PTI slams govt for reopening NATO supply route

Awesome

RETIRED MOD
Put on the TV sab jaga laan taan ho rahi hai. Pehle bhao tol kia jab kuch nahi bana toh "we are not in it for the money".

Punjabi main kahavat hai, "Sau jutian wi khaiyaan, tay ganday wi khaday".

Daily Times - Leading News Resource of Pakistan

* Imran Khan says government bypassed parliamentary resolution

Staff Report

LAHORE: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan on Wednesday criticised the government for reopening NATO supply routes and bypassing a parliamentary resolution in this regard.

Addressing a press conference, Khan said parliament’s recommendations were not kept in view while giving a go ahead for NATO supplies to move into Afghanistan.

“Parliament’s recommendations, demanding an unconditional apology over the Salala raid, halt to US drone attacks, $5,000 transit fee per NATO container and assurance for respect of ground and airspace of Pakistan have been bypassed,” Khan said.

The PTI chairman said US President Barack Obama had categorically said that the US would continue drone attacks in Pakistan. He said parliament was of no use and it should be dissolved as it had failed to implement its resolutions. He asked if parliament’s aim was to protect corruption of President Asif Ali Zardari and its lawmakers.

Khan said that the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) should clear its position on the government’s move because the opposition party was also part of the committee to shape new terms of engagement with the United States.

He said that the PTI had consistently opposed participation in America’s war on terror for the last 10 years. He added the PTI’s stance stood vindicated as the country had suffered immense losses because of participation in America’s war.

“Pakistan has sacrificed most in this war… nearly 40,000 of our citizens and soldiers have died and the country has suffered exorbitant losses worth nearly $70 billion. Despite sacrificing the most, it was surprising that the United States continues to question Pakistan’s sincerity in fighting this war and constantly putting pressure on it to do more,” the PTI chief said.

“How can our rulers keep telling the people of Pakistan that this is our war when despite sacrificing the most there exists a huge trust deficit and the US does not bother to share information on any high value targets and carries out unilateral strikes in our territory… our judicial system is ridiculed and our allies insist on bypassing our judicial process for their agents who have committed crimes,” he said.

Khan stressed that the PTI was not anti-US and did not want any confrontation with it. “But it is a fact that the American public and decision-making bodies now realise the futility of this war. We believe that Pakistan should be ready to facilitate US exit from Afghanistan. This means helping in the dialogue with the Taliban and in any other way that ensures a stable Afghanistan. We are clear that a stable Afghanistan is in Pakistan’s interest,” he added.

He said the PTI would protest against the government’s decision of reopening NATO supply routes. The party would hold its first protest rally against this decision tomorrow in Gujranwala, which would be followed by a protest rally in Peshawar on July 14.

PTI is playing politics on every issue and keeping behind the interest of Pakistan.
PTI can't even win a seat with dirty and Mullah politics

PTI is playing politics on every issue and keeping behind the interest of Pakistan.

So funny, as if PTI is making Pakistan go through the crap its going to. It's pointing out your faults and you don't like that.

You did corruption, you allowed terrorism, you allowed Mullahism, you allowed nonsense laws, you allowed war, you allowed economy to go downhill, you allowed the energy crisis.

But PTI is at fault for criticizing your performance on these issues?

So funny, as if PTI is making Pakistan go through the crap its going to. It's pointing out your faults and you don't like that.

You did corruption, you allowed terrorism, you allowed Mullahism, you allowed nonsense laws, you allowed war, you allowed economy to go downhill, you allowed the energy crisis.

Well said bro
This is the kind of mentality that most Pakistanis have, they make all the wrong moves, but then blame others for pointing it out.I have noticed this tendency even in personal lives.

We as a society cannot fix our selves if we can't even stand to hear what we did wrong.

We have also become a nafisaiti phatu kaum.

Many people want to end the standoff with the US with whatever lame duck excuse they can find.

