PML-N finalises short-term plan to end power crisis

Tiger Awan

ISLAMABAD: The PML-N has hammered out a short-term plan to erase the Rs500 billion circular debt once and for all through treasury bills, an expert of the party involved in finalising the strategy to overcome the crippling power crisis told The News.

The amount will be arranged through T-bills to erase the circular debt and the required fuel will be provided to all power plants so that maximum electricity could be generated. However, the power tariff will increase manifold because of the increase in usage of costly fuel in the power plants but the priority of the government would be to provide electricity to the people even at half the cost of tariff. “We want to ensure the economic wheel of the country moves so that economic activities could be kicked off.”

“We have also decided to tap the offline capacity of the thermal power houses, which is 23 percent (3,500 MW), not being utilised just because of vested interests and there are many projects which are non-operational just because of technical faults,” he said. “Some plants are non-functional because of some peculiar reason as there is no fan on the power plant.” About 2,200 megawatts would be added by the sugar industries through begasse.

“We will focus on electricity pilferage in Gencos, Discos and then on power theft by unscrupulous consumers. In addition, we will plug the stealing of fuel of $300 million per annum on way from Karachi to public sector Gencos.”

“It is also brought to our notice that the system sustains loss of Rs300 billion per annum just because of electricity theft.” Dilating upon the short-term plan, he said the PML-N administration will appoint honest and professional CEOs to all Discos, Gencos and NTDC and to this effect it had finalised the names. “Likewise, in a bid to turn around the Public Sector Enterprises (PSEs), we will appoint honest professionals as heads of these entities.”

The PML-N is also all set to wipe out the CNG industry due to which the UFG has increased to 13-14 percent. “We have analysed that this sector is involved in huge gas theft and the gas being used in CNG sector will be directed to the power and industrial sector.”

“We will ensure the targeted subsidy and lifeline consumers alone will be provided subsidy and we will withdraw subsidy from all other consumers. Currently, all consumers are getting Rs5-6 per unit subsidy on electricity.”

“We have also identified some projects which are matured, but not ready to come on stream because of vested interests. Moreover, inefficient plants will be made operational as soon as possible.”

PML-N finalises short-term plan to end power crisis - thenews.com.pk

ISLAMABAD: The PML-N has hammered out a short-term plan to erase the Rs500 billion circular debt once and for all through treasury bills, an expert of the party involved in finalising the strategy to overcome the crippling power crisis told The News.

The amount will be arranged through T-bills to erase the circular debt and the required fuel will be provided to all power plants so that maximum electricity could be generated. However, the power tariff will increase manifold because of the increase in usage of costly fuel in the power plants but the priority of the government would be to provide electricity to the people even at half the cost of tariff. “We want to ensure the economic wheel of the country moves so that economic activities could be kicked off.”

“We have also decided to tap the offline capacity of the thermal power houses, which is 23 percent (3,500 MW), not being utilised just because of vested interests and there are many projects which are non-operational just because of technical faults,” he said. “Some plants are non-functional because of some peculiar reason as there is no fan on the power plant.” About 2,200 megawatts would be added by the sugar industries through begasse.

“We will focus on electricity pilferage in Gencos, Discos and then on power theft by unscrupulous consumers. In addition, we will plug the stealing of fuel of $300 million per annum on way from Karachi to public sector Gencos.”

“It is also brought to our notice that the system sustains loss of Rs300 billion per annum just because of electricity theft.” Dilating upon the short-term plan, he said the PML-N administration will appoint honest and professional CEOs to all Discos, Gencos and NTDC and to this effect it had finalised the names. “Likewise, in a bid to turn around the Public Sector Enterprises (PSEs), we will appoint honest professionals as heads of these entities.”

The PML-N is also all set to wipe out the CNG industry due to which the UFG has increased to 13-14 percent. “We have analysed that this sector is involved in huge gas theft and the gas being used in CNG sector will be directed to the power and industrial sector.”

“We will ensure the targeted subsidy and lifeline consumers alone will be provided subsidy and we will withdraw subsidy from all other consumers. Currently, all consumers are getting Rs5-6 per unit subsidy on electricity.”

“We have also identified some projects which are matured, but not ready to come on stream because of vested interests. Moreover, inefficient plants will be made operational as soon as possible.”

PML-N finalises short-term plan to end power crisis - thenews.com.pk

They will have to shift those plants which are using furnace oil on Coal that one of the biggest solutions and also a cheap one

Bhie bus kal ish plan se b mukar na jana ... phalay he 2 saal wali statements se mukar gaye hain ...

They will have to shift those plants which are using furnace oil on Coal that one of the biggest solutions and also a cheap one

that the midterm plan. This one is short term

andin long term Pmln plans to add 5000 MW coal based powerplants

If Pml could sort out this energy crises with some cheap alternative, I might think about giving them my vote next time.

So far so good with Nawaz Sharif. Lets hope he does not turns out to be another Zardari.

in NS short term plan Punjab scores the highest place.

for last three days power cuts have been eased there but in mhy province we are facing up to 22 Hours daily

LOng term plan is to add just 5000 MW???

That is atrocious...do you know that by 2020 our power needs will be 35k MW...and currently we are in mid 2013 and are producing only 10000 MW with an installed capacity of around 20000 MW.

If 5000 MW is our long term plan, then God help us.

for last three days power cuts have been eased there but in mhy province we are facing up to 22 Hours daily

Kuch nhn hua Punjab main...in my village near Gujrat, 22 hours loadhsedding.

In Lahore near Bahria Town, 12 hours or so.

Lol Yaar I couldn't sleep last night due to this load shedding. Nothing is changed here in Punjab.

No power cuts have not been eased. In Lahore, we are facing around 15 to 18 hours of load shedding. For every hour, there is a 3 hours load shedding.

That is atrocious...do you know that by 2020 our power needs will be 35k MW...and currently we are in mid 2013 and are producing only 10000 MW with an installed capacity of around 20000 MW.

Lol Yaar I couldn't sleep last night due to this load shedding. Nothing is changed here in Punjab.

:P na kar ?

well in rawalfindi they dint have for last 3 days as my office people there were telling .

Since June, July are the hotest so even if NS manages to provide power for 20 hours daily to entire Pakistan well that wont be bad.

waisay bhee hum log to sab kuch Allah pe daal detay hain aglay mahenon main Allah brish kar day :D

No nothing has changed. Still the same load shedding. At least nothing has changed in Rawalpindi.

15 billion dollar bail out package is their whole plan to end energy crisis... bloody beggar !

also 2000 MW through Sugar Mills and 4500 of Basha Dam. And Nandipur + Chichon ki maliyan project 900+ MW ( whose machinery is at Karachi port but was never allowed to get into Punjab ) will be made operational in next 6-8 months inshaAllah

now this is 7400 MW and 5000 MW of coal = 12400 MW

and our installed capacity right now is in the range of 20K-23K MW

and all this will be done till 2018 (Bhasha Dam will take longer )

and Pmln is introducing a new act after which investors will be able to sell electricity to locals rather than putting it in the National grid. In other words this sector will be liberalized. So all these projects are not the end. There is a lot more.

oo bhai sab bakwaas hey pehlay PML-N aur iskaay team kay loog BILLSS dena shuuru karain aur haraam ke kamaye aur bijli chori band karain... the BEST LONG AND SHORT TERM PLAN ....

If Pml could sort out this energy crises with some cheap alternative, I might think about giving them my vote next time.

So far so good with Nawaz Sharif. Lets hope he does not turns out to be another Zardari.

yes inshaAllah cheap electricity. and your vote ......... we have 5 years to decide. :cheers: