The Karachi that was — and will never be

The bars, clubs and other such places were closed in the late 70's and early 80's by the government. This hurt tourism and led to the end of Karachi as a transit hub between the west and the far east.

Drugs boomed due to the Afghan war and the involvement of officials.

What we have today is a mess of many decades.

what i dont understand that Islamisation lets assume 4 a min is good for Pakistan , but why did those in power allowed these guns and most importantly deadly drugs into pakistan. WHY WOULD SOME ONE DO THAT ?? hope you or some one may have a logical answer to that

It wasn't Ayub Khan but his son who initiated the clash between the supporters by taking his rally into the area of the opposing group.

what i dont understand that Islamisation lets assume 4 a min is good for Pakistan , but why did those in power allowed these guns and most importantly deadly drugs into pakistan. WHY WOULD SOME ONE DO THAT ?? hope you or some one may have a logical answer to that

Do you really live in Pakistan? I asked you this because, I also grew-up in Pakistan and son't see any Islamization.

Prior to US invasion of Afghanistan, Pakistani society was a decades modern than any of its neighbors.

It wasn't Ayub Khan but his son who initiated the clash between the supporters by taking his rally into the area of the opposing group.

Like father like son not much of a difference btw

---------- Post added at 04:42 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:40 AM ----------

Do you really live in Pakistan? I asked you this because, I also grew-up in Pakistan and son't see any Islamization.
Prior to US invasion of Afghanistan, Pakistani society was a decades modern than any of its neighbors.

Batman sahab ap fauji batman ki tarah ki baat kar rahey .. you havent seen islamisation ??

Are you suggesting Karachi is beyond saving and it will never regain the historical significance it had decades ago?
Perhaps the political changes may not install the desired changes instantly - however the mindset inplaced by a new regime may be the catalyst we require for the long term benefits of the city? I believe Karachi has simply too much history and heritage to be "finished forever".
Remember bro Rome wasnt built overnight and time and patience may be needed - to make Karachi the roaring lion it was in the 60s and 70s. Lets not give in on Karachi...

Perhaps it can be taken back to its old glory but things have gotten worse over time. Some damage is irreversible but time may change that, lets see how things go.

Those guns and drugs helped keep the government and their Afghan mission going.

They had the drugs and they had control of the country, General Haq went all out on his drugs trade.

---------- Post added at 04:42 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:40 AM ----------

Batman sahab ap fauji batman ki tarah ki baat kar rahey .. you havent seen islamisation ??

Withg lable of 'Pak-Marine' you ridicule fauji?

To be true i havn't seen Islamization in Pakistan, other than news.

To be precise Pakistanis are far away from Islam.

Economy had a nose dive since last 5 years.. which lead to deterioration in society but nothing can be termed as Islamization.

Actually a lot of difference between them.

Gen. Ayub was grounded and meant well for the country in his own way. His sons were spoilt brats who were hell bent on making the most of their power. Gohar and Tahir were close friends of my uncle, who hails from an influential Peshawari family, and he too admits that they damaged their father a lot.

If Gen. Ayub was like his sons, he would have violently fought against Bhutto but he just stepped down and went quiet.

I don't think it would matter much to those who hate ZAB instinctively because of false propaganda. Allow me to give some personal account of the Karachi in the 70's.
ZAB has been accused of the so-called Islamization quite wrongly. Yes, nearing the 1976 elections, he did introduce some cosmetic 'Islamic' steps in order to blunt the onslaught of the Right-wing. Steps included making the Qadianis non-Muslims--it was regrettable but that was not Bhutto's personal choice nor his sole decision (read up Cowasjee--a confirmed ZAB hater--on that). ZAB did ban public gambling and drinking etc. But no where you will see he went much beyond that.
ZAB was as much an 'Islamist' as GWBush was a 'Christian'. No more, no less. Politicians.
The fact is the PTV shows then, the social landscape then, the public discourse then was never too much influenced by ZAB. He was publicly rediculed by Pakistan's press and whatever media then. A murder FIR was filed against him--serving PM of Pakistan then--which led to his hanging eventually. But the beaches of Karachi, the nightlight of Karachi, the social landscape of Karachi was not much touched by ZAB.
Even in 1979--about two years into Zia's rule--my school lady teachers used to dress in jeans and skirt. Up to that, carrying and killing by daggers ('Khunjar') was the norm.

Of course it all changed after that. The television shows changed. The way to greet and say goodbyes changed. And the way to kill changed as well.

So, Mr. ZAB haters, don't give us crap about him. If you had not lived through the ZAB days and the Zia days as relatively grown people then you freaking don't know crap! I have seen it all. In Karachi. My parents stood up against ZAB in 1977, only to regret it later when they saw what followed.