Money? Nothing raised per truck
Apology? Same thing said that the US said 2 weeks after the incident - that mistakes were made on both ends.
Drone Strikes? They have pounded us so much over the past few months whenever Pakistan wasn't agreeing to opening the route. Now we have agreed so they will not bomb us for a week or two then resume as normal.

PTI is playing politics? It's like saying "Bohot hogaya na, ab US ko aur tang nahi karo". Bhaoo khajayega.

This is good that he is speaking against corruption. I appreciate him.
But Where he spoke against terrorism and taliban. Show me one link when he spoke against Taliban. I am waiting.
He has sympathy for taliban similarly Nawaz sharif never speak openly against Taiban.

And PPP, MQM, PMLs what are they doing since decades?

US/NATO supplies have to be attacked and given a lesson to learn, and also the residences of those who are allowing this to happen (the politicians) should also be attacked.

Those who say that Pakistan has to cooperate with US in view of national interests nationally and internationally, just wait till the deadline US/NATO troops have set for Afghanistan, after that see what happens to Pakistan, all what is being done all these years will be thrown in dustbin of history and Pakistan will be far more worse than now if the same faces/ parties come to power.

And PPP, MQM, PMLs what are they doing since decades?

PPP gave Pakistan missile technology and PML announced to fire nuclear bomb forced by Pak militarty and Motoway. PMLN Q gave 1122 service, motorways and economy boost.
This PPP government broke all records of corruption and mis management
MQM also made many mistake.
But altleast PPP, MQM and Musharaf party are better to tackle taliban.
What is strategy of IK??

Where he spoke against terrorism and taliban. Show me one link when he spoke against Taliban. I am waiting.
He has sympathy for taliban similarly Nawaz sharif never speak openly against Taiban

Imran Khan vows to eliminate corruption, terrorism (Jalsa in Mardan) > Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf > Insaf News

Imran Khan said the PTI would put an end to corruption and terrorism besides stopping the practice of toeing the US line if voted to power. “We will make Pakistan a prosperous country and give equal rights to all segments of the society,” he vowed. PTI Provincial President Asad Qaiser, General Secretary Shah Farman and other office-bearers also spoke on the occasion.

One thing people mistake. He says fight terror for your sake, not because America wants you to fight the war. Find out the true anti-Pakistan elements, go into all regions of Pakistan, arrest them give them a fair trial and then sentence them.

Problem is kow-towing US dictates, not having your own anti-terrorism policy.

Manifesto
Foreign Policy
Our foreign policy has been susceptible to manipulation because of internal
political instability and weak leadership. The events since September 11 have
reinforced the need for an independent foreign policy that has the backing of the
people and can withstand the pressures brought to bear by external interests. As
a free and sovereign state we must not bend to the dictates of alien interests and
buckle under economic blackmail.

The present campaign against terrorism runs the risk of polarizing the world and
raising the specter of a clash of ideologies. The shortsighted policies of the
present government have pitted the Army against our own people
, creating a
national crisis for the sake of petty political gains. The PTI rejects all forms of
political and economic hegemony. Our foreign policy will:

• Promote regional peace with all neighboring countries based on sovereign
equality, mutual benefit and non – interference in each other’s internal
affairs.

• Pursue our political and economic interests more proactively
• Work towards peaceful co-existence with India based on sovereign
equality, and a just solution of outstanding disputes;

• Resolutely support the Kashmiri freedom struggle and promote resolution
of the dispute on the basis of their right of self-determination, on the basis
of UN resolutions;

• Establish a new paradigm of mutually beneficial relations with the USA
based on shared interests and common values;

• Consolidate further the close traditional friendship with the Peoples
Republic of China by substantially increasing cooperation in commerce,
trade, and security areas;

• Actively promote unity and closer economic and security ties among
Islamic States, in particular with our neighbours Iran, Saudi Arabia and the
Gulf states

Right now we have our fingers in the anti-west and anti-India pie which includes giving support to terrorists. This is not Imran Khan, this is us, right now minus Imran Khan.

