Tejas, an Indian Air Force light combat aircraft (File)Indian Air Force Jets Slated to Have Beyond-V

The thread is about tejas not JF-17.
Boasting too much is a sign of insecurity.
We are tired of answering the same questions over and over. If you want to have a discussion on JF-17 there is a separate thread for that. Either talk about tejas or STFU.
Lagta Hai mood kharab Hai Bhai ka...nashta nai Mila isko.

To Indian members...please stop replying to trolls. It derails the threads even further. An unacknowledged troll is a dead troll.

The best thing about the tejas despite all the delays is its RCS.
Its one of the smallest fighters and would be very difficult to spot in a dogfight.
Its RCS for a non-stealthy platform is 0.5 sq m which is amongst the best in 4rth gen aircraft.This makes it a great ambush aircraft and takes over from the Mig-21 bisons in this role.

They achieved this in several ways apart from size.
1.Upper wing body blending reducing the corner reflections from the awacs radars searching from above,no corners formed when the flat wings get attached to cigar like fuselage in old fighters.This feature is only present in 4++ or 5gen fighters like rafale, sukhoi flankers,typhoon,f-22,f-35 and the new chinese and russian 5th gen prototypes.Even mirage 2000 ,J10 and jf17 do not have this feature.
2.Then there is the Y intake. Engine fan blades are one of the prominent sources of increasing radar cross section. This buried the jet engine inside the fuselage so no engine parts are visible and thus reduced visibility.
3.Canopy is coated with thin film of conductor of Indium tin oxide.
4.Most of all 90% of surface is made of composites with are radar wave resistant unlike all alumunium designs.Plus this reduces maintainence drastically as it has half the number of components of a mig,jaguar or mirage.
5.RAM coatings

Its wing loading too is very good,better than j-10 .It has an integrated OBOG system ,thus its quite suited for high altitude combat.TW ratio is 1.07 compared to j-10 1.15,but engine is a perennial weak point.

Main weaknesses are engine which should have more thrust(not going to happen until G-414 in mk2),production delays by HAL,very small operating range (500 km) will have to be mitigated by refuelling pod in mk1A,AoA issues due to tailless delta design largely solved,and with IRST and HOBS missiles like python -5. EW suite is good,radar is good.

I was never a fan of LCA and even called it failed a few years back,but i'm reading up on it and it had actually evolved into a solid aircraft at affordable price.Its RCS is its best selling point.Now our priority should be - Induct mk1 and mk1A as fast as possible,forget about more changes.Stabilize squadron strength first.From MK2 we need new G414 engine,preferably indigenenous AESA and better operational range.If it can incorporate more stealth features even better.
Overall in worst case scenario of 2 front war we can station the bulk of our tejas fleet in the west,supported by 2-3 squadrons of heavier air dominance aircraft,AWACS and S-400 it will defensively neutralize PAF over attempts to enter indian airspace.We can then throw in the mass of our heavier platforms against the chinese front where Tejas can play support role,and IAF will have advantage due to altitude handicaps and limited airbases in tibet. But most important thing now is to pump them out quickly.

Its one of the smallest fighters and would be very difficult to spot in a dogfight.
Its RCS for a non-stealthy platform is 0.5 sq m which is amongst the best in 4rth gen aircraft.This makes it a great ambush aircraft and takes over from the Mig-21 bisons in this role.

1.Upper wing body blending reducing the corner reflections from the awacs radars searching from above,no corners formed when the flat wings get attached to cigar like fuselage in old fighters.This feature is only present in 4++ or 5gen fighters like rafale, sukhoi flankers,typhoon,f-22,f-35 and the new chinese and russian 5th gen prototypes.Even mirage 2000 ,J10 and jf17 do not have this feature.
2.Then there is the Y intake. Engine fan blades are one of the prominent sources of increasing radar cross section. This buried the jet engine inside the fuselage so no engine parts are visible and thus reduced visibility.
4.Most of all 90% of surface is made of composites with are radar wave resistant unlike all alumunium designs.Plus this reduces maintainence drastically as it has half the number of components of a mig,jaguar or mirage.
5.RAM coatings

Its wing loading too is very good,better than j-10 .It has an integrated OBOG system ,thus its quite suited for high altitude combat.TW ratio is 1.07 compared to j-10 1.15,but engine is a perennial weak point.

