Pak Increases Defence Budget by 10-15%

greaaaaaaaat news :yahoo::victory::yay:! perhaps we can now get some j-20's ,j-31's and maybe license to manufacture hk-486 :bounce:

Depends on how the money is spend.

If its going to the pockets of corrupt Army Generals and their lavish lifestyles then its a total waste.

Pakistani Military is woefully obselete.

Its needs to modernize its Army Aviation, Naval Aviation, Ground Forces, Missile Forces, etc.

Pakistan needs to spend more n Police and security and I hope this increase in spending will be reflected in e budgets of these brave and deserving organs of the state.

WOW. You serve as a perfect example of a thankless human being. The mere fact that you still continue to have a country is proof enough that they have done their job correct. The men serving in the Armed Forces put their lives everyday in harms way just so we can live a normal and peaceful life. What exactly have you done for Pakistan? Ask the Palestinians or the Lebanese how it feels to have a piece of land but no political rights and freedoms. If it wasn't for Pakistan Army, there was nothing stopping India from doing what Israel did to Lebanon in 2006.

On Topic

The increase in budget is only in terms of nominal rate, factor in inflation and the defence budget has actually decreased in real terms.

I am Pakistani not more or less any other so will come to stand that it's their duty and nothing special in professional terms. If Indian finance ministry increase defense budget then it is justified knowing the fact that they continuously taking control over J&K, Siachen, Sir creek and very bravely violating Pakistani air space with ratio of 1:20, developing air defense in its real meanings and now look at our forces; A REAL ESTATE AGENCY/BUILDERS and nothing more. Now come to Pakistan army with losing 3 wars and still couldn’t succeeded to take back even one of disputed area, failed Kurrum agency operation is in front of you result of bad command & control planning caused death of soldiers which shouldn't as tradition of trained army. and in every budget asking more and more and more to fulfill luxuries of general to Lt, from 1979 they couldn't establish mountain surveillance, air defense, radars etc but with every year double cabins or intercooler are increased despite military/airforce/navy infrastructure and preparedness for any unannounced violations. Our army converted into burger army which only doing business through state/tax payer money.

Why not we should cut more than 50 billion Rup and increase salaries of civil employees? Its more logical rather than burn money to spend on bubbles.

Pakistan needs to spend more n Police and security and I hope this increase in spending will be reflected in e budgets of these brave and deserving organs of the state.

logical when we used to look every time on army/rangers to control the situation, money should be allocated to form ranger level Police and more concentration on elite force training on SSG level so i don't think in future we need army in cities.

Modest increase in defence budget

Shakil Shaikh
Thursday, June 13, 2013
From Print Edition

ISLAMABAD: The newly-elected government of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif went for a modest increase in the defence budget, jacking it up to Rs627.2 billion for the forthcoming fiscal year 2013-14.

After the inclusion of Rs343 billion funds covert expenditure of the armed forces, the total outlay for the defence spending stands at Rs970 billion.

The spending by the armed forces in the next financial yearpredicted by 8 percent plus at the end of current fiscal, the increase in military spending would be almost 1 percent, though originally Rs545.38 billion were allocated for defence budget in the outgoing fiscal.

The new government has allocated Rs3,591 billion as total expenditure including Rs627.2 billion for the country’s defence and Rs762 for development purposes.Out of total allocation of Rs627.2 billion for military spending a large amount would be spent on compulsory expenditure in the shape of defence services, salaries and necessary programmes other than any significant defence purposes.

In comparison, India increased its defence spending by 5.31 percent to fix it at Rs203,672 crore, which is on a very higher side and demonstrated the ambitious Indian defence programme.

On the other hand, Pakistan has been facing hardships because of war on terror with a large spending to fight out terrorists on the western borders. The war on terror is costing Pakistan dearly in terms of human and material losses. The unending war on terror has almost crippled economic progress of the country with foreigners afraid of investing in Pakistan.

