Secularism In India

@ Jana bahan and Glomex bhai ..... yaaron instead of pasting huge texts from elsewhere to make your points, thoda raham karo hum pe aur chote chote posts karo ..... main to yahan padh padh ke doob raha hun shabdon ke samundar mein! LOL

Cheers, Doc

How about this Happening in Pakistan...

you people are always quick to display your collective security.

whats pakistan got to do with india's secular credentials?

do you seek our validation

i readily admitt that we as a society have a long way to go and some of the things that happen are simply not acceptable.

but you being the hindu nationalist are happy to see indian muslims as the beggars of your nation, so happy that you scream secular democracy one moment and ignore the realities the next, its why nobody takes your claims seriously.

And here is a different view from your above Subhash Kapila

National Cohesion" implies national unity and national sense of purpose emerging from a strong sense of national pride.

Dr. Subhash Kapila

India after sixty years of "political secularism" practiced by the Congress Party and its regional casteist political allies today stands dismally divided because of a fundamental flaw that these political parties did not accord importance to incorporating Hinduism as the majority religion its due political space in their scheme of "political secularism". It stands pointed out in this Columnist's earlier Columns that "existential secularism" for centuries prevailed in India before 1947 and there was no need to invent a new breed of 'political secularism" by Nehru and the Congress Party. It was done for political gains by a contrived projection that the millions of Indian Muslims who elected to stay back in India on Partition could be safe only behind this new political contrivance of the Congress Party.

Implicit in this new political contrivance was that somehow in the new Indian Republic the majority Hindu population could emerge as a source of concern for minorities. Not only this was a negation of the centuries old "existential secularism" that provided the mainstay of the social fabric of India for centuries but the past sixty years of the political history of the Indian Republic also negates the 'political secularism" precept aimed at creating captive vote-banks.

This Columnist does not need any lessons or sermons from any "political secularist" that abound in India's rotten polity or from Indian media secular sermonists or secular pseudo-intellectuals preaching secularism. In this Columnist's family every Indian religion stands represented by ties of marriage. When I write this I write out of pain and anguish as to how India stands deeply divided by sixty years of "political secularism"

India stands nearly poised today to acquire a global power status not because of its political leaders but by a global recognition that India's national attributes of power as commonly endorsed in international relations equip her for this role. In the national attributes of power, one on which I shall only dwell today is "National Cohesion"

"National Cohesion" implies national unity and national sense of purpose emerging from a strong sense of national pride. In a multi-ethnic and multi-religious nation like India it also implies that all the disparate groups combine together and subsume their respective identities into a greater Indian national identity.

India's "political secularism" regrettably, instead of fostering a greater Indian national identity has by virtue of its inherent disabilities has resulted in India today standing dismally divided on grounds of religion, regions, castes and sub-castes for reasons of vote-banks politics. Even in non-casteist religions of the Indian Muslims and the Indian Christians political divides have now surfaced on terms of reservations based on backward segmentation which basically boils down to their earlier castes.

India's protagonists of "political secularism" have gone steps ahead in dividing India between "We" and "They". By "We" they imply the political secularists along with their handful of regional casteist political leaders, the Leftists and media camp followers depending upon a combined vote-bank of 30% of India. By 'They' these political secularists imply the rest of 70% India predominantly Hindu majority and whom the Congress Party and its allies like to dub as "communal forces", "Right-wing fundamentalists", "Hindu Fundamentalists" and now the latest coinage in their vocabulary "Hindu Terrorism"

The battle today in India is basically political with the "political secularists" trying their best to retain their captive vote-banks against the rising tide of dissatisfaction within those vote-banks for having been taken for a ride all these last sixty years and who would not be averse for a political switchover. O the other side of the battle is the main Opposition Party which probably senses that the mood in the Hindu majority population is changing after sixty years of being short-changed by the "political secularist" parties with their Indian Muslim vote bank politics and the politics of backward classes' reservations.

Having crossed into the seventies in terms of age and keenly studying India's political trends so long I would not be too wrong in asserting that "Political Secularism" has not only failed in India but has resulted in India being deeply divided. The Indian Christians and the Sikhs as the other sizeable minorities of India got assimilated in mainstream India whereas the Indian Muslims as the largest Indian minority could not do likewise because the Indian "political secularists" fostered and encouraged their separateness for narrow political gains.

