Pakistan's 1st anthem, penned by a Hindu, stirs debate

AnGrz_Z_K_Jailer

ISLAMABAD: A lively debate over Pakistan’s founder Mohammed Ali Jinnah commissioning an Urdu-knowing Hindu to write the country’s first national
anthem has erupted both in the real and virtual world after a write-up on the issue in a daily.

Long before Hafeez Jullundhri’s lyrics were adopted as the national anthem in 1950s, Pakistan had an anthem written by Jagannath Azad, son of Lahore-based poet Tilok Chand Mahroom. Azad was commissioned by Jinnah to write the anthem three days before the creation of Pakistan in 1947.

Azad’s lyrics — “Ae sarzameene paak/Zarray teray haen aaj sitaaron se taabnaak/ Roshan hai kehkashaan se kaheen aaj teri khaak/Ae sarzameene paak” (Oh land of Pakistan, the stars themselves illuminate each particle of yours/rainbows brighten your very dust) — were replaced six months after Jinnah’s death in September 1948. The
National Anthem Committee chose Hafeez Jullundhri’s poem from among 723 submissions.

In an article for the Dawn, writer-activist Beena Sarwar wrote, “In all these deviations from Mr Jinnah’s vision, perhaps discarding Azad’s poem appears minuscule. But it is important for its symbolism. It must be restored and given a place of honour, at least as a national song our kids learn. After all, Indian kids learn Iqbal’s “Saarey jahan se accha.”
Adil Najam, a well-known blogger, posted speeches by Azad on his blog. “I asked my friends why Jinnah Sahab wanted me to write the anthem. They said the Quaid wanted the anthem to be written by an Urdu-knowing Hindu.

“Through this, I believe Jinnah Sahab wanted to sow the roots of secularism in Pakistan,” read a post that quoted Azad. The debate comes at a time when Pakistanis are having a fresh look at the role played by Jinnah in the partition, thanks to a new biography of the country’s founder penned by former BJP leader Jaswant Singh.

Link : Pakistan's 1st anthem, penned by a Hindu, stirs debate - Pakistan - World - NEWS - The Times of India

Pakistan's 1st anthem, penned by a Hindu, stirs debate

ISLAMABAD: A lively debate over Pakistan’s founder Mohammed Ali Jinnah commissioning an Urdu-knowing Hindu to write the country’s first national
anthem has erupted both in the real and virtual world after a write-up on the issue in a daily.

Long before Hafeez Jullundhri’s lyrics were adopted as the national anthem in 1950s, Pakistan had an anthem written by Jagannath Azad, son of Lahore-based poet Tilok Chand Mahroom. Azad was commissioned by Jinnah to write the anthem three days before the creation of Pakistan in 1947.

Azad’s lyrics — “Ae sarzameene paak/Zarray teray haen aaj sitaaron se taabnaak/ Roshan hai kehkashaan se kaheen aaj teri khaak/Ae sarzameene paak” (Oh land of Pakistan, the stars themselves illuminate each particle of yours/rainbows brighten your very dust) — were replaced six months after Jinnah’s death in September 1948. The
National Anthem Committee chose Hafeez Jullundhri’s poem from among 723 submissions.

In an article for the Dawn, writer-activist Beena Sarwar wrote, “In all these deviations from Mr Jinnah’s vision, perhaps discarding Azad’s poem appears minuscule. But it is important for its symbolism. It must be restored and given a place of honour, at least as a national song our kids learn. After all, Indian kids learn Iqbal’s “Saarey jahan se accha.”
Adil Najam, a well-known blogger, posted speeches by Azad on his blog. “I asked my friends why Jinnah Sahab wanted me to write the anthem. They said the Quaid wanted the anthem to be written by an Urdu-knowing Hindu.

“Through this, I believe Jinnah Sahab wanted to sow the roots of secularism in Pakistan,” read a post that quoted Azad. The debate comes at a time when Pakistanis are having a fresh look at the role played by Jinnah in the partition, thanks to a new biography of the country’s founder penned by former BJP leader Jaswant Singh.

Some times I ask myself which lobby is behind such developments in the country. Pakistan's history is not 2000 years old that old books and people who were part of Independence struggle are eliminated. Who wants to deny the fact that Two Nation theory was based on Religion instead of geographical distribution of people of India and who would forget that millions of Muslims and Hindus were massacre not because they were coming from another part of land but because they were either Hindus or Muslims. We have fought wars, got our brothers, sisters, mothers and children murdered for the creation and defense of this homeland which is made and existing in the name of Islam. Then who are the people who want to tarnish the Islamic Image of Pakistan and paint it with secular (religious less) state?

Who are those Patriotic Pakistani who want Pakistan, the Islamic Democratic Pakistan to be a Secular State? If being secular was a purpose, why did we got Independence from India which is a secular state already. What is our justification of existence as a country and Nation?

