society chooses to invest in good quality education + institutions (both as resilient to politics/propaganda/groupthink echo chambers as possible), so that it captures enough talent that can push themselves to higher tier of opportunity and wealth. That has to be balanced with the access to basic education for the larger masses too. Then you need a competitive general atmosphere on top of that to flourish.

This is the key thing that falls apart in the argument for BD (and region more generally) when people want to point to "political stability" as the be all end all when it comes to comparing BD with Japan, East Asian Tiger history, China...and say Vietnam today. They had their share of political stability....but much more important was the dedication to education and broad acceptance of merit and competition in that field (Even though the larger systems may have been socialist back then in the time period).

How the cultural norms and such play in this (deepset education priority and development) is a nuanced complex thing I really have not much idea on (given the tremendously low base of development numbers right now and thus little standout/resolution on offer to make correlations)....but its not genetic...especially within a genetic similar region to begin with. You get out, what you put in....and BD has much to prove out there physically and indisputably, rather than in this forum and the echo chamber taking shape more broadly in BD society on just exporting 1 kind of thing and "beating" the earlier oppressor on something (no matter how irrelevant the number may be in grand scheme of things, given the pitiful level of it to begin with for both.... and the fact developing countries are often dubious on such numbers to begin with both on purpose and unavoidable issues).

@Skull and Bones @Chhatrapati @Gibbs
Welcome back :D

@jamahir
Did he make it? Kanhayia's election campaign was quite impressive though btw what is this choora made of, in dahi (yogurt) choora recipe ?

Mein shuru see hee professional tha bhai :D

Aida tu professional ....... I have been waiting to say this like many others "Forum quality has gone down the drain" or something, ajj moka mila hy kehnay ka :p:

Khair chal ub ghlati ho he gai hy tou mubarikbad to banti he hy na .... dikhaway ki :enjoy:

Aida tu professional ....... I have been waiting to say this like many others "Forum quality has gone down the drain" or something, ajj moka mila hy kehnay ka :p:

Khair chal ub ghlati ho he gai hy tou mubarikbad to banti he hy na .... dikhaway ki :enjoy:
Bhai kuch credentials ki conformation lee aur title mila :D

Khair munarik bhai lagta hai apko shock mila hai :D