If rabidity in public debates is the hallmark of religious demagogues and fundamentalists then how does one brand and label the political secularists on TV debates and interviews going wild with their diatribes against those who want to assert their Hinduness?

India's national security interests demand that India's national security not be compromised by India's political leaders with their contemptible divisive policies to sustain themselves in political power. The minorities and the majority must not be pitted against each other for narrow political gains.
India would be better served not by hollow and rhetorical self-professions of "political secularism" but by following the centuries old "existential secularism" which fostered peace and harmony without any political fiats and where the minorities and the majorities recognized each others respective social and political space without political slogans and political labeling.

@ Jana bahan and Glomex bhai ..... yaaron instead of pasting huge texts from elsewhere to make your points, thoda raham karo hum pe aur chote chote posts karo ..... main to yahan padh padh ke doob raha hun shabdon ke samundar mein! LOL

Cheers, Doc

+1 for your wisdom ;)

when gojra incident happend in Pakistan the wise Indian posters refrained and wisely so i believe and i liked your post here too.

errr so you just googled something and copied and pasted some articles you have not read yourself, how is that relevant to the point you suggested?

you should be able to provide some relevant passages , but how can you if you have not read it yourself.

the one partially relevant article had the arab states to thank for their wealth, not hindu india.

Jama’at-e-Islami Hind (JIH) unveiled a path-breaking action plan to create educational, health and housing facilities to improve lot of millions of poor Muslims in India.
Alarmed by the findings of Justice Rajinder Sachar Committee, which painted a dismal picture of socio-economic conditions of India’s 140 million Muslims, Human Welfare Foundation’s Vision-2016 intends to build a student hostel in each state as well as 10 centres of higher learning has been pegged.

Human Welfare Foundation’s Vision-2016 aimed at providing free quality education and health services to the poorest among India’s 140 million Muslims. “We are committed to achieve objectives of Vision-2016 within the stipulated period of time. Funds will be generated through donations,” said KA Siddiq Hassan, a retired university professor and vice-president of JIH, which is headquartered in New Delhi.
Although the government has plans to improve conditions of minorities, it is increasingly felt that the community’s lot will change for the better only when Muslims activists and groups contribute their bit.
The Foundation’s health agenda includes setting up a super speciality hospital and 10 speciality hospitals. “The process and planning for all projects are going on smoothly. Hopefully targets will be achieved,” Hassan said.

It decided to construct 10,000 dwelling units in urban India while 100 model Islamic villages will also be developed by 2016. Each model village will have 100 houses, a primary and higher secondary school, a clinic-cum-diagnostic centre, a community hall, a shopping complex and a mosque.

Foundations Vision-2016 talks of total emancipation of poor Muslims. “It aims at imparting quality primary and secondary education to the poorest among Muslims. We also intend to provide them health facilities and financial assistance for economic empowerment,” said Hassan.

JI Hind unveils vision 2016 for Indian Muslims | Pakistan | News | Newspaper | Daily | English | Online

Muslims can grow if they want to....no one is going to feed you for free....welcome to real world.

I have been on this forum for a while, since I am not a defence expert, I try to learn more and write less. Most of my posts are on political and social aspect rather than on defence, and while going through these sections, I have come to realize the high degree of polarization on social and political issues among Indian and Pakistani posters. Most criticized (and correctly too) are the secular credentials of India. From the territory under British rule, India has emerged as the only constitutionally secular country which has a majority of Hindu Populations, and Hindus, we are taught are the most tolerant and naturally secular people.

All seems so good on paper, infact too good to be true. Constitutionally every segment has their respective rights and entitled to similar benefits, but it’s the ground reality that bites. I am a patriotic Indian, and I feel it is my duty to accept the realities of our society. We are told by Pakistani members about no. of Muslims in Army, about No. of Muslim Prime Ministers etc. To counter this Indians post some survey showing improvement in the Living standards of muslim, Azim Premzi, Kalam, any number of bollywood personalities etc. Statistics I believe are not the right tool to measure the degree of secularism. As it is wisely said Statistics are like mini skirts, they reveal more than they conceal, but they conceal the most important parts. I am more concerned about the increasing number of Muslim migration to Muslim dominated neighborhood than decreasing number of Muslims in Army.

