Pakistan's Loss: A Disaster or a Blessing

What are these actions precisely?

Oh I don't know -let's see.....
  1. Placing dams on any and every river entering Bangladesh - thereby cutting off our lifeblood which is water.
  2. Placing hostile airbases and cantonments all around Bangladesh.
  3. Surrounding Bangladesh with razor wire fences.
  4. Placing non-tariff barriers on Bangladeshi exports to India from the 1970's.
  5. Shooting and Killing sidhey-saadhey bholey-bhaley Bangladeshi village people by trigger-happy BSF, which is state-sanctioned terrorism.
  6. Supplying arms and training to armed tribal insurgents around South-Eastern Bangladesh.
  7. Using RAW to influence our local politics, and even (by some accounts) Jungee activity by fundamentalists.
I could go on and on but this is OT......no answer needed....

Agreed with you. Bangladesh is far behind Pakistan.

I agree actually, Bangladesh is far behind Pakistan in pollution at least. Baarish is a blessing.....

13235645_484967408362118_7747233022655581564_o.jpg

Oh I don't know -let's see.....
  1. Placing dams on any and every river entering Bangladesh - thereby cutting off our lifeblood which is water.
  2. Placing hostile airbases and cantonments all around Bangladesh.
  3. Surrounding Bangladesh with razor wire fences.
  4. Placing non-tariff barriers on Bangladeshi exports to India from the 1970's.
  5. Shooting and Killing sidhey-saadhey bholey-bhaley Bangladeshi village people by trigger-happy BSF, which is state-sanctioned terrorism.
  6. Supplying arms and training to armed tribal insurgents around South-Eastern Bangladesh.
  7. Using RAW to influence our local politics, and even (by some accounts) Jungee activity by fundamentalists.
I could go on and on but this is OT......no answer needed....

I agree actually, Bangladesh is far behind Pakistan in pollution at least. Baarish is a blessing.....

13235645_484967408362118_7747233022655581564_o.jpg
Lol dont even compare babgladesh with Pakistan. Pakistan is a semi industrialized economy, has 200 million people, has nuclear weapons, larger economy based on nominal GDP. What does bangladesh have? Bangladesh is a very backward country.:lol:

Thik hai bhai - backward you say. Maybe so.

But we have our own yardstick. Such as this....

Hopefully someone in your country gets what this means for our future....

12814168_459672490891610_4604892804562885543_n.jpg

863px-2014_Gender_gap_index_world_map%2C_Gender_Inequality_Distribution.svg.png

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Global_Gender_Gap_Report

Also,

Bangladesh does trail Pakistan in industrial activity, although not as much as people think (we had to build everything from scratch in 1971), however we are rapidly catching up, look at the growth rate....

Industry, value added > Current US$
Bangladesh: $31.99 billion
Ranked 30th.
Pakistan: $47.88 billion
Ranked 27th. 50% more than Bangladesh

Industry, value added > Current US$ per capita
Bangladesh:$206.79
Ranked 95th.
Pakistan:$267.24
Ranked 89th. 29% more than Bangladesh

Manufacturing growth
Bangladesh:6.68
Ranked 9th.
Pakistan:-3.68
Ranked 60th.

Manufacturing output
Bangladesh:22.24 billion
Ranked 40th.
Pakistan:26.3 billion
Ranked 35th. 18% more than Bangladesh

Manufacturing, value added >Current US$
Bangladesh:$19.74 billion
Ranked 24th.
Pakistan: $31.42 billion
Ranked 18th. 59% more than Bangladesh

Manufacturing, value added >Current US$ per capita
Bangladesh: $127.59
Ranked 79th.
Pakistan: $175.38
Ranked 73th. 37% more than Bangladesh

Patent applications > Residents > Per capita
Bangladesh: 0.258 per 1 million people
Ranked 75th.
Pakistan: 0.41 per 1 million people
Ranked 69th. 59% more than Bangladesh

Also look at the amount of construction happening here,

Gross value added by construction:
Bangladesh: 8.34 billion
Ranked 53th. 2 times more than Pakistan
Pakistan: 4.05 billion
Ranked 65th.

Gross value added by construction per capita
Bangladesh: 53.94
Ranked 172nd. 2 times more than Pakistan
Pakistan: 22.62
Ranked 188th

Oh wow is that the best you could cook up with. Some gender gap crap. I'm talking about manufacturing, level of education, weapons manufacturing, level of nationalism, level of economy based on nominal GDP, HDI, GINI index, GDP PPP. Bangladesh is a dump country.

Your level of maturity and attitude is sad.....as is your level of English. How old are you? Cook up with??

Gender-gap is not crap - it's one of the primary 'soft' metrics used by investors (not three-minute Google experts) to measure the level of how 'civilized' a country is and how attractive an investment destination it is, everything else (in your words GDP, HDI, GINI index, GDP PPP, i.e. Googling catchwords) and infra maturity being more or less equal.

