What have we done to ourselves?

A few days ago I was given an eye opener about how mega corporates, foreign governments and special interest groups play things and how big they are and how little we still are.

But what's between the larger populaces is still bloodlust.
as great poet mirza ghalib once said quomo ka mustakbil quomew khud tay kerti hain unki badshaahate nahi ...and as oftern hassan nisar says ... malik ka bhi yahi hukum hai ki jaisee qume khud hoteen hain waise hi hukumran un per massalat ker diye jaate hain ..... still pakistanies want to beleve its the USA and USSR that made pakistan as what it is today ....... funny isnt it :sarcastic:

Depopulation? Not at all. What I am suggesting is what if three autonomous zones had come with

1. Constitutional guarantee to religious minorities for basic rights to practice except sensitive cases like loud music in temples and mosques,beef slaughter, forced conversion etc.*
2. Based upon their population share, reservation in government jobs for the minorities.

The point made earlier still holds. Why should Muslim majority provinces like Bengal & Punjab be autonomous because they oppose the rule of the majority but the Hindus & Sikhs in those areas be forced to stay inside a Muslim majoritarian province. Surely the safeguards that you mentioned could & would have applies in the larger whole too. Btw, Jinnah wanted greater say than the level of population would allow but you think the percentage of population should hold for Hindus & Sikhs. Democracy not okay if it means Hindus would have a greater say but Muslims can & should get their way.....

In any case, what about the Muslims of the heartland who fought for Pakistan? They would have just been okay living under Hindu majoritarian rule? All of them? If they moved, how & where would they be accommodated? Wouldn't that move itself be a point of friction?.

What I believe, that had we continued with the above set up for let say another ten years, all three zones would have finally dissolved, replaced with newer ones, perhaps on linguistic basis.

Err..... the two zones of Punjab & Bengal would have essentially been linguistic states, hard to see their status changing or them agreeing to reduce autonomy.

It could pay us larger dividends in the end than that we are having today, in terms of defense and foreign policies and Industrial development. Most important part, it would be an India minus direct action day, blood bath, rape of millions that fractured the faith and mutual trust between the two communities forever.Just my imaginations.

I think differently. I'm convinced that balkanisation would have followed & we would be worse off than we were at the end of partition. The horrors leading to & during partition were not the cause of the fractures between the two communities, it was as a result of it.

*Only in these special cases, a minority if feels his liberty is threatened he could be accommodated in the other zone.

Knowing our history, that would not be the rare case. Not sure a Hindu Bengali or a Sikh Punjabi would have benefited by living in central India.

Remind me again what happened to L.A Khan, Khan Abdul Jabbar Khan, Mr.Bhutto, Mrs Bhutto and most of his siblings, Shuja Khanzaada, Salmaan Taseer, Zahra Hussain and etc etc.....
in case of ghandi at least godse got a trail but in case of any such accident in land of the pure no one even ever got a notice :haha:

Democracy not okay if it means Hindus would have a greater say but Muslims can & should get their way....

This is in ONE LINE what Muslim League and their support to Cabinet Mission Plan
was all about

I have never understood what made them Think that we would be so stupid
to accept the CMP

The CMP 's rejection was a shock to them ; IT still is

That is why these debates about Partition