Peasant defeats landlord !!

Leader

Peasant defeats landlord

pti-rally-afp-670.jpg

ATTOCK, Feb 26: A peasant here on Tuesday defeated a wealthy businessman and landlord and was elected the district president of Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf (PTI). With elections for the 72 union councils of the district having been held three weeks ago, the intra-party election process in Attock is now complete.

The chairman of the PTI district election commission, Rafique Hussain Niazi, confirmed that peasant Waheed Murad garnered 432 votes while his rival Sardar Mumtaz Khan, a landlord, received 360. Murad had the support of Malik Suhail Khan, running for NA-58 Attock-II, and former MPA Syed Ejaz Bukhari, who is contesting PP-15 Attock-I. Rana Liaquat Ali Khan, who was elected unopposed to the position of district general secretary, and former state minister Malik Amin Aslam supported Mumtaz Khan.

The polling station, at a hotel in Attock, was crowded from the opening of voting at 9am until closing at 5pm.

Around 900 PTI workers from six tehsils gathered with supporters of both candidates attempting to gather votes. While some disagreements ensued – over mismanagement of the polling station or workers not being allowed to vote due to missing membership cards – leaders of both camps described the disagreement as positive and democratic. “After the elections, the PTI will be united,” they said.

In other elections, Mohammad Zubair Tanoli and Mohammad Faazil Khan Wardik were elected unopposed as the district’s senior vice-presidents.

Peasant defeats landlord | Pakistan | DAWN.COM

inshallah aik naya Pakistan :pakistan:

Hah that's actually a good question, how do we know these non-degree elected people have brains to cope with the modern world.

Just one question in all of this, don't you have to be a graduate to be a MNA or MPA?

Are all these elected peasants and rickshaw drivers and gardeners degree holders?

No sir that condition is no more. Everyone irrespective of educational qualification can be MP.

Just one question in all of this, don't you have to be a graduate to be a MNA or MPA?

Are all these elected peasants and rickshaw drivers and gardeners degree holders?

Seriously dont get back to square one. we discussed it already.. if you are still stuck at that point, we can go over again...

as graduation to be minimum criteria for getting into Parliament, it has been amended by the ppp/pmln/etc government

Hah that's actually a good question, how do we know these non-degree elected people have brains to cope with the modern world.

ah and how exactly did he manage to beat a stronger candidate in intra party election for the seat of district president?

Seriously dont get back to square one. we discussed it already.. if you are still stuck at that point, we can go over again...

as graduation to be minimum criteria for getting into Parliament, it has been amended by the ppp/pmln/etc government

Then why is there all the hooha about it by the ECP...pardon my ignorance.

And yeah...I would like it if we go over it again.

Is a matriculate enough to run a country and be elected as MNA/MPA? Isn't it ethically wrong as said by Imran Khan himself.

ah and how exactly did he manage to beat a stronger candidate in intra party election for the seat of district president?

Emotions can work in interesting ways...

Tabdeeli aur grass roots ki hakumat ka naara lagana bara asaan hai, magr is ka yeh matlab nhn keh kisi ayere ghayray ko utha kar MNA ticket day do.

It isn't a popularity contest based on emotions.

P.S: I appreciate this election contest within PTI so that guys are not handpicked, but this question has been bugging me for a long time.

Peasant defeats landlord

pti-rally-afp-670.jpg

ATTOCK, Feb 26: A peasant here on Tuesday defeated a wealthy businessman and landlord and was elected the district president of Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf (PTI). With elections for the 72 union councils of the district having been held three weeks ago, the intra-party election process in Attock is now complete.

The chairman of the PTI district election commission, Rafique Hussain Niazi, confirmed that peasant Waheed Murad garnered 432 votes while his rival Sardar Mumtaz Khan, a landlord, received 360. Murad had the support of Malik Suhail Khan, running for NA-58 Attock-II, and former MPA Syed Ejaz Bukhari, who is contesting PP-15 Attock-I. Rana Liaquat Ali Khan, who was elected unopposed to the position of district general secretary, and former state minister Malik Amin Aslam supported Mumtaz Khan.

The polling station, at a hotel in Attock, was crowded from the opening of voting at 9am until closing at 5pm.

Around 900 PTI workers from six tehsils gathered with supporters of both candidates attempting to gather votes. While some disagreements ensued – over mismanagement of the polling station or workers not being allowed to vote due to missing membership cards – leaders of both camps described the disagreement as positive and democratic. “After the elections, the PTI will be united,” they said.

In other elections, Mohammad Zubair Tanoli and Mohammad Faazil Khan Wardik were elected unopposed as the district’s senior vice-presidents.

Peasant defeats landlord | Pakistan | DAWN.COM

inshallah aik naya Pakistan :pakistan:

This is why it is simply illogical, idiotic and silly to support anyone or anything else other than the PTI right now. I mean this is one of the greatest things to ever have happened. PTI is indeed the future of this land and this country.

Then why is there all the hooha about it by the ECP...pardon my ignorance.