Further the party is not just firefighting but talking about a culture of tolerance and moderation. You can't just have a policy of "Isko maardeinge, usko maardeinge"

The PTI agenda of resurgence articulates the long neglected aspirations of our
people and spells out the vision of a modern Islamic republic that advocates
tolerance, moderation and freedom to practice the religion of one’s choice
. We
look to the future with hope and confidence as we set Pakistan on a course to
political stability, social harmony, and economic prosperity for all.

Ideology

We strive a moderate society that banishes hatred and religious bigotry. We are focused on addressing the root causes of religious extremism, which are injustice, poverty, unemployment, and illiteracy while Islam and the Two-Nation Theory remain the bedrock of Pakistan's foundations, religious dogma must not be used to whip up passions to create fear in society. On the contrary, a truly Islamic society advocates tolerance, moderation and freedom to practice the religion of one's choice without fear. Sectarianism is a curse that must be eliminated from society.

Our leadership approaches the people with sincerity and a sense of history and we pledge to commitment to:

Freedom from Political, Economic and Mental Slavery - A self reliant modern Islamic Republic
Freedom from Injustice - Inexpensive and quick dispensation of justice
Freedom from Poverty - 50 percent increase in per capita income in 5 years
Freedom from Unemployment - Two million new jobs every year
Freedom from Homelessness - 2.0 lac new housing units every year and complete ownership right to millions living in Katchi Abadis
Freedom from Illiteracy - Full literacy in 5 years
Freedom to Generate Wealth
Freedom from Fear - Complete Freedom of thought and expression
Freedom for Women - Free education up to Matric for girls from poor households.
Equal right for minorities - no religious discrimination

I've consistently shown you how unlike all Mullahs they are, and while it was the champions of todays anti-terrorism lip servicemen that introduced anti-Ahmedi laws, Hudood ordinance and blasphemy laws

The fundamental question arises; if IK & PTI really interested to carrying out an Anti-Status quo politics with Zero interests in the current system they fondly claimed for themselves, than why don’t they still reluctant to bang the system itself and as promissed:hitwall: where is the much talked about and famous “Tsunami March”:hitwall:

Sadly, in the eyes of ordinary public, PTI too comes out only a status quo, a parasite that lives on the sincere emotion of the public, used only to exploit for political point scoring but anything substantial.

Remember, It’s the easiest job in the entire universe in itself, but the point is how long….how long IK/PTI loves to remains only as “Good for Nothing” politically….!! Their bluff is calling finally…No doubt IK finds himself in panic to save face somehow.....cancelling planned foreign visits and leading rallies here and there just for eye wash.

This is good that he is speaking against corruption. I appreciate him.
But Where he spoke against terrorism and taliban. Show me one link when he spoke against Taliban. I am waiting.
He has sympathy for taliban similarly Nawaz sharif never speak openly against Taiban.

IK never spoke out against asteroids either.
Must mean he has sympathy for asteroids destroying earth
Lame arguments are lame :rolleyes:

The fundamental question arises; if IK & PTI really interested to carrying out an Anti-Status quo politics with Zero interests in the current system they fondly claimed for themselves, than why don’t they still reluctant to bang the system itself and as promissed:hitwall: where is the much talked about and famous “Tsunami March”:hitwall:

Sadly, in the eyes of ordinary public, PTI too comes out only a status quo, a parasite that lives on the sincere emotion of the public, used only to exploit for political point scoring but anything substantial.

Woh toh arahay hain, kya aap saath do gay? Sath doh, number na banao. In unity we can take out every single American puppet!

Such sell out panna was not expected out of the worst of the worst this after all was the Army/PPP ittihad that paved way for enslavement under US dictates.

New ‘tsunami’ tide amid decision on Nato supplies

LAHORE, July 4: Condemning the restoration of Nato supplies, the Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaaf has announced protesting the PPP government’s act which, it says, is in violation of the parliamentary resolutions.

Speaking at a press conference along with former foreign minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi here on Wednesday, PTI chairman Imran Khan regretted that sovereignty of parliament was transgressed by not taking on board the National Security Committee of the National Assembly before taking the decision.

