Opposition's misplaced political outrage

PARIKRAMA

Opposition's misplaced political outrage

Posted on: 12:54 PM IST Dec 04, 2015 IST

The intolerance debate is important, something that deserves serious discussion in Parliament. Crimes against intellectuals and minorities are condemnable, and no matter the where or how of the crime, it was essential Parliament convene to deliberate over the issue. However, after hearing Left leader Mohammed Salim and Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi’s statements, the Opposition seems to have trivialized the entire debate, uninterested in the specifics of the cases which sparked the entire controversy.

From the very beginning of his tirade, Mohammed Salim accused the Centre of unleashing violent fringe groups across the nation, even hitting out at Home Minister Rajnath Singh for allegedly referring to Prime Minister Modi’s rise to power as a Hindu ruler’s ascent. After Rajnath Singh challenged Salim’s accusation in the House, the Outlook Group had to print an apology, as Salim referred to an article falsely attributing the statement made by the late VHP leader Ashok Singhal to the Home Minister.

Rahul Gandhi took the debate to another level. He accused the BJP for the Dadri murder saying the victim was killed because he was a Muslim, even hitting out at the Centre for allegedly slapping sedition charges against dissenters. Rahul Gandhi’s rant was like a train going off the rails, where he even accused the BJP for the murders of academics Dabholkar and Kalburgi, forgetting that they were all killed under the jurisdiction of Congress governments. It was puzzling to see how confidently and incorrectly Rahul Gandhi blamed the BJP for multiple crimes across the nation.

Rajnath Singh gave a point-by-point reply to Rahul Gandhi in Parliament, highlighting how the Centre sought a report from the Uttar Pradesh government on Dadri, which replied that there was no communal angle to the crime. He even highlighted that it was against the ethos of federalism for the Centre to interfere with the law and order machinery of state governments, stating that he was ready to sanction a CBI enquiry for any case the states approached him with.

However, the Congress leader was in no mood to hear a counter and left Parliament when the Home Minister spoke, a clear sign of his level of tolerance.

The intolerance debate championed by ‘intellectuals’ and the Opposition is centered on the 'objectionable’ statements by BJP leaders and the 'silence' of Prime Minister Modi. However, the debate has completely ignored the execution of justice. No questions have been raised against the Samajwadi and Congress governments in Uttar Pradesh and Karnataka on the progress of the investigation into the Dadri and Kalburgi murders. Why aren’t these governments fast tracking the investigation, focusing on convicting the culprits? They are the parties highlighting their outrage in Parliament, yet the progress of the investigation has been completely lethargic, reducing 'Dadri' and 'Kalburgi' to mere punchlines in the discussion and campaign against the NDA government.

How isn’t the progress of these cases the central part of the intolerance debate? Is the aim of the narrative to target the BJP and PM Modi or win the fight against communalism?

The intolerance debate has also failed to explore the complex factors behind communal violence, something that requires a serious look at law and order in the states. We cannot remain naïve, and must understand that speeches or statements can never solely spark communal violence. Objectionable statements by BJP leaders are condemnable, but mere words cannot be attributed to cases of violence against intellectuals and minorities or ever be a threat to the secular fabric of India. Like other governments in the past, the NDA has deplored such statements and even advised leaders to be cautious. In the case of General VK Singh’s 'dog' remark in the wake of the killing of Dalit children in Haryana, a simple question - Did General VK Singh call Dalits 'dogs'? Does anyone really believe that a former leader of one of the most secular institutions in the nation – the Indian Army, think that Dalits are dogs? I highly doubt that, yet recognize that the statement was a poor choice of words. General VK Singh never actually compared Dalits to dogs, yet the outrage is nothing more that an attack against PM Modi instead of a reflection of General VK Singh’s actual beliefs.

Meanwhile, the Opposition's outrage is so flimsy, they cannot even bring themselves to file cases against these leaders for 'hate speech'. They fear the embarrassment of the courts disagreeing with their point of view.

A similar argument was floated by the Opposition during the ‘church attacks’ where the Centre was blamed for emboldening right wing groups. All incidents were investigated and found to be cases of vandalism and petty crimes, yet the argument has persisted. It is clear the narrative is not based on facts, but part of a politically charged campaign against the Centre and PM Modi aimed at sowing doubt and fear to discredit his rule.

In the book Contemporary Political Philosophy, political scientists Robert Goodin and Philip Pettit argue the case that it is convenient for political groups to simplify the cause of social evils for short-term political gain.

On communal violence, they say that - "No one can say, not simply because prediction is next to impossible, but because we have no firm understanding of the process by which demonstration disintegrates into riot, and in particular of the part played by inflammatory speech, as distinct from poverty, police brutality and all the rest of political and economic failure. Any attempt to locate and remove a cause of riot must be an exercise in speculation, trial and error.”

The NDA government aims to pass key legislation to reform the economy, and even the Prime Minister has struck a conciliatory note in Parliament seeking Opposition support. But stalling the passage of legislation over such an ambiguous if not factually flawed argument reeks of political opportunism and public disregard. Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge said there will be 'bloodshed' if anyone tried to amend the Constitution. Clearly, the Opposition has adopted a language of brinkmanship.

