Police targeted using IED Bomb in Karachi

No I meant to say pre-blast detection.
Like have dogs stations at various locations , in a caged cabin etc, who could alert handler if it smells such chemicals.

I know I'm probably talking novel technique, but desperate times.
The only thing that is effective is intelligence led policing - failing that you have trace detection kits and explosive detection dogs.

Both are expensive - one explosive detection dog is 20lakh and can only work for 4 hours before it gets tired and gives false positive - so you would need a team of 6 dogs and 6 handlers.

Impractical!

This seems like another wave of terror activity in Karachi, supported by ethnonationalist elements.

Needs to be tackled asap.

I don't want to say this, but is the political situation resulting in a lack of focus on part of our governments?

How these people are getting intelligence, skills and equipment to make a successful IED? And even after making an IED, timing its explosion etc

Question: Where are these terrorists getting such intelligence? Foreign hand?

--- as a civilian I can't even import a Wifi router or Quadcopter with camera without authorities approval

Yar kia chay banday hain yeh.

All over the world the names of the injured and deceased are kept hidden until the families are notified, aur idhr yeh twitter par bata raha hai. Same with our police officials.

@RescueRanger, are these guys given any training on these matters?
Sir,

We have a press officer both at provincial and district level working under the DPO or similar grade 20 officer - a grade 18 holds the position- Singh police don’t have one- the info is released to the press via “sources”.

Very unprofessional!

How these people are getting intelligence, skills and equipment to make a successful IED? And even after making an IED, timing its explosion is not easy

--- as a civilian I can't even import a Wifi router or Quadcopter with camera without authorities approval

Sir,

Making an IED is child’s play - all manuals and material is available on the internet and closed groups and in printed format.

All you need is a detonator/ initiator - a primer and main charge -90 percent of the time the explosive of choice in Pakistan is ANfO ( ammonium nitrate fuel oil) a mixture of fertiliser and diesel.

No I meant to say pre-blast detection, some sort of early-warning.
Like have dogs stations at various locations , in a caged cabin etc, who could alert handler if it smells such chemicals.

I know I'm probably talking novel technique, but desperate times.
Explosives detection is not novel. It can and is done in sensitive areas e.g airports.

For general population the most affective way is counterintelligence as suggested by @RescueRanger

But unfortunately Pakistan's premium security agency is busy firefighting IKs revolution and being neutral on the security front. So it's becoming open doors for all kind of anti-state elements.

Sir,

We have a press officer both at provincial and district level working under the DPO or similar grade 20 officer - a grade 18 holds the position- Singh police don’t have one- the info is released to the press via “sources”.

Very unprofessional!

Why don't they have one? Incompetence, or some other reason?

What is even more sad is that this wasn't through a media source, but the administrator himself tweeting this.

I do know that for the army, whenever an incident happens regarding any military person, an ISPR rep is immediately in contact with the relevant CO for media management.

Why don't they have one? Incompetence, or some other reason?

What is even more sad is that this wasn't through a media source, but the administrator himself tweeting this.

I do know that for the army, whenever an incident happens regarding any military person, an ISPR rep is immediately in contact with the relevant CO for media management.
Incompetence of the highest order. There is an established SOP for what is termed “crisis communication” which was developed by the NCMC following Pakistan Earthquake - a PRO (public/press relations officer) is stipulated in the PP01 but outside of Pak Military, Rescue 1122 and Islamabad Police - no other department adopts it.

Just chachey da putter acting “over efficient” and compromising investigations and causing grief to the survivors : bereaved families.

Incompetence of the highest order. There is an established SOP for what is termed “crisis communication” which was developed by the NCMC following Pakistan Earthquake - a PRO (public/press relations officer) is stipulated in the PP01 but outside of Pak Military, Rescue 1122 and Islamabad Police - no other department adopts it.

Just chachey da putter acting “over efficient” and compromising investigations and causing grief to the survivors : bereaved families.

Sad...I'll note this down in my notebook of '101 things wrong with our governance systems'.

It truly is a sorry state of affairs.

How these people are getting intelligence, skills and equipment to make a successful IED? And even after making an IED, timing its explosion etc

Anyone can make a simple IED, these are dedicated militants after all. Its insane how you are already trying to imply there is a foreign hand in such a small attack, finger pointing without a semblance of a proper investigation.