Pakistan .. West Indies series

KARACHI:

Pakistan all-rounder Shoaib Malik has said that he is ready to fill the gap of an off-spinner left in the team after Muhammad Hafeez was banned from bowling.

West Indies will face Pakistan in the first of three-match T20I series on Sunday at the National Stadium of Karachi, and Malik, who is currently the most experienced player in the team, says he is ready to serve Sarfraz and co in any way possible.

“I have been working on both bowling and batting since a very long time,” said Malik. “I haven’t left bowling and have also bowled whenever asked to do so. If the team management thinks that I should bowl then I will.”

The 36-year-old said he has always tried to deliver his best when he has been assigned a role by the team management. “The team management has always considered me as an all-rounder and I will be playing as one in the upcoming series [against West Indies],” he said. “I will bowl, field and bat for Pakistan whenever needed.”

BATMAN bin SUPARMAN, seems like you have joined the "curse brigade" as you quite routinely throw around curses when putting forth your point of view.

Remember the spanking you got on a different thread where you sneakily tried to edit all your posts? lol. Good times.

METANOIA BIN NAJAM SETHI don't take it personal.

Sir yeh online forum hai, aap ko mein kabhi bhi personal nahi lu ga. :)

Btw I sometimes refer you as BATMAN bin SUPARMAN because of the following just to tease you:

upload_2018-3-31_23-54-3.jpeg

I don't mean anything malicious.

Sarfraz hopes WI series will attract big crowds

299034_9798560_updates.jpg

KARACHI: Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed is itching to take the field against the West Indies on Sunday for the first T20I, his first international game on home soil in a decade.

“It's a very good thing that international cricket is coming back (to Karachi) after nine years. It was heartening to see the way people responded to the PSL. The credit goes to the PCB and our agencies the way they organised PSL matches,” he told reporters here at the National Stadium on Saturday.

“I am also very excited as I've last played an international game here in 2008 against India and saw the capacity crowd and now when I saw the crowd in the PSL final. The credit goes to the whole nation and I hope they will see very good cricket,” he added.

Sarfraz hoped that fans will make the three-match series as successful as last Sunday’s PSL final in Karachi.

“The way you have made the PSL successful by packing the stadium, I hope you will do the same again. I request all the people to come and support cricket. If you do the same and make this series successful more and more teams will also come to Pakistan. For me the real excitement was when the whole stadium was reciting the national anthem.

“We are very excited to play at home in Karachi, especially I am very excited to play in my home city and hopefully the whole crowd will support us we all enjoy here and play good cricket here in Pakistan,” he said.

Sarfraz hoped that his potent bowling arsenal will deliver again.“If you look at the success rate of Pakistan team over the last two years, bowlers had performed very well. Our bowlers like Amir, Hasan, Faheem, Shadab and also Usman Shinwari, who is making a comeback while we have selected two bowlers Rahat Ali and Shaheen Afridi from the PSL. I hope if we scored well while batting first our bowlers have the capability to defend the total.”

Sarfraz hoped that youngsters like Hussain Talat and Asif Ali, who are expected to make their international debuts in the series, will make their presence felt.

“It’s an opportunity for Hussain Talat and Asif Ali to show their talent if the opportunities come to them. If they play well they could be considered for longer formats too.

“We tried to select those players who performed well in the PSL. If you look at our team we have been selecting young players and try to give them full chance. We will try to give full chance to Asif Ali and Hussain Talat and whenever there's a chance we will also use Shaheen Afridi,” he said.

Sarfraz evaded a question over the issue of captaincy for World Cup 2019.“I don't know who will be the captain in 2019 World Cup, only PCB could answer it better. But what I can say is that the team is going in right direction. Except for Shoaib Malik and Hafeez Bhai, all players are young and we are carrying them. We have important tours ahead of us. We have a Test series in England, then in UAE then to South Africa and then series against Australia so I think we are going in right direction,” he said.

Asked about the fitness of key players like Imad Wasim and Rumman Raees, Sarfraz said: “I haven't spoken with Imad but what I know he has not recovered from his head and knee injuries and he is resting. I hope he will come back after making a recovery. Rumman is also going through rehabilitation, but I hope they both will recover and make a comeback.”

West Indies win toss, opt to bowl against Pakistan in first T20I

1674877-image-1522593428-601-640x480.jpg

PHOTO: AFP

Pakistan and West Indies are ready to face each other in the first T20I of the three-match series in Karachi on Sunday.

The Green Shirts are going to start as favourites in the contest, whereas Windies will be looking to upset the home side.

The game will also mark the return of international cricket in Karachi after a gap of nine years, and you can catch all the action live here.

l_299402_074422_updates.jpg

Pakistan 106 for 2 !! 12th over, good batting by sarfaraz and Talat.

203 for 5 Massive Run party in Karachi , by Pakistan

Leave some green on the pitch so it is more competitive

Very poor performance by WI . Fans in stadium would be disappointed to watch such one sided contest ..yes WI is weak teams but still they did not show any intent

Wondering perhaps they should have done a Pakistan All Star vs PSL All Star match instead
West Indies has no fire power in batting

Karachiites show up in great numbers amid tight security to welcome international cricket

Pakistan outclass West Indies in a one-sided encounter to record a mammoth 143-run victory against the visitors.

Pakistan thrashed a jet-lagged West Indies by 143 runs in their Twenty20 opener on Sunday for the second biggest margin of victory in top-level T20 cricket.

Despite this being the first international match in Karachi — Pakistan's largest city — only 18,000 people watched the match in the 33,000-capacity stadium. But those present were in a celebratory mood.

“It's something we've been trying to prove, that it's safe to play here,” said Zehra Kazmi, a housewife.

Aftab Khan, a student, said he was hoping for more top-level cricket on Pakistani soil. “I can't express my feelings in words so we welcome all the players from the international cricket,” he said.

“They should come to Pakistan and play... because Pakistan is a very peaceful country.”

The three-match T20 series against the West Indies is seen as a big step towards reviving international cricket in Pakistan, which was suspended in 2009 following a 2009 militant attack on the Sri Lankan team bus in Lahore.

5ac0f8d5aee9a.jpg

People coming to watch the first T20 match between Pakistan and West Indies. —APP

5ac12ecd749a6.jpg

Cricket fans arrive at the National Stadium before the first T20 match between Pakistan and West Indies in Karachi. — AFP

5ac12ecd95fdc.jpg

A cricket fan holds a placard as he watches the first T20 match between Pakistan and West Indies team. — AFP

5ac12ecdd1b60.jpg

Rangers stand guard as cricket fans lineup at a security checkpoint outside the National Stadium before the first T20 match between Pakistan and West Indies. ─AFP

5ac0f8d5c486e.jpg

People coming to watch the first T20 match between Pakistan and West Indies at National Stadium. —APP

5ac12ecec8ade.jpg

A cricket fan holds a placard as he watches the first T20 match between Pakistan and West Indies team. ─AFP

5ac12ee5a97a7.jpg

Fakhar Zaman watches the ball after playing a shot during the first T20 cricket match between Pakistan and West Indies. ─AFP

5ac12ee637d34.jpg

Hussain Talat watches the ball after playing a shot during the first T20 cricket match between Pakistan and West Indies. ─AFP

5ac12ee604506.jpg

Babar Azam watches the ball after playing a shot during the first T20 cricket match between Pakistan and West Indies. ─AFP

5ac12ee630612.jpg

A ranger stands guard as cricket fans lineup at a security checkpoint outside the National Stadium before the match. ─AFP

5ac12efa4fc83.jpg

Fakhar Zaman and Babar Azam run between the wickets during the first T20 cricket match between Pakistan and West Indies. ─AFP

5ac12f0f43a3e.jpg

West Indies bowler Veerasammy Permaul gestures as he lies on a stretcher after injury during the first T20 cricket match between Pakistan and West Indies at The National Stadium in Karachi. ─AFP

5ac12f0f69cd6.jpg

West Indies cricketer Rayad Emrit celebrates after taking the wicket of unseen Pakistani batsman Babar Azam during the first T20 cricket match between Pakistan and West Indies. ─AFP

5ac12f27099d1.jpg

Mohammad Amir celebrates with teammates after taking the wickets of West Indies batsman Andre Fletcher.

Talat, Malik lead Pakistan to big win over West Indies

1674877-psl-1522598963-910-640x480.jpg

Hussain Talat produced an inspiration performance on his debut and Shoaib Malik’s handy contribution was enough for Pakistan to register a thumping 143-run win over West Indies in the first T20I of the three-match series in Karachi on Sunday.

The victory was Pakistan’s largest in terms of runs in the shortest format of the game, whereas it is the second largest in the history of the format.

After being put into bat first on a historic day, the Men in Green posted 203-5, courtesy Talat’s 41, Fakhar Zaman’s 39, captain Sarfraz Ahmed’s 38 and Malik’s unbeaten 37.

For the visitors, Keemo Paul, Rayad Emrit and Rovman Powell claimed a wicket each.

In reply, the Caribbean giants were bowled out for just 60 in the 14th overs.

l_299408_120927_updates.jpg