Iran and Pakistan are the only two Muslims States that can fight in the name of Islam. We have values and we feel the pain of Muslim brothers and are more likely to stand for them at the time of need. Is that aspect pinching? Is that what they want to nullify by projecting itself to be a secular state?

Without any proof, without any backing, such absurd claims are being laid that Quaid Azam wanted National Anthem to be written by Hindu Poet and thus confirmed he wanted Pakistan to be a secular state? If that's the case, lets collapse our borders with India, let Hindi be the language of this country and lets all stand in our schools and sing Wand-e-Matram.

This shouldn't be a debate or an issue because a Pakistani can be from any religion. I think there is a lot of unnecessary hype behind the issue.

Secondly our national anthem was selected by a committee and I am sure that if Quaid was alive at that time, he must have accepted that decission too.

Last not least, yes, lets make this anthem into a song because Quaid liked it and because it shows the tolerant side of Pakistan.

What’s point of bringing the religious background of poet who might be a writer of Pakistan's national anthem? Now next you will bring up same issue about the first law minister of Pakistan

Our national anthem did not evolve in one day. There should not be fun in it saying that after 1947 for so many years we did not have our national anthem. Till we got our final national anthem so many poets wrote anthem and on different occasions “unofficially” these different anthems were sung again “unofficially.” There was a committee made for final review and approval of national anthem right after 14th august 1947 which in different forms survived till approval of final anthem. This committee considered so many things for final approval. The poet whose anthem was selected as National anthem was not influential in ruling class at that time, so there is no doubt about being decided on merit. At least there was no religious minority/majority or ethnic issue was considered.

I am still not sure where Islamic Shariah stops any one to follow his/her religion or force any one to follow state's religion, which is actually main concept of Secularism. So, those who bring this issue, are actually illiterate from Islamic SHariah, or they just want an issue to stop implementing shariah in Pakistan (to me only criminals will try to stop implementation if Islamic Shariah in pakistan, since this will put some harsh punishments for them, or solve their cases fastly).

This shouldn't be a debate or an issue because a Pakistani can be from any religion. I think there is a lot of unnecessary hype behind the issue.

as I see it, the Indians feel that somehow they are more tolerant with the Muslims there (who they cautiously call Indians only) than we are with our Hindu Brothers here (which the Indians would like to portray as oppressed).

I am a Muslim Pakistani, I believe in Islam and Pakistan. Neither of whom prevent one of our Hindu Brothers from being an active equal and upright Pakistani.

Reality is not ideal, there have been many bad instances, but if you guys think that we dont consider Hindus as equals because the Shariah tells us otherwise or the constitution or because that we are a majority here, then, you are all, grossly mistaken.

I am still not sure where Islamic Shariah stops any one to follow his/her religion or force any one to follow state's religion,

It doesnt, but then, are Muslims the major power controlling the world, NO.

What did happen when they were?

Well, In India, Muslims and Hindus lived together as brothers for more than a thousand years, Tipu Sultan and Mughal Emperors had Hindus as their childhood best friends and Prime Ministers.

Can anyone deny that that didnt happen ?

As far as the thread is concerned, I am completely alright with the fact that our first Anthem was written by a Hindu Pakistani, if it were the Anthem today then I would have loved to chyme in, BUT, whatever happened, history has now given us the Hafeez Jalandhari version of it, we have come to know it Only as the our Anthem, and therefore for old times sake, I wont want to change it.

And who do you guys think Hafeez Jalandhari was? by that RSS or whatever leader all people born in India are Hindu right? where do you guys think Jalandhar is? or even, where do you think the Quaid was basically from? ;)

:pakistan:

Islamic state by definition does not stop any person to follow its beliefs. What we have seen in so-called Islamic states actually those are theocratic states called as Islamic states. I am still wondering what this has anything to do with our national anthem. Why it is being debated after so many years. Irrespective of one’s religion anthem is symbol of our unity and it is our identity. Surprisingly both threads about Pak National anthem are started by Indians.

Originall posted byrighteous_fire

As far as the thread is concerned, I am completely alright with the fact that our first Anthem was written by a Hindu Pakistani, if it were the Anthem today then I would have loved to chyme in, BUT, whatever happened, history has now given us the Hafeez Jalandhari version of it, we have come to know it Only as the our Anthem, and therefore for old times sake, I wont want to change it.

And who do you guys think Hafeez Jalandhari was? by that RSS or whatever leader all people born in India are Hindu right? where do you guys think Jalandhar is? or even, where do you think the Quaid was basically from?

Why you say like this that first anthem was written by Hindu Pakistani, actually he was Pakistani Hindu and there is a big difference between them. As if you ask me who am I ? I will say Pakistani Muslim or Canadian Muslim. Now every body is dancing on this issue that “first” author of Pak National anthem was Hindu, there were more than five hundred contenders for National anthem, can any one tell me the ethnic and religious back ground of even other 100 contenders.If yes please come forward otherwise :tdown:

How huge is this ISI....in terms of Men?

It is involved in literally every thing in India and Pakistan