Pakistan accused of match-fixing after semi-final loss to India

Omar1984

Cricket World Cup - Pakistan accused of match-fixing after semi-final loss to India

By IBTimes Staff Reporter | April 1, 2011 2:41 PM GMT

After India's triumph against Pakistan in the Cricket World Cup semi-finals, a petition was filed in the Lahore High Court against the Pakistan Cricket Team, accusing the team of match-fixing in order to create friendly ties with India.

According to Samaa TV reports, Azhar Siddiq, the petitioner, pleaded to the court on Thursday to publish the phone call records of the team and the captain Shahid Afridi. The petition said the match was fixed to promote friendly ties between India and Pakistan.

The petition also said that before the match began, captain Afridi spoke with Interior Minister Rehman Malik and Information Minister Firdous Ashiq Awan on the telephone.

India defeated Pakistan by 29 runs on Wednesday to set-up a final against Sri Lanka in Mumbai on April 2. On Indian Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh's invitation, his Pakistan counterpart Yousuf Gilani attended the match and was seated with Dr. Singh at the Stadium as a part of 'cricket diplomacy' to ease the brittle relationship between the two nations.

Cricket World Cup - Pakistan accused of match-fixing after semi-final loss to India

...and Pakistanis seem to be desperate to justify to themselves the thrashing they received from India.

brothers get over with it yaar. the match is over. u r team faught well winning and losing is all part of the game. i hope india wins orld cup. insha allah.

Useless waste of the the judiciary's time.

- Umar Gulls terrible bowling

- 4 drop catches 2 of which were medium/hard but very doable

- Younis Khan/Kamran Akmal shocking batting

- Misbahs batting was terrible

- Powerplay didnt come on until our best were out

- Umar Gul was kept on the ball and spinners werent used until Indian RR climbed to >10 at the start

- no balls/extras was too much when compared with India

there is too much wrong here, its fixed match!!!

By the way, why does Pakistan even want friendship with a country like India. Notice even when the Pakistan team was losing the match, no Indian would applause when Pakistan made a run. The crowd was mostly quiet when Pakistan made a run.

Why does Pakistan want an enemy as a friend? Didn't Pakistan learn anything from the Raymond Davis fiasco? With friends like that who needs enemies.

- Umar Gulls terrible bowling

- 4 drop catches 2 of which were medium/hard but very doable

- Younis Khan/Kamran Akmal shocking batting

- Misbahs batting was terrible

- Powerplay didnt come on until our best were out

- Umar Gul was kept on the ball and spinners werent used until Indian RR climbed to >10 at the start

- no balls/extras was too much when compared with India

there is too much wrong here, its fixed match!!!

You're just being a sore loser. You lost and the better team won. Get over it.

By the way, why does Pakistan even want friendship with a country like India.

Ask your PM. Personally, I too am not in favour of any frendly gestures towards Pakistani Army unless 26/11 criminals are brought to justice and the terror factory inside Pakistan dismantled.

Notice even when the Pakistan team was losing the match, no Indian would applause when Pakistan made a run.

You probably missed how many Indians on PDF applauded Wahab Riaz's magnificent bowling. Be content with that.

The crowd was mostly quiet when Pakistan made a run.

The crowd wanted Pakistan to lose. Simple. No qualms about it. The crowd will want Pakistan to lose to India any day be it in any sport. That's not rocket science.

How strange, a few months ago entire cricketing fraternity was accusing Pakistan of spot fixing..but Pakistanis at home were obtusely denying these charges.. pointing at some wild conspiracy theories..today situation is diametrically opposite..entire cricketing fraternity is prasing them for their good performance in world cup..while they go about hatching wild conspiracy theories, accusing their players of match fixing.

Why ??..Because they lost to India!!

May I ask Pakistan gave equally uneven performance against New zeaand..where catches were dropped, poor fielding , missed opportunities..why weren't these match fixing accusations brought about then?

Looks like fix to me - supper

Here is what happened , Man mohan called in Gilani , and said look sai baba -- if India lost the game and Pakistan went to Mumbai we are afraid this might trigger a war as the public will be infuriated.

So they agreed , behind closed door here is what we will do , you lose the game , and we will talk peace and next year we will have a series in Pakistan
and also IPL contracts for Senior Paksitani players.

So when Gilani sahib went to India he brought with him the good fortunes and gifts from Pakistani public , eah lo ... go enjoy the finals gift , ker diya ...

Plus we will setup , a hot line to discuss how to deal with terrorism

So all the Senior players like Misbah / Younis were all smiles and shaking hands , as they are guarenteed IPL contracts

Plus PCB is happy too as India Pakistan series in Pakistan would bring in alot of $$$ for PCB

Even Afridi said look yar just let it end , I need to go to IPL too make some $$ let by gone be by gone , and lets do business - legally

Like come on Diplomacy kerne ka time , Semi final main reh giya tha why did they not do diplomacy when our world cup spot was taken , if it was not the case may be the Semi final would have taken place in Pakistan !!!

You seriously think that other teams would have played the world cup in Pakistan with bombs exploding all around them?

Even if you would have got the matches, hardly any team would have agreed to play in today's Pakistan. The result would be a nearly defunct World Cup with most teams pulling out due to security concerns.

You seriously think that other teams would have played the world cup in Pakistan with bombs exploding all around them?

Dude we are not getting rain of Bombs any more lol Raw is very quiet these days in supporting terrorists activities in pak :D..Situation is much better and under control now..

It didn't seem so then. The matches are decided quite in advance.

In fact, even now the situation is only marginally better and that's no solace for international teams especially when a cricket team has been targeted in the past.

Looks like fix to me - supper

Here is what happened , Man mohan called in Gilani , and said look sai baba -- if India lost the game and Pakistan went to Mumbai we are afraid this might trigger a war as the public will be infuriated.

So they agreed , behind closed door here is what we will do , you lose the game , and we will talk peace and next year we will have a series in Pakistan
and also IPL contracts for Senior Paksitani players.

So when Gilani sahib went to India he brought with him the good fortunes and gifts from Pakistani public , eah lo ... go enjoy the finals gift , ker diya ...

Plus we will setup , a hot line to discuss how to deal with terrorism

So all the Senior players like Misbah / Younis were all smiles and shaking hands , as they are guarenteed IPL contracts

Plus PCB is happy too as India Pakistan series in Pakistan would bring in alot of $$$ for PCB

Even Afridi said look yar just let it end , I need to go to IPL too make some $$ let by gone be by gone , and lets do business - legally

No team in the world can win every game, every tornament. Dude just chill and lets move on. Pakistan played well, but India played better. It is a game and we should learn from it.