I would dare any red blooded Indian to put a hand on his heart and say that in India Muslims have the same social and economical position as Hindus or Sikhs. They do not. Blunt and harsh as it may be, but that is the truth. And the real danger to secularism is not from a small 5-8% segment of right wing Hindu extremists but from another maybe 30-40% who are constantly skeptical about fellow Indian's intentions because of his/her religion. They will hail Azharuddin when he produces consecutive centuries, but won't take a second to term him as a traitor when he fails against Pakistan.

To me the epitome of lowering of secular standards recently is not Gujrat. Gujrat is the end product of a process. The process started when we suddenly stopped seeing signs of "Hindu Muslim Sikh Isai apas main sab bhai bhai" behind every truck, auto and tea stalls. It stated getting replaced by "Hindustan main rehna hai to Vande Matram Kehna Hoga". We stopped showing Titles of the movie in Urdu. We started calling Ghazal as Gajal. Urdu was marginalized. Mughlai Dishes in Menu card turned into Punjabi. These things added up. Some started asking for proof of patriotism in Muslims as if by some divine grace they have the authority to provide another Indian a right to living in his own country. Every time a doubt is raised over patriotism of a Muslim, the secular belief takes a blow. I agree completely with Jaswant Singh when he says: At times Muslims are treated as Aliens. Yes Babri Masjid, Blue Star and Gujrat are such blots on Indian history that can never be wiped out and realization that the perpetrators of such ghastly acts are still roaming free on street makes me hang my head in shame.

Another issue I have is with poster comparing treatment of minorities in India with Minorities in Pakistan. This is completely unjustified as Pakistan is a declared Islamic Republic and India is constitutionally secular.

On the other hand - Is it all as evil as few Pakistani posters make it sound? Is their any state sponsored religious cleansing happening? Are Muslims treated as second rate citizens and deprived of opportunity? Are they bound to live in ghettos and not allowed residence in posh localities? Are they economically worse than Dalits? Are Hindus a sworn enemy of Muslims? Answer is an Emphatic - NO.

Approach of Hindus towards Muslims may be skeptical but is not generally hostile. Most of the Violence and crimes in Riots are not acts of extremely religious Hindus but of opportunist criminals who would have taken advantage of the situation regardless of victim’s religious background. Our justice system is more to blame for not punishing these criminals than our social fabric. Lack of Muslims in Public services is because of reliance on Madarsa system rather than regular school. Economic backwardness is more because of the geographic distribution of Muslim population than religious bias.

The reality is somewhere between the two extremes painted by Indian and Pakistani posters. It is secular and communal at the same time. To my mind, the defining image of India is the crowd, and a crowd is by its very nature superabundant, heterogeneous, many things at once.

First of all india is a constitutionally secular contry ...it means GOI and all branches of the Constitution must adhere to secularism while conducting their constitutinal dutie .

It never asks indian citizens be it hindu/muslim/sikh to act in a secular manner in their personal capacities.No country in the world does that either.

And yes ofcourse hindus are the most tolerant and naturally secular people.I dont think any other country in the world where majority section people agreed to insert the word "secular"inserted in the Constitution framwork,so unique in that sense.

Isnt it true that there are muslims citizens like Azim Premzi, Kalam,Shahrukh Khan, many muslim film stars and muslim sports men have achieved the success irrespective of their religion solely based the talent and hardwork.It also simply signifies that a minority muslim notion dont create any sort of hinderance in leading a successful life in a hindu majority india.Isnt that showcase a truely secular country.

" I am more concerned about the increasing number of Muslim migration to Muslim dominated neighborhood than decreasing number of Muslims in Army. "

Whats so surprising in it??
It comes down to comfort lavel rather than Xenophobia where people prefer to live among their own kind...be in the sense of religion or region.

I dont think we have only muslim ghettos as there are Gujarati colonies,Bengali society,South indian apartments ,army societies many such ghettos of many different hues.In fact what about china towns or hindu or muslim dominated areas of very secular societies like London or NewYork??

" They will hail Azharuddin when he produces consecutive centuries, but won't take a second to term him as a traitor when he fails against Pakistan "

It has more to do with personal prejudices based every man insecurities rather than lack of respect for the secular nature of country.Religious or racial profiling is part of every society in some measure e,g trouble faced by Shahrukh Khan in US airport.

U forgot to mention,the same Azharuddin was the captain of indian cricket team and has been married to a hindu and become a MP recently of constituenty where majority ppl are hindus.

"To me the epitome of lowering of secular standards recently is not Gujrat. Gujrat is the end product of a process."

Incidence like Gujarat or sikh riots are worst case scenerios,this is a counry where there is so much crores of people living in poverty,uneducation,social disparity,crime,decades religous terrorism,internal displacement and centuries old oppression majority hindu communities seen in few other places , that its miracle only few thousand ppl got killed riots or sectarian violence in this many decades..

And regrading the decline of muslim cultural influence, do u expect that we should 've promoted farsi/arabic like the minority muslim rulers that ruled of india.

There are still many positive influence of muslim culture intact...loved and admired by many in india ...where as after many centuries,its the regioanl culture of different indian states getting prominance in their respective states.Minorities are also part that regional revival in each states.

"This is completely unjustified as Pakistan is a declared Islamic Republic and India is constitutionally secular"

Now that takes the cake.

U cant discuss indian secularism in a vaccum whie dabating it with pakistanis.

Also I think its completely unjustified to question india's secularism when pakistanis dont live in secular society in pakistan themselves.

Its like china questioning the issues about personal freedom in USA...deeply ironical i must say to begin with.

And treating ur minorites equally in pakistan and giving them same equal legal status is two completely separate things.If they were same , pakistan would have been a secular state long before today. well before that i guess it must strengthen its democracy first.

I must conclude this with saying that though we are not a perfect secular society even a perfect democracy,given societal,financial and educational conditions of majority of indians,the reason for this lasting trust and acceptance in secular values lies in the hindu philosophy of universal brotherhood and religious tolerance culture.Thats why ome dont see too much protest about its secular status even from majority hindus.

Yeh wisdom hai ..... haar ya sharm ka acceptance nahin ..... samjho fir bolo ;)

Aapne hamare sawaal ka to jawaab hi nahin diya Glomex bhai ke peeche haath dho ke bhag bhagkar :(

Lo main repeat karta hun jaldi se jab tak aapka attention meri taraf hai ....

If the Indian muslim is safer, richer and better educated than your countrymen (and women), based on a providential decision his forefathers voluntarily took at the time of Partition, why does it cause you and your countrymen (and women) such angst? :)

Kya angoor khatte hain?

Awaiting a short and sweet personal reply (and not a Google effort please).

Cheers, Doc

'Indian Muslims failed to show their existence': Rediff.com news

Union Minority Affairs Minister Salman Khurshid said on Wednesday that Indian Muslims have failed to show their existence not only in the country but also outside it, underlining it as the reason why US President Barack Obama [ Images ] made no mention of them while expressing his desire to speak to Muslims of the world.

"US President Barak Obama had made no mention about the Indian Muslims when he (after taking charge) had desired to speak to Muslims of other parts of the world. The names of Saudi Arabia, Palestine and Africa were mentioned and even he had said that 7 million Muslims are in America but there came no mention of Indian Muslims. Why ? Because, this is the truth," Khurshid said.

"He (Barak Obama) understands India but does not understand the Muslims of India. Muslims of India have not only failed to show their existence in India but also in the outside world," he added. Khurshid was addresing a function organised by the Confederation of Muslim Educational Institutes in India to facilitate Muslim leaders who have become members of Parliament in the 15th Lok Sabha.

Khurshid assured that his ministry will take all possible steps for the upliftment of Muslims along with other minority communities. He said the implementation of the reccomendations made by the Sachar Committee was the best step for the development of Muslims in the country and government was serious about it. He also urged the Muslim leaders for coming up with suggestions for the bettermentof the community.

