Wajahat S Khan's Mahaz program from the frontlines of Shawal Valley.

Oho yara mazak kar raha tha. Ab main muhajiro ko thora cheer b nai sakta kya?:lol:

@asad71 @Joe Shearer Yr professional opinions?

Abt ops.

1.The Kingdom of Oudh's army composed of Afghans, Rohilla Pathans, Qayem Khanis, Brahmin Hindus and Kshatrya Hindus. Nawab Wajed Ali Shah's army was absorbed into the East India Co's Bengal Army. It was a Brahmin Mangal Pandey of this army that heralded the armed uprising against the Co in 1857.

2. After the fall of Muslim rulers in Bengal, Mysore and the capitulation of Hyderabad, and with the Mughal Emperor rendered impotent, Oudh had continued to remain a beacon of hope for the Muslims - but not for long.

1.The Kingdom of Oudh's army composed of Afghans, Rohilla Pathans, Qayem Khanis, Brahmin Hindus and Kshatrya Hindus. Nawab Wajed Ali Shah's army was absorbed into the East India Co's Bengal Army. It was a Brahmin Mangal Pandey of this army that heralded the armed uprising against the Co in 1857.

2. After the fall of Muslim rulers in Bengal, Mysore and the capitulation of Hyderabad, and with the Mughal Emperor rendered impotent, Oudh had continued to remain a beacon of hope for the Muslims - but not for long.
i asked for yr professional opinion on Shawal valley's ops. Watch the program and tell me what u think.

I watched it as well. Good program.

However, an episode in which a Pakistani army tank instructor was interviewed by Mr. Wajahat, gave me headache. Seriously, I was not expecting such naivety from a Pakistan army professional.

Which episode was that and what was being said by our professional?

the GoC was also part of it and even showed off and explained the GSR .. I wonder if the program was vetted

if you recall I mentioned my father's deployment in Kahutta back in 80s? he flatly refused to share (in a narrative/ interview form) anything at all confirm or even deny whatever maybe common knowledge. lol that was embarrassing.

yes I wondered if some information was really needed to be shared to that level?
whether or not enemy knows (may know) is besides the point.

then again I though maybe the disclosures about weaponry and equipment was intentional as well to show that the TTP got no chance to hide.
I think the issue is lack of balance. When they should say something they act all needlessly secretive and don't even acknowledge a blue sky, par jab mun kholne pe ate hain tu chup hone ka naam o nishaan nahin.
There has to be a smarter balance, and at this time someone from ISPR should have accompanied them or at the least a more balanced persona who knows what to say and what not.

Sir ji, they already know a lot. They have devised many strategies for our moves, but we then countered their moves with new stuff. And this is an ongoing process.
Huzoor, phir bhi ehtiyat is best. Certain ideas such as the amount of ammo and weaponry at that skeleton manned OP post might be tempting for a small terrorist team trying to make a hit and run guerilla attack to demoralize them

i asked for yr professional opinion on Shawal valley's ops. Watch the program and tell me what u think.
Gimme some time. Just now engrossed in watching BPL which is the grandest cricket fest in SA.

Yes, I've been able to watch the programs which I find engaging. May be its the old soldier in me. . But it is nearly 0200 Hrs in the morning. Must go to sleep now. But I will come back with my comments - tomorrow, I hope.

