Safari Storme, Scorpio pass army test, vie for big deal

Milage kitna hai bhai ?

See above. This is with 5 reasonably healthy adults. Combined weight in excess of 370 kilos with around 30-40 kilos luggage, and AC on non-stop.

About 450 kms from tankful to reserve light. Not good when compared to the near 550-600 kms of the older Dicor. But the Dicor has 10 liters bigger fuel tank. The Storme's tank is smaller because they shifted the stepney below. Not good. A touring SUV should have at least 500 kms cruising tank range IMHO.

But few vehicles match the Storme's road presence and the respect it gets from equally big and much more expensive vehicles.

She gives a tough fight to many merc, beemer, and VW SUVs (chews the Endeavor, Captiva, etc.) and is neck to neck with Fortuner except on very open roads (2.2 L vs 3.0 L).

I have once pulled her to an indicated 180 kmph. Rock steady. Superb all 4 wheel discs with sophisticated ABS/EBD. Stops on a dime (comparatively - its a 2.5 ton monster remember - respect her) and in a straight line, no fuss, no jiggle jagle, no infamous Dicor 90 degrees bals in mouth.

And are u working for M&M ? Just asking .

Nice write up sir ji

DP also good bhai :) Sunny hai sunny ... But will the armoured plating will be bullet proof ? It does adds some weight too. So engine is same commercial engine ? Same engine tweaked ? Or more powerful engine ? I don't think same engine can have more power with Armoured and pulling extra weapons from behind get
Hook

And are u working for M&M ? Just asking .

Nice write up sir ji

DP also good bhai :) Sunny hai sunny ... But will the armoured plating will be bullet proof ? It does adds some weight too. So engine is same commercial engine ? Same engine tweaked ? Or more powerful engine ? I don't think same engine can have more power with Armoured and pulling extra weapons from behind get
Hook

Bro I am 21 years old. Still studying. Not working (for M&M or Tata or anyone else). Not "sir ji."

The Aria (crossover, same platform as Storme, slightly longer chassis, same hydroformed, same suspension, etc.) has now got a 150 Ps more powerful retuned VariCor engine (Storme and Dicor and old Aria are 140 Ps). Also there is a new clutch and new 6 speed new generation gearbox in the offing. From inside sources I have heard this engine can be further tweaked to max 160 Ps. After that there is some rumor of either a 2.5-2.6L or even a 3 L twin turbo monster under testing.

Bottom line is, if its chosen by the Army, then the development will be constant, the Army will control the quality levels (not only of Tata, but also of vendors which is their weak point), and the advantages of thee improved vehicles and superior platforms will be enjoyed by the civilian junta. Like the Humvee and the Hummer to an extent.

The Storme engine has fantastic pulling ability. With 4 people inside, it goes up an incline in 2nd and even 3rd (little clutch slip required initially) with no foot on accelerator. Just at idle. It can easily take weight of armor plating and extra weaponry, if you see that all the official Presidential Safaris (old 3 L ones which were very sluggish) which they use on Rajpath parades etc., those are all armor plated (not only for bullets but rockets as well), and they are also tuned for getting away quickly. So for the much more powerful new age Storme engine, it would be a piece of cake.

P.S. Sunny ji ko mera sadar pranam!

7416893302_51bb29b753_b.jpg

Thats TATA Xenon.

It remains to be seen what what purpose these Stormes/Scorpios are being ordered for. If it is just for officer/CO personal vehicles or general purpose vehicles then this is nothing much to celebrate.

What is needed is a vehicle to replace all those Gypsies being used in operational roles and I'm not convinced that's what we are talking about but I hope so....

eg will these Stormes/Scorpios just be used for:

Maruti-Gypsy-Indian-Army.jpg

Or for:

113361d1237393313-4x4s-indian-army-0544.jpg

Maruti_Gypsy_IndArmy.jpg

NjXCT.jpg

I kinda like the Scorpio Getaway more.

Here is Gul Panag's custom modified adventure rig .....

1115853d1374634128-interesting-modified-scorpio-getaway-gul-panag-1069185_538049609586044_1829204335_n.jpg

I like what Mahindra produced themselves:

scaled.php

Would be great for recon and SF teams.

@Abingdonboy

Bro, having owned Storme (and old Safari and Scorpio before that in my family) I can say that they are both too heavy for sand. At least the 4x2's are. Unless you know how to keep up the momentum, are experienced and know where not to go, and have at least one jeep (or tractor) within call, it is easy to get stuck badly.

You need 4x4, and both (but esp the Storme) need to go on a serious diet. But yes, as mechanical platforms, they are solid, rugged, tried and tested (in Indian conditions, for close to 2 decades now), good power, good reliability, good fuel efficiency, and infinitely customizable.

Both have done very well in both the Raid de Himalaya as well as the Desert Storm rallies, though racing over bad terrain for 7 days with full backup and doing what these army mules do is a whole different ballgame.

The Gypsy is still the undefeated King of the Raid. It is less than half the weight, is petrol, and is very nippy. So I do not see that role going to another vehicle. Not even the new Renault Duster or Nissan Terrano.

Do check out the Mahindra Thar or the Force Gurkha for these roles instead.

maxresdefault.jpg

feature-thar-vs-gurkha-vs-polaris-aug2013-pic8.jpg

Though frankly, the venerable Mahindra MM550 is still the undisputed King here.

UN%25252520ggh.jpg

It remains to be seen what what purpose these Stormes/Scorpios are being ordered for. If it is just for officer/CO personal vehicles or general purpose vehicles then this is nothing much to celebrate.

What is needed is a vehicle to replace all those Gypsies being used in operational roles and I'm not convinced that's what we are talking about but I hope so....

the reports calls for vehicles passing tests and i'm therefore inferring this refers to some kind field trials for personnel movement in battle field environment (not necessarily top brass). Also the fact some large quantity of these vehicle order is anticipated, make one believe that these are actually for field use. Or so i hope:-)

@Abingdonboy

Bro, having owned Storme (and old Safari and Scorpio before that in my family) I can say that they are both too heavy for sand. At least the 4x2's are. Unless you know how to keep up the momentum, are experienced and know where not to go, and have at least one jeep (or tractor) within call, it is easy to get stuck badly.

You need 4x4, and both (but esp the Storme) need to go on a serious diet. But yes, as mechanical platforms, they are solid, rugged, tried and tested (in Indian conditions, for close to 2 decades now), good power, good reliability, good fuel efficiency, and infinitely customizable.

Both have done very well in both the Raid de Himalaya as well as the Desert Storm rallies, though racing over bad terrain for 7 days with full backup and doing what these army mules do is a whole different ballgame.

The Gypsy is still the undefeated King of the Raid. It is less than half the weight, is petrol, and is very nippy. So I do not see that role going to another vehicle. Not even the new Renault Duster or Nissan Terrano.

Do check out the Mahindra Thar or the Force Gurkha for these roles instead.

maxresdefault.jpg

feature-thar-vs-gurkha-vs-polaris-aug2013-pic8.jpg

Though frankly, the venerable Mahindra MM550 is still the undisputed King here.

UN%25252520ggh.jpg
I don't get the feeling these Storme/Scorpio are for replacement of the Gypsy in the field but as General purpose Vehicles for officers and some logistical roles. The Storme and Scorpio are too "soft" for the majority of frontline combat roles IMHO and Tata and Mahindra need to pull their fingers out to produce more militarised versions.

I think the Gypsys in frontline roles, though, are intended to be replace by the light Support Vehicles, LSVs (Mahindra AXE and the like) but god knows where that program is, trails where held many years back and since then almost no forward movement.

Tata-Light-Specialist-Vehicle-4.jpg

Tata has even sold (well part of GoI aid) some to the Seychelles:

photo_verybig_655.jpg

They look totally badass man! The Mahindra Axe looks like a miniature Humvee.

These are excellent vehicles.

This will add further momentum to indigenization of the military at logistics level. The Gyspeys were old and needed to be retired. Not to mention, fuel guzzlers compared to these variants which are much more modern.

I remember having read something whereby under the previous regime, there was a plan to substitute the gypsies with some Toyota imports or something. That was ridiculous. Thank goodness M&M and TATA cleared the tests.

Maruti Gypsy is under 500 Category ...Safari and Scorpio is under 800 category... Maruti Gypsy is serving Force nicely.