The Ball is in your Court Sir

When times are so tough, was it necessary to increase the BISP from Rs.40B to Rs.70B or so ?? Was it necessary to increase the PSDP program from some 800B to close to 1.15tr and make it as a propaganda tool to tell the nation that it is yet another "tareekhi faisala". Industrialists have been given tax exemption after exemption. If industrialists / agriculturists / retailers are in such a bad shape as they claim, i wonder why is the interest income of banks increasing day by day and all the banks are making record profits when compared to previous years. We the salary class are hit with tax after tax. No one is taxing the industrialists, rather their corporate tax rate has been further decreased, thus more money will go into their pockets.

If the new govt was so worried about the state of affairs, then on war footing basis, they for just one year stopped or atleast not increased the BISP by 30B, rather divert the money to reduce circular debt, similarly just for one year they could have let the already running programs in PSDP funded while funding for new programs stopped and money diverted to circular debt. I think army has already done a lot in the past by sacrificing their yearly increase in defence budget which when compared to our neighbors and looking at regional issues was must and even this time the 10% raise won't matter much.

They had many other options which could be used for reducing the circular debt, reducing the defence budget is not just the only thing which we need to ask, other much important and more money yielding sectors can do wonders.

Make the non profiting / burden public entities into some respectable money making organizations.

tax the agriculture sector. especially the rich ones.

tax the industrialists and retail sector as they have the potential to produce billions.

stop the yearly 500-600+Billion tax theft / corruption in FBR.

bring more people in the tax net instead of taxing the already taxed ones.

this year's budget was as pathetic as the people of PML-N are. Disgusting.

When times are so tough, was it necessary to increase the BISP from Rs.40B to Rs.70B or so ?? Was it necessary to increase the PSDP program from some 800B to close to 1.15tr and make it as a propaganda tool to tell the nation that it is yet another "tareekhi faisala". Industrialists have been given tax exemption after exemption. If industrialists / agriculturists / retailers are in such a bad shape as they claim, i wonder why is the interest income of banks increasing day by day and all the banks are making record profits when compared to previous years. We the salary class are hit with tax after tax. No one is taxing the industrialists, rather their corporate tax rate has been further decreased, thus more money will go into their pockets.

If the new govt was so worried about the state of affairs, then on war footing basis, they for just one year stopped or atleast not increased the BISP by 30B, rather divert the money to reduce circular debt, similarly just for one year they could have let the already running programs in PSDP funded while funding for new programs stopped and money diverted to circular debt. I think army has already done a lot in the past by sacrificing their yearly increase in defence budget which when compared to our neighbors and looking at regional issues was must and even this time the 10% raise won't matter much.

They had many other options which could be used for reducing the circular debt, reducing the defence budget is not just the only thing which we need to ask, other much important and more money yielding sectors can do wonders.

Make the non profiting / burden public entities into some respectable money making organizations.

tax the agriculture sector. especially the rich ones.

tax the industrialists and retail sector as they have the potential to produce billions.

stop the yearly 500-600+Billion tax theft / corruption in FBR.

bring more people in the tax net instead of taxing the already taxed ones.

this year's budget was as pathetic as the people of PML-N are. Disgusting.
Today i went to get my car AC fixed. While i stood tgere watdhing mechanic working, i observed the number of customers on the nughbouring puncture,cng and electrcian shop. Making a quick calculation i found out that each of these shops make atleast 2 lac to 3 lac rupees per month, now even if half of the amount goes in rents and other expenses, still these guys take home lacs without paying a single penny to the govt (tax). They same holds guud for chicken shop wala, tge doodh wala and other vendors. Whereas we the salaried class has to pay thousands each month in form of taxes. i wont talk of GST as it affects the common man too and is an indirect way of collecting tax by burdening the rich and poor alike at the same rate. Guud governace would mean increase in DIRECT tax collection, but it wont happen. FBR itself said that it has a list of 3.5 million rich Pakistani businessmen who wont pay any tax, i wonder when would they and guys like pak-one and argus point them out? i dont know when will we bring mill owners in the tax collection circle when we cant even get tax from a common shopkeeper?! And tehn we have the cheeks to ask for reductiin in defence budget, the one which is judicially expended, always.

BTW, @Argus, what if include them Rs 80 Billion embezzeled by Tauqir Sadiq into the loop that i mentioned earliar (loses of PSE like PIA, RAILS, PAKSTEEL), i guess our military would be running on some PKR 200 billion instead of 600 billion. Not bad eh?

Not bad at all Sir @Xeric , not bad at all. Shake the tree a bit more and even the last R200 biliion will fall out too (not to be confused with nuclear fallout, of course!), I am sure of it.

Very well written article brother @fatman17. Mein samja tha it was a news article until I saw nuclearpak's post.

By the way brother, PKR 627 billion comes to $6.37 billion.

Not bad at all Sir @Xeric , not bad at all. Shake the tree a bit more and even the last R200 biliion will fall out too (not to be confused with nuclear fallout, of course!), I am sure of it.
Not to worry at all, khadim hussain is quite guud at shaking trees ;)

BTW! a little insight could have told you that if had our house sorted out already, the military would have been sustained free of cost and the tax payer's money would have been utilized back on the tax payer.

