Pakistan navy post 2020 - Future Plans

We need dedicated satelites to cover our EEZ at sea... and for naval operations in AfroPak Ocean.

We already have high access to friendly systems, and also further LIDAR, and SAR and optical SATS are planned.

Forgot to add, expect more missile craft and Damen Corvettes and smaller Patrol craft.

Also plans for more logistics and tanker ships.

PN is working according to a development plan, after the current programmes are well advanced. The follow up will include (if finances and economy are sufficiently strong to allow).

1. 6-8 new frigates (either newer type 054 or next gen PLAN).

2. Jet powered LRMPA to gradually replace P3.

3. Drone aircraft that can perform MP and ASW.

4. A type 071 or similar vessel 1 or 2.

5. A further 4 or 6 Jinnah Corvette/light frigate.

6. A further order of submarines after Hangor program is completed.

7. Coastal sub/special forces program.

8. Further expansion of Pak Marines.

9. Dedicated small number of fighter aircraft.

10. 4 - 6 destroyer vessels with 052 DDG most likely purchased. With talks between Chinese and Pakistani officials already taken place.

11. Development of SSBN and SSN and have a true 2nd and 3rd strike capability.

12. Long Range SLBM and SLCM.

This is very ambitious and any number of things could halt or stop these programs (finances being the most likely). But all the services and especially the Navy are thinking forward.
PN should go for Saab swordfish or Kawasaki P1

PN is working according to a development plan, after the current programmes are well advanced. The follow up will include (if finances and economy are sufficiently strong to allow).

10. 4 - 6 destroyer vessels with 052 DDG most likely purchased. With talks between Chinese and Pakistani officials already taken place.

This is very ambitious and any number of things could halt or stop these programs (finances being the most likely). But all the services and especially the Navy are thinking forward.
@Rafi , Bhai troll tu nahi kerrahay app?:cheesy: …….. I am having feelings , jasay app humarai tang kench raahay hain:angel:
on serious note:
  1. Very logical if we look at our current numbers and required numbers , My guess we pay see 2nd order of Type-54 around 2025.
  2. Again very important and possible , we have to replace P3s , I wont be surprised if Navy is already searching. My guess is they will join PN before 2025.
  3. PN already bought drones ,Naval chief visited one such Unite few days back, I am sure after looking at there utility and other "Benefits" Navy will go for more.
  4. No idea very ambitious , but if PN want world recognition as Big Naval Force then may be , Pakistan Marines also need such Ships.
  5. Agree 4 coverts and that tech transfer doesn't make sense , My guess is around 2030 we will see 4 to 6 more Jinnah Class Coverts.
  6. Pakistan is/was looking for western Sub , as per different forums PN need 14+ SSKs , 8 + 3 = 11 , so we will definitely see one new SSK sub order , Maybe from Germany , Turkey or Italy , Time is very hard to guess but I will go 2030 .
  7. This thing is already in MODP books.
  8. One of Most Important , 50K to 75K+ will be ideal number with proper EQM.
  9. Need of the hour , options are very limited , lets see what future brings(unfold).
  10. After getting 4 Type-54 and 4 Jinnah class coverts around 2025 will be the ideal time , before next order of Frigates and Coverts. This purchase will be real air defence in Seas.
  11. I, Wish and Pray for this ,,,, May be around 2035 or after .
  12. Connected with 11 , I, wish for them too , We pay see visible development around 2035 or after.
Most important is Navy on road of modernization , we cannot (we don't have too) match endia in numbers , but 8 to 10 Jinnah Class coverts , 8 to 10 Frigates (Type-54) and 4+ Type-52D destroyers and 14+ SSKs will be great power for PN (still way less then endian fleet). We have 10+ years and 4 type 54 and 4 Jinnah are already on order.

Good steps, I think the most logical thing is to build the surface fleet with a follow on for the four 054A’s, with four more such ships.
The Jinnah class extension makes sense as well, more ships.

• apart from making sure to continue and build upon the jinnah class by ordering atleast 4 more to be built at home, most will not happen due to constraints
  • no.3,7,12 is happening already
  • no.11 SLCM will be the triad

With all these new toys, the PN will finally become a offensive force.

Especially if PAF/PN work on VTOL aircraft/drones that can use the Amphibious Assault Ships and then use them as tankers/refuellers to fuel surrounding aircrafts like JF-17's, F-16's & any other aircraft.....thus creating a moving base in the middle of the ocean off the coast of Western (maybe Eastern?) India; 200-400 km+ off so as to keep some distance where we can attack them punitively but they can't do any major damage to the AAS and the surrounding flotilla.