The Opposition must realize that it cannot scare the public against the BJP. There is no custodian of secularism in the political class and neither is there an all out communal war across the nation. The secular ethos of India is tougher than what the Opposition or any ‘intellectual’ believes. There will always be a no holds barred fight in the political arena, but it cannot be at the cost of economic progress especially when the pursuit of justice is deliberately being sidelined by fear mongering. The Opposition should not replace a serious debate on law and order with an incoherent, superficial and paranoid rant. The citizens will not buy it, and the Opposition will gain nothing for being alarmist and uncooperative, sacrificing the long term interests of the nation for an increasingly irrational campaign against Prime Minister Modi.

Ayushman Jamwal's Blog : Opposition's misplaced political outrage

A very well written blog.. I stand by this author completely. This whole protests and parliament stalling is making sure that i dont vote opposition parties like Congress back to power ever in my life. Whatever they have done in the past for the country (good and bad both) all are now slowly washed away by their new new acts of stupidities. The country needs to move forward and here our leaders in parliament are showing us the best reasons of why India cannot become a developed country with such negative attitude and stalling of key initiatives and reforms for the country's economic growth. The opposition did not even allow a discussion and update on Tamilnadu floods. Dont know what is parliament for if we dont discuss issues of national importance but rather just vendetta based politics. Its a lesson for NDA too. When they were in opposition many times they were unrelenting too. All sides needs to understand what their actions are gonna cost our country. Seems Parliament itself is most intolerant...

@Aminroop @Abingdonboy @ranjeet @SarthakGanguly @nair @Nair saab @LaBong @kurup @magudi @Star Wars @zebra7 @Ind4Ever @MilSpec @others

Hate ki Rotiyan Kaab tak Sekoge Congress.

Your Times is Up, My time is Now,
Its a Fair Job, who is Shinning Now,

You can't see me, Who is Shinning Now,

Cenahand.jpeg

Here is the full text of Rahul Gandhi’s speech in Lok Sabha on Tuesday in the Parliament winter session:

Thank you madam speaker for allowing me to intervene here today.

I listened to the prime minister a few days ago talk about our constitution. He spoke for over an hour and praised the people who in his view were the architects of the document that allows me to speak here today. He mentioned Gandhi ji, he praised Ambedkar ji, he spoke about the contribution of Rajendra Prasad, Vallabh bhai Patel and he even had a couple of words for Jawaharlal Nehru.

He spoke about the immense respect he gave to our constitution when he placed the book on an elephant and walked on the ground behind it.

Yet while I listened to the Prime Minister’s speech I could see how profoundly we differ in our thinking. For Modi ji the people he mentioned were intellectual heroes to be worshipped and placed on a pedestal. They had all the answers to India’s problems.

For me what was heroic about the people he mentioned was their ability to listen to the people of this country. They are my heroes not because they had all the answers but because they had the humility to ask the right questions. What was heroic to me was their ability to destroy their sense of self, or their ego to such a degree that they crystallised into the voice of the people they served. To me they were heroic because they put aside their own insecurities their failings and their desires to listen to what India was saying. They allowed India to speak.

For the first time in centuries they gave India the dignity to talk. And in response India didn’t just talk she sang so beautifully that the world could do nothing but listen in rapt attention.

For me madam speaker – The real authors of the constitution were people the prime minister did not spend much time on in his speech. They are the very people of this country.

The millions of voices rich, poor, male, female, Hindu, Muslim, Sikh, Punjabi, Marathi, Bengali, Malayali. The Kisan, the Mazdoor, the small business man, the big industrialist, the widowed mother, the orphaned son. Every single one of them including the weakest and most powerless of them all. All Gandhiji and his colleagues did was to love them and to listen to them with compassion.

The constitution gives all Indians fundamental rights. I would like to mention the first –

Right to Equality – Which includes equality before law, prohibition of discrimination on grounds of religion, race, caste, gender or place of birth, and equality of opportunity in matters of employment, abolition of untouchability and abolition of titles.

Madam speaker all of us here swore an oath to protect these rights for each one of our citizens. It is our duty to do so.

I have today sitting in front of me an ex-chief of the Indian Army. A general who likened two little babies who were burned to death to dogs. He has directly challenged the constitution and the fundamental right to equality by equating Dalit children to dogs.

Our Prime Minister allows this man to continue as minister as if nothing has happened. The Prime Minister is able to worship Ambedkar and forget that he spent his entire life protecting the dignity of those two little children. He helped write the constitution so they would never get burned. The Prime minister is simply unable to see the contradiction?

I have Sakshi Maharaja and Yogi Adityanath sitting here in front of me. You are all aware of the language they use. Yet the Prime Minister remains silent.

Modi ji talks about defence of the country. He talks of FDI in defence.