We the salary class are hit with tax after tax.

You are well aware of the salary at bank's VP position.. Yet the tax they pay is also in six figures..
Nawaz Sharif.. however, due to the tax structure.. will pay less than them.

Not to worry at all, khadim hussain is quite guud at shaking trees ;)

BTW! a little insight could have told you that if had our house sorted out already, the military would have been sustained free of cost and the tax payer's money would have been utilized back on the tax payer.

Sir @Xeric Just how long does it take to sort out our house? Isn't 65 years enough or do we need still more time? Jo kaam ab tak nahi ker sakey wohi kaam aagey kaisey ker saken gey?

Anyway, back to the topic, it is the economy that makes the pie to sustain all budget subheads, including the military. And within a given national pie, all sectors get allocations based on national priorities. We have a shrinking pie and priorities that are very different than most nations due to our particular location and mindset.

Sir @Xeric Just how long does it take to sort out our house? Isn't 65 years enough or do we need still more time? Jo kaam ab tak nahi ker sakey wohi kaam aagey kaisey ker saken gey?

Anyway, back to the topic, it is the economy that makes the pie to sustain all budget subheads, including the military. And within a given national pie, all sectors get allocations based on national priorities. We have a shrinking pie and priorities that are very different than most nations due to our particular location and mindset.
Bravo!
Aap ko asal baat samjh lag he gaye... taalian!!

the corruption will eat up anything that is handed back to the government and civil setup. even after dismantling the entire military conventional and unconventional setup the problem will stay the same because the people and the setup is rotten to the core due to lack of accountability and widespread corruption. why does Pakistani nuclear & missile program exist while railways, PIA . WAPDA and steel mills are almost at the verge of extinction? a lazy explanation will be because army took away "everything", but in reality, the programs that were under military had some form of accountability and transparency whereas there was no such case in all other state owned public sector organizations.

yes, defer the military procurement but all such funding needs to be honestly spent otherwise it will just vanish in the thin air without much effect to the crippling situation

the corruption will eat up anything that is handed back to the government and civil setup. even after dismantling the entire military conventional and unconventional setup the problem will stay the same because the people and the setup is rotten to the core due to lack of accountability and widespread corruption. why does Pakistani nuclear & missile program exist

because its a black hole, The amount of corruption in that is unprecedented too.. but thankfully there are still capable people in it.
yet , pointless procurement at inflated costs.. kickbacks.. are the order of the day and all from top to bottom in these organizations.
Bulbs that cost $1 from the US bought at $50 from Chinese.... people appointed on basis of yaari rishtedari.. Its living in a fools paradise that these organizations are clean..
And there cant be proof as who will dare look into these organizations without expecting to disappear...be tortured..and body thrown into a ditch.

I blame all of Pakistan's problems on the corruption within the military.

Field Marshall Muhammed Ayub Khan / General Agha Yahya Khan takeover, economy prospers - all at the expense of East Pakistan.
General Muhammad Zia-ul-Haq takes over, economy prospers - all at the expense of Siachin Glacier.
General Pervez Musharraf takes over, economy prospers - all at the expense of Federally Administred Tribal Areas.

After destroying Pakistan again and again, our military crawls back into their bunkers and lets the democratically elected politicians to take the stick.

Yeh kya mazakh hai?

I blame all of Pakistan's problems on the corruption within the military.

Field Marshall Muhammed Ayub Khan / General Agha Yahya Khan takeover, economy prospers - all at the expense of East Pakistan.
General Muhammad Zia-ul-Haq takes over, economy prospers - all at the expense of Siachin Glacier.
General Pervez Musharraf takes over, economy prospers - all at the expense of Federally Administred Tribal Areas.

After destroying Pakistan again and again, our military crawls back into their bunkers and lets the democratically elected politicians to take the stick.

Yeh kya mazakh hai?

Because the narrative sticks that no one is capable of saving Pakistan but them. Enforced not just by the military since the feudal have been part and participle with them. And to blame it all on the military is also incorrect circumspection. Ayub was not appointed Chief by the military but by Iskandar Mirza.. albeit he deceived his way into command. Iskandar mirza however, was generally an honest man even if his policies were incorrect. Because the Muslim league had been as such a collection of opportunistic men save a few.. it came to show right after partition.