He lamented that the government took a U-turn by accepting mere regrets of US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton instead of unconditional apology as demanded by the Security Committee in its recommendations.

About the government’s pledge of providing security to the trucks carrying the supplies within the country, the PTI chairman wondered if Pakistani taxpayers would be paying for the security in return for drone attacks and damage to road network.Mr Khan said the supply route should have been opened only for facilitating withdrawal of Nato troops from Afghanistan and not for killing poor civilians there.

He recalled that the parliamentary committee had also called for an immediate end to drone attacks and halting infiltration
from Afghanistan side, but he regretted that none of the objectives had been fulfilled when the decision was taken.

He also said as per the committee’s recommendations and subsequent assurances by the government, the panel was to ratify the decision on the supplies issue before making the agreement functional but the procedure was not adhered to. He wondered why the government dropped the $5,000 per container transit fee on the supplies.

The PTI chairman said the MPs should immediately resign if they had a modicum of honour as their repeated resolutions were not given weight by the government while taking the decision. He said at least the PML-N MPs should respond to the call as they were part of the Security Committee that had recommended certain conditions for restoring the supplies and the same were not fulfilled.

Mr Qureshi regretted that by accepting Salala attack as a result of ‘mutual mistake’ Islamabad backed out of its stance of rejecting the similar result of Nato investigations into the incident. Islamabad had then described the attack as “unprovoked,
deliberate and planned,” he added.

He also said the demand for bringing to justice the Salala accused was also not met.

The PTI chairman said time for tsunami marches was nearing in as he would give a call for the purpose.

Mr Khan said the party would protest the supplies restoration decision in Gujranwala rally on Thursday (today) and in Peshawar
on July 14. The rallies were basically planned to protest loadshedding.

He said the protest would be from the platform of the PTI as no decision to join hands with other parties or alliances on the issue had so far been taken. He, however, told a questioner that PML-N President Nawaz Sharif (who had left only the other day for
Germany) should return home at this critical juncture. JUI-F chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman also used to disappear in such a situation, he added.

JI: The Jamaat-i-Islami has condemned the unblocking of Nato supplies by the government, terming it a ‘seal (of confirmation) on the rulers’ slavery’ to Washington.

In a statement on Wednesday, Jamaat head Munawwar Hasan said the rulers put a ‘seal on the document of their slavery’ by restoring the supplies which, he said, would further strengthen the enemies of Islam and Pakistan.

He said the Defa-i-Pakistan Council (DPC), an alliance of largely religious hardliner parties of which the JI is a component, would soon decide its future line of action and urged the masses to rise for the country’s independence and for the protection of its
nuclear weapons.

He regretted that instead of curtailing the US interference in the region, the government had paved the way for its intensification.

Hukumat hatao, mulk bachao.

@Asim you need to get practical. You cannot piss off US. Desh Bhutan chalana hai.

We have also become a nafisaiti phatu kaum.

Many people want to end the standoff with the US with whatever lame duck excuse they can find.

Money? Nothing raised per truck
Apology? Same thing said that the US said 2 weeks after the incident - that mistakes were made on both ends.
Drone Strikes? They have pounded us so much over the past few months whenever Pakistan wasn't agreeing to opening the route. Now we have agreed so they will not bomb us for a week or two then resume as normal.

PTI is playing politics? It's like saying "Bohot hogaya na, ab US ko aur tang nahi karo". Bhaoo khajayega.

You are right on every single point; this "apology" was a non-apology. However, Pakistan has made its point about its displeasure with NATO and it's probably time to move on. If NATO pulls another stunt, the supplies will be shut down again.

The test for Imran Khan is to show some concrete results. PTI must gather volunteers to block border checkpoints. Mere "protest" marches are nothing more than a TV drama.

@Asim you need to get practical. You cannot piss off US. Desh Bhutan chalana hai.

I believe Allen read the riot act to Kiyani and explained to him the damage that the US can do to Pakistan. The public tantrums by Hillary Clinton and Panetta were tame compared to the conversation that probably happened between the military men.

Military Forum Latest Posts