UPA II Report Card

Inqhilab

There is frustration among people over corruption , Price rise, slow economic growth but the statistics presented in 3rd year report are not that bad.

1. Per capita income in the country is increasing constantly – 14% last year.
  2. India still is the second fastest growing major economy.
    scaled.php
  3. New power generation capacity of 20,000 MW last year which is almost equal to the capacity a dded during the entire 10th Five Year Plan Period under NDA .35 lakh new electricity connection s in rural areas
    scaled.php
  4. Unemployment have came down from 8.2 to 6.6 since Manmohan singh took charge.
  5. Total Foreign Direct Investment increased by more than 55% during the year.
  6. More than 12 crore job cards were issued under MNREGA now it reaches 1 out of 5 household.
  7. More foreign tourists are coming to India.Revenue from tourism increased from $14.1b to $16.5b
  8. Allocations on Social Service Sector increased significantly by Rs 31226 cr.
  9. 10 crore new telephone connections last year, including more than 4 crore in rural areas.
  10. More than Rs 2 lakh crores was disbursed to 2.75 crore marginal and small farmers as loans.
  11. The Centre gave more grants to States and Union Territories to the tune of Rs 32,900 cr.
  12. Farmers of India have set records in foodgrain production crossing 250m tons.
  13. India has been declared polio-free by the international agency, the World Health Organisation.
  14. The agricultural growth rate has risen to 3.3% per annum in the 11th Five Year Plan as against 2.3% per annum in the 10th Five Year Plan.
  15. 50 lakh new Aganwadi Centres have been opened where more than 97 million children benefit now

bhai kabhi kisi ko khud ka hi report card banate hue dekha hai? Aur chalo aisa ho bhi gya toh kya voh khud ko kabhi fail karega?

I have only one thing to say about this, its a report card of the UPA, by the UPA, for the UPA & my vote is for NDA:lol:

UPA II REPORT CARD

1) WORLD BEATING RECORD IN CORRUPTION in 2G scam

2) NATIONAL EMBARRASEMENT IN 2010 COMMONWEALTH GAMES

3)RUPEE'S LOWEST VALUE IN DECADES IN COMPARISION TO US DOLLAR

4) OIL PRICES HIT A NEW BENCH MARK

5) COUNTRY'S DEFENCE NEEDS HAD BEEN NEGLECTED LIKE NEVER BEFORE THAT ARMY CHIEF WROTE LETTER IN DESPAIR

6) SHAMELESSLY ADMITING INDIA'S ROLE IN BALUCHISTAN

7) PORTRAYING THAT ITALIAN PRINCE RAHUL GANDHI AS NEXT PRIME MINISTERIAL CANDIDATE

8) GOD KNOWS HOW MUCH BLACK MONEY IS STASHED IN FOREIGN BANKS & I AM SURE IT WOULD NEVER BRING THAT BLACK MONEY BACK IN IT'S SEVEN GENERATION

9) MORE BOTHERED TO MAKE QUOTA ON RELIGION/CASTE BASIS FOR VOTE BANK POLITICS

10)FOOLING THE INDIAN PUBLIC ABOUT SECULARISM GROUND ,BUT MEANWHILE MAKING A SECRET ENQUIRY HOW MANY MUSLIMS ARE SERVING THE INDIAN ARMED FORCES.

11)FARMERS SUICIDE RATE HAS TRIPLED /INFACT IT CREATED A NEW RECORD

^& I AM SURE I ONLY SPOKE A QUARTER OF RESULTS OF UPA II REPORT CARD MANY MORE ARE THERE

[[*] New power generation capacity of 20,000 MW last year which is almost equal to the capacity a dded during the entire 10th Five Year Plan Period under NDA .35 lakh new electricity connection s in rural areas
scaled.php

Hmmm...But we here still have 4 hours power cut everyday! :sick: Nice eye candy graphs but zilch is happening in reality!:tdown:

UPA II REPORT CARD

1) WORLD BEATING RECORD IN CORRUPTION in 2G scam

What is the loss? Ask CAG to pick one out of the three it has given. Anyway, I prefer gov. getting its exchequer filled to my mobile usage charge going south. Do the math to compare the alleged loss to exchequer with the amount we (800 million cell holders ) have payed less due to the low cost of a call.