Ayub's rule however, forever enslaved the military to the feudal concept of appointing peers and sycophantic toadies in high command as compared to meritorious people. The problem being, that the very people(who really don't know any better) who elect these feudal are also the same who call the Army back after the feudal rule. The Army who in all earnest are cultured from inception into regarding "bloody civilians" as inept welcome the chance to do their "patriotic" duty..but eventually the idea of an identifiable 3% symbol of the population calling the shots for the rest at every turn does not sit well with even the general simpletons who call themselves Pakistanis.. and then the cycle of handing power over to the other 3% who aren't easily that identifiable as a symbol starts again.
However, while there is little chance of changing the 3% in uniform in composition and culture.. regardless of meager increases in education and communication.. there is a chance of changing(or supplanting) the 3% of these civilian leadership heads.
As witnessed in the elections, this does not happen overnight.. but it does happen. Regardless of the cesspool that is the content of Pakistani media and "Tajziakaar" there is still enough accountability visible there to spur certain sections on. Hence even if it is a slow and tedious process it does take effect. Moreover, these changes also effect the military.. the Lt of today is not the Lt of the 90's. He has a FB account.. where he does browse pages.. and hears narratives from what's taught at Kakul and whats read elsewhere.
He too sees Hamid Mir on Capital talk and it does effect him in whatever way it may. He too does, at some point.. feel frustrated at Radio's that dont work in valleys and is more likely to give that feedback or let other's know.
Wajahat Khans program was not banned because it showed classified equipment.. it was banned because it showed certain frustrations and deficiencies with the equipment given.. it showed that regardless of whether you call them "Deemak" or whether they consider you "inept".. these people are more and more connected to the general population and a part and participle of it.
So they are also prone to the very same feelings of frustration.. and temptations that exist within the rest of the nation.

They too get frustrated by the game of shadows that plays out and secretly have their doubts. But something goes terribly wrong when they hit the three stars because they suddenly get completely disconnected from their roots. Some don't.. but a lot of them do(along with their families.. which is a phenomenon common to all Pakistanis). And that world, the mystery of it.. hidden behind walls that enshrine mansions and golf courses... with a motorcade housed within them along with constant electricity..is what invites the envy..and ire of those that work 9-5. Because to them, the Feudal is still someone you can at some point.. get someone angry on..at some point you can get that man to answer for his wrong doings or at least make him feel threatened at some point.
Here, are the proverbial gods among us..Olympians who seem to only answer to Zeus and no one else. This Olympus also has the upper hand on the other one and regularly boots the other one out.. among with other powers such as taking over any land it wishes(such as beautiful hilltops in Tourist areas...but then again.. the civvies are too inept and corrupt to be able to take care and enjoy it.)
Yet.. thanks to the British and some genuinely good officers(Thank the almighty that we have a volunteer Army) the system for one Olympus is still very intact for all its shortcomings and has checks and balances that(at least for the bottom to middle rung) works acceptably to de-thorn and de-lice its composition to ensure that some of the best do come out front and ensure that professionalism is maintained to an acceptable degree where it counts. Which is why you will still be more eager to invest in D.H.A than anywhere else(even though the idea of prime land being taken over would irk most people) and generally do feel a sense of comfort when the military takes over since(for a certain time anyway)..things seems to run as they should.

So within our two realms of the gods.. that *** the Margalla hills and one in Pindi.. are those that we cannot seem to change or make answer no matter who we vote for. After all, lets be fair.. we know that it matters little to the laborer in lalamusa whom he votes for as long as he gets his two rotis and sabzi.. and his pedestal room fan runs once in a while.. He cares little beyond that little circle of his apart from table talk and I for one would rather not have him given the right to vote. Those who do care, who think , who ponder(as pointed even in the Quran).. have the true assessment of stakes and appreciation of them. So unless these people go out and make informed, intelligent.. and non Bradrana decisions.. there is little chance for things to improve overnight...slow and steady...with increasing education is the only way.
Because even in 30% educated population.. there will always be the 10% parhe likhe jahil who are found in abundance voting on the basis of short term gains or for their uncle.. content with sending ten emails out and considering it halal work. There are those who only join an organization like SPD because its secure 45k package and house.. along with little actual work needed apart from signing files discussing pithy female forms while having a smoke in the tea breaks. So within these people and rest of the "Ghulam" class(A look at the history of the Arabic word Ghulam will reveal a lot the brilliance of what Islamic teachings on Slavery really are).. there is still a potential for change.. and that is to end the "Ghulami" to ignorance..that can be done through education AND exposure.

So do not lose hope yet, in democracy, the power of education ..and the Fauj.. Because part of the 55% turnout were some 5-600 k votes that came from the Military.. because they are not alien, not a different breed as much as we and they stress. They are a part of Pakistan and have as much to lose as the rest of us. They too have differing views.. and differing intellect...and differing levels of honesty and dedication. And they too get to feel loadshedding now almost as much as the salaried class does.

I joked with all of my friends whose fathers are in the military.. that you can tell Pakistan is in bad shape.. when the Staff car goes CNG.

because its a black hole, The amount of corruption in that is unprecedented too.. but thankfully there are still capable people in it.
yet , pointless procurement at inflated costs.. kickbacks.. are the order of the day and all from top to bottom in these organizations.
Bulbs that cost $1 from the US bought at $50 from Chinese.... people appointed on basis of yaari rishtedari.. Its living in a fools paradise that these organizations are clean..
And there cant be proof as who will dare look into these organizations without expecting to disappear...be tortured..and body thrown into a ditch.

@Oscar Never mind the hidden corruption, about 20%, or just under two billion dollars' worth, is the military's share of unpaid electrical bills as part of the circular debt.

electrical bills?? They owe a hotel chain million in food for certain high ranking posts and their daily meals.