Women are the primary driver and labor force in low-cost industries like Textiles and Shoes - that is how Taiwan, Korea and most recently China, came up the ladder to being middle-income economies. Pakistan has to do the same. Weapons exports won't do it. Pharma may - but so far South Asian countries other than India have been lackluster in it. So if Pakistan wants to be a middle-income economy at some point there will be some hard choices to make. I say this as a well-wisher, otherwise why would I care?

In South Asia both Pakistan and India trail Bangladesh in this Gender-gap regard and their labor costs are also significantly higher than Bangladesh. Now guess where foreign investment (especially - escaping from China) is going to go?

As small as Bangladesh is, it has over fifty SEZ's almost ready to go, most of them full of export factories, making everything China itself makes. The number of SEZ's will cross one hundred soon.

There are multiple low cost logistics channels to carry containers back and forth from ports (inland river-ports, rail-container logistics and of course semi-truck). And all containers available from ship to factory-dock in a matter of days, not weeks. We've been planning and building this for over two decades now. You (or other Pakistanis here) hardly have a clue.

Even Pakistanis I have spoken to have agreed with me worrying about these factors.

Why do you think hundreds of Pakistani investors have set up textile mills, or just dyeing and weaving units in Bangladesh? We didn't ask them to come, they did it themselves. We are running a power surplus for over five years now. In five more years we will be adding another 15,000 MW to the grid at a minimum.

Trying to engage you in sane productive discourse was a mistake because you are incapable of according or getting respect. You have been ignored and reported.

@waz and @WAJsal bhais please take note.

@Khan saheb, @Matirpola, @Doyalbaba

Placing dams on any and every river entering Bangladesh - thereby cutting off our lifeblood which is water.

Far from water being cut off, Bangladesh actually faces a severe flooding problem. If and when all major rivers experience peak flow at the same time, the only thing preventing Bangladesh from going totally under water is the dams that we built. And it's not as if you don't directly benefit either. India currently supplies 500-1,100 MW of electricity to Bangladesh, and will also supply all the surplus power from these hydro-electric projects as well. Instead of complaining you should be grateful.

Placing hostile airbases and cantonments all around Bangladesh.

Have you looked at a map lately? Can you tell me why India would want to place military installations on its Eastern side? Hint: It has NOTHING to do with Bangladesh, because there is a slightly larger security concern up north.

Surrounding Bangladesh with razor wire fences.

We want to keep illegal Bangladeshis out. Just as you would want to keep illegal Indians out. And we end up paying for something which is mutually desired. A simple "thanks" from you would suffice.

Placing non-tariff barriers on Bangladeshi exports to India from the 1970's.

Okay this I must say is an area in which Indian government has not been particularly bright, and not just with Bangladesh. We have some very random exim policies and I concede this one.

Shooting and Killing sidhey-saadhey bholey-bhaley Bangladeshi village people by trigger-happy BSF, which is state-sanctioned terrorism.

If and when an innocent Bangladeshi has died, as humans we will all regret that. However, you should understand that it all started with the barbaric killing of BSF jawans in 2001. Have the perpetrators been punished? Has there even been an official apology for that?

Supplying arms and training to armed tribal insurgents around South-Eastern Bangladesh.
Using RAW to influence our local politics, and even (by some accounts) Jungee activity by fundamentalists.

Kindly take off the tin foil hat right now. Unless you can identify a motive, even engaging in a discussion on this subject is futile. What exactly does India wish to achieve by arming insurgents?

As for interference in internal politics, for whatever it is worth, BNP is not as friendly towards India as Awami, so our preference is obvious. And who wouldn't like to keep Jamaat away from power?

And finally, after all the trivialities, fell free to mention the real reason for your hostility towards India. Is it because of the insecurity of being from a smaller nation, in which case I can assure you we have no evil designs against Bangladesh. And if it is because of some indeterminable dislike because you view India as a "Hindu" nation, then feel free to take a hike.

Your level of maturity and attitude is sad.....as is your level of English. How old are you? Cook up with??

Gender-gap is not crap - it's one of the primary 'soft' metrics used by investors (not three-minute Google experts) to measure the level of how 'civilized' a country is and how attractive an investment destination it is, everything else (in your words GDP, HDI, GINI index, GDP PPP, i.e. Googling catchwords) and infra maturity being more or less equal.

Women are the primary driver and labor force in low-cost industries like Textiles and Shoes - that is how Taiwan, Korea and most recently China, came up the ladder to being middle-income economies. Pakistan has to do the same. Weapons exports won't do it. Pharma may - but so far South Asian countries other than India have been lackluster in it. So if Pakistan wants to be a middle-income economy at some point there will be some hard choices to make. I say this as a well-wisher, otherwise why would I care?