2) NATIONAL EMBARRASEMENT IN 2010 COMMONWEALTH GAMES

Commonwealth Games over, world declares event a success - The Times of India

BBC Sport - Commonwealth Games 2010: Delhi event hailed a success

3)RUPEE'S LOWEST VALUE IN DECADES IN COMPARISION TO US DOLLAR

World did not see the worst recession in USA after 1930 and Europe zone crisis. Still, our economy is one of the best performing one and is projected to bounce back soon.

4) OIL PRICES HIT A NEW BENCH MARK
It is not 2003 when crude price was around $30.00. It is 2012 when the price has changed to around $110.00.

5) COUNTRY'S DEFENCE NEEDS HAD BEEN NEGLECTED LIKE NEVER BEFORE THAT ARMY CHIEF WROTE LETTER IN DESPAIR

This is a false statement to make at least in this forum. By the way no country can say that they have more than enough defense preparedness.

6) SHAMELESSLY ADMITING INDIA'S ROLE IN BALUCHISTAN

Could you provide a link about this?

7) PORTRAYING THAT ITALIAN PRINCE RAHUL GANDHI AS NEXT PRIME MINISTERIAL CANDIDATE

For this I have no answer....because with black glass the world looks dark.

8) GOD KNOWS HOW MUCH BLACK MONEY IS STASHED IN FOREIGN BANKS & I AM SURE IT WOULD NEVER BRING THAT BLACK MONEY BACK IN IT'S SEVEN GENERATION

Advani knows better, he got the figure from wiki...no...;) And most interestingly, his govt. allowed the Mauritius route for the round tripping of black money and never ever spoken a single word on record about this menace...as if Black Money happened only during 2009 general election.

9) MORE BOTHERED TO MAKE QUOTA ON RELIGION/CASTE BASIS FOR VOTE BANK POLITICS

Not unconstitutional....when SCs/STS are getting the benefit even if they are considered as Hindu then what is the problem for other religion. Else, consider SCs/STs as neutral and up for conversion

10)FOOLING THE INDIAN PUBLIC ABOUT SECULARISM GROUND ,BUT MEANWHILE MAKING A SECRET ENQUIRY HOW MANY MUSLIMS ARE SERVING THE INDIAN ARMED FORCES.

Do you think is it that big thing to do. Finding people of a particular sect in one and half million strong force, do you think it is not yet counted. You are making this a point even.....

11)FARMERS SUICIDE RATE HAS TRIPLED /INFACT IT CREATED A NEW RECORD

^& I AM SURE I ONLY SPOKE A QUARTER OF RESULTS OF UPA II REPORT CARD MANY MORE ARE THERE

Yeh..this is a grave concern.....but then your"QUARTER OF RESULTS OF UPA II REPORT CARD" will talk about food inflation. How do you think you could dissuade farmers from committing suicide. One way is to increase minimum support price and that make their life little easier. The truth is still they are in negative. So, middle class has to be less greedy to pay for their stomach.

This is a false statement to make at least in this forum. By the way no country can say that they have more than enough defense preparedness.

That's especially a false statement because most of the issues army chief mentioned were not government failures but IAs own failures. Look at howitzer or Arjun procurements which are going of for years if not decades and during different governments, but the outcome is the same, because IA is continuing to be the problem.
It's true that you can't ever say we are fully prepared and with China in mind I also think we have several areas to improve, but the fact is, MoD has realised that China is the main thread years ago and that's why all defence procurement during their term were clearly China centric. Troops were moved from Indo - Pak borders to the eastern borders, new missile and radar sites were build up in that area just as new air bases and even the long term developments to counter the Chinese threat are going on in a good pace (long range balistic missiles, SSBNs, carriers), just like our naval defence is possibly at the highest level ever!
It's completely false to claim that Indias defence needs has been neglected, without looking at everything that was done in the last years. MoD of course can do more and in a better way and personally I want them to show more leadership towards the forces and not let them taking too much decision on their own, but we are clearly in a good way to not only modernise, but to get one of the most capable forces on earth and besides MoD, the main reason for this is the exellent economic and foreign policy of the government and most of all of MMS ! ! !

Without Indias economy EXPLODING in the last decades because of MMS and the reforms of this government, we couldn't afford all these modernisations, weapons and techs and without the improvements in foreign policy (US and it's allies, BRICS, ASEAN, look East...), we wouldn't have such an access to foreign defence markets, or even training like we have it today.

Without these foreign policy improvements, we wouldn't be recognised by the world as one of the leading powers today (187 out of 192 votes in the UNC)!

Without stricter regulations of the financial and banking sector in India, compared to other democracies, India would have been effected way more from the financial crisis and recession in the world!

There are of course several things one can and have to criticise at the current government, but there are always 2 sides of the medal and we have to look at both of them before getting into a conclusion, because it is easier to point out their faults, than to remember the things they achieved in the last few years!

[*] India still is the second fastest growing major economy.

Since when?

Turkey, Argentina and even Sri Lanka are all growing above 8%+.

Indonesia is growing at 6.5%.

What did the Congress party bring to India? That's right, 6.1% growth and falling rapidly. Not to mention the recent downgrade.

Since when?

What did the Congress party bring to India? That's right, 6.1% growth and falling rapidly. Not to mention the recent downgrade.

It says major economy.........

Since when?

So, in your opinion they are the major economies.

Coming out of your India bashing mode....however it keeps you protected ;)

If India (the 11th largest economy) counts as a "major economy", then so do Turkey, Argentina and Indonesia.

Only CD thinks so in the world.

LOL, then look at a list of the biggest economies, and tell me which ones count as "major" economies.

List of countries by GDP (nominal) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Italy, Canada, Brazil, etc. they ALL have bigger economies than India. Do they count as "major economies"?

Turkey and Indonesia are within the top 20 largest economies. If you want to count only the top 10 largest economies, then India is not included either.

That's especially a false statement because most of the issues army chief mentioned were not government failures but IAs own failures. Look at howitzer or Arjun procurements which are going of for years if not decades and during different governments, but the outcome is the same, because IA is continuing to be the problem.

report from other forum BS if you look at that you will find all the fault by Army & GSQR
From CAG Report

For indigenization of technology for AD Gun, GSQR was framed by the Army
in October 1985. DDRD in May 1986 sanctioned a Technology
Demonstration project for design and development of Towed AD Gun,
ammunition system and associated technology (Sharp shooter) at an estimated
cost of 9.44 crore with the PDC of 5 years. The project was completed in
September 1992 at a cost of 8.24 crore, after achieving rate of fire of 1200
rounds per minutes as against rate of 1000 rounds per minute specified in the
GSQR.

Later, a Staff Project (SL-PX-2K referred to at Sl No 4 below) was
taken up in September 2000 for 17.70 crore to improve upon the rate of fire
to 2000 rounds per minute. The project had to be foreclosed after an
expenditure of 14.68 lakh as the Army again changed the parameters of the
gun.

A total of nine changes in the GSQR were made impacting the basic
parameters of the gun system such as caliber, rate of fire, size, number of
barrels, weight etc. as detailed below:

1. GSQR 554 of October 1985
All weather, 30 mm, Towed, Multi-barrel, Rate Of Fire
(ROF) not less than 1000 rpm
RDS–PX-86/ARD-826 in May 1986 for 9.44 crore.
Successfully completed inSeptember 1992 at a cost of 8.24 crore.

2. No Revised QR. DRDO unilaterally decided to develop item with enhanced
specifications to Multi-barrel, Gatling Gun with ROF 4200 rpm.
Army in October 1995 suggested two types of AD guns.
One with weight around 1000 – 1500 Kg and other weighing 4000–5000 Kg with ROF 1000–2000 rounds in each case.
RDR-PX-93/ARD-984 in August 1993 for 1.98 crore.
Since Gatling gun did not meet the user requirement the project was foreclosed in October 1995 at an expenditure of 48.5 lakh

3. Draft GSQR of May 1997
30 mm, Towed, Single Barrel, ROF not less than 1000 rpm, and Weight not more than
1500 Kg. July 1998, Twin Barrel Gun, ROF 2000 rpm
Weight 3500 – 3800 Kg
RDX-PX-97/ARD-1080 in August 1997 for 9.85 core.
Closed in April 2000 at an expenditure of 51.19 lakh.