The Wasp & American class AAS are better than Type 071 imo.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/America-class_amphibious_assault_ship
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wasp-class_amphibious_assault_ship

Each can carry 1.5k+ troops, have better armament & can carry 5-10+ aircrafts/helis.....whereas the Type 071 only carries 600-800 troops & 4 helis.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Type_071_amphibious_transport_dock

Even the Chinese are moving onto the Type 075; 2nd in displacement to the American AAS/LHD's.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Type_075_landing_helicopter_dock

You mean all this in our lifetime? Or is your definition of "future plan" just a bit more loose? :-)

Ok, let's watch this thread for the next 25 years. :D

@Rafi whistleblower for Navy.
@Khafee whistleblower for Airforce.
who is whistleblower for Army?

With all these new toys, the PN will finally become a offensive force.

Especially if PAF/PN work on VTOL aircraft/drones that can use the Amphibious Assault Ships and then use them as tankers/refuellers to fuel surrounding aircrafts like JF-17's, F-16's & any other aircraft.....thus creating a moving base in the middle of the ocean off the coast of Western (maybe Eastern?) India; 200-400 km+ off so as to keep some distance where we can attack them punitively but they can't do any major damage to the AAS and the surrounding flotilla.

The Wasp & American class AAS are better than Type 071 imo.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/America-class_amphibious_assault_ship
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wasp-class_amphibious_assault_ship

Each can carry 1.5k+ troops, have better armament & can carry 5-10+ aircrafts/helis.....whereas the Type 071 only carries 600-800 troops & 4 helis.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Type_071_amphibious_transport_dock

Even the Chinese are moving onto the Type 075; 2nd in displacement to the American AAS/LHD's.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Type_075_landing_helicopter_dock

Kakaji, USA stopped our sanctioned OHP frigates and you want them to sell us LHD, and single LHD costs nearly 3 billion dollars.

IMO...due to the nature of Pak funding, expect the outcomes to be way more modest...

The publicly known roadmap by 2030 is:

4 054A/P
4 MILGEM
4 F-22P
2 + 2 Corvettes

Let's say the corvettes are littoral seas only, if you look at the 12 frigates, you'll see that you can have 1 054A/P with 2 F-22P or 2 MILGEM in each flotilla.

If you split them into two squadrons, it'd be 2 054 A/P each. It almost seems as though you can add 2 larger frigates or destroyers, one for each squadron, so it'd be 1 DDG, 2 054A/P, and 4 F-22P or MILGEM for each squadron.

IMO...due to the nature of Pak funding, expect the outcomes to be way more modest...

The publicly known roadmap by 2030 is:

4 054A/P
4 MILGEM
4 F-22P
2 + 2 Corvettes

Let's say the corvettes are littoral seas only, if you look at the 12 frigates, you'll see that you can have 1 054A/P with 2 F-22P or 2 MILGEM in each flotilla.

If you split them into two squadrons, it'd be 2 054 A/P each. It almost seems as though you can add 2 larger frigates or destroyers, one for each squadron, so it'd be 1 DDG, 2 054A/P, and 4 F-22P or MILGEM for each squadron.

if PN is due to get all their type 54A's by 2021/2022 than by the end of decade only 4 will be a criminal negligence , if PN has no plans to go with DDG's pre-2030 than at least increase the amount of type 54 and Jinnah class frigate to 8 .

4 Type 54A standard version
4 Type 54A+ upgraded (SAM , Radar , ASW ,SONAR)
4 Jinnah class frigates Standard versions
4 Upgraded Jinnah class with input from Turkey TF-2000 program with similar capabilities

we need to settle with Azmat class design and put at least 2-4 in production . FAC will play a crucial role in upcoming conflicts .

Kakaji, USA stopped our sanctioned OHP frigates and you want them to sell us LHD, and single LHD costs nearly 3 billion dollars.

Beta ji, where did I say to buy anything from the US???

I was quoting the OP who said that we'll acquire a Type 71 or similar vessel. I just said to not buy the Type 71 types of vessel but the bigger AAS/LHD ones. Costs can be driven down if you're working on your own vessels or acquire them from China.

Ap please apni English comprehension par tawajoh karain. :enjoy: