Pakistan, the Next Software Hub?

operating systems i believe were created to provide a simplified way to run newer programs without reprogramming the entire computer or parts of it... plus, assembly programming becomes tedious after a while... can you tell me how many instructions does a sun sparc or intel x386 have??

well it depends, if it's really really really real time and very specific task, then an OS is not needed and any OS will only make the system lag more.

I don't know what a sun sparc is....i386 probably has something like 60 something....don't know exactly.

operating systems i believe were created to provide a simplified way to run newer programs without reprogramming the entire computer or parts of it... plus, assembly programming becomes tedious after a while... can you tell me how many instructions does a sun sparc or intel x386 have??
jamahir jee, the essential task of os is to perform basic privileged functions on behalf of the applications. applications cant be allowed to perform those functions themselves otherwise they will be able to do all kinds of fk ups with the computer. hence security is the primary function of os.

these kinds of spur of the moment happy go lucky type of articles are published all the time in every developing country ever. its how many local and foreign papers gain readers, very common tactic. 2.8bn exports are terrible, we should aim to compete with india instead of patting ourselves at such a stage of infancy when of the total lakhs of graduates every year we get only 10,000 of IT.

It is very true friend.

Back when I was in Singapore about 12 years back, Pakistan ran a huge feature (under Musharraf regime) in the Tech feature paper of Singapore Straits Times (main newspaper), saying they were going to overtake India blah blah blah, that a huge IT revolution was just around the corner....interviews with IT company heads and cleverly chosen growth charts etc etc.

But nothing came much of it, and we have 2.8 billion just now, which means the growth so far as not been that good.

Pakistan must invest in its human resources more so it can prosper in all areas of industry, IT and otherwise.

Otherwise coming out with these reports every few years isnt going to change the ground reality!

jamahir jee, the essential task of os is to perform basic privileged functions on behalf of the applications. applications cant be allowed to perform those functions themselves otherwise they will be able to do all kinds of fk ups with the computer. hence security is the primary function of os.

while what you say is correct in the present context, i was only describing to @Faiez why os'es emerged rather than people continuing to use some infinite loop written in assembly language or i suppose machine code. :-)

I am not a computer programmer but i agree with you that making an OS needs a different level of programming.

yes, a os generally is a general purpose program that must allow sub-programs to execute in a secure way ( as gauss said above ), so the os must be programmed to handle all kinds of possible faults and results... and that requires the os designer to be big-picture thinker.

And OS plays a very big role in information warfare.

indeed... nato has a dedicated school for information warfare in estonia and russia has one in siberia, and both would include lessons on how to attack the os in critical systems in the opponent.

And don't understand what stops us from making it.

in india in computing field specifically...

1. people are expected to unquestioningly follow western standards in programming even if they are unnecessarily complicated, whether this be in c language or java or javascript etc... this dissuades people from using innovative and simpler methods.

2. people lack the confidence to ask questions and simplify things for themselves... unless one asks questions, how can one decide if something is necessary or useless.

3. people are intellectually lazy and will exert effort only for salaries and not for the joy of designing something... this makes people constantly ask "oh, why reinvent the wheel??" people should understand that designing a os in india is not reinventing the wheel but a honorable intellectual pursuit.

4. undeniably, indian life is unnecessarily complicated and this translates also into usage of complicated but obsolete technology.

well it depends, if it's really really really real time and very specific task, then an OS is not needed and any OS will only make the system lag more.

you are correct but such usages are few and the code will be necessarily small.

i386 probably has something like 60 something....don't know exactly.

there is two or three os written entirely in assembly but i would suspect their management becomes tough...

snapshot1.png

10 amazingly alternative operating systems and what they could mean for the future | Pingdom Royal

Pennies for indians ! This is the salary package offered for a fresher candidate from india.I am not telling every one will get those figures but a major chunk of professionals are getting good pay compared to any other field.You can't compare to US as cost of living in india is cheap.

Google offers Rs. 1.7 crore salary package to IIT- Indore student - The Hindu

Even one of my friend offered salary of Rs 4,00,000 per month in india, not in IT but as Lab field engineer.Buddy indian's are not peanut as always you think.

@SHAMK9 @Path-Finder @v9s @RiazHaq @Pakistanisage @CHARGER @AZADPAKISTAN2009 @Max Pain

Listen man, we are Pakistanis, we know India and Indians
go sell these to someone who doesnt know Indian.

In key pass 4 pasey kia a gye hain jo in key mun ko daikhta hey usey kehtey hain mere shakal pe na jao mere bank me aik lakh rupia hay.

We are no where even close to India the article is pure rubbish

If we were on a 100 km race , India is at 89 km mark and we are at 12km mark range

------------------Junior School Standard----High School--------University-----POST graduation training

Pakistan--------40% ------------------------------40%----------------41%---------------- 5%

India-------------80%------------------------------ 80%----------------90%----------------70% (Mostly free)

Pakistani Government nor the IT sector have any programs to train the lavel , of training India provides locally

1. people are expected to unquestioningly follow western standards in programming even if they are unnecessarily complicated, whether this be in c language or java or javascript etc... this dissuades people from using innovative and simpler methods.

True. And with the help of IDEs people here make softwares at the expense of practicing core programming.

3. people are intellectually lazy and will exert effort only for salaries and not for the joy of designing something... this makes people constantly ask "oh, why reinvent the wheel??" people should understand that designing a os in india is not reinventing the wheel but a honorable intellectual pursuit.

Mostly here just lack critical thinking and simply follow others instead of creating their own ways. In other words, they don't think out of the syllabus.

We are no where even close to India the article is pure rubbish

If we were on a 100 km race , India is at 89 km mark and we are at 12km mark range

------------------Junior School Standard----High School--------University-----POST graduation training

Pakistan--------40% ------------------------------40%----------------41%---------------- 5%

India-------------80%------------------------------ 80%----------------90%----------------70% (Mostly free)

Pakistani Government nor the IT sector have any programs to train the lavel , of training India provides locally

You have sources for those figures?

In key pass 4 pasey kia a gye hain jo in key mun ko daikhta hey usey kehtey hain mere shakal pe na jao mere bank me aik lakh rupia hay.

Pata nhi tu humare baare me kya kya sun kar bada hua h. Abhi tujhe bohot duniya dekhni h.

Pennies for indians ! This is the salary package offered for a fresher candidate from india.I am not telling every one will get those figures but a major chunk of professionals are getting good pay compared to any other field.You can't compare to US as cost of living in india is cheap.

Google offers Rs. 1.7 crore salary package to IIT- Indore student - The Hindu

Even one of my friend offered salary of Rs 4,00,000 per month in india, not in IT but as Lab field engineer.Buddy indian's are not peanut as always you think.

@SHAMK9 @Path-Finder @v9s @RiazHaq @Pakistanisage @CHARGER @AZADPAKISTAN2009 @Max Pain

I meant compared to Americans obviously.

Pakistan has all the ingredients required to be a software hub, add to that tons of IT freelance professionals as mentioned in the article and a tanked Pakistani Rupee which is a blessing in disguise. The problem is government policies, infrastructure and Pakistan's image worldwide

I understand what you are saying. But have you noticed, you and others who follow IK.....are SO negative on everything???? Things have started to move in the right direction. If you don't like how bad it is in Pakistan, may be you should take your dad's money and invest and live in the UK....like every other Rich Pakistani including IK and his family who have dual allegiance, to Pakistan and to the Queen Mother!!

Where were you in the 90's, in the 2000's and in 2008' and 2012??? How come no one's seen you complain then? Now IK comes in, hates NS and spreads that negative sentiment into everone's head.

A broken system of 70 years, will take some time. One thing I can tell you with experience and by putting my money on it, is that if IK or any of the other people had been in power, not even 20% of the work and investments that have come in, would've come in. So appreciate the work and wait till they get to everything else.

Paypal and payneer don't make or break a country of 200 million people. The users of such systems are .005% out of 200 million strong population. So OBVIOUSLY, the government would focus on the masses first and then the 1 and the 2% high maintenance people like yourself!! Support your system, all these things will come and they have to.

I'm from this field, bringing in $$$ every month, I'm just stating the difficulties I have to face daily being an IT guy myself. There's no negativity about this and this has nothing to do with PTI or IK following. Don't try to paint everything with single brush.

And above 90% of IT guys either work directly with foreign clients, work for a foreign IT company or work for a company that is taking projects from abroad. Local IT market is still decades behind, so local IT work is almost equal to zilch. Now considering this fact, all the IT guys have to bring the money they earn through their foreign clients to Pakistan somehow, and they have limited options available because our banking system doesn't support such payments. Either Paypal, payoneer, skrill or Western Union. Paypal and skrill are affordable but paypal isn't supported in Pakistan and skrill have its issues here. Payoneer and WU are the only options left for us, but both are expansive as hell.

The only reason Pakistan made any strides were Musharraf was in power who was Pro IT and his time helped get IT started at corporate levels.

However the civilian governments do not understand the vital need for what drives IT resource to excellence or any corporation to excellence.

They can't even fix traditional working corporations in Pakistan. How would they understand the need for IT hub

Distributing Laptop does not equals IT , hub