Yeh wisdom hai ..... haar ya sharm ka acceptance nahin ..... samjho fir bolo ;)

Aapne hamare sawaal ka to jawaab hi nahin diya Glomex bhai ke peeche haath dho ke bhag bhagkar :(

Lo main repeat karta hun jaldi se jab tak aapka attention meri taraf hai ....

If the Indian muslim is safer, richer and better educated than your countrymen (and women), based on a providential decision his forefathers voluntarily took at the time of Partition, why does it cause you and your countrymen (and women) such angst? :)

Kya angoor khatte hain?

Awaiting a short and sweet personal reply (and not a Google effort please).

Cheers, Doc

If angor khatay hotay tau aj Indian to secular India prove karany ka lia itni maghaz mari na karni parti pyaray :)

But the problem is Indian Muslims are not safer, richer and better educated.

than your countrymen (and women), based on a providential decision his forefathers voluntarily took at the time of Partition, why does it cause you and your countrymen (and women)

The problem starts here that the providential decision their forfathers voluntarily took at the time of Partition has proved their choice of staying back as wrong.

:)

He said the implementation of the reccomendations made by the Sachar Committee was the best step for the development of Muslims in the country and government was serious about it..

:tup: so when is India going to implement the reccomendations made by the Sachar Committee ????

If angor khatay hotay tau aj Indian to secular India prove karany ka lia itni maghaz mari na karni parti pyaray :)

Pyare ...ab agar Bhains ke age been bajane lago to mehnat to karni hi padti hai na....pr yeh bhains to Nachna hi nahi chahti....

But the problem is Indian Muslims are not safer, richer and better educated.

Indian Muslims are doing far better than Pakistani Muslims.. at least they are not living in Refuge Camps....at the time Pakistani army is bombing Their houses..to dust....

The problem starts here that the providential decision their forfathers voluntarily took at the time of Partition has proved their choice of staying back as wrong.

Just read this and may be you will get your answer...

What ails Indian Muslims? Negativism

:tup: so when is India going to implement the reccomendations made by the Sachar Committee ????

Jama’at-e-Islami Hind (JIH) unveiled a path-breaking action plan to create educational, health and housing facilities to improve lot of millions of poor Muslims in India.

Alarmed by the findings of Justice Rajinder Sachar Committee, which painted a dismal picture of socio-economic conditions of India’s 140 million Muslims, Human Welfare Foundation’s Vision-2016 intends to build a student hostel in each state as well as 10 centres of higher learning has been pegged.

Human Welfare Foundation’s Vision-2016 aimed at providing free quality education and health services to the poorest among India’s 140 million Muslims. “We are committed to achieve objectives of Vision-2016 within the stipulated period of time. Funds will be generated through donations,” said KA Siddiq Hassan, a retired university professor and vice-president of JIH, which is headquartered in New Delhi.

Although the government has plans to improve conditions of minorities, it is increasingly felt that the community’s lot will change for the better only when Muslims activists and groups contribute their bit.
The Foundation’s health agenda includes setting up a super speciality hospital and 10 speciality hospitals. “The process and planning for all projects are going on smoothly. Hopefully targets will be achieved,” Hassan said.

It decided to construct 10,000 dwelling units in urban India while 100 model Islamic villages will also be developed by 2016. Each model village will have 100 houses, a primary and higher secondary school, a clinic-cum-diagnostic centre, a community hall, a shopping complex and a mosque.

Foundations Vision-2016 talks of total emancipation of poor Muslims. “It aims at imparting quality primary and secondary education to the poorest among Muslims. We also intend to provide them health facilities and financial assistance for economic empowerment,” said Hassan.

JI Hind unveils vision 2016 for Indian Muslims | Pakistan | News | Newspaper | Daily | English | Online

Muslims can grow if they want to....no one is going to feed you for free....welcome to real world.

Pyare ...ab agar Bhains ke age been bajane lago to mehnat to karni hi padti hai na....pr yeh bhains to Nachna hi nahi chahti....

Nevermind i can understand your upbringing.

Ap ka ghar ki aurtain nachti hain kia ?

Next time refrain from such illiterate behaviour otherwise i know how to kick your