In South Asia both Pakistan and India trail Bangladesh in this Gender-gap regard and their labor costs are also significantly higher than Bangladesh. Now guess where foreign investment (especially - escaping from China) is going to go?

As small as Bangladesh is, it has over fifty SEZ's almost ready to go, most of them full of export factories, making everything China itself makes. The number of SEZ's will cross one hundred soon.

There are multiple low cost logistics channels to carry containers back and forth from ports (inland river-ports, rail-container logistics and of course semi-truck). And all containers available from ship to factory-dock in a matter of days, not weeks. We've been planning and building this for over two decades now. You (or other Pakistanis here) hardly have a clue.

Even Pakistanis I have spoken to have agreed with me worrying about these factors.

Why do you think hundreds of Pakistani investors have set up textile mills, or just dyeing and weaving units in Bangladesh? We didn't ask them to come, they did it themselves. We are running a power surplus for over five years now. In five more years we will be adding another 15,000 MW to the grid at a minimum.

Trying to engage you in sane productive discourse was a mistake because you are incapable of according or getting respect. You have been ignored and reported.

@waz and @WAJsal bhais please take note.

@Khan saheb, @Matirpola, @Doyalbaba

Pakistanis set up textiles industries in Bangladesh because it is cheaper there, and the labor is cheaper in Bangladesh. lol.:lol: You too have been reported fore being ludicrous. Bangladesh is behind Pakistan, that is the point. :disagree:

BD GDP/Capita is growing at 6% a year compared to 3% for Pakistan.

Latest estimates place GDP/capita at 1500 US dollars for both BD and Pakistan.

The two economies simply cannot be compared. BD will soon become a more prosperous society than Pakistan.

BD GDP/Capita is growing at 6% a year compared to 3% for Pakistan.

Latest estimates place GDP/capita at 1500 US dollars for both BD and Pakistan.

The two economies simply cannot be compared. BD will soon become a more prosperous society than Pakistan.
Don't make me laugh.

Bangladesh more prosperous than Pakistan? Check this out: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_GDP_(nominal)_per_capita

Pakistan is at:
$1,428

Bangladesh is at:
$1,292

Thats a significant difference.

Let us look at 2017 figures and then we can talk.

Anyways I wish the best for Bangladesh. But point is that Bangladesh is behind Pakistan in many social indicators and in industry.

Thats it. I know it will hurt some Bangladeshis.

I am loving these Indexes and Graphs being posted by mainly Bangladeshis who are Living abroad and mostly know about Bangladesh from Google.
The way you people fought against us Pakistanis and got rid of us should have been the start of a revolution, but was it?
I guess not.
Rich are filthy rich in Bangladesh and poor are living in abysmal conditions and still going down.
I was in Chittagong in 1997 . I used to go to a small roadside restaurant every morning for breakfast because the people there were very nice and so was the food. I was staying in a hotel in central city , the restaurant was on the outskirts.
After the breakfast i used to go for a walk on my own. For two three days in a row i saw a woman sitting in the shade of a tree cooking something and 5-6 scarcely dressed children playing around her. I thought they were on family picnic or something.
One day it was raining very hard and i still saw the woman and the children under the same tree and they were covering themselves with a large plastic sheet. That was a bit odd.
Why would someone not go home while its raining and still continue with their picnic?
So i approached the family under the tree and sat down with them. The woman was initially scared by i assured her in my a bit better than rubbish Bengali language , that i mean no harm, i just want to as her a few things, and so the conversation began. From what i could understand was that the family lived under the tree permanently. She told me much more but i failed to understand. Went back to the roadside restaurant and requested a Bengali man to come with me and translate. With the help of the translator i could understand what the woman was saying.
She told me that she is from a nearby village and was marred to a local guy few years ago. Her husband was a farmer and made 6 children with her , one after another but couldn't provide for such a large family. Eventually he came under too much debt and one day simply disappeared. She was kicked out of the house by the people her husband owed money and she had no choice but to start living under the tree with her children. Needless to say that i spent my own money on helping her . But after asking around i found out that in Rural Bangladesh men abandoning their families after making too many kids and coming under debt , isn't uncommon and happens a lot.

So the point of writing this story from my own experience is that the Bangladesh which was promised to Bengali people in 1971 by Sheikh haseena's dad wasn't there at least until 1997 when i saw the country. Instead of relentlessly playing the same old broken record of Pakistan did this and Pakistani army did that, If people of Bangladesh and their leaders concentrate on using Bengali nationalism to provoke people on working for Bangladesh and helping each other and their country, then that will be much better.
Your leaders fooled you in 1971 and still fooling you by playing tricks on you and hiding their own corruption and in capabilities behind the "Monster of Pakistan" . Its an easy trick and woks very well. Just keep blaming it all on Pakistan and keep pulling out some sob story from 1971 . What benefit this will give to Bengali people? None.
We Pakistanis got it in 1971. We realized you dont want us and left you. But did you make the best of your freedom?