Main weaknesses are engine which should have more thrust(not going to happen until G-414 in mk2),production delays by HAL,very small operating range (500 km) will have to be mitigated by refuelling pod in mk1A,AoA issues due to tailless delta design largely solved,and with IRST and HOBS missiles like python -5. EW suite is good,radar is good.

I was never a fan of LCA and even called it failed a few years back,but i'm reading up on it and it had actually evolved into a solid aircraft at affordable price.Its RCS is its best selling point.Now our priority should be - Induct mk1 and mk1A as fast as possible,forget about more changes.Stabilize squadron strength first.From MK2 we need new G414 engine,preferably indigenenous AESA and better operational range.If it can incorporate more stealth features even better.

well the JF-17 has foreign buyers but not tejas.

Maybe the tejas is good like what you said, but its probably 20% better than JF-17 overall but maybe more expensive than a brand new eurofighter

India is practically begging people to buy their weapons. Even the Russian Brahmos with Indian stickers are sold as indigenous missiles. The Russians could just earn everything by selling the Oniks straightaway.

Its 1/3rd the price of eurofighter.We dont care about foreign buyers right now as we don't even have enough production capacity to fulfill our own needs.We first need to fulfill orders of IAF.No foreign sales or anything for a decade at least.IAF squadron strength is first priority.

5.RAM coatings

Overall in worst case scenario of 2 front war we can station the bulk of our tejas fleet in the west,supported by 2-3 squadrons of heavier air dominance aircraft,AWACS and S-400 it will defensively neutralize PAF over attempts to enter indian airspace.We can then throw in the mass of our heavier platforms against the chinese front where Tejas can play support role,and IAF will have advantage due to altitude handicaps and limited airbases in tibet. But most important thing now is to pump them out quickly.
Yes, we all know the mini Mirage is the bestest 'semi stealth' fighter on earth. :lol:

Its 1/3rd the price of eurofighter.We dont care about foreign buyers right now as we don't even have enough production capacity to fulfill our own needs.We first need to fulfill orders of IAF.No foreign sales or anything for a decade at least.IAF squadron strength is first priority.
Nobody wants to buy a crappy plane costing so much due to import content. That's the simple fact, even your own air force is being forced down their throat.

Yes, we all know the mini Mirage is the bestest 'semi stealth' fighter on earth. :lol:

Nobody wants to buy a crappy plane costing so much due to import content. That's the simple fact, even your own air force is being forced down their throat.
And the trolls are back!!!... stop making a joke of yourself everytime you post!

Mark IA tejas is 94 million USD.

JF-17 block 3 is 32 million USD.

JF-17 only 1/3 the price of tejas

Actually the best thing for modi to do now is to stop production and beg china to sell FC-31 to india.

The HAL tejas is definitely not stealth. In fact, with such a large delta profile, its gonna appear like a basketball in the radar when tracked by China S500 missile system on southern tibet.

Fk, they can get a F35 for that price. The only reason it cost somuch is due to the import content and the mark up by HAL. That's how they milk the holy cow.

i hope they are able to integrate everything together though!

Not sure if there are any bugs with the software especially with so many different systems and sensors combined :rofl:

Actually the best thing for modi to do now is to stop production and beg china to sell FC-31 to india.

The HAL tejas is definitely not stealth. In fact, with such a large delta profile, its gonna appear like a basketball in the radar when tracked by China S500 missile system on southern tibet.
How dare you singaporean! LCA is a gen 4.5+++++ plane. Some say it's already gen 4.99 ++. But I wonder why they are buying F-16s and Rafales.....hmmmm

Tejas MK1a price is $40 million.Please dont post randomly without checking.
L85s2GO.jpg