Islamabad is hardly in a position with Rs627 billion defence budget to go for purchasing military hardware but to only keep its war machine working.There were some voices heard in the cabinet to cut down the defence budget. But these voices did not make any headway and the proposed Rs627 billion were approved for military spending.

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has been showing a lot of interest to have peace and security on the country’s eastern borders by talking to promotion of trade and restart of serious negotiations in the coming months with Indians.

Besides allocation of Rs627 billion for defence services, there will be another around Rs10 billion allocation for Defence Division, Airports Security Force, Meteorology, Survey of Pakistan and educational institutions etc.

The sitting government in Pakistan always feels hard to spare huge amounts for defence because of slow economic growth, less investment activities and trade and business community permanently under the shadow of energy crisis with massive power shortage and gas crisis.

Modest increase in defence budget - thenews.com.pk

the breakdown mentioned here comes to about $5billion and 6.27 billion, where has the rest of the budget gone?

and PN budget should have been at least $1billion, 62crore $ is not good enough

and what is the Rs.345billion "covert budget"?

It will be good if the defense sector now also publically announce what will be the further distribution in each branch. I understand it might not be feasible to give details but at least they must make they intended and projects clear to everyone. What I am saying is that, for example, Air force must announce that out of there allocated share, this amount will go in pays, this for the future development of JF-17 and this amount for new aircraft procurement (may not disclose numbers and what plane they will be going for but must at least show the intend if they are going for new platform in transport, fighter or intelligence)

Same goes for navy, like stating the amount to go to pay, new ships and new subs. Similarly for Army.

What this will do is that it will strengthen the trust of nation in army and will answer the many questions that are now being raised in media about the military spendings. If the announced projects are now conceived then at least people will know what they are talking about and if the announced projects are materialized then it will shut them up.

Must induce some public accountability and transparency, Not in depth but at least to a level where people get to know what the money is planned to be spent for!

Regards!

greaaaaaaaat news :yahoo::victory::yay:! perhaps we can now get some j-20's ,j-31's and maybe license to manufacture hk-486 :bounce:

ghar me pehene ka patlon nahi aur baatain J-20 ke

beta sudhar jao

tumhare daddy ka maal nahi he ke jaise udaye jao

Total increase of federal budget 2013-2014 as compare to 2012-2013 is 24.4%

And how much increase current account deficit & debt on Pakistan economy in federal budget 2013-14 compare to 2012-13 ?

2012-13's official inflation is about 13% (IMO actual inflation is quite higher), So - on net there is no raise but decrease

It will be good if the defense sector now also publically announce what will be the further distribution in each branch. I understand it might not be feasible to give details but at least they must make they intended and projects clear to everyone. What I am saying is that, for example, Air force must announce that out of there allocated share, this amount will go in pays, this for the future development of JF-17 and this amount for new aircraft procurement (may not disclose numbers and what plane they will be going for but must at least show the intend if they are going for new platform in transport, fighter or intelligence)

Same goes for navy, like stating the amount to go to pay, new ships and new subs. Similarly for Army.

What this will do is that it will strengthen the trust of nation in army and will answer the many questions that are now being raised in media about the military spendings. If the announced projects are now conceived then at least people will know what they are talking about and if the announced projects are materialized then it will shut them up.

Must induce some public accountability and transparency, Not in depth but at least to a level where people get to know what the money is planned to be spent for!

Regards!

That is a great idea in theory, but will never work in practice Sir @Arsalan .

The problem is the lack of credibility over any government figures, not just the defense budget, no matter what level of detail is employed. The defense budget, for example, does not include the military pensions or the nuclear programs, or arbitrary "end-of-year" adjustments via ad hoc grants. The debt interest and principal payments are not properly disclosed. The inflation figures are a joke. That is the real issue. And if we want the truth about our national finances, there are other much better places to start.

However, I will remind you of the famous movie line about wanting the truth but not being able to handle it.

And how much increase current account deficit & debt on Pakistan economy in federal budget 2013-14 compare to 2012-13 ?

link of official budget document is given in my previous post I think you could figure it out by your own........:pop: