Rents soar in Rawalpindi with influx of Afghan refugees

Zibago

Rents soar in Rawalpindi with influx of Afghan refugees​

Intelligence agencies’ report warns of socio-economic ramifications of immigrants

Imran AsgharJune 23, 2022

people arriving from afghanistan gather at the friendship gate crossing point in the pakistan afghanistan border town of chaman august 27 2021 photo reuters

People arriving from Afghanistan gather at the Friendship Gate crossing point in the Pakistan-Afghanistan border town of Chaman, August 27, 2021. PHOTO: REUTERS

RAWALPINDI:
With an upsurge in the arrival of Afghan refugees, rents of houses, apartments and shops in Rawalpindi have gone up to an all-time high, creating problems for locals.
Sources said that a detailed report prepared by intelligence agencies on the extraordinary arrival of Afghan refugees, which has created an alarming situation in the garrison city, has been sent to the Punjab government to take stock of the issue.
A large number of Afghan refugees have reached Rawalpindi via Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa.
According to the report, the influx of Afghan refugees has put an extraordinary burden on the city's resources and crimes have increased while the tenancy system has almost buckled and as a result, locals were facing severe hardships in getting affordable houses.
Sources said that the Afghan refugees have acquired rented houses in different parts of the city, which has not only disrupted the tenancy system but also put the city's resources under severe pressure.
A large number of Afghan refugees have settled in the areas of New Katarian, Pirwadhai, Fauji Colony, Hazara Colony, Khayabane-Sir Syed, Misryal, Chakra Naiabadi, Golra Mor, Tarnol, Fateh Jhang Road, Taxila, Wah Cantonment, Sadiqabad, Satellite Town, Dhok Matkial Boring Road and other areas.
The report said that the extraordinary influx of Afghan refugees has disrupted the tenancy system as most Afghan refugees were able to pay higher rents which the local low-income group people could not afford to.
According to the report, the rents of houses and shops have increased by 400 per cent after the arrival of the Afghan refugees.
The influx of Afghan refugees has led to a steady increase in demand for water and food, which has led to a sharp rise in the prices of food items.
A large number of Afghan refugees have also started business in and around Rawalpindi, leading to a dramatic increase in the rent of shops.
The report has asked the Punjab government to take urgent steps to regulate the influx of Afghan refugees so that city's resources could be judiciously utilised.
The report said that with the arrival of refugees, Rawalpindi has seen an uptick in street crimes.
Due to a lack of a formal identification process, the arrival of Afghan refugees in Rawalpindi has been declared a matter of great concern. Sources said that the Punjab government would take a final decision on the report of intelligence agencies after which a database of Afghan refugees could be compiled.

Rents soar in Rawalpindi with influx of Afghan refugees​

Intelligence agencies’ report warns of socio-economic ramifications of immigrants

Imran AsgharJune 23, 2022

people arriving from afghanistan gather at the friendship gate crossing point in the pakistan afghanistan border town of chaman august 27 2021 photo reuters

People arriving from Afghanistan gather at the Friendship Gate crossing point in the Pakistan-Afghanistan border town of Chaman, August 27, 2021. PHOTO: REUTERS

RAWALPINDI:
With an upsurge in the arrival of Afghan refugees, rents of houses, apartments and shops in Rawalpindi have gone up to an all-time high, creating problems for locals.
Sources said that a detailed report prepared by intelligence agencies on the extraordinary arrival of Afghan refugees, which has created an alarming situation in the garrison city, has been sent to the Punjab government to take stock of the issue.
A large number of Afghan refugees have reached Rawalpindi via Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa.
According to the report, the influx of Afghan refugees has put an extraordinary burden on the city's resources and crimes have increased while the tenancy system has almost buckled and as a result, locals were facing severe hardships in getting affordable houses.
Sources said that the Afghan refugees have acquired rented houses in different parts of the city, which has not only disrupted the tenancy system but also put the city's resources under severe pressure.
A large number of Afghan refugees have settled in the areas of New Katarian, Pirwadhai, Fauji Colony, Hazara Colony, Khayabane-Sir Syed, Misryal, Chakra Naiabadi, Golra Mor, Tarnol, Fateh Jhang Road, Taxila, Wah Cantonment, Sadiqabad, Satellite Town, Dhok Matkial Boring Road and other areas.
The report said that the extraordinary influx of Afghan refugees has disrupted the tenancy system as most Afghan refugees were able to pay higher rents which the local low-income group people could not afford to.
According to the report, the rents of houses and shops have increased by 400 per cent after the arrival of the Afghan refugees.
The influx of Afghan refugees has led to a steady increase in demand for water and food, which has led to a sharp rise in the prices of food items.
A large number of Afghan refugees have also started business in and around Rawalpindi, leading to a dramatic increase in the rent of shops.
The report has asked the Punjab government to take urgent steps to regulate the influx of Afghan refugees so that city's resources could be judiciously utilised.
The report said that with the arrival of refugees, Rawalpindi has seen an uptick in street crimes.
Due to a lack of a formal identification process, the arrival of Afghan refugees in Rawalpindi has been declared a matter of great concern. Sources said that the Punjab government would take a final decision on the report of intelligence agencies after which a database of Afghan refugees could be compiled.

So how many refugees have Mother India taken from Afghanistan? The thing here is, we as Pakistanis in terms of our approach to risk management are our own worst enemies. At a time when every nation in the world is increasingly protectionist and reviewing their borders and migration policy.

Pakistan has not only maintained a relatively open border policy for refugees from the western border, but as this article has correctly eluded, there is NO mechanism to track and trade documented and undocumented aliens in Pakistan. So what exactly have UNCHR Pakistan and IOM been doing sitting in Islamabad and Peshawar all these years?