4. GSQR 767 of January 2000
Fair weather, 30 mm, Two Barrel, Towed AD Gun,
Weight 3500–3800 Kg and ROF 2000 rpm
SL-PX-2K/ARD-1148 in September 2000 for 17.70 crore.

Due to decision of the Army to
upgrade in service 40 mm L/70 and 23mm ZU Gun, Project
foreclosed in October 2001 at a cost of 14.68 lakh.

5. GSQR 910 of October 2002As a common successor to
L/70 and 23mm ZU Gun. All weather, Two Barrel, ROF not less than 1000 per
Barrel Amended in May 2004. No project undertaken as GSQR
was revised in September 2004

6. GSQR 998 of September 2004
All weather, Towed/HMV mounted, 30/35mm, Two
Barrel with ROF 1000 rpm and Weight about 4.5 ton
Amended in August 2006 Light Weight Air Defence Gun

No project undertaken as the GSQR was amended in August
2006 and revised GSQR superseding all the previous
GSQRs was received in January 2007

7. GSQR 1166 Received in January 2007 to replace L/70 and
23mm ZU Gun Towed, HMV mounted, ROF 1000 rpm and weight Not <
6000 Kg No project undertaken till date by ARDE Thank God they got the message,
that indigenous products are not wanted.

In August 2010 the User Directorate in Army HQ stated that revisions to
GSQR in this case had become essential, as the features had become outdated
during preceding 20 years and the proposed gun system was required to relate
to the envisaged air threat. The User categorically denied any responsibility
for the failure in development by DRDO and insisted that they had not agreed
to any dilution in specifications of most critical of the GSQR parameters.
Consequently, even though three R&D projects and one Staff project were
undertaken by the laboratory, the AD Gun system could not be developed by
DRDO to satisfy the frequently revised requirements of the Users . This
resulted in their mid-way closure after incurring an expenditure of 9.38 crore
on the staff project in addition to the expenditure on the technology demonstration project.

Ministry in its reply agreed with the audit contention of non
finalization/frequent changes to QR leading to failure to develop a Gun system
acceptable to the Users.

Does this repeated and massive changes in GSQRs indicate love for import (of Tungushkas, Oerlikon 30mm revolver gun, foreign component based upgrade of ZU 23mm & 40 mm L/70 ??).

LOL, then look at a list of the biggest economies, and tell me which ones count as "major" economies.

List of countries by GDP (nominal) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Italy, Canada, Brazil, etc. they ALL have bigger economies than India. Do they count as "major economies"?

Turkey and Indonesia are within the top 20 largest economies. If you want to count only the top 10 largest economies, then India is not included either.

For me major economies are those having GDP > 1 trillion dollar.

And why you take top 20, why not top 30??

I see a lot of die hard congressmen here, clutching at straws to paint a picture of an India shining under the Congress led by a foreigner. The sycophancy is outrageous! When this queen bee says jump, even Pranab jumps!

What a goddamn lame-duck government we're saddled with. But hold on...Haven't you guys heard of the latest scams to have exploded that would put even 2G to utter shame?

Coalgate: A corruption scandal in which the Comptroller and Auditor General of India (CAG) office accuses the Government of India for providing the nation's coal deposits to private and state-run entities instead of publicly auctioning them off to the highest bidder, resulting in Rs1,067,000 crore (US$212.87 billion) losses!!

Delhi Airport Modernization scam: The Comptroller and Auditor General of India (CAG) hinted in its report on the Delhi airport modernisation project that the government had given out prime land that will fetch Rs1.63 lakh crore (US$ 340 billion) to its private sector partner, Dial. (Link below).

Just imagine if this amount had been realized, India's fiscal deficit would have become zero. But then, how else can the Congress fill up its coffers? Every time I switch on my TV, I see 'Breaking News' of another scam!! :undecided: Jeeez! This really sucks, and how!!

http://www.hindustantimes.com/India...am-in-Delhi-airport-deal/Article1-859905.aspx