Sri Lanka does a Maldives, raises excise on Indian vehicles by 73%

yep, that's what I have said India share bigger share than SL, so it doesn't bring luck to India at all. ;) Even India stopped all SL export it around 5-6%.
mostly we import food such as Onions, potatoes, we do import from same items India's other neighbours. so it just matter of increasing those items from other countries.

we will help out our best friends in any way possible, srilankan friends

pakistani srilankan bhai bhai

Isnt it too much?? BTW how much is 1$ in Sri Lankan rupees??

Dude!! BTW we do not have nothing against your country.. Your country, your rules!!

Do you know how much we have to pay for a Tata Nano... it's 9 lax 1-2 years back. Our car market is really F$#%^ up.

there is something that Pakistan can also learn from India and BD too.

UNESCO report places Pakistan in bottom 10 in female education

"Unesco’s Education for All Global Monitoring Report (EFAGMR) revealed Pakistan is in the bottom 10 countries, according to the proportion of poor girls who have never been in school. According to the report, only six African countries fare worse than Pakistan in this respect. It revealed 62% girls in Pakistan, aged between seven and 15, have never spent time in a classroom. This is compared to 30% in India and 9% in Bangladesh.

The report showed Pakistan was also in the bottom 10 countries ranked according to the time young women spend in school in their lifetime. It stated girls, between the ages of 17 and 22, on an average spend one year in school in Pakistan. Girls in India and Bangladesh, in comparison, spend 2.9 and 4.4 years in school on an average.

“Almost two-thirds of Pakistan’s poor girls have never been to school,” said EFAGMR director Pauline Rose in a press release.
“Without a real step change by the government … they will be denied equal opportunities in work and life forever,” she added.

Bangladesh is advising India not Pakistan. Period. !!

Actually there is no special duties specially on Indian cars, what government did was increased the tax on smaller engine cars. In the indirect way unfortunately those are mostly India cars such as Maruti. So some one can claim this is taxing against Indian cars, I do not deny that.

Last time Indian Maruti 800cc was around 18 lakhs Rupees, (current price may be 1-2 lakhs more). Maruti consider as a cheap car in here so it will effect to lower middle class people, on the other hand no one going to buy Indian cars at the similar price of Japanese recondition cars. Indian cars are less in our roads, Japanese Toyota is most of people's choice.

"A senior official of the Society of Indian Automobile Manufacturers (SIAM) said today that Sri Lanka has increased excise duty on passenger cars by 73 percent to make it 173 percent, it has imposed an new excise levy of up to 45 percent on three-wheelers, an additional Rs 10.09 lakh duty has been imposed on commercial vehicles while motorcycles will have to pay 51 percent levy".

thats what your own post say's, still doesn't explain why raise taxes on a commodity aimed for consumption of middle class, whereas luxury class which drives mercedes/bmw are in much better state to digest raised taxes. Also commercial vehicles and motorcyles taxes have been raised, what for?

If there are any grievances with India, please do feel free to call back your ambassadors and shut down your consulates, harassing traders and distributers seems new.

please refrain fro posting off topic... invite interested parties to your thread and take up it there....

Do you know how much we have to pay for a Tata Nano... it's 9 lax 1-2 years back. Our car market is really F$#%^ up.

Is it because of higher taxes and import duty??

[:::~Spartacus~:::];3686502 said:
we will help out our best friends in any way possible, srilankan friends

pakistani srilankan bhai bhai

right now, Pakistan has the worst performing economy in this region and beyond.
send your ministers to India, srilanka, BD to learn some lessons on management and economic policies, that MIGHT help you, and it turn will help us, that might reduce the influence of radicals in your society.

India and BD are both advising Pakistan. PERIOD!!!!

Isnt it too much?? BTW how much is 1$ in Sri Lankan rupees??

Dude!! BTW we do not have nothing against your country.. Your country, your rules!!

If you say so :rolleyes:

1 INR =2.4 SLR.....anyway i thought the same...their 18 lacs means almost 7.5 lacs in INR....and here in India maruti800 price is just 2 lacs........

send your ministers to India, srilanka, BD to learn some lessons on management and economic policies, that MIGHT help you, and it turn will help us, that might reduce the influence of radicals in your society.

Jungle fire jungle fire

fire-in-jungle.jpg

Chinese production line in Sri Lank is a farce. What kind of production unit can you set up for 20 million $ ? :lol:

They will import partially assembled chinese vehicle parts and chinese labour into Sri Lanka and assemble the car and sell it to gullible Sri Lankans.

Sri Lanka is already assembling Chinese car models, also exports.

What else... it is worth wile to buy 10 years old Japaneses car rather than buying a brand new Indian car.

So there is a tax exemption for second hand cars.. Am I correct??

But this will destroy your vehicle industry..

India and BD are both advising Pakistan. PERIOD!!!!

I could post some sub Saharan states comparatives .....so save it.

[:::~Spartacus~:::];3686496 said:
they dont want to import cheap cars from india, period
Yes they are cheap as compared to western but only in money not in quality or looks. India is the world's 4th largest producer of cars and in 3 yrs is going to be 2nd. We produce 2nd most trucks in the world to quality suvs. You think this tiny nation can stop out automotive industry from thriving. Sri Lanka or Pakistan get that into your head all of you clowns will eventually use Indians cars. Sorry to say but no other country can compete with India in auto industry.The only survival is creating trade barriers but that is not competing instead destroying competition. Pathetic lankans need to be taught a lesson again.

"A senior official of the Society of Indian Automobile Manufacturers (SIAM) said today that Sri Lanka has increased excise duty on passenger cars by 73 percent to make it 173 percent, it has imposed an new excise levy of up to 45 percent on three-wheelers, an additional Rs 10.09 lakh duty has been imposed on commercial vehicles while motorcycles will have to pay 51 percent levy".

thats what your own post say's, still doesn't explain why raise taxes on a commodity aimed for consumption of middle class, whereas luxury class which drives mercedes/bmw are in much better state to digest raised taxes. Also commercial vehicles and motorcyles taxes have been raised, what for?

If there are any grievances with India, please do feel free to call back your ambassadors and shut down your consulates, harassing traders and distributers seems new.

This is Indian writer I guess. :D
who reduced tax on luxury cars?