Mohd Akhlaq, father of a young air force officer Mohd Sartaj who is serving our nation, is killed in cold blood because he is a Muslim. When asked what his message was for all of us after his father’s brutal murder, Sartaj responded with “Saare Jahan se accha Hindustan Hamara, Majhab Nahi Sikhata Aapas Mai Bair Rakhna”. The man ultimately responsible for his protection remains silent. The Prime Minister of India does not see the contradiction.

The Government talks of Skill India. Yet when young Students with superb skills at FTII go on strike because a mediocre man is placed in a top end institution. The government simply tries to crush and intimidate them. I went there – I spoke to them. All they wanted was to be heard. Yet the government that crushed their voice does not see the contradiction.

Dabholkar, Pansare and Kalburgi are shot dead in cold blood by fanatics. The Prime Minster has nothing to say.

In Gujarat, Patidars are complaining about the lack of opportunities for them in education. They protest. What is the Gujarat government’s response to the agitation? 20,000 FIRs are filed against them for sedition. Hundreds of them are locked up. Since when has agitating for job and education opportunities become sedition?

You do not even spare your own.

Former union minister Arun Shourie has said that he has been the target of severe abuse online by BJP supporters ever since he turned a critic of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Mr Shourie, a one-time admirer of Mr Modi, also said that the BJP supporters even abused his son, who has cerebral palsy.

Mr Shourie alleged that several of these ‘influencers’ were abusive on Twitter, and that despite their continuing abuse, the PM continued to follow them.

And as all this is going on the best talent India has – the best writers, intellectuals and artists of this country give their awards back as a sign of protest. The government does not even bother to speak to them. Arun Jaitley ji simply says it’s all manufactured.

Why would they manufacture it?

JaitleyJi – This is not a dream like your “Make in India” program.

This is reality.

Do you think people like Narayanmurthy, Raghuram Rajan and P. M Bhargava have nothing better to do then to manufacture protest against you? They are saying it because they are disturbed like millions of people in this country. Give them the respect of trying to understand what disturbs them. Don’t brush people aside. Go and listen to them.

Speaker madam, the prime minister talks about economic growth and progress. At the same time his colleagues talk about sending Bollywood stars to Pakistan. India is successful because we have given our people the space to talk. We have been peaceful because we have embraced our people and let them be part of the conversation. Our greatest strength is our tolerance.

Pakistan has failed because they did not allow the voice of their people to be heard. They have failed because their leaders crushed the voices that were inconvenient to them. Their biggest weakness is their intolerance. Let us not learn the wrong lessons from them.

Gandhiji, the father of our nation gave our people voice. He allowed people who had not been heard for centuries to sing. Nathuram Godse put three bullets into his chest and silenced him.

I sat here and listened the other day while Narendra Modi praised Mahatma Gandhi. I have also seen him remain silent when his colleague Shakshi Maharaj called Godse a patriot. I am pretty certain the PM does not see this contradiction either.

Will the prime minister start to listen to the voice of our people? Or will he stand by and watch as his colleagues trample on the voice of this country.

Will he simply place the constitution on an elephant and walk in front? Or will he do his job and defend what it stands for?

Will he let our beautiful India continue to sing? Or does he think he can condemn our nation to silence?

Thank you madam speaker.

The citizens will not buy it, and the Opposition will gain nothing for being alarmist and uncooperative, sacrificing the long term interests of the nation for an increasingly irrational campaign against Prime Minister Modi.
The citizens are buying it unfortunately.

It is an increasingly irrational yet successful campaign against Modi so far.

Well,
I dare to say, We indians are Indeed the Most Stupid people on the Planet.

This is the only place where you could see fan's of army coup.....
1) I know coup is not a possibility in India.
2) Our Parliament House witnesses new dramas every day. It should be renamed "opera house".
3) Our so called representatives didn't have the patience to discuss updates on TamilNadu floods. Unfortunate! That goes on to prove that our politicians are least concerned about what goes on in the country.

Or you wanted VK to do that few years back
Anyone would do.

1) I know coup is not a possibility in India.
2) Our Parliament House witnesses new dramas every day. It should soon be renamed "opera house".
3) Our so called representatives didn't have the patience to discuss updates on TamilNadu floods. Unfortunate! That goes on to prove that our politicians are least concerned about what goes on in the country

This has been the case for a long time...... the only difference is you have congress making noise now....

Anyone would do

This is what RaGa feels about him (this is available in OP) :)

have today sitting in front of me an ex-chief of the Indian Army. A general who likened two little babies who were burned to death to dogs. He has directly challenged the constitution and the fundamental right to equality by equating Dalit children to dogs.

Right.
They are all wolves in sheep's skin.

With the kind of political system we have, this is going to be case for a decade at least....... Look at our leaders almost everyone is above 60, and they have learnt politics this way...... New gen leaders are very few, and they could bring the change we look for.....

New gen???
I have lost hope. Rahul Gandhi is their role model. :tsk:

I am talking about the one who goes up the ladder... Not the one who born to a politican...... Ra Ga would not even become a collage union chairman in kerala (if he was a normal student).....
Like Modi?
I am not feeling so sanguine about it.It's not easy for an outsider to get support.

In Modi's case RSS had its reasons to promote him.