Maybe that's because they need tighter security on their side of wagah. There was an incident of bombing in 2014.Also it did not miss my eyes that on the Pakistan side, besides the ceremonial gate and leg swinging guys, there were proper Rangers in combat uniform with guns. I did not see similar on our side but am ok if I am corrected.
Definitely not brother!Watching the special broadcast of beating retreat at Wagah.
Can't help asking. Am I the only one who finds it cringeworthily embarrassing?
The whole thing. Eyes flashing, nostrils flaring etc.
Bro the Pak army is more geared to US military manuals knowadays , still an element of british tradition is kept, though I full agree with you we need to move on, we (south asian people) owe east india company nothing.KudosI find it a little over the top as well.
But most desis like the panache and extra spice....just like our food and drink ...and its tyranny by majority I'm afraid.
I also have some level of disdain for various british-legacy procedures in the indian military when marching, parading etc. I think its time to move on and make them more clean and professional rather than have the excessive silly walk tradition I see sometimes. Not sure how it goes with the Pakistan military.
Oh and dont get me started with the jogging in one spot parade thing that the Indian paratroopers seem to have caught onto....and which seems to have a longer legacy among our neighbours to the west.
What do the honourable gents think?
@Joe Shearer @jbgt90 @PARIKRAMA @Abingdonboy @RAMPAGE @django @anant_s @Oscar @Rain Man et.al
oh and honourable lady too @Levina
I am not so worried about the men in uniform. I know there have been instances in the past where emotions have run high and they have come to blows.
Also it did not miss my eyes that on the Pakistan side, besides the ceremonial gate and leg swinging guys, there were proper Rangers in combat uniform with guns. I did not see similar on our side but am ok if I am corrected. Was also surprised to see a Pakistani surd. Felt weird.
The junta on both side wearing caps and waving paper flags looked like they were enjoying themselves. Like on a picnic.
But I am worried about the slogans etc. Tempers might run high. People might lose their cool. There may be a day when both crowds overpower the few soldiers on both sides and clash.
Might get very ugly???
Yar ye kya bakwaas photo laga diya. Manhoos photo. Shukhr he Allah swt ka hum in janwaro se door ho ge.
aray bhai Allah dosron ki khushian celebrate karnay say nahi rokta.
Even our forces exchange sweets with them.
We cannot curse the entire nation for few thousands people's brutalities or mentality
Anyway for me the best thing was that when the officer on our side was showing us border and explaining I wanted to put one leg atleast on Indian side and he was yelling again and again miss please don't cross the line and at the end angrily looking too much embarrassed he said "kiya ap peshawar say hain?"
What would happen if you put a foot on the Indian side...they can't blow it off
Apki marzi.
for the red part well Indian pavilion is larger than the one on Pakistani side so you might had not seen on your side.
as far as bold part well it is a picnic in fact.
BTW everyone Happy Independence Day.
It's theatre, as simple as that. It serves no purpose other than entertainment and for whatever reason there are a fair ammount of people on (both sides) that seem to enjoy this absurdity and thus it continues.Watching the special broadcast of beating retreat at Wagah.
Can't help asking. Am I the only one who finds it cringeworthily embarrassing?
The whole thing. Eyes flashing, nostrils flaring etc.
It's all a show- down to the "tempers" on both sides from the crowds and both sides can control the crowds I am quite sure.But I am worried about the slogans etc. Tempers might run high. People might lose their cool. There may be a day when both crowds overpower the few soldiers on both sides and clash.
Might get very ugly???
I find it a little over the top as well.
But most desis like the panache and extra spice....just like our food and drink ...and its tyranny by majority I'm afraid.
I also have some level of disdain for various british-legacy procedures in the indian military when marching, parading etc. I think its time to move on and make them more clean and professional rather than have the excessive silly walk tradition I see sometimes. Not sure how it goes with the Pakistan military.
Oh and dont get me started with the jogging in one spot parade thing that the Indian paratroopers seem to have caught onto....and which seems to have a longer legacy among our neighbours to the west.
What do the honourable gents think?
@Joe Shearer @jbgt90 @PARIKRAMA @Abingdonboy @RAMPAGE @django @anant_s @Oscar @Rain Man et.al
oh and honourable lady too @Levina