Moreover it falls on the duty of both provincial and federal government to review this unmanageable situation and consider corrective measures before the gravy train derails. Pakistan should adopt a skills based migration system for refugees and emigrants from Afghanistan, i.e. highly skilled human capital in demand such as technical workers, doctors, teachers, IT workers, trade professionals etc...

For everyone else there should be a points based system, we should not allow UNHCR to dictate terms to us on who we can and can't let into our country and the numbers thereof. Pakistani leadership on all fronts need to grow a spine and start having the difficult conversations.

If our wheat is not good for them, if our people are not good for them, if the sight of our flag and lingua franca is repulsive to them, then why the **** are they here in the first place? GTFO!

These people should not be allowed to settle like this,
where is the ministry of interior ?
which visa do they have ?
how are they able to just come in and take up accommodation and business ?

and where is Gen 6, 7 and 8 generation warfare, and after winning why can't he send these people back ?

So how many refugees have Mother India taken from Afghanistan? The thing here is, we as Pakistanis in terms of our approach to risk management are our own worst enemies. At a time when every nation in the world is increasingly protectionist and reviewing their borders and migration policy.

Pakistan has not only maintained a relatively open border policy for refugees from the western border, but as this article has correctly eluded, there is NO mechanism to track and trade documented and undocumented aliens in Pakistan. So what exactly have UNCHR Pakistan and IOM been doing sitting in Islamabad and Peshawar all these years?

Moreover it falls on the duty of both provincial and federal government to review this unmanageable situation and consider corrective measures before the gravy train derails. Pakistan should adopt a skills based migration system for refugees and emigrants from Afghanistan, i.e. highly skilled human capital in demand such as technical workers, doctors, teachers, IT workers, trade professionals etc...

For everyone else there should be a points based system, we should not allow UNHCR to dictate terms to us on who we can and can't let into our country and the numbers thereof. Pakistani leadership on all fronts need to grow a spine and start having the difficult conversations.

If our wheat is not good for them, if our people are not good for them, if the sight of our flag and lingua franca is repulsive to them, then why the **** are they here in the first place? GTFO!

It has 2 reasons,

1. NADRA is a bitch.
2. MOI is NADRA's madam.

if we had a functional government the best way to prevent issues like this would be to equally distribute refugees to every town and city across Pakistan.

@RescueRanger

RR sb,

So how many refugees have Mother India taken from Afghanistan?

You want to send poor Afghan refugees to Modi-fied India? That is like sending people from frying pan (AFG) to fire.

Regards

These people should not be allowed to settle like this,
where is the ministry of interior ?
which visa do they have ?
how are they able to just come in and take up accommodation and business ?

and where is Gen 6, 7 and 8 generation warfare, and after winning why can't he send these people back ?

It has 2 reasons,

1. NADRA is a bitch.
2. MOI is NADRA's madam.
I don’t know if there is any benefit of talking about deporting Afghans or not allowed to settle in 2022. The truth is, Afghans are settling in Pakistan since our independence in 1947 and massive influx of refugees in 80, 90, post 9/11 etc. They continue to settle and we can’t do much about it. They basically own Pakistan now

@RescueRanger

RR sb,

So how many refugees have Mother India taken from Afghanistan?

You want to send poor Afghan refugees to Modi-fied India? That is like sending people from frying pan (AFG) to fire.

Regards
If they don't like Pakistan, they are welcome to go to India instead, we are not a door mat of South Asia. That said, those who have emigrated here and have historic ties are more then welcome to stay, as are those who are highly skilled and will benefit and contribute to our economy.

When you visit Rawalpindi you will find more Afghans than the native population I've talked to a few when you ask them their origin they always say Mardan which is B.S.
Hahah, yes the same, especially around sixth road, it's infested.

@RescueRanger

RR sb,

If they don't like Pakistan, they are welcome to go to India instead,

If they dont like Pakistan and you dont like them fine, send them out of Pakistan- but dont send them to Modi-fied India - it is not a very hospitable place for Muslims. Yeah Pappu's India was a great place but not this India.

Regards

When you visit Rawalpindi you will find more Afghans than the native population I've talked to a few when you ask them their origin they always say Mardan which is B.S.
I went to Faisal Masjid few years ago and I could barely find Punjabis in it. I came to know there is a nearby School/Uni/Madrissah where Afghans study and that is the reason they were seen everywhere.

My assumption is half of Afghanistan is probably Pakistani national openly or covertly. Those who are abusing Pakistan on the social media probably have a secret Pakistani passport hidden somewhere in their cupboard.

In my city I see too many Afghans and when you ask them… their first answer is always they are from Peshawar or nearby city and if you inquire further like whereabout in Peshawar their instant reply is… basically I am originally from Jalalbad, Kabul or Kandahar but I have also lived in Peshawar for some time.

Just take a drive or a walk around Islamabad, and every single person you find begging, cleaning those car windshields on signals, raddi wala, sun glasses sales, everything is Afghani. Mehrabadi is filled with them.

Every Friday, a house in my street gives out a deg. The line is of around a 100 people, and 80 of them are Afghans, I kid you not.

I am not one for closed borders, or doing any discrimination. But there needs to be a mechanisms to ensure that we aren't a country for free loaders to leech off from.

Sultan ki khui jao, and every single shop over there is owned by an Afghan. Badshah tyres, one of the largest second hand tyre shops there, is of an Afghan.

And in this Afghan hostile environment, the local Pukhtoons are also getting dragged, case in point, Sindh.

Magr in ko bhi ajeeb Pakhtoon wali ki zyada fikr hoti hai, aur mulk ki kam.