Vision 2025, population bomb, mega cities and transport infrastructure

Edevelop

Pakistan is set to launch its ‘Vision 2025’. It was a pleasant surprise that young and experienced resources were taken on board for this project and different set of people were involved for constructive feedback and policy frameworks. After skimming through the vision, I consider it as fresh air in our system which guides us towards the path of sustainable growth and prosperity. This particular piece is written in context with ‘#Vision2025, increase in population and rapid transport systems in Pakistan’.

The world has experienced a rapid growth in urban population in last few decades. Approximately 18% of population used to live in cities in 1950s which is 52.5% according to World Bank databank of 2012. This figure is expected to rise to 3.9 billion by 2015. The 21st century is the century of cities and urbanisation. Majority of this migration to urban areas is observed in developing countries mainly due to lack of sustainable rural economy and unavailability of basic necessities. Pakistan has 10 cities with population over 1 million with public transport which is in miserable condition and can only support up to 5% of their total population. These 10 cities are the backbone of country’s economy and provide more than 75% of total GDP of the country.

These ten cities in Pakistan are very important due to their population and complexity in terms of their administration, infrastructure, traffic and managing other basic necessities. Facilities like public health, safety and education are not fully available or as robust as to address the massive requirements. Other infrastructural basic requirements are transportation, water, power and communication all of which are very technical and complex for big cities. Similarly, there are no or inadequate facilities to respond to any disaster or mishap which increase the vulnerability of masses in mega cities of developing world.

These cities are economic drivers of the country and plays vital role in regional and national politics. Leaders from different segments of life like politics, corporate business and intellect are normally residing in these large cities. They are basically trend setter for economy and culture of any country.

There is no doubt that government should focus on other basic necessities as well and there should be no compromise on health, safety and medical facilities. However, in current scenario, what Pakistan needs more than anything is an economic boost. Only economic activities will help people and government to support each other for provision of peace and other basic facilities. Like all other countries, political leaders and parties take sides mainly as per their own interest rather than collective national interest. This biasedness is then transferred to their followers and results into un-ending debates in the streets, offices and gatherings. After going through wars, martial laws, natural disasters and fall of Dhaka; it is time for us to realise that we need to think as a nation and country instead of playing politics over every single issue.

Sharifs government is criticised by their political rivals that they over-focused on roads and infrastructure and uselessly invest in projects like Metro Buses and motorways. Connectivity and communication has become the basic unit for economic growth. Without better connectivity between different economic hubs and facilitating movement of the masses; we should not expect any major economic shift. Public transport provides personal mobility and freedom for people from every walk life. It reduces congestion which stagnates economy and saves millions of hours of travel time over the year. Since Pakistan cannot fulfill fuel requirements for vehicles on the roads, it costs billions to economy to provide fuel for all the vehicles on the roads. Research has shown that every 1 rupee invested in public transport generates approximately 4 rupees in economic returns. Every crore of investment in public transportation yields 3 crores in increased business sales.

Metro services will help to address Pakistan’s three very important issues of energy, job creation and environment. It will require less fuel compared for people to travel, will create thousands of jobs and helps in reducing carbon emissions to the environment which is going to be another issue for us in the future. Lahore Metro Bus project is a super hit in terms of number of people using it. Who are these people? From elite or upper middle class? Or belong to any specific political party or sect? Over 150,000 which are 10% of Lahore use this facility for commuting daily, belong to middle and lower class. With the addition of orange line in next 3 years, some 500,000 will use metro services daily. Same is happening in the twin cities of Rawalpindi-Islamabad. The most anti-metro stance was taken by Imran Khan and PTI who has started working on Peshawar Metro project now realising the importance of such a system for big city and how it will facilitate overall system of the metropolitans. It is easy to criticise but these projects are being built for poor and middle class people and are kind of national assets now for us to protect regardless of our political affiliations. Yes we need other facilities as well and governments should focus on them as well but we should stop criticising projects which are for national growth and prosperity and will benefit all of us in future. Any infrastructure development helps for economic and social growth and casts a cultural impact on the society in the long term. We should own these projects as Pakistan owns them instead of any political party. Eventually we will not have current leaders in future but what we will have, these services at our disposal for facilitating our lives.

HALY Research LAB – Vision 2025, population bomb, mega cities and transport infrastructure

Muhammad Abdur Rahman July 23, 2014

About the author:
Trying to study and make a sustainable world at University of Cambridge.

@Leader @Armstrong hun daas

vision 2025 with respect to population growth which is currently at 2.9, believe me son, you are a freaking idiot !

If I were to give vision 2030, it would be Energy resources, population and education/health.

Punjab urban population is 40% now, expected to raise to 50% in under a decade. Which mean many rural peoples are migrating to cities, especially from central/north punjab where agriculture no longer generate enough income. Many educated people from rural are migrating to urban areas for jobs, better facilities etc

NS should concentrate on following main points

1) Fastest Access to China for Gawadar, the faster they come, faster Pakistan will develop. Motorways, Railway, Petrol Pipeline, and Improving Security.
2) Build More industry, High Teach Cities, IT Hubs, more industry, more Jobs, more Jobs means more education, More education Means more Competitions in the university, saturation in Education Sector, and finally higher literacy rate.
3) Tax on Agriculture, especially on the people having more then 4 acre of Land.
4) Technology revolution, not bring the technology stuff, but build one inside the country, robotics, 3d Printing, AI are the next generation needs. When AI will arrive, the gaps between technological civilization will grow even higher. So, this is the main sector where Pakistan & Pakistanis should work.
5) last not the least, getting independent on fuel, like petrol, Natural Gas, Coal and develop more of Nuclear, Solar, Wind and other sources. The world we see today will change in no time at all.. Soon Germany will become the first country to get independent from Fossil fuel. And the countries dependent upon fossil fuel are bound to fall in future.

We really need to bring down population down from 180 Million to 100 Million mark
We need a 1 Child policy for 15 years period

Its a reasonable ask , by Government for 15 years , have 1 child only

If strick rules are imposed for 1 Child policy for 15 years it should technically shed away
25-30 Million off the population figure hopefully by 2030.

We really need to bring down population down from 180 Million to 100 Million mark

If strick rules are imposed for 1 Child policy for 15 years it should technically shed away

That would be very good step but ye maulvi hazrat ko kon samjhaye ga and I don't know if you have seen or not that so many people have around 30+ children and they were saying that they want even more :s :s :s

maulvi hazrat, should be de-activated from sperm production

Logically it makes no sense to bring a child into the world

a) If you cannot pay for it food , education and welfare
b) Specially if you cannot pay for medical bills
c) Cannot give it live it can enjoy

180 Million which is population of Pakistan is too high , and our population should be 100 Million in order for us to have a better "Living Standard" nation wide

The other option of course is occupy Afghanistan and move 30 million people into new province and build new cities

jo nai ho sakta us pe behas kya karna

We cannot have a single child policy, period

Our prime focus should be to control the population by promoting less children's and the trend is coming down, thankfully

Besides population control the other priorities are education, health, energy, economic growth, and eradicating poverty / reaching out to poor. Everything else is secondary

maulvi hazrat, should be de-activated from sperm production

Logically it makes no sense to bring a child into the world

a) If you cannot pay for it food , education and welfare
b) Specially if you cannot pay for medical bills
c) Cannot give it live it can enjoy

180 Million which is population of Pakistan is too high , and our population should be 100 Million in order for us to have a better "Living Standard" nation wide

The other option of course is occupy Afghanistan and move 30 million people into new province and build new cities

Pakistan's population is more than 210 million. England has a population density twice that of Pakistan [ even if we discount deserts and mountain ranges in Pakistan and England that are inhabitable] but has a standard of living 10 times that in Pakistan. Why? Population is not the issue. Most Pakistanis, except 1%, reject the above UN sponsored indoctrination.