Withg lable of 'Pak-Marine' you ridicule fauji?

To be true i havn't seen Islamization in Pakistan, other than news.

To be precise Pakistanis are far away from Islam.

Economy had a nose dive since last 5 years.. which lead to deterioration in society but nothing can be termed as Islamization.

yar no offense but i meant un-informed comments hain ap kay , aur yeh wala comment pichlay walay say bhi alla hai. i have idea , you might need to visit pakistan hopefully you might notice this time

---------- Post added at 04:59 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:57 AM ----------

This is 1947 not the Karachi of 60 & 70, in subject discussion.

To have a glimpse of 60's see video in post # 8

While Karachi of 70 was a referred as a city which never sleeps.

this was pre partition which still sounds and infact even look much nicer than what we have now .. i thought to share it. Yes more videos of 60-70's will help i will go looking now

---------- Post added at 05:00 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:59 AM ----------

here are some bands from those times

Legendary Musicians of Karachi (LMK) 60s-70s - YouTube

I don't think it would matter much to those who hate ZAB instinctively because of false propaganda. Allow me to give some personal account of the Karachi in the 70's.
ZAB has been accused of the so-called Islamization quite wrongly. Yes, nearing the 1976 elections, he did introduce some cosmetic 'Islamic' steps in order to blunt the onslaught of the Right-wing. Steps included making the Qadianis non-Muslims--it was regrettable but that was not Bhutto's personal choice nor his sole decision (read up Cowasjee--a confirmed ZAB hater--on that). ZAB did ban public gambling and drinking etc. But no where you will see he went much beyond that.
ZAB was as much an 'Islamist' as GWBush was a 'Christian'. No more, no less. Politicians.
The fact is the PTV shows then, the social landscape then, the public discourse then was never too much influenced by ZAB. He was publicly rediculed by Pakistan's press and whatever media then. A murder FIR was filed against him--serving PM of Pakistan then--which led to his hanging eventually. But the beaches of Karachi, the nightlight of Karachi, the social landscape of Karachi was not much touched by ZAB.
Even in 1979--about two years into Zia's rule--my school lady teachers used to dress in jeans and skirt. Up to that, carrying and killing by daggers ('Khunjar') was the norm.

Of course it all changed after that. The television shows changed. The way to greet and say goodbyes changed. And the way to kill changed as well.

So, Mr. ZAB haters, don't give us crap about him. If you had not lived through the ZAB days and the Zia days as relatively grown people then you freaking don't know crap! I have seen it all. In Karachi. My parents stood up against ZAB in 1977, only to regret it later when they saw what followed.

Bhutto had a profound effect on the younger population of Pakistan during the 60's and 70's. So much so that his followers never gave up on him, and even today speak in favor of him. My father too attended all of Bhutto's rallies and has a positive view of him to this day. Reminds me of Imran Khan today and the effect he has had.

Btw Cowasjee was a Bhutto supporter too and a minister at that time but he started to severely criticize Bhutto's later decisions. Cowasjee was thrown into jail for his criticism so his anger is justified.

I think most karachites dont admire ZAB for giving up to Islamists demand , same goes for BB she did called the talibani snakes her bachay once and eventually the same bit her to death. Their fault was not calling spade a spade ..

Bhutto had a profound effect on the younger population of Pakistan during the 60's and 70's. So much so that his followers never gave up on him, and even today speak in favor of him. My father too attended all of Bhutto's rallies and has a positive view of him to this day. Reminds me of Imran Khan today and the effect he has had.

Btw Cowasjee was a Bhutto supporter too and a minister at that time but he started to severely criticize Bhutto's later decisions. Cowasjee was thrown into jail for his criticism so his anger is justified.

Bhutto had many faults but being an 'Islamist' was not his fault. He manhandled people and went on to use 'Islam' as a cosmetic shield against the Rightwing on-slaught in mid-70s. But never did Bhutto try to reshape the society in any Islamic fundamentalist way. And the fact that what ostensibly brought him down was the 'Nizam e Mustafa' movement of PNA in 1977 should tell you that the Islamists hated ZAB for his secularism!

Cowasjee may have been a Bhutto supporter and may have been manhandled by ZAB but today even Cowasjee is compelled to say 'May he rest in peace'. Why? Because Time gives you the 20/20 hindsight.

Your personal continual attacks against ZAB are not based on facts. He cosmetically used 'Islam' but he did that to blunt the Right-wing onslaught against him--too bad, even his cosmetic measures could not save him in the end.

It is the damned Zia! He even wanted to introduce Arabic as Pakistan's National Language in some bizarre notion to unite the Pakistanis.