1. A soldier - particularly a Muslim soldier signs up to defend his nation and protect his faith. Bearing arm for the defense of the nation is mandatory on all able-bodied Muslims. (Non-Muslims are excused from military service and in lieu pay the Jazya/protection tax.) Of course this a profession and there are salary and benefits that the nation bestows. At the time of his entry and later during his endless training, he forms a rough picture of the enemy he is to confront and kill. In the case of Pakistan (as well as BD), the enemy commonly assumed (and this is not necessarily spelled out loudly/officially but comes from historical experience), that enemy soldier is a Hindu Indian who will come to kill him, his family, desecrate his faith, destroy his house and enslave his community. That enemy soldier wears an n uniform, fights set piece battles and follows drills more or less followed in his outfit. This philosophical digression of matters military was necessary for understanding what I would like to explain.
2. People say the world is already fighting WW III. And this war is a war unlike any other experienced in the history of warfare. This is a war sans dimension. This is a war sans honor. Deception, treachery and cunning of Katulya, socio-poiltics of Machiavelli, red/blood terrorism of the communists and the philosophy of torture enunciated/followed by the Inquisition take precedence when insurgencies are conceptualized. No army or no soldier in any army has prepared or trained to face this scourge. Yes, IS Duty and COIN ops are taught and even drilled. But how can a soldier taught and brought up to value humanity, human life, and drilled to be a gentleman and good human being even before being a soldier be expected to stoop to beastly low to face his adversary?
3. It is reassuring to hear the soft-spoken commanders and watch their body language when I know how differently their counterparts behaved in BD in 1971. This is a crucial element because even in COIN the principles of war need to be followed. The leader at all level must be matured, level-headed, compassionate and realize that he is fighting his own. The enemy is his compatriot or his brother who have been misled / brainwashed or bribed into taking up arms against own people. At the highest level of military command and national command, there must be sincere soul searching and introspection to identify what went wrong. Killing somebody is not easy. So why is he doing this?
4. I was impressed to see tanks lodged on mountain ridges. The Soviets had used tanks, but in the valleys of Afghanistan offering lucrative targets to the Mujahedeen's RPGs. The Brits had used wheeled armored cars and Gun Carriers ( MGs mounted on vehicles with wheels in the front and tracks at the rear.) But again these remained in safe valleys. No wonder a 29 Cav officer was the GOC at the spot. I can imagine the fright that the sight/sound of tanks would cause in the hearts of the insurgents.
5. I didn't see any booby traps or trip flares with the concertina wires around the posts. And didn't see the posts having grenade throwers. I guess these were not shown for security concerns.
6. My overall observation of this op:
a. The AIM/objective of the op has been carefully selected by PA with political leadership and all are on board. However, the Aim is to be maintained till the very end - which may be years ahead of the end of the shooting war.
b. Maintenance of Morale. The soldiers and officers looked well turned out and well fed. The Coy Commander jested regarding his pony tail. They all sounded positive. Medical cover and enough provision of weapons, ammo and manpower was noticed. Telephone lines are laid providing communication beside wireless sets. This provision of linkage during ops is a morale booster.
c. PA seemed to be on Offensive Action with an eye on keeping the Initiative.
d. I am sure commanders understand the importance of Security and Intelligence.
e. Apparently PA Surprised the insurgent by deploying in force in such a difficult territory.
f. 9 Div from the south and 7 Div from the north Concentrated Forces at this valley squeezing the insurgent out into the open or across into Afghanistan.
g. There is a text-book Cooperation, teamwork, hardship and sharing of the risks among various arms of PA and with PAF.
h. Tracks lad down connecting the troops speaks of positive Logistics. These tracks and choppers provide Sustainability in terms of replenishment, reinforcement and tactical maneuvers.
i. From your coverage I cannot comment on two other Principles of War - Flexibility and Economy of Effort.

7. In a COIN against own people no body should call himself victorious or a winner. In a war against your own, an appeasement or reconciliation ought to be the real victory. A prodigal child brought back home is a great victory. Meanwhile:

a. PA must remain in the key locations / features for as long as required.
b. In the mean time allow people to trickle back and rebuild their lives.
c. Govt must pay heavy compensation to the people uprooted for whatever reason.
d. FWO or similar organizations with security cleared NGOs are to rebuild schools, madrassas, clinics, mosques, etc. The new ones should be better than the last ones.
e. Govt must build pumps for irrigation and drinking water, and bring basic sanitation facility to the locality.
f. AMC must immediately open emergency clinics under tents in any area freed. Lady doctors and female nurses are to be brought in.
g. Investigate and set up facilities for income generation by the locals.
h. Metaled road, regular bus service, land line telephones and electric power connections are to be arranged.
i. I do not know the state of the old narrow gauge rail line that the British had set up. It should be converted into BG and integrated with the national railway system.
j. Arrange special quota for people of the area for next 20 years for govt employment and for sending their children to elite schools and colleges.

8. All this time Intel and the Political Deptt (PAs), are to patronize the Maliks, village imams and their children. Also gradually and patiently identify die-hard Pakistani elements for granting special favors, thus creating a support base in the population. Obviously there will still be anti-Pakistan elements and those sulking for Badal/revenge oof loved ones killed. All efforts must be made to win them over, failing which have them marginalized socially using pro-Pak population.

9. Thank you, and I wish all involved in this op good luck.

The Americans during their engagements with PA troops at border were even amazed that how did the PA brought up tanks to such height without having air lift capability or with no roads.
can elaborate, please?