Children bring rizq with them.

jo nai ho sakta us pe behas kya karna

We cannot have a single child policy, period

Our prime focus should be to control the population by promoting less children's and the trend is coming down, thankfully

Besides population control the other priorities are education, health, energy, economic growth, and eradicating poverty / reaching out to poor. Everything else is secondary

Jis bache ne paida hona hai, wo paida ho jaaye ga. UN waghaira bachon ko paida hone se kya roke gi

Har bache ki paidaish aur kismat likhi hui hai.

No really , children should be "SPAWN" only when you can feed them give them toys and food and love

Not bring them in world and tell them allah will provide for you , or sorry I don't have job but I still got married as it brings Rizq

The process should be simple

>1 Child
>If you seek 3 children visit an orphanage and adopt 2 children
>You will reduce the population , and also do good for afterlife by helping a orphan child

Also , an Adult should be the one providing Rizq to child not the other way around

I have seen it as a cultural thing people have no job , or steady work yet they get married and after that they have 3-4 kids lined up as well

All that contributes to is a low life standard for that family over long run and social issues with in the family due to lack of funding and resources

And PS : Mullas will also say they need to get married 3 times no .. really ... no ... mullas , keep your self in control 1 is enough ...you are already living of donations from mosque , please help us control population levels in Pakistan

Children bring rizq with them.

There's a correlation between resources and population, a rapid population growth just like now will put more severe burden on this sparse country's resources. It doesn't work like that in the real world in which mainly people are aiming for as many children as can be produced before the "baby making factory" comes to its logical end of losing that gift with age, many however would continue by marrying other wives though. Lets produce as many kids as we can handle, there isn't a race going to bring 10-20 in the world which the parents aren't able to raise or handle afterwards. I have seen the state of those children, handed over to Madarsa to live their life under the God's viceroy, become criminals or a burden to the society because their parents couldn't give them a better life and importantly education without which they weren't obviously able to function. Miserable their whole life! Those children don't seem to able to bring their Rizq according to the religious manipulations further discouraging people to apply birth control for their own better quality of life and their existing children.

There's a correlation between resources and population, a rapid population growth just like now will put more severe burden on this sparse country's resources. It doesn't work like that in the real world in which mainly people are aiming for as many children as can be produced before the " baby making factory " comes to its logical end of losing that gift. Lets produce as many kids as we can handle, there isn't a race going to bring 10-20 in the world which the parents aren't able to raise or handle afterwards. I have seen the state of those children, handed over to Madarsa to live their life under the God's viceroy, become criminals or a burden to the society because their parents couldn't give them a better life and importantly education without which they weren't obviously able to function. Those children don't seem to able to bring their Rizq according to the religious manipulations further discouraging people to apply birth control for their own better quality of life and their existing children.

The amount of Rizq you will get in your life is written for you. No one can change it except God. This is not religious manipulation.

Yes there is a strong correlation between resources and population. If there is rapid population growth, that means there are resources available. Populations correct themselves on their own. People who are aiming for children want to have those children, and if the child is born then it is God's will. There are so many Pakistanis who are childless.. If the children end up in horrible circumstances, then that is failing on the part of the parents, a social issue. It does not mean kids of poor parents be looked as possibilities of ending up in madrasas,and therefore those parents be targeted especially as future candidates for a burden on society. The absurdity of this idea is evident.

All men are conscious of their decision. Having children, is a big thing. Educating families about quality of life as a nation state is a good thing. But to manipulate their minds into believing it is dependent on the amount of future children they will have is treachery.

No really , children should be "SPAWN" only when you can feed them give them toys and food and love

Not bring them in world and tell them allah will provide for you , or sorry I don't have job but I still got married as it brings Rizq

Marriage brings Rizq. A woman is your partner, and she and you can work together to prosper. You dont want to be lonely just because you dont have a job. There are other means of making a living besides a job.

Marriage is half of faith. It is not dependent on whether you have a job or not.