And yeah...I would like it if we go over it again.

Is a matriculate enough to run a country and be elected as MNA/MPA? Isn't it ethically wrong as said by Imran Khan himself.

that is forgery,fake documents is considered a crime and if you have submitted fake degrees, then you are held accountable(under 62,63) for your action, even if the rule is no more.

if graduation is the criteria to know if someone is capable or not then your mushy tried that. anyway, its against the democratic sense to begun with.

secondly yes a non educated(not illiterate, corrupt, dishonest) man who has popularity in town, and have a clean past is 100% capable to lead his constituency and representation in the parliament and yes if popularity is nation wide or acceptance in the party, 100% capable to represent the country.

what are you referring to ?

Could be anything, call it luck or hardwork I just don't want to have elected people on positions just because they got elected but because they know what to do. We already have more than enough incompetence in every aspect of life in Pakistan.

I do believe with a vision of prosperity, minimum qualifications and requirements need to be set in the future. For now, I guess I can live with the reason of low literacy rate among locals and save the country from a guaranteed disaster.

sir im a peasant myself dont disrespect me

secondly yes a non educated(not illiterate, corrupt, dishonest) man who has popularity in town, and have a clean past is 100% capable to lead his constituency and representation in the parliament and yes if popularity is nation wide or acceptance in the party, 100% capable to represent the country.

How do you define illiterate?

And secondly, if popularity rather than credibility or capability has to br the leading criteria, then all these goons currently in parliament are elected right. Half of the voters voted for them and they will still, alot of people will still vote for JI, PPP, PPL etc, afterall, it is popularity that decides, not capability.

that is forgery,fake documents is considered a crime and if you have submitted fake degrees, then you are held accountable(under 62,63) for your action, even if the rule is no more.

if graduation is the criteria to know if someone is capable or not then your mushy tried that. anyway, its against the democratic sense to begun with.

sir im a peasant myself dont disrespect me

How did I disrespect you or anybody else in anyway?

Anyways, I apologize if you felt like that.

Could be anything, call it luck or hardwork I just don't want to have elected people on positions just because they got elected but because they know what to do. We already have more than enough incompetence in every aspect of life in Pakistan.

I do believe with a vision of prosperity, minimum qualifications and requirements need to be set in the future. For now, I guess I can live with the reason of low literacy rate among locals and save the country from a guaranteed disaster.

try convincing 20 people to vote for you and you will know how much education you get !!

And secondly, if popularity rather than credibility or capability has to br the leading criteria, then all these goons currently in parliament are elected right. Half of the voters voted for them and they will still, alot of people will still vote for JI, PPP, PPL etc, afterall, it is popularity that decides, not capability.

wish you had read my post.

never mind...

NuclearPak perhaps in the past even I would have doubted this but this kind of thinking it comes because we are very class-concious. We don't want a poor man to come to the top. Let me give you a demographic breakdown to explain to you why this is a necessity. According to HDI 60%+ of our population lives below 2$ a day. This is abject, brutal penury. Now the education of these 60% is basic. 24% of the population is below the poverty line. These are the classes that simply cannot have a degree with the amount they are earning. What you are saying is exclude them.

Now the middle class is estimated from 10% of the population to about 40% though the 40% is way over and 10% is way low though possible. The correct figure is around 11%-20% of the population though this article states 11-14% of the population. So now these are the classes that make up the political spectrum. I had a report on this topic but can't find it right now. It had figures that stated almost all politicians camed from the elite which makes up less than 2% of the population-(not sure about the exact figure as I can't find the report.) so these are the ones in politics. So lets say 20% adding the elite classes-theek? Now these 20% are the only ones who have the opportunity to get educated.

You probably know what I am hinting at. There is no chance a person from the poverty stricken masses can come to the position of political leader. This is his only chance and he has been elected there. This is a great thing nuclearpak even a staunch enemy of PTI should appreciate. Hope you understand bro.

When we talk about this we talk about our positions on top. PTI attempts to break the cycle. Imagine a person earning 6000 Rupees man. Think. How will he pay for college (say IBA) He can't afford it! This is a chance to change the status qou and there are people standing for it. I welcome this step fully.

Whatever you say about PTI it is my humble request you support this. You can criticize PTI brawls, bash Hashmi and Qureshi and say they are old members. But this. This is the most beautiful thing of the PTI and it is a party of the masses.

try convincing 20 people to vote for you and you will know how much education you will get !!

While the show of honesty and equality is a good and new one in Pakistan, lets just hope all the illiterate/uneducated people are not attracted to try out their luck.

Lets assume for a minute that these elected people will never be corrupt, will they be able to do a better job than people more qualified than them is still a reasonable question. What even is the point of pursuing education and degrees if any "Oonga Bonga" with minimal education can be a ruler over a person who knows the ways of the world.

But than again this kind of sh!t can only happen in Pakistan, try the same thing in US or any other developed nation and you'll your place in the world without qualifications